View Full Version : Pre Match Reception Saturday

Pages : 1 [2]

MyTown
17/07/2007, 2:09 PM
POTM Demo

Tir Oilean
17/07/2007, 2:16 PM
On another thread NY Hoop has asked where was the segregation? Sad thats its needed but it would have avoided most if not all of this poo. Terrlyland is always prepared to segregate fans.

17/07/2007, 2:36 PM
The sligo Stewards should have had a far tighter area for GUFC fans as they were too spread out and also rather than being inside the wall facing our fans they should have been on the other side sitting down and there should have been at least 3 stewards between the fans. One of the Clowns who was so drunk he probably doesnt remember a ting was allowed to bring in a full Pint Glass!

But to blame lack of segregation on this is rubbish.The blame lies fairly and squarely with the clowns who ruined the day for everybody else and trying to brush it over is pointless

Tir Oilean
17/07/2007, 2:39 PM
Not blaming it on lack of segregation just sayin there is clearly less chance of any of that **** if there was.

gilberto_eire
17/07/2007, 3:04 PM
There is a thread elsewhere on this forum discussing the merits of having alcohol freely available inside grounds during games, Sat night in Sligo is a prime example of why this should never happen & why people with excessive alcohol consumed should not be allowed enter any ground. It only takes one idiot to cause trouble. Whether people choose to believe it or not, from where I was sitting, with my two children, it was very close to a major incident, all because of a couple of drunk Galway idiots, and unfortunately the reputation of other genuine GUFC supporters will be blackened. Sligo would also need to review their match day plans as it is not safe.
Also why bother travelling to “support” your team if you are going to spend the majority of your time and effort, abusing Sligo, Sligo people & Oliver Davey? When you support your team loads of people joined in, for example after Sligo scored, when you were just abusing people there were very few joining in. Mr. Davey was the happiest man in the ground, going around with a smile on his face loving all the attention. You made him out to be something special. He is not, he is a thug in a yellow jacket.
Never have supporters from another team come to Terryland and spent the majority of their time abusing Galway or Galway people, you will always have a bit of it, but you should support your team, the rest just sounded sad and pathetic after the first ten times.
Finally everybody knows who brought in the flares, you could see them before the game. Are these people going to pay the fine? If not then they should not be let travel with the rest of the fans until such time as the do so. The club can’t afford supporters like that. I don’t agree with the ban on flares, there should be some sort of compromise, but when it’s costing the club money we have to live with it.
Galway has always had some of the best, loudest & most colourful fans in the league.
Keep the tradition alive. Support your team nothing else matters when they are on the pitch.

hang on why shouldnt the majority be able to drink because of one or two clowns??.... in relation to incidents per person it is lower then you would get in any club or pub, lets just close the pubs too so if thats the way its going to be viewed...''trouble=no drink''..... the problem with games here is proper stewarding and policing!. if one of the 2/3 fans was thrown out for goading fans like he should have been then that would have been one less person on the pitch(he was involved in both and who knows maybe he was the first on the pitch and enticed the other 2, basically it mightnt have happened was he removed when he should have been)

we cant blame drink here, imo its bad policing and stewarding thats at fault, things are always allowed to get out of control then the finger is pointed in other directions! i.e drink,supporters as a whole

in all the posts ive read about trouble at the games in dublin its been lack of policing around the ground after the game but then the ''it was drink/supporters'' crap that goes on again!.

17/07/2007, 3:10 PM
We had over 200 fans in the showgrounds on SaturdayNo ye didn't.

17/07/2007, 3:19 PM
between both stands we had although if you were one of the stewards that were facing our fans you couldnt have seen the amount of United Fans in the main stand.

17/07/2007, 3:21 PM
between both stands we had although if you were one of the stewards that were facing our fans you couldnt have seen the amount of United Fans in the main stand.No didn't notice ye in main stand but I doubt there was that many. Ye had 120-150 maximum in my opinion.

Demoshield
17/07/2007, 3:26 PM
I wasn't discussing trouble at games in Dublin as I know nothing about it. I was discussing last weeks game in Sligo. The problem was caused by drunk people, having drink freely available at games would IMO lead to more of this type of behaviour. I'm fairly sure the individuals involved would not have behaved they way they did if they were not pi**ed. It's a sad fact of life that there is a percentage of Irish people who simply cannot have a couple of pints and stop. They have to get sh1t faced and act the idiot. in an atmosphere where emotions already run high do we really need to add drink into the equation? I think not. I enjoy a pint as much as the next man but am prepared to go the 90 mins with out one to ensure people can enjoy a game of football in safety. This I could not do on Sat. ou had to keep one eye on what was going on around you and couldn't watch the match properly

17/07/2007, 4:35 PM
Take a bow Conor.

In recent months I thought I'd detected a much a much more reasonable
note in your posts, but if its at the price of a new line in hypcrisy and condesension you might as well revert to type.

Fair play to you MyTown.

Your true colours shine again.Take one post out of another completetly different discussion and selectively qoute it so it makes it look like you've really caught me out.Congratulations.Where were you on Saturday?

Who are you to take such a stance and be so condesecending?

"Revert to type"?
Crazy.An absoloute nobody suggesting i might aswell revert back to whatever i supposedly was before.
MyTown instead of making sweeping statements like that behind the luxury of a username please explain what you mean to me on Friday night.

GUISAUltra
17/07/2007, 9:27 PM
i think that the tension in the stand would have been just as bad even if people werent drinking. it was absolutely disgraceful to make the gufc fans walk up past rovers fans if they wanted to go for a ****. when you have to walk past a crowd of people giving ya abuse its bad enough but when its sligo fans giving people abuse and they are 1 nil up now thats a different story. i could clearly hear the sligo fans abusing gufc fans that were walking past and yes some gufc fans abused them back (some reactions might have been a bit overboard). Sligo are definitely as much to blame for this as galway and yet they just squarely point the finger at us. the sligo fans who were abusing galway supporters and the sligo fans who ran down towards our fans should be ashamed of themselves. obviously so should our supporters who ran on the pitch and in turn abused sligo fans.

i still feel that if the fans were properly segregated none of this would have happened. i think what happened in sligo would happen in terryland as well if vocal sections of both fans were beside and opposition fans having to walk past the singing sections of home fans. the lay out and stewards of gufc goes a long way towards the troublefree games in terryland, now if only other clubs would follow suit

Patrick Dunne
17/07/2007, 9:41 PM
Well said, Ultra.

The arrangements for away supporters in the Showgrounds are very poor.
The stand we were in could have been reserved completely for our supporters.

With proper segregation, toilet and food facilites, as provided in Terryland
for away fans, it is likely that potential flashpoints could have been avoided.

17/07/2007, 9:54 PM
Well said, Ultra.

for away fans, it is likely that potential flashpoints could have been avoided.I agree that the segregation could/should have been better but it would have been a waste to give ye the whole stand. Not enough Galway fans to warrent that. We should have done what was done for Bohs match, put a fence in centre of stand, including a buffer zone. Rovers fans down bottom section(entering through railway end) and Galway fans down other end(beginning of new stand).

17/07/2007, 10:02 PM
Well said, Ultra.

for away fans, it is likely that potential flashpoints could have been avoided.

someting should be done about the away fans and where they go. theres no real sergregation at all when you can just keep walking by the oppsition support, you usually will have someone shout at the person going by, causing a reaction and this could lead to something more serious. it happens almost every week in the showgrounds. theres been no fights full on fights yet, just people acting the muppet from both home and away fans, against longford there was yonug lads passing every 5 minutes and s**t went on with them and it was the same against UCD at home, and galway aswell.

i don't think the blue stand should be closed to home supporters, i just think something else can be done....we could let the away support go past the all weather pitch and around the back of the stand and in that way, it would stop them passing in front of us at least, the only trouble arises when away fans walk past the home support. its grand outside the ground generally and around the shop/chipper etc aswell.

there were a few muppets outside mooneys aswell, acting all hard. no need for it at all. threatening some galway lads. it all ruined what had started to be a good day between supporters, chatted away to many of them at the pub before the game.
it was only really 3 or 4 away fans that done anything wrong, the rest were brilliant. and a couple of our own lads were actin the eejit aswell.

Paddyfield
17/07/2007, 10:29 PM
I agree that the segregation could/should have been better but it would have been a waste to give ye the whole stand. Not enough Galway fans to warrent that. We should have done what was done for Bohs match, put a fence in centre of stand, including a buffer zone. Rovers fans down bottom section(entering through railway end) and Galway fans down other end(beginning of new stand).

I couldn't think of a better place to put a buffer zone than Sligo.:D

Patrick Dunne
17/07/2007, 10:32 PM
If the Sligo fans were occupying the railway end side it would have made much more sense.

Its a pity that a few small incidents have overshadowed the great work of both Trusts in promoting relationships between the two sets of supporters.

GUISAUltra
18/07/2007, 3:26 PM
I agree that the segregation could/should have been better but it would have been a waste to give ye the whole stand. Not enough Galway fans to warrent that. We should have done what was done for Bohs match, put a fence in centre of stand, including a buffer zone. Rovers fans down bottom section(entering through railway end) and Galway fans down other end(beginning of new stand).

that would have been a perfect solution. if there was a toilet down our side and a fence in the middle then a lot of this would have been avoided. having opposition fans walking past each other in a derby game isnt a good idea and tensions were high enough as it was