Thread: Rams 1 Derry 2

Rams 1 Derry 2

This was a game we gave Derry. We dominated them in the first half and had about 5 chances and didnt score.

Derry came in to it a bit more in the second half but we continued to have chances.

The reality is this game should have been dead and buried in rams favour in the first hour unfortunatly Derry had a chance and scored what was a soft goal.

Cummins proceeded to go up the other end and score.

Rams gave away a second soft goal and that was that. It has always been a cocern of mine that rams get so many chances and dont take them we will ge caught.

This was a great game for rams and they really troubled Derry but goals win matches and Derry scored them.

Well done to the lads on a great performance and 3 points against athlone will help get over it.

i missed the first 20 mins, but from what i saw as soon as i came rams could have had it over alright, to be honest i dont like the keeper there was notin wrong with deasy (im assuming he wasn't injured, just droped), first goal should never have gone in, cummins took his one well, and the defence was caught out for there second, notin could be done they justy sliced us open and the keeper flapped at it but stood still so didnt really get near it, and davin nearly scored a lovely lob near the end to bring it level but just missed,

rams didnt look out of there debt tonight it was a good derry team out and we could have won if not for our finnishing, whatever about the lower teams in the first, premier teams will punish,

roll on athlone, c'mon lads we can do it, well be playin them next year this is only a taster,

attendance what was it, i thought 1500 give or take 100
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

While ye had the better of the first hour, I wouldn't say it should have been dead and buried.
    It was always dangerous that someone like Farren would show a bit of class and Alan Carey struggled to keep McGlynn from causing damage.
    Dave O'Keefe is the worst keeper i've seen in the League of Ireland.
    Ola Tidman played better against City.
    So while the Rams defence was far more solid than Hutton and co, any shot would still have been dangerous.
    Impressed by Ramblers though.
    Solid at the back and midfield and pacy up front.
    Guthrie's playing very well.
    Your pre-teen fans are a cringey embarassment and it was even stupider of your security and officials to pay any attention to them.
    I suppose money is money.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Gutted i missed it..sounds like the rams gave a good account of themselves though..putting things into perspective though,on paper we shouldnt have been at the races..with what they are paying in wages and what we are...still things looking very good for the future..still think we are a couple of years away from premier football..Hendo doing a fab job blooding alll the young players..but a couple of years will make a big difference to them..also think the club needs to get its finances in order..no use going up to be relegated straight away...

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    Your pre-teen fans are a cringey embarassment and it was even stupider of your security and officials to pay any attention to them.
    Never mind gettin the guards up to keep eye on them!! ridiculous really, when i heard the I.R.A comments and England ****e i really did cringe so much and was so embarassed they wouldnt know the first thing about irish history or the history of Derry football for that matter!! Derry drummers were class by the way, they must practice all the time. fierce rythym!! Massive shame about the result, i'd say dave the save was more nervous than anything else realy wouldnt want him coming outside of the 6 yard box in a race with opposing striker to win the ball., reckon hes a good shot stoppper though, couldnt have done anything about the second goal. Mucky looked good when he came on, all the midfielders will have to be on there toes with him back now, thought Kearney and Barrett were superb last night though in my opinion between them two for man of the match.Prob kearney just because he covers so much ground asnd the quality of his passing.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

no texts last nite Bellavistaman...whats the story

Quote Originally Posted by Rams-07 View Post
    no texts last nite Bellavistaman...whats the story
    no credit Rams-07 you would go away when theres alot going on like, flaing the situation!

when ye back, hope to god its before athlone sat

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Myself and few of my buddies were giving out bout the young lads shouting at Dave the save and the we want deasy ****e. Bloody showed us though!!

Foot.ie! derry

yes gave a good account of ourselves ... first goal was a joke... second goal meade was cought ball watching...derry got two chances ...two goals we had nine chances ...one goal... thats the difference

Quote Originally Posted by thegafferman View Post
    yes gave a good account of ourselves ... first goal was a joke... second goal meade was cought ball watching...derry got two chances ...two goals we had nine chances ...one goal... thats the difference
    Yep, no flies on you, think the team deserve bit more credit than that though. Bar that mistake John Meade played very well and is having a class season by the way. And every single player on the pitch ran there heart out. Alot of pluses from last night

meade was caught out by some good play they just sliced us open for the second, he helped make a few good chances, and played well as did all the other lads, except the keeper who it has to be said did poor notin wrong with deasy to explain why he was dropped,

now its time for the league no more distratctions lets move on

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post
    meade was caught out by some good play they just sliced us open for the second, he helped make a few good chances, and played well as did all the other lads, except the keeper who it has to be said did poor notin wrong with deasy to explain why he was dropped,

now its time for the league no more distratctions lets move on
    possibly just to see what he was like. deasy was the fault for the goal in shels last week too like!

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Yep, no flies on you, think the team deserve bit more credit than that though. Bar that mistake John Meade played very well and is having a class season by the way. And every single player on the pitch ran there heart out. Alot of pluses from last night
    Agreed, great performance by the team. Keeper was full of nerves, big night for him and nerves were deffinately playing a big part. I was nervous before the game wondering if Deasy would hold his nerve for the game. Then hingsight is................
    Disapointed by the loss but impressed by the performance though. Looks good for the future though.
    We have to start taking our chances though or it will cost us.......
    Kearney or Cummins were my man of the match choices.

Quote Originally Posted by The Rebel Ram View Post
    Agreed, great performance by the team. Keeper was full of nerves, big night for him and nerves were deffinately playing a big part. I was nervous before the game wondering if Deasy would hold his nerve for the game. Then hingsight is................
    Disapointed by the loss but impressed by the performance though. Looks good for the future though.
    We have to start taking our chances though or it will cost us.......Kearney or Cummins were my man of the match choices.
    big time, major let down last night. Davin was very unlucky with the lob, i reckon Brian Mc will take off if he gets one but just cant see where that one goal will come from.

Great game last night. It was probably the best home game against a strong opposition I have seen this season.

The strike force really weren't firing on all cyclinders. We had ample chances. Closest outside of Davin's lob was the corner before they scored their second. Open back post opted to shoot then header back down in the corner.

This keeper is really unfit looking. Slow off the line, fumbled fluffed shot previous to the first goal. Did not inspire confidence and maybe nerves played a part but ?? what about young Deasy (Confidence increasing with every game, should have got the nod)

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    possibly just to see what he was like. deasy was the fault for the goal in shels last week too like!
    i saw the highlights of the shels game, and deasy done notin wrong it was never a peno, it was inside the area but the our defender was comin back to help deasy when a shels players came stampedin through and was never gonna get the ball as he was goin way to fsat, and he went down between deasy and the defender but he was never gonna get through on goal at his pace,

and you dont see what a keeper is like when your playin premier teams, you play them against MSL or bottom of the table, and dont bring up douglas hall that was just fluke, deasy had done enogh to deserve a place on the pitch last night, a lot of negativity on the keeper is drawin away from the performance, its just baffling but what can i do, great performance shame about the keeper nuff said

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post
    i saw the highlights of the shels game, and deasy done notin wrong it was never a peno, it was inside the area but the our defender was comin back to help deasy when a shels players came stampedin through and was never gonna get the ball as he was goin way to fsat, and he went down between deasy and the defender but he was never gonna get through on goal at his pace,

and you dont see what a keeper is like when your playin premier teams, you play them against MSL or bottom of the table, and dont bring up douglas hall that was just fluke, deasy had done enogh to deserve a place on the pitch last night, a lot of negativity on the keeper is drawin away from the performance, its just baffling but what can i do, great performance shame about the keeper nuff said
    Agreed 100%, but IMO Deasy was the fault for the Shels goal, wheter or not it was a peno he called and did not collect, if he did not call Murray would have headed away pressure over, but when a keeper calls he should collect, fact. either way i agree with you bout last night although i wanted to see the keeper too but, the players did the club proud and lets focus on the fact that the ex champs struggled against us big time!!

agreed well done lad well beat them next year haome and way

I thought the Derry fans were outstanding. They were small but they made a lot of noise that pumped the Derry players up. Our fans who were tryin to make noise were a disgrace, they didn't encourage the players. They picked on Dave the Save because he was new and frankly embarrassed the club in front of premier opposition and their fans. Their choice of chants were border line racist and non-sensical.
    Example:" Where's your famous Gerry Adams?" and "IRA, IRA, IRA". Those chants had absolutely nothing to do with Derry and only offended the Derry fans. The task for fans chanting is to encourage your team not to try and start fights between fans, Ramblers was never about that but looking at the future generations of Rams fans we are looking at becoming the next Shamrock Rovers because nowadays pre-teens and young teenagers only go to matches looking for fights. This needs to be stamped out.
    It was an excellent performance by the lads last night. I thought we at least deserved extra time but thats cup football. I thought Alan Kelly had a shocking game, he denied Ramblers a blatent penalty and he was very inconsistent in his decisions(allowing tackles from behind and tugs on the jersey for Derry and coming down on Ramblers when they did it).
    Great game. Rams deserved so much more.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

56 Posts
    Agree about the embarrassing teens, cringed when I heard their chanting
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''