View Full Version : Rams 1 Derry 2

ramblers
03/07/2007, 9:42 PM
This was a game we gave Derry. We dominated them in the first half and had about 5 chances and didnt score.

Derry came in to it a bit more in the second half but we continued to have chances.

The reality is this game should have been dead and buried in rams favour in the first hour unfortunatly Derry had a chance and scored what was a soft goal.

Cummins proceeded to go up the other end and score.

Rams gave away a second soft goal and that was that. It has always been a cocern of mine that rams get so many chances and dont take them we will ge caught.

This was a great game for rams and they really troubled Derry but goals win matches and Derry scored them.

Well done to the lads on a great performance and 3 points against athlone will help get over it.

don ramo
03/07/2007, 10:35 PM
i missed the first 20 mins, but from what i saw as soon as i came rams could have had it over alright, to be honest i dont like the keeper there was notin wrong with deasy (im assuming he wasn't injured, just droped), first goal should never have gone in, cummins took his one well, and the defence was caught out for there second, notin could be done they justy sliced us open and the keeper flapped at it but stood still so didnt really get near it, and davin nearly scored a lovely lob near the end to bring it level but just missed,

rams didnt look out of there debt tonight it was a good derry team out and we could have won if not for our finnishing, whatever about the lower teams in the first, premier teams will punish,

roll on athlone, c'mon lads we can do it, well be playin them next year this is only a taster,

attendance what was it, i thought 1500 give or take 100

04/07/2007, 9:34 AM
While ye had the better of the first hour, I wouldn't say it should have been dead and buried.
It was always dangerous that someone like Farren would show a bit of class and Alan Carey struggled to keep McGlynn from causing damage.
Dave O'Keefe is the worst keeper i've seen in the League of Ireland.
Ola Tidman played better against City.
So while the Rams defence was far more solid than Hutton and co, any shot would still have been dangerous.
Impressed by Ramblers though.
Solid at the back and midfield and pacy up front.
Guthrie's playing very well.
Your pre-teen fans are a cringey embarassment and it was even stupider of your security and officials to pay any attention to them.
I suppose money is money.

Rams-07
04/07/2007, 9:42 AM
Gutted i missed it..sounds like the rams gave a good account of themselves though..putting things into perspective though,on paper we shouldnt have been at the races..with what they are paying in wages and what we are...still things looking very good for the future..still think we are a couple of years away from premier football..Hendo doing a fab job blooding alll the young players..but a couple of years will make a big difference to them..also think the club needs to get its finances in order..no use going up to be relegated straight away...:ball:

04/07/2007, 9:50 AM
Your pre-teen fans are a cringey embarassment and it was even stupider of your security and officials to pay any attention to them.

Never mind gettin the guards up to keep eye on them!! ridiculous really, when i heard the I.R.A comments and England ****e i really did cringe so much and was so embarassed they wouldnt know the first thing about irish history or the history of Derry football for that matter!! Derry drummers were class by the way, they must practice all the time:D. fierce rythym!! Massive shame about the result, i'd say dave the save was more nervous than anything else realy wouldnt want him coming outside of the 6 yard box in a race with opposing striker to win the ball.:D, reckon hes a good shot stoppper though, couldnt have done anything about the second goal. Mucky looked good when he came on, all the midfielders will have to be on there toes with him back now, thought Kearney and Barrett were superb last night though in my opinion between them two for man of the match.Prob kearney just because he covers so much ground asnd the quality of his passing.

Rams-07
04/07/2007, 9:55 AM
no texts last nite Bellavistaman...whats the story

04/07/2007, 9:59 AM
no texts last nite Bellavistaman...whats the story

no credit Rams-07 you would go away when theres alot going on like, flaing the situation! :D:D

when ye back, hope to god its before athlone sat :D

04/07/2007, 10:25 AM
Myself and few of my buddies were giving out bout the young lads shouting at Dave the save and the we want deasy ****e. Bloody showed us though!!

thegafferman
04/07/2007, 10:27 AM
yes gave a good account of ourselves ... first goal was a joke... second goal meade was cought ball watching...derry got two chances ...two goals we had nine chances ...one goal... thats the difference

04/07/2007, 10:32 AM
yes gave a good account of ourselves ... first goal was a joke... second goal meade was cought ball watching...derry got two chances ...two goals we had nine chances ...one goal... thats the difference

Yep, no flies on you, think the team deserve bit more credit than that though. Bar that mistake John Meade played very well and is having a class season by the way. And every single player on the pitch ran there heart out. Alot of pluses from last night

don ramo
04/07/2007, 11:09 AM
meade was caught out by some good play they just sliced us open for the second, he helped make a few good chances, and played well as did all the other lads, except the keeper who it has to be said did poor notin wrong with deasy to explain why he was dropped,

now its time for the league no more distratctions lets move on

04/07/2007, 11:15 AM
meade was caught out by some good play they just sliced us open for the second, he helped make a few good chances, and played well as did all the other lads, except the keeper who it has to be said did poor notin wrong with deasy to explain why he was dropped,

now its time for the league no more distratctions lets move on

possibly just to see what he was like. deasy was the fault for the goal in shels last week too like!

The Rebel Ram
04/07/2007, 11:18 AM
Yep, no flies on you, think the team deserve bit more credit than that though. Bar that mistake John Meade played very well and is having a class season by the way. And every single player on the pitch ran there heart out. Alot of pluses from last night

Agreed, great performance by the team. Keeper was full of nerves, big night for him and nerves were deffinately playing a big part. I was nervous before the game wondering if Deasy would hold his nerve for the game. Then hingsight is................
Disapointed by the loss but impressed by the performance though. Looks good for the future though.
We have to start taking our chances though or it will cost us.......
Kearney or Cummins were my man of the match choices.

04/07/2007, 11:20 AM
Agreed, great performance by the team. Keeper was full of nerves, big night for him and nerves were deffinately playing a big part. I was nervous before the game wondering if Deasy would hold his nerve for the game. Then hingsight is................
Disapointed by the loss but impressed by the performance though. Looks good for the future though.
We have to start taking our chances though or it will cost us.......Kearney or Cummins were my man of the match choices.

big time, major let down last night. Davin was very unlucky with the lob, i reckon Brian Mc will take off if he gets one but just cant see where that one goal will come from.

Rams-fan
04/07/2007, 12:05 PM
Great game last night. It was probably the best home game against a strong opposition I have seen this season.

The strike force really weren't firing on all cyclinders. We had ample chances. Closest outside of Davin's lob was the corner before they scored their second. Open back post opted to shoot then header back down in the corner.

This keeper is really unfit looking. Slow off the line, fumbled fluffed shot previous to the first goal. Did not inspire confidence and maybe nerves played a part but ?? what about young Deasy (Confidence increasing with every game, should have got the nod)

don ramo
04/07/2007, 12:30 PM
possibly just to see what he was like. deasy was the fault for the goal in shels last week too like!

i saw the highlights of the shels game, and deasy done notin wrong it was never a peno, it was inside the area but the our defender was comin back to help deasy when a shels players came stampedin through and was never gonna get the ball as he was goin way to fsat, and he went down between deasy and the defender but he was never gonna get through on goal at his pace,

and you dont see what a keeper is like when your playin premier teams, you play them against MSL or bottom of the table, and dont bring up douglas hall that was just fluke, deasy had done enogh to deserve a place on the pitch last night, a lot of negativity on the keeper is drawin away from the performance, its just baffling but what can i do, great performance shame about the keeper nuff said

04/07/2007, 12:35 PM
i saw the highlights of the shels game, and deasy done notin wrong it was never a peno, it was inside the area but the our defender was comin back to help deasy when a shels players came stampedin through and was never gonna get the ball as he was goin way to fsat, and he went down between deasy and the defender but he was never gonna get through on goal at his pace,

and you dont see what a keeper is like when your playin premier teams, you play them against MSL or bottom of the table, and dont bring up douglas hall that was just fluke, deasy had done enogh to deserve a place on the pitch last night, a lot of negativity on the keeper is drawin away from the performance, its just baffling but what can i do, great performance shame about the keeper nuff said

Agreed 100%, but IMO Deasy was the fault for the Shels goal, wheter or not it was a peno he called and did not collect, if he did not call Murray would have headed away pressure over, but when a keeper calls he should collect, fact. either way i agree with you bout last night although i wanted to see the keeper too but, the players did the club proud and lets focus on the fact that the ex champs struggled against us big time!!:D:D:D

don ramo
04/07/2007, 12:42 PM
agreed well done lad well beat them next year haome and way :ball::ball::ball:

04/07/2007, 8:41 PM
I thought the Derry fans were outstanding. They were small but they made a lot of noise that pumped the Derry players up. Our fans who were tryin to make noise were a disgrace, they didn't encourage the players. They picked on Dave the Save because he was new and frankly embarrassed the club in front of premier opposition and their fans. Their choice of chants were border line racist and non-sensical.
Example:" Where's your famous Gerry Adams?" and "IRA, IRA, IRA". Those chants had absolutely nothing to do with Derry and only offended the Derry fans. The task for fans chanting is to encourage your team not to try and start fights between fans, Ramblers was never about that but looking at the future generations of Rams fans we are looking at becoming the next Shamrock Rovers because nowadays pre-teens and young teenagers only go to matches looking for fights. This needs to be stamped out.
It was an excellent performance by the lads last night. I thought we at least deserved extra time but thats cup football. I thought Alan Kelly had a shocking game, he denied Ramblers a blatent penalty and he was very inconsistent in his decisions(allowing tackles from behind and tugs on the jersey for Derry and coming down on Ramblers when they did it).
Great game. Rams deserved so much more.

Comic Book Guy
04/07/2007, 9:14 PM
Agree about the embarrassing teens, cringed when I heard their chanting:rolleyes:

Marco
04/07/2007, 11:12 PM
[QUOTE=rambler14;717887]I thought the Derry fans were outstanding. They were small but they made a lot of noise that pumped the Derry players up. Our fans who were tryin to make noise were a disgrace, they didn't encourage the players. They picked on Dave the Save because he was new and frankly embarrassed the club in front of premier opposition and their fans. Their choice of chants were border line racist and non-sensical.
Example:" Where's your famous Gerry Adams?" and "IRA, IRA, IRA". Those chants had absolutely nothing to do with Derry and only offended the Derry fans. The task for fans chanting is to encourage your team not to try and start fights between fans, Ramblers was never about that but looking at the future generations of Rams fans we are looking at becoming the next Shamrock Rovers because nowadays pre-teens and young teenagers only go to matches looking for fights. This needs to be stamped out.

I gotta comment on this & I'll probebly get hammered for it!! but here goes.... The team played with guts and a great fighting spirit last night, a never say die attitude, they made Derry look fairly ordinary and they have been doing this all season. The team are proud of the fans who are showing up to support them, paying well earned money urging their side on towards a shot at the title, there's a great buzz around the ground on match days it's that little bit of magic that makes you want to grab a ball and have a kick about after the game that's the great draw of football

Here it comes!!! but can any one tell me why those w*****s who turned up at the ground thinking they were something are trying to destroy all the good work that is being done. For fcuk sake all it is at the end of the day is a game of football, their carry on was totally out of order, they were p***ed, trying to have a go at stewards, spiting, abusing the Derry fans, the Special needs groups and even the gang that was collecting at half time, and then they are wondering why they get chucked out of the stand. When u pay ur few bob to watch a game the last thing you want is some w***st**n fireing bits of glass or trying to wind you up for a scrap. Stay the **** away from the club, all your doing is spoiling it for the fans who want to support the team and SHOULD be in the stand shouting their team on. Sorry about the mother in law type rant! but fcuk it lads we have a chance, a geat chance or doing well, the potential is huge for this club, are we going to let a few muppets spoil it ... i hope not

Dazzy
04/07/2007, 11:49 PM
Had to laugh at the wee ****ers hiding their faces throwing stones in from outside, Wouldnt be hard to find him again with the chav looking hooped Fred Perry shirts on :P Good hospitallity from Cobh, but im not doing up and down in the one day again :D

don ramo
05/07/2007, 12:14 AM
Had to laugh at the wee ****ers hiding their faces throwing stones in from outside, Wouldnt be hard to find him again with the chav looking hooped Fred Perry shirts on :P Good hospitallity from Cobh, but im not doing up and down in the one day again :D

:Dthat would be like jet lag goin to austaralia in one go,
ya those young falls are idiots step towards them and there gone, roarin some sort of s***, dont mind them or the fools inside chantin cr**, they dont understand what there on about,
was a good perfromance, even heard derrys new manager came into our dressing room and said we deserved to win (not a very reliable soure but has been known to be right on several occasions)

05/07/2007, 12:54 AM
Our fans who were tryin to make noise were a disgrace, they didn't encourage the players. They picked on Dave the Save because he was new and frankly embarrassed the club in front of premier opposition and their fans. Their choice of chants were border line racist and non-sensical.
Example:" Where's your famous Gerry Adams?" and "IRA, IRA, IRA".
I heard them sing "Oh, you're all a bunch of proddies over there.":o:o:o
Morto.

To be fair, they're very very young.
Larger eL clubs tend to have those fans, but in amongst an older crowd.
Again though, probably stupid of the stewards etc to do anything about them imo.

Dazzy
05/07/2007, 1:16 AM
:Dthat would be like jet lag goin to austaralia in one go,

Just glad i wasnt driving and them chicken wings at half time went down well:D plus the trip wont be as bad as what we have planned for Armenia :D

05/07/2007, 3:51 AM
I heard them sing "Oh, you're all a bunch of proddies over there."
Morto.

What??? I had nothing to do with it :eek:

*This will make no sense what so ever if ye've not been on derrycitychat*

chimpster
05/07/2007, 6:26 AM
Wasn't at the game, but I've seen that shower down at Colman's before. They normally only turn up for big games to wind up the opposition fans, but with us having a decent season we're seeing more and more of them.

Let's remember that Ramblers is OUR club - everyones - and we can't let these little cowards damage our reputation and maybe even land us in the sh*te with the FAI. We really don't need to get a points deduction thanks to some stupid schoolboys! (Under UEFA rules that's the punishment for persistent racism or hooliganism) :mad:

Anyway, its for all of us to make sure the twerps are kept out. Don't just rely on the stewards, next time they start we all need to get do whatever is necessary to get them out of that exit gate. I know money is always tight, but i'd also like to see the club/gardai put in cctv, either permanently or at least for these big matches.

10/07/2007, 2:43 PM
Wasn't at the game, but I've seen that shower down at Colman's before. They normally only turn up for big games to wind up the opposition fans, but with us having a decent season we're seeing more and more of them.

If they're coming out with chants like that I'd say they're just embarressing themselves rather than winding up the away fans :D. They should at least learn to educate themselves if they are going to try and wind up the opposition. All they did by the sounds of it was make everybody cringe...