View Full Version : Pre Match Reception Saturday

10/07/2007, 10:11 PM
Sligo Supporters Trust and Mooneys will be holding a pre match reception at 5 :30pm.

Here the Cup will be presented to the victors of the Connacht Supporters Trust Cup.
There will also be complimentary Food and some alcoholic refreshments. ;)

Thanks to Rory and all involved in the BORST.
See ye Saturday!

10/07/2007, 10:16 PM
i hope 2 pop down at sixish after work..

best of luck to ye in the match..

10/07/2007, 10:18 PM

You'll hear us from your work from about 2 in the afternoon onwards.
By 6 O Clock Sligo will be taken over completely by the Tribal Army!:cool:

10/07/2007, 10:22 PM
You'll hear us from your work from about 2 in the afternoon onwards.
By 6 O Clock Sligo will be taken over completely by the Tribal Army!:cool:

as long as you pop in to buy the shades you allege you wear in the pic i'll be happy :D

11/07/2007, 11:16 PM

Sorry, over 16's only

12/07/2007, 9:30 PM
Sorry, over 16's only

im not playin..

and i am 16:p

eamo1
12/07/2007, 10:10 PM
I remember a few years ago the pre match reception up in sligo was a hail of stones coming down on us going into the ground and a certain hand gesture directed by a man with a sligo jersey at my 10 year old cousin,charming.The post match festitives included more stones hitting our back window driving away from the ground.Nice to see things changing.

12/07/2007, 10:30 PM
Eamo.It was only 2 seasons ago that we were getting that type of reception still.

We're bound to get some sort of hostilitly but it'll be banter from both Trusts.Looking forward to it.

gilberto_eire
12/07/2007, 10:46 PM
anyone hits me with a rock i will reply in kind.... with my fist doh!!:D

12/07/2007, 11:53 PM
im not playin..

and i am 16:p

i meant for the pub!!
and i said OVER 16's

eamo1
13/07/2007, 11:51 PM
its great efforts are being made by both sides to mend things and make friends etc.but there still might be some incidents most likely caused by those stupid teenagers that only come to matches to walk around the ground 50 times and cause trouble coz their bored,how i hate them.

13/07/2007, 11:57 PM
most likely caused by those stupid teenagers that only come to matches to walk around the ground 50 times and cause trouble coz their bored,how i hate them.Just to clarify, you do know Galway has them too yes?

gilberto_eire
14/07/2007, 2:20 AM
Just to clarify, you do know Galway has them too yes?

no we dont!!....

GUISAUltra
14/07/2007, 2:46 AM
yes we do. we have loads of little knackers who walk around terryland every home game looking for **** to start. some of us like to think we dont but we have as many little scummy teenagers as a lot of other clubs and to be honest sligo probably have one of the lowest numbers of supporters violence in a long time. to be honest most of the **** that hapened between gufc fans and srfc fans was just drunken stupidity and everyone knows it. hopefully the supporters game will go off tomorrow without a hitch and everyone can have a good laugh

GUISAUltra
14/07/2007, 2:54 AM
we dont have as much as most other clubs will ya stop!!:confused::rolleyes:

just because you haven't experienced it doesnt mean it isnt there. if you had got your wallet stolen like conor h did last year you might think differently

GUISAUltra
14/07/2007, 2:54 AM
why did ya delete the message, i've it quoted already anyway

gilberto_eire
14/07/2007, 2:58 AM
just because you haven't experienced it doesnt mean it isnt there. if you had got your wallet stolen like conor h did last year you might think differently

caz i didnt want to argue with ya!!..... why are ya stating a single person incident to say we have an element?? there are thiefs everywhere that has nothing to do with trouble between fans!!.

Patrick Dunne
14/07/2007, 6:03 AM
I am looking forward to the matches later today.

While there has never before been any organised contact between supporters of both clubs, in general we have got on well.

There is no point in continually bringing up isolated incidents that have happened in the past.

14/07/2007, 11:28 AM
There is no point in continually bringing up isolated incidents that have happened in the past.Exactly. But gilberto would need to let reality sink in if he thinks ye don't have any knacker fans. That's all I'll say now, looking forward to today, should be good craic.

inthestand99
14/07/2007, 12:06 PM
:cool::ball:We all have a few idiots who wouldnt know a centre half from a centre loin chop. Our challenge in GUFC and I'M sure all other clubs is to get on with it and not let these t..s upset us. Although not involved today its great to see Conor , Ronan and all involved making an effort. Enjoy the craic lads!

Rovers fan
15/07/2007, 12:53 AM
just out of curiosity is yer man who ran ont the pitch when ye scored on foot.ie?

gilberto_eire
15/07/2007, 12:55 AM
Exactly. But gilberto would need to let reality sink in if he thinks ye don't have any knacker fans. That's all I'll say now, looking forward to today, should be good craic.

look man im in terryland every other week so i think i have a better view then you!
last night for instance, after we scored there was a few over-18's pulling shapes and tauntin us to start something.....ive never witnessed this in our ground...can anyone point out when the last incident bordering on an ''element'' happened in galway?

gilberto_eire
15/07/2007, 12:57 AM
just out of curiosity is yer man who ran ont the pitch when ye scored on foot.ie?

i cant remember who ran on when we scored apart frm one fella but frm the ones i remembered NONE were even regular away supporters, never mind even trust members!!

geezer
15/07/2007, 10:45 AM
it was all handbags in the showgies last night, the 3 eejits that ran on the pitch 2 of them i never seen before and the other is regular enough at Tland
it was a crap game of football. The new striker seems to lack pace,strength and strikers nuance but to be fair its his first chance so we will know after 10 games.

15/07/2007, 11:56 AM
can anyone point out when the last incident bordering on an ''element'' happened in galway?March 9th 2007. Bear in mind I haven't been to Terryland since then so can't give a more recent one.

It's obvious you're the only Galway fan who thinks ye don't have a problem so I'll just accept that you're deluded and the other fans haven't got their heads buried in the sand like you clearly do.

gilberto_eire
15/07/2007, 12:14 PM
March 9th 2007. Bear in mind I haven't been to Terryland since then so can't give a more recent one.

It's obvious you're the only Galway fan who thinks ye don't have a problem so I'll just accept that you're deluded and the other fans haven't got their heads buried in the sand like you clearly do.

you talking about the 3/4 lil fellas who threw a rock at your bus?.... thats hardly an element as in any place with 3000+ you'll get something here and there.... an element is a group of ppl who can do some damage!!.
can i say ye have an element because of the fan of your's who threatened one of ours with a bottle after the match??... when he tried to go to mooneys to use the toliet was told if he tried come in he was getting it over the head.... does that mean you have an element for something like that?

pixiehead
16/07/2007, 4:33 PM
you talking about the 3/4 lil fellas who threw a rock at your bus?.... thats hardly an element as in any place with 3000+ you'll get something here and there.... an element is a group of ppl who can do some damage!!.
can i say ye have an element because of the fan of your's who threatened one of ours with a bottle after the match??... when he tried to go to mooneys to use the toliet was told if he tried come in he was getting it over the head.... does that mean you have an element for something like that?

Probably the same pr1cks who had one ring leader who shouted serious abuse at me over the road from mooneys. Big man as i was on my own. What srtuck me was that not one of these 3/4 lads had any bit of Rovers Merchandice on them... where they Fans at all or do they spend all their money on Beer and porno mags. By the way its been a year or two since i was in the showgrounds before that...where di the 2 resident Neo Nazis go :D hilarious

Rovers fan
16/07/2007, 4:39 PM
Probably the same pr1cks who had one ring leader who shouted serious abuse at me over the road from mooneys. Big man as i was on my own. What srtuck me was that not one of these 3/4 lads had any bit of Rovers Merchandice on them... where they Fans at all or do they spend all their money on Beer and porno mags. By the way its been a year or two since i was in the showgrounds before that...where di the 2 resident Neo Nazis go :D hilarious

was he wering a celtic jacket and did he have skinned hair?

pixiehead
16/07/2007, 4:46 PM
was he wering a celtic jacket and did he have skinned hair?

Not sure. Tall fella. Right outside the door of the pub after the game. Dont think any had Celtic Jackets. One was bulkier but smaller. Drinking pint bottles...(dont ask me how i spotted that:rolleyes:)

16/07/2007, 9:09 PM
i know who it was.

but anyone that walked by us during the match gave us the fingers or started saying stuff up at us.

there was one blondie little s**t that passed by us about 10 times, he probably had too much coke on the bus down but he never stopped. he was on the bus, but didnt play if ye know who im talking about? and that absolute gobs**te with ''dolly davey''......all that came out of his mouth was davey this and davey that at the fan's match, in mooneys, and at the game.

inthestand99
16/07/2007, 9:38 PM
:ball:Seems like you are npt happy unless you are having a rant. Mostly just handbag stuff. Lighten up!!!!

GuisaSaigon
16/07/2007, 9:55 PM
There was feck all going on in the Showgrounds the other day but a bit of banter between fans. Having United fans walk by the vocal Shligo fans to use the toilet was hardly ideal but even describing what went on as handbags is exaggerating. This moaning has to stop. people seem to think that all a forum is for is moaning, the worst thing is some people believe the crap they read on these forums. I'm getting sick of it.:mad:

Patrick Dunne
16/07/2007, 10:19 PM
Fair play to you for travelling, baileban, and bringing the family. I disagree with you on many things, but you are 100% correct in your last post.

GUST are trying to build better relationships with away fans (organising a match beforehand, inviting them to Foxes, etc). We also are trying to improve our away support. The main way to do this is to get more people driving to matches. Some of the carry-on the last day won't entice them.

The behaviour of a few tools at the game was unacceptable. One idiot would start a fight with himself in a phone box, you would have seen him surrounded by the gardai. Another lad, in particular, went down to the Sligo supporters to goad them. Why ?

Other supporters, who know that we have been fined for flares, and that repeat incidents will result in increased fines, let off more flares :mad:

At the home game, vs Shamrock Rovers, some supporters (who were in Sligo on the bus) were part of a small group that went the length of the stand to taunt Shamrock Rovers supporters.

These fools are a disgrace to GUFC. GUST have an excellent relationship with Rovers supporters. We don't want it damaged by drunken morons.

The sad thing is that 99% of GUFC supporters are a credit to the club, and the actions of a few only give carte blanche to the clubhouse brigade to tar all those who travel away and vocally support the club as scum.

gilberto_eire
16/07/2007, 11:11 PM
Fair play to you for travelling, baileban, and bringing the family. I disagree with you on many things, but you are 100% correct in your last post.

GUST are trying to build better relationships with away fans (organising a match beforehand, inviting them to Foxes, etc). We also are trying to improve our away support. The main way to do this is to get more people driving to matches. Some of the carry-on the last day won't entice them.

The behaviour of a few tools at the game was unacceptable. One idiot would start a fight with himself in a phone box, you would have seen him surrounded by the gardai. Another lad, in particular, went down to the Sligo supporters to goad them. Why ?

Other supporters, who know that we have been fined for flares, and that repeat incidents will result in increased fines, let off more flares :mad:

At the home game, vs Shamrock Rovers, some supporters (who were in Sligo on the bus) were part of a small group that went the length of the stand to taunt Shamrock Rovers supporters.

These fools are a disgrace to GUFC. GUST have an excellent relationship with Rovers supporters. We don't want it damaged by drunken morons.

The sad thing is that 99% of GUFC supporters are a credit to the club, and the actions of a few only give carte blanche to the clubhouse brigade to tar all those who travel away and vocally support the club as scum.

Pa the good thing about us over other clubs is that we dont have more then 2/3 fellas who are known to us stirring things up so it can be easily solved!. that was there 1st away game this yr but if they board a bus again they should be told that we dont want that s*it from the, (what would have happened if they played the Trust match god onlys knows!).... ill be honest it nearly kicked off in the stand when we scored but thanks to the drunken plonker(1 of the previous mentioned) he had got the cops down on his part a few mins before that

17/07/2007, 1:08 AM
99% of the away support were great on saturday, fair play to them for coming, they rightfully so went mad when they scored the goal! but just 3 or 4 of them acted the eejit. two fellas in white galway away tops, and a young fella with bleached hair. and yer man with the sheep was being a bit of a eejit aswell, was always down in front of us looking up at us altho he wasnt abusive or anyting, just drunk and dopey, some idiot on our side might have taken the wrong course of action with him

Tir Oilean
17/07/2007, 8:11 AM
The 3/4 arse holes that caused the nuisance in Sligo should be baned from going to away games on the bus. They are only acting the ****** and its clear that they are well known. One way of ensuring all are known is by forcing them to join GUST to be able to travel youve got their details then so you can ban them from away trips or Terryland if necessary, problem solved.

GuisaSaigon
17/07/2007, 11:18 AM
This is being blown way out of proportion here. One or two muppets jumped the wall when we scored the didnt even make two meters, it was hardly Green Street Hooligans. A word in their ear and a warning will be enough, If they go at it again then take further action.

17/07/2007, 11:21 AM
Baileban for once we agree on something.The few fools who will cost the club a very large fine need to be sorted now before they do cause a serious problem for the large majority of excellent fans who are their to support the team and not act like drunken extras from Green Street .

geezer
17/07/2007, 11:44 AM
i think bailebain has a point too, he had young kids with him. The taepot that goaded the sligo fans and ran on to the pitch also caused hastle a year or so ago on one of the bus trips to lansdowne in fact a lot of us got ****ed off with him and ordered the bus to leave without him. It does seem though that sometimes some of the posters here think it ok because you know its the lads sure they wouldnt harm anybody. Someday some innocent creature like bailebans children will bear the brunt of stupidity. Fair play to the trust for showing the way to the supporters around the country with their reception before game idea. These taepots need to be banned form going on the bus

MyTown
17/07/2007, 11:57 AM
Definitely thumbs up to Baileban for his stance on this thread (only!:D)

If anyone posts a pro family message on this or the Eircom League forum, they are dsimissed as whingers, ridiculed as wimps and lectured about the need to lighten up, grow up or take their "kids" somewhere else where they'll be immune to the less savoury elements in our society. (When I defended a Sligo supporter recently on this I was dismissed by Rocketfingers and a few others as a wind-up-merchant).

It's pretty obvious to me who needs to do the growing up... and it definitely isn't the children.

If this game is to have a future it depends on children coming through the turnstiles. Smarter clubs and Trusts also cop on to the fact that they are a guaranteed income stream.

IMO it suits some people to keep abusing parents and children for asserting their rights to safety. Those people will soon get what they wish for and enjoy watching matches in the future..............alone.

Clubs that promote family enclosures and childrens membership schemes are clubs that have some hope of a future existence.

GUFCsibs
17/07/2007, 12:04 PM
[quote=GuisaSaigon;725856]This is being blown way out of proportion here. One or two muppets jumped the wall when we scored the didnt even make two meters, it was hardly Green Street Hooligans.

Its not about how far they got on the pitch - its about how much of a fine our club gets. If running on the pitch (and banging into the linesman) was merely frowned upon the FAI you might have a point but GUFC needs all the money it can get and it must be frustrating for money raisers to see it being flushed down the toilet by a few drunk messers.

Patrick Dunne
17/07/2007, 12:04 PM
Jumping a wall when your team scores is an act of over-exuberance and is no big deal.

Walking 20-30 yards (Sligo) or 70 yards (Shamrock Rovers) to goad opposition fans is acting the fool. Why would you bother ?

17/07/2007, 12:59 PM
Definitely thumbs up to Baileban for his stance on this thread (only!:D)

If anyone posts a pro family message on this or the Eircom League forum, they are dsimissed as whingers, ridiculed as wimps and lectured about the need to lighten up, grow up or take their "kids" somewhere else where they'll be immune to the less savoury elements in our society. (When I defended a Sligo supporter recently on this I was dismissed by Rocketfingers and a few others as a wind-up-merchant).

It's pretty obvious to me who needs to do the growing up... and it definitely isn't the children.

If this game is to have a future it depends on children coming through the turnstiles. Smarter clubs and Trusts also cop on to the fact that they are a guaranteed income stream.

IMO it suits some people to keep abusing parents and children for asserting their rights to safety. Those people will soon get what they wish for and enjoy watching matches in the future..............alone.

Clubs that promote family enclosures and childrens membership schemes are clubs that have some hope of a future existence.

Actually it's about catering for everyone....not just families alone.

You can't just soley concentrate on getting families into the ground.The market that should be aimed at is both families and the 17-30 year old males/females.This market are far more likely to give money,support the team on a regular basis.Aswell as this they are even more likely to bring new faces to the ground should they enjoy their experience.

It all works in spins and cycles.When kids come to matches they aren't coming for the quality of football like most adults are.They're coming for the atmosphere,colour and noise.Hense a vast chunk of them descending on the Section A area.The more kids=more adults=more money.A simple concept.Aiming GUFC at families is a step in the right direction and can only be seen as positive but it certainly would not be the most beneficial,revenue wise,to go down.
Also football isn't like rugby.It's passionate-and with passion you often get over exuberant people who like to let lose.Fair enough some people's actions can be downright idotic but at the same time their GUFC fans.
No UTD fans should come on here and lambast another supporter,especially when they didn't travel themselves.The people involved will be dealt with.....we don't need Bruce Almighty's on here calling them all sorts and going on like we had a hooligan problem because 3 lads hopped a wall.

17/07/2007, 1:11 PM
And if those kids got hurt on saturday lads who would get the blame.Galway United F.C. and their supporters. A lot of what went on in the Showgrounds was unacceptable and mainly down to excessive drinking and a minority of fools who had no interest in the game.

There are people within the club who will be delighted with this as they have their own plans and agendas but our genuine fans who did travel dont deserve to be tarnished with the same brush as these clowns.

MyTown
17/07/2007, 1:35 PM
No UTD fans should come on here and lambast another supporter,especially when they didn't travel themselves.The people involved will be dealt with.....we don't need Bruce Almighty's on here calling them all sorts and going on like we had a hooligan problem because 3 lads hopped a wall.

Nothing worse than when people question other people's loyalties to the Club.There's an abundance of reasons why people can't go/chose not to go to away games.It doesn't mean they're less of a fan.
You often get clowns at away matches that are no more UTD fans than the man on the moon.

Take a bow Conor.

In recent months I thought I'd detected a much a much more reasonable
note in your posts, but if its at the price of a new line in hypcrisy and condesension you might as well revert to type.

17/07/2007, 1:47 PM
"The people involved will be dealt with.....we don't need Bruce Almighty's on here calling them all sorts and going on like we had a hooligan problem because 3 lads hopped a wall."

The Referee's report is far more serious than that Conor and I presume you know that by now so making out that the only thing that happened was 3 clowns jumping the wall is stupid.

Tir Oilean
17/07/2007, 2:03 PM
Agree with nearly everything you said Conor but I think I have earned the right to lambast the fools who caused this discussion. Didnt think much of the pitch invasion to be honest 3 lads didnt eve get to the touch line!:) But if it causes a major fine then there is trouble. Its the tossers that go out of their way to goad opposition supporters that should be hung out to dry. Havin said that they are not regular lads at all from my experiences and so we can afford to ban them. You'll agree with me on that one for sure as youve had more run ins with those than I. Goin onto to the pitch is silly but I can see why it happens it the heat of the moment, the passion of a derby game, I sure hope common sense prevails in the refs report, but GUFCT seems to know thats not the case.

Tir Oilean
17/07/2007, 2:06 PM
[QUOTE=gufct;726004
There are people within the club who will be delighted with this as they have their own plans and agendas but our genuine fans who did travel dont deserve to be tarnished with the same brush as these clowns.[/QUOTE]

Thats a sad state of affairs thought that sort of ****e died out a few years ago. But I guess there is still a few that would like us to sit with our fingers on our lips a la primary school for 90 minutes every Fri...... So much for the 12th man initiative

Demoshield
17/07/2007, 2:07 PM
There is a thread elsewhere on this forum discussing the merits of having alcohol freely available inside grounds during games, Sat night in Sligo is a prime example of why this should never happen & why people with excessive alcohol consumed should not be allowed enter any ground. It only takes one idiot to cause trouble. Whether people choose to believe it or not, from where I was sitting, with my two children, it was very close to a major incident, all because of a couple of drunk Galway idiots, and unfortunately the reputation of other genuine GUFC supporters will be blackened. Sligo would also need to review their match day plans as it is not safe.
Also why bother travelling to “support” your team if you are going to spend the majority of your time and effort, abusing Sligo, Sligo people & Oliver Davey? When you support your team loads of people joined in, for example after Sligo scored, when you were just abusing people there were very few joining in. Mr. Davey was the happiest man in the ground, going around with a smile on his face loving all the attention. You made him out to be something special. He is not, he is a thug in a yellow jacket.
Never have supporters from another team come to Terryland and spent the majority of their time abusing Galway or Galway people, you will always have a bit of it, but you should support your team, the rest just sounded sad and pathetic after the first ten times.
Finally everybody knows who brought in the flares, you could see them before the game. Are these people going to pay the fine? If not then they should not be let travel with the rest of the fans until such time as the do so. The club can’t afford supporters like that. I don’t agree with the ban on flares, there should be some sort of compromise, but when it’s costing the club money we have to live with it.
Galway has always had some of the best, loudest & most colourful fans in the league.
Keep the tradition alive. Support your team nothing else matters when they are on the pitch.

17/07/2007, 2:08 PM
Its not just the kids John.We had over 200 fans in the showgrounds on Saturday and because of the actions of 6/7 people the others adults and kids were in danger.

I usually enjoy the away games cause im not working or having to make sure there are no problems or trouble in Terryland but I didnt enjoy saturday because I spent most of the second half making sure our own support didnt get out of hand.

People can come on here about banter and a bit of crack but there was a nastiness there that cannot be let ruin the good name of our club and fans.