View Full Version : Rovers support the GAA
03/07/2007, 11:21 AM
There is an article on the front page of the weekender stating several Sligo Rovers players and manager Paul Cook will be attending the final of the GAA this week as a show of support for the efforts . Cook says that when any team from Sligo is in a big event its great for the whole town etc and that he is looking forward to watching his first GAA match and will learn the rules before the game.
Nice to see i suppose....
03/07/2007, 12:42 PM
If Paul Cook learns the rules, he'll be the only one in Roscommon who knows them.
03/07/2007, 12:45 PM
the boys should have a good day out on the beer like the rest of us.
hows that professionalism working out for ye?
Only1Rovers
03/07/2007, 12:48 PM
So far so good, strict rageme of beer before and during half time, :D
03/07/2007, 1:04 PM
I'll be at home, hoping for a Maroon army win! The only win the Maroon army will get over Sligo this year;)
SeaniesRedArmy
03/07/2007, 1:13 PM
Not bad, we bet cork city 4-1 :D :p
03/07/2007, 1:16 PM
How can you cheer on any other team against your county team Sligoman ? I can understand you may not like the sport but still no reason to cheer against your own, very strange.Cos I hate to see the town plastered in black and white, bought the Weekender today-2 pages on Rovers and about 12 pages on Bogball final, quicker the hype is over, the better in my opinion.
03/07/2007, 1:17 PM
Its a shame to be that bitter sligoman , If Rovers got to the FAI Cup final i'm sure that the hype and coverage would be just as much
03/07/2007, 1:18 PM
Its a shame to be that bitter sligoman , If Rovers got to the FAI Cup final i'm sure that the hype and coverage would be just as muchDoubt we'd get red and white banners all over the place. Plus, it takes a lot more to get to FAI cup final than Connacht final.
03/07/2007, 1:32 PM
But Sligo has only ever won the connacht final twice it is a big deal hopefully they can make 3 on Sunday and have a good day on the beer after.It's all about the beer with you isn't it!:rolleyes:
03/07/2007, 2:01 PM
sligoman....you obviously werent around in 1994 when we won the cup....the town was awash with red & white, shops,houses the lot.Well I actually was, but was only 6 years old at the time so can just remember the match itself, not what the town was like.
Rovers years ago was given a lot more support than it is now(all you have to do is look at the attendances & there's no buzz around the town like there used to be), my point is that if we made the FAI cup final now, I don't think O'Connell street etc. would be turned red and white.
red bellied
03/07/2007, 2:07 PM
Generally there isnt that much interest around town. The bunting and flags put up around town are mainly for business reasons. Not a flag to be seen in any of the housing estates. Just seen the ticket prices in the Weekender and they are sky high ranging from 20 to 35 euro. OAPs and students are 20 each and thats for the terrace.
03/07/2007, 2:09 PM
they are sky high ranging from 20 to 35 euro. OAPs and students are 20 each and thats for the terrace.All going to an organisation which isn't rotten with money already too:rolleyes:.
red bellied
03/07/2007, 4:28 PM
Prices are fairly high alright but still going up should be a bit of a laugh to be fair.
Bus Eireann are running a special from the station for 30 euro.
03/07/2007, 6:22 PM
Not bad, we bet cork city 4-1 :D :p
touché :(
Shiba
03/07/2007, 10:19 PM
Cos I hate to see the town plastered in black and white, bought the Weekender today-2 pages on Rovers and about 12 pages on Bogball final, quicker the hype is over, the better in my opinion.
That has to be the sadiest statement I have ever heard!Sad Sligoman,never was a fan of the Gaa myself but to wish your own county to fail is "Sad".
03/07/2007, 10:52 PM
That has to be the sadiest statement I have ever heard!Sad Sligoman,never was a fan of the Gaa myself but to wish your own county to fail is "Sad".It's quite sad the number of times you've said the word sad in your post there.
I hate gah, I want more coverage for Rovers so the quicker the bogballers are knocked out, the better for our club. Plus, with the Gah campaign over, the sunshiners may appear at the Showgies again which means more money for our club.
Shiba
03/07/2007, 11:01 PM
It's quite sad the number of times you've said the word sad in your post there.
I hate gah, I want more coverage for Rovers so the quicker the bogballers are knocked out, the better for our club. Plus, with the Gah campaign over, the sunshiners may appear at the Showgies again which means more money for our club.
SAD!!!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:
03/07/2007, 11:04 PM
SAD!!!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:What a childish response. Perhaps you should press "alt" and "F4" together on your keyboard now and return when you've grown up?
Only1Rovers
04/07/2007, 1:29 AM
If Cook makes it to Roscommon on Sunday it'll be to major finals he's been to in two months! More than most other EL Managers...
I presume he got tickets for the Champions League Final.
And Sligoman, if the Cookie Monster can make the effort to support his new adopted town (and county) in various codes maybe you should do the same or keep the trap shut. We spend enough time complaning about sligo or sligo people or people not supporting the Rovers, dont be such a hypocrite.
04/07/2007, 9:48 AM
And Sligoman, if the Cookie Monster can make the effort to support his new adopted town (and county) in various codes maybe you should do the same or keep the trap shut. We spend enough time complaning about sligo or sligo people or people not supporting the Rovers, dont be such a hypocrite.I'm entitled to my opinion as much as you so don't tell me to shut up. I never asked you to agree with it. Rovers comes first for me and to see Sligo Gah knocked out will benefit us more imo.
04/07/2007, 10:01 AM
I dont see how the gaelic team getting knocked out would benifit us in any way shape or form.
04/07/2007, 10:05 AM
I dont see how the gaelic team getting knocked out would benifit us in any way shape or form.I've said it a couple of times already...
I want more coverage for Rovers so the quicker the bogballers are knocked out, the better for our club. Plus, with the Gah campaign over, the sunshiners may appear at the Showgies again which means more money for our club.
04/07/2007, 10:13 AM
I dont think that Sligo's prolonged appearance in the Championships and our attendances are or will be related at all.I didnt see the Weeekender this week but did Rovers get any less coverage than they normally get?
04/07/2007, 10:18 AM
I dont think that Sligo's prolonged appearance in the Championships and our attendances are or will be related at all.I didnt see the Weeekender this week but did Rovers get any less coverage than they normally get?Yes. We only got 2 pages. Haven't seen today's Sligo Champion but I'd guess that'll be dominated by Gah stories too. Fair enough it's to be expected but I'd still prefer them to be gone so that we'll get more.
We'll have to disagree on the attendances thing then.
04/07/2007, 10:26 AM
Fair enough we can agree to disagree , but I for one will be wishing former Rovers players Michael McNamara , Philip Gallagher , Johnny Davey and the rest of the Sligo squad the best of luck for Sunday,
Only1Rovers
04/07/2007, 10:32 AM
Yes. We only got 2 pages. Haven't seen today's Sligo Champion but I'd guess that'll be dominated by Gah stories too. Fair enough it's to be expected but I'd still prefer them to be gone so that we'll get more.
They are in a final... give them some credit...
I'm not the biggest GAA fan but its something to have a bit of pride in. Better than having no local teams representing us at a national level. Ultimately having the GAA team in a provincial final is good for the town and county. I'm really impressed with Cook's attitude towards the GAA team. What a way to raise the awareness of the Rovers. I'm sure they will be wearing their Rovers tracksuits in Hyde Park, when people see them (GAA heads) they will talk about the Rovers. One or two who have never been to the Showgies may think about coming up for a look.
We're playing Galway on the 14th at home. Cook's vision could improve the attendance for that game alone. He may have planted a seed in the heads of those who have little interest in the Rovers. They may walk up Church hill on July 14th to return the complement.
Shiba
04/07/2007, 12:23 PM
Yes. We only got 2 pages. Haven't seen today's Sligo Champion but I'd guess that'll be dominated by Gah stories too. Fair enough it's to be expected but I'd still prefer them to be gone so that we'll get more.
We'll have to disagree on the attendances thing then.
Sligoman! You would need to avoid the "Sligo Post" this week.If you think i would need to growup over my comments well you better look at yourself first.Your Basically saying that "You hope Sligo(Gaa) dont do well on Sunday because (sniff,Sniff) the local papers & radio are given them(sniff,sniff) coverage than their given to Sligo(Rovers)".I have a 4 year old with more sense than that.
neutrino
04/07/2007, 12:29 PM
ah i think this thread can be locked down now. It's just tat really. We all from Sligo want any Sligo team to well in whatever they do. Sligoman, the wind up man of Sligo :D, is in the minority of 1 so the effort of a long thread in retort isnt really justified.
Have to say I didnt know what to make of Cook when he arrived. But he's doing himself no harm at all and fare play to him. Be interesting to see what happens during the transfer window.
Good luck once again to the county team on Sunday !!
Redzer
04/07/2007, 12:31 PM
I'm not the GAA's biggest supporter either, but I heading to Hyde park on Sunday. I guess they would call the likes of me a sunshine supporter too. But they will accept my 25 or 35 euro with open arms. We would do the same with Rovers sunshine supporters.
I would like to see them take a Connacht title. As they say "a rising tide lifts all boats". If there was a feel good factor around Sligo, we all could benifit.
shedhead
04/07/2007, 12:58 PM
Your a sad sad sligoman. It's one dimensional people like you who are the reason alot of sligo GAA dont support rovers.
SeaniesRedArmy
04/07/2007, 1:30 PM
no way does the GAA affect our attendances. The dates dont clash!! The crowd against longford was great and that was probably during the climax of the gah season for sligo
04/07/2007, 1:32 PM
no way does the GAA affect our attendances. The dates dont clash!! The crowd against longford was great and that was probably during the climax of the gah season for sligo
surely the climax is Sunday...like how is it a climax if there's no games on?
SeaniesRedArmy
04/07/2007, 1:50 PM
I mean this whole week, interest wise. the most hype will be during this week and that didnt affect our attendnce against longford
Ballagh Red
04/07/2007, 2:54 PM
Fair play to Paul and the lads for getting behind the Gaa team and the ex Rovers players in it.Shows a bit of pride in the local community.Oh to be in a Provincial final,you lucky lucky b......s. I'll be in Castlebar on Sat. to see Cavan getting hockeyed! Full steam ahead with the Red Army for the rest of the season:):)
Rovers fan
04/07/2007, 5:50 PM
Ill definitely be rooting for sligo come sunday, dont see how it affects rovers. Cook is conducting himself well of the pitch
Da Real Rover
04/07/2007, 6:47 PM
I will show GAA the indifference it deserves, could care less. Win, lose, or draw i wont even know the result. Has nothing to do with me, and never will. To be honest i dont think it deserves the mileage it is getting here. Bogball is an ugly sport if you ask me. But if it were a hurling final i would be there, that is a class sport. The Sligo gaelic team does not represent me, sure ffs the county boundarys were just accentuated by the GAA. They have no bearing. Sure you will find more in common with man from Souey and Crossmallina than with someone from sligo town and souey.
Monkfish
04/07/2007, 6:58 PM
Slightly off topic, I came across a load of lads in Sligo Rovers tracksuits in the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick during our 2nd replay with Tipp, any know if these were players or fans?
05/07/2007, 8:42 AM
. Sure you will find more in common with man from Souey and Crossmallina than with someone from sligo town and souey.
Why would you say that? It's all the West of Ireland anyway
Fivesilver
05/07/2007, 10:38 AM
Sure you will find more in common with man from Souey and Crossmallina than with someone from sligo town and souey.
Definitely. Sligo town is clearly the odd one out here - check the spellings. :D
05/07/2007, 10:54 AM
Couldnt care less what they do. I have similar opinion to sligoman and da real rover in regards to GAA. I know Cook is trying to get more fans into the showgrounds and i suppose its a good thing but GAA fans are very similar to a small section of fans that sit in our main stand , ie quick to criticize and pick on players when they don't have a clue. That's a different story though, this story below is just for the fun of it
The Dominant H must be ignored
At work i face a constant stream of GAA conversation , the like of " The big game this week, are ya heading up" . The minature black and white flag attached to the farmers jeep, the straw hat in the back seat and the vocal chords ready to unleash the dominant "H". The dominant "H" being the the unmistakable added letter to the name of our town. "Shligo". "Come on Shligo" the man will roar, his support is likened to the waterproof factor of his wellington boots. That's right sir, its 100%. I mention I will be venturing North this weekend in support of Sligo Rovers but I am quickly dismissed as a supporter of a foreign game. The temptation to counter his accusation with what he does is resisted and I wish the man well. Ignore the GAA , it is the only way
red_away
05/07/2007, 12:37 PM
I must say i agree - i hope the sligo GAA team win - but i have no interest whatsoever. I met a man from curry a while ago and he asked me about football and i stated my fondness for the bitored and he stated very seriously "Sure why woiuldnt you, you are all protestants in the town anyway!" - i shrugged my shoulders and pitied his ignorance.
Fivesilver
05/07/2007, 1:04 PM
And away we go again on this nonsensical idea that anyone who lives beyond Maugheraboy or Cartron is an exclusively GAA-supporting troglodyte who spends all day worrying about the price of potatoes.
I remember years ago Rovers players Dwayne Shanley ann Robbie Keegan being mystified by a conversation in the Stables about "buffs". The two Dubs had a hard time figuring out what it was all about. Finally, Shanley said, in complete innocence: "But I thought ye were all culchies, together like - I didn't realise there was different levels." :D
It fits in nicely with the young lads you get in the Showgrounds calling away fans from the likes of Cork, Limerick and Waterford cities sheep-shaggers or rednecks. :p
05/07/2007, 1:37 PM
It fits in nicely with the young lads you get in the Showgrounds calling away fans from the likes of Cork, Limerick and Waterford cities sheep-shaggers or rednecks. :p
*cough*Galway about Sligo*cough*
Fivesilver
05/07/2007, 2:21 PM
What I was referring to was lads talking about "rednecks" from far bigger population centres, which would include - believe it or not - Galway. :confused:
Da Real Rover
05/07/2007, 5:07 PM
Now that is absolutely the most pathetic thread i have seen on any website ever. If ever narrow-mindessness is listed in a dictionary i think Da real Rovers post should be the definition that is given.
Yes coming from the man that doesnt even bother to back up his sweeping statements with any sort of justification. I gave my opinion and gave a statement that i feel was true. If you dont like my opinion or dont agree with it, deal with it. And if you cant do that, crawl into a hole and die. Now to give your response 'Narrow minded' or 'sad'?? expand your vocabulary.
Da Real Rover
05/07/2007, 5:13 PM
I remember years ago Rovers players Dwayne Shanley ann Robbie Keegan being mystified by a conversation in the Stables about "buffs". The two Dubs had a hard time figuring out what it was all about. Finally, Shanley said, in complete innocence: "But I thought ye were all culchies, together like - I didn't realise there was different levels." :D
Firstly that argument does not stand up. Imagine if you took some Home boys from south central LA and had them talking to some dubs, sure they will just as easily see them as rednecks as dubs see us as culchies. Its just where ever urban area is bigger they think is less backward. But none the less all these areas are still urban.
And I have never recalled Rovers fans calling fans from Cork, Waterford or Limerick sheepshaggers, its normally refined to harps.
Fivesilver
05/07/2007, 6:34 PM
Its just where ever urban area is bigger they think is less backward. But none the less all these areas are still urban.
So at what precise point does an area get to be defined as urban, and therefore not backward?
Mexico City, Tokyo, Los Angeles, London, Dublin, Limerick, Sligo, Ballisodare, Tubbercurry, Ballymote, Drumcliffe, Ballygawley . . . (insert dividing line where applicable).
I suppose all I'm trying to say is that this idea of comparing populations is a bit daft. You yourself have said as much with the mention of Dubliners who fail to realise they're not living in a world-renowned hotspot of high sophistication.
And I have never recalled Rovers fans calling fans from Cork, Waterford or Limerick sheepshaggers, its normally refined to harps.
I have.
Bravo
06/07/2007, 12:31 PM
Begrudging pr1cks. Half of you would rather support teams in other countries. There a bunch of Sligo Lads like ourselves & deserve our backing whether ya support them or not is up to you, why run them down, SAD:confused:
Coming out of the showgies after the Monaghan friendly (pre-season) I met 4 county Players, grand lads, glad to see Rovers return the complement. Good luck to them on Sunday Ill be there, the lads with the thatch roofs on there heads & all the sodbusters, out for the day, great craic!!
Da Real Rover
06/07/2007, 5:14 PM
So at what precise point does an area get to be defined as urban, and therefore not backward?
Mexico City, Tokyo, Los Angeles, London, Dublin, Limerick, Sligo, Ballisodare, Tubbercurry, Ballymote, Drumcliffe, Ballygawley . . . (insert dividing line where applicable).
I suppose all I'm trying to say is that this idea of comparing populations is a bit daft. You yourself have said as much with the mention of Dubliners who fail to realise they're not living in a world-renowned hotspot of high sophistication.
I have.
That is true, but do you really think Drumcliffe and Balleygawley are urban centers?? It is a difficult question to answer but I guess alot is to do with the mindset of the populace aswell, do they think like Roasters or Townies?? Do they get excited by the mart or by a needle exchange?? I dont know the answer to these questions but my view was that if the town has a populace of upwards on 20000 then they arent buffs. But everyone to there own.