View Full Version : Rovers support the GAA
sullanefc
06/07/2007, 6:59 PM
Oh what a funny thread. When I clicked into it first I thought it was something about Shamrock Rovers U-turn with Thomas Davis in Tallaght, but it's much funnier than that :D Sligo fans defining the word culchie and sheep shagger. Priceless :D
By the way, Cork has Soccer, hurling, football & Munster Rugby. There are some fans who support all of them, some who support one and not any other etc. So don't get your knickers in a twist over it. Build a bridge etc.....
06/07/2007, 10:28 PM
You also have 61 bales of Columbian marching powder.
Fivesilver
07/07/2007, 6:05 PM
my view was that if the town has a populace of upwards on 20000
Imagine that - there's a coincidence. :D
My point is that I know people in a village of a few hundred I did a lot of growing up in that I'd regard as more up to speed than acquaintances of mine from a city of 12,000,000 I lived in for most of my adult life - and vice versa. It's just hard not to get a giggle out of people who think their level of civilisation is decided by how many neighbours they have in close proximity.
And that would include the smug dolt who came trolling in a couple of posts back, who presumably has notions about Cork.
Get a grip lads - take a look in the mirror and sort that mess out before you go talking down to GAA, League of Ireland, culchies, buffs, Jackeens and so on.
dublinred
07/07/2007, 7:47 PM
Great to see a sligo double this weekend :cool:
Enjoy your trip to Hyde Park
Ps:You are not allowed sing nasty songs about the opposition or the ref at GAA matches:):)
Midgit
08/07/2007, 2:43 PM
YES!!!!!!!!!!!! they won it!!!! Brilliant........ suck on it Sligoman ye miserable little fecker:D:D:D
08/07/2007, 2:46 PM
unlucky sligoman.:D
hopefully the first of 3 victories over galway the coming week...
08/07/2007, 3:13 PM
YES!!!!!!!!!!!! they won it!!!! Brilliant........ suck on it Sligoman ye miserable little fecker:D:D:D
the next bandwagon for you to jump on..
Bad weekend for you Sligoman,I think. Sligo lost & Sligo won but I think it great as a real Sligoman that the Gaa Team won, can only be good for the county.
Sligoman since you so hung up lack of coverage the gave Rovers wouldnt be a great idea for some media coverage for Rovers to invite the GAA team to the Showgrounds on Saturday to present them to the crowd especially since we playing "Galway".
I remember a few years ago when Don O Riordan was in charge of Galway organising a charity game between both codes.At time I thought it was a novel idea.Now I think with the success of the GAA team & Rovers arn't going bad either could be a way winning over some fans from both sides for both sides.
red bellied
08/07/2007, 4:31 PM
Would be a good idea but would doubt it very much the local GAA would sanction that.
Can't see why not
red bellied
08/07/2007, 4:53 PM
The GAA is top dog in the county by a long shot and will want to keep it that way. Having the Connaught Champions in the Showgrounds would up the attendance. Do you really think they want that to happen? They have never shown Rovers any goodwill in an official capacity. Actually it wouldnt surpise me if they organised a victory parade around the town at the same time as the Galway match.
08/07/2007, 5:27 PM
YES!!!!!!!!!!!! they won it!!!! Brilliant........ suck on it Sligoman ye miserable little fecker:DAnd the bandwagon rolls on...
They've now won 2 games(NY doesn't count) and they're the best ever team:rolleyes: Bring on the All-Ireland, see how far they get!:p
And the bandwagon rolls on...
They've now won 2 games(NY doesn't count) and they're the best ever team:rolleyes: Bring on the All-Ireland, see how far they get!:p
They have won a trophy!and made alot of People happy.If rovers win the cup be 3/4 games I think and if beat a non league side on the way will that count :D
The GAA is top dog in the county by a long shot and will want to keep it that way. Having the Connaught Champions in the Showgrounds would up the attendance. Do you really think they want that to happen? They have never shown Rovers any goodwill in an official capacity. Actually it wouldnt surpise me if they organised a victory parade around the town at the same time as the Galway match.
Very cinacle! I'm not a great supporter of the Gaa been only ever been at Sligo game once in my life but I don't think the relationship between Rovers and Sligo Gaa is that bad.Our attendance been down is not the Gaa's fault,it was the FAi(loi) who encroached into their playing season by introducing summer soccer.
Have they any ill will towards Rovers? I don't remember any!
Fivesilver
08/07/2007, 7:07 PM
Fair play - and nice to see Mickey Mac getting the crucial score.
08/07/2007, 7:36 PM
class craic there today, was in the middle of the rovers lads....fare play to them for going up, the craic was mighty :D
Midgit
08/07/2007, 11:43 PM
the next bandwagon for you to jump on......
WTF??????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????
I've supported Sligo GAA since i can remember (been to every[Championship] game over the past seven years). And brewer if you are saying this because i didn't go??............ i bought a ticket with every intention of going but unfortunatly my grandmother fell ill this morning in my house and was rushed to hospital.
I support GAA through and through and play for my county club with pride. I can't see where you got the impression i jumped on the bandwagon brewer??? So for in future Brewer don't comment where your opinion is not welcome or in fact don't comment on a subject you don't have a f**kn clue about).
Ya and Sligoman i can understand how you said the same thing that i joined the bandwagon when you clearly read what Brewer said and just copied him.(the post was for the laugh only trying to rise ye[and did]):D
09/07/2007, 11:45 AM
the post was for the laugh only trying to rise ye[and did]):DSo you're admitting to being a WUM then?
09/07/2007, 1:24 PM
Hate the GAA myself but even i was cheering them on yesterday at the end...great for sligo, hope they go further now.
There is an article on the front page of the weekender stating several Sligo Rovers players and manager Paul Cook will be attending the final of the GAA this week as a show of support for the efforts . Cook says that when any team from Sligo is in a big event its great for the whole town etc and that he is looking forward to watching his first GAA match and will learn the rules before the game.
Nice to see i suppose....
Any word of what he made of it? Heard one comment he was meant to have made to the players "something about Sligo team been amatuer" not meant to degrade gaa team but as motivation to the Rovers team as reagrds what can be acheived with heart & determination.
sligobhoy67
10/07/2007, 3:00 PM
The only time I have ever been in Markiewicz Park was to compete in the community games final at a teenager. I doubt I am the only person from town who is the same - I have no hostility towards the GAA and was happy they won the title it I just couldnt really a toss about it or them.
It is possibly that that attitude stems from that post colonial/garrison town mentality that is still in existance in Sligo Town or and I could just be a totally paranoid clown (dont all agree at once) but I never felt welcome at any GAA club nor did I ever get the impression that they ever wanted young fellas from the various estates around the town to be at "their club" and were happy with the sons of coppers, shopkeepers and teachers etc.
Maybe I am paranoid but what percentage of the population of County Sligo is from the town and what percentage of the team/dquad was from the town
10/07/2007, 3:33 PM
The only time I have ever been in Markiewicz Park was to compete in the community games final at a teenager. I doubt I am the only person from town who is the same - I have no hostility towards the GAA and was happy they won the title it I just couldnt really a toss about it or them.
It is possibly that that attitude stems from that post colonial/garrison town mentality that is still in existance in Sligo Town or and I could just be a totally paranoid clown (dont all agree at once) but I never felt welcome at any GAA club nor did I ever get the impression that they ever wanted young fellas from the various estates around the town to be at "their club" and were happy with the sons of coppers, shopkeepers and teachers etc.
Maybe I am paranoid but what percentage of the population of County Sligo is from the town and what percentage of the team/dquad was from the town
well it's evident that most of the town wasn't that bothered about it, when the team arrived back in Sligo...a small crowd there to greet them compared to Tubber and Charlestown...
Not too many townies were on the team:
St Johns:Michael McNamara,Fizzy Greene, Charlie Harrison
St. Mary's:Mark Brehony...
that's all i can think of anyway, but i'm sure there's more...
10/07/2007, 3:35 PM
well it's evident that most of the town wasn't that bothered about it, when the team arrived back in Sligo...a small crowd there to greet them compared to Tubber and Charlestown...
johnny davey, johnny martin, fegus horan,
10/07/2007, 3:44 PM
so thats 7/32 anyway
towns population as proportion of county is 18,000/55,000 so not too bad percentage wise
10/07/2007, 3:45 PM
out of 30, not 32....so probably a bit better even
10/07/2007, 3:47 PM
and i dont think we can really say much about that either, how many rovers players are from the town/surrounding area!? ogrady, mccartney, gino.....
Rovers fan
10/07/2007, 4:25 PM
And the bandwagon rolls on...
Yes but the won the connacht championship for the first time since 1975, how can you begrudge them of that. And yes to bring on the All Ireland we are only 3 games away from winning it and anything can happen on any given day, thats the magic of the GAA
10/07/2007, 6:34 PM
and i dont think we can really say much about that either, how many rovers players are from the town/surrounding area!? ogrady, mccartney, gino.....
slightly different circumstances feo...
Midgit
10/07/2007, 10:16 PM
On page 4 in the weekender that Cooke (or maybe its toolan) has invited the Connaught cup to the showgrounds on Saterday night. Interesting article actualy, Cooke's views on the GAA.
What do ye think of that?
I would welcome it.
10/07/2007, 10:18 PM
I'm sick of it.. they win 2 games and now they're the greatest thing ever. the worst is the bandwagon jumpers, the "I've
been going to every championship match since I was 3" :rolleyes: brigade..
The bonfires on the news were embarrassing, that report made us look like slap-jawed yokels who'd never even won a raffle in our lives..yeah it's good but they won 2 games!
The over-reacting by 70 percent of Sligo is cringe-worthy... in the big picture of the all-ireland, we've been at this stage before.
How many pages of the weekender were dedicated to the win? It's a Championship among 5/7 teams, talk about mickey bloody mouse.
Plus, the way people of my age used it as an excuse to drink themselves stupid afterwards is truly embarrassing. Going to a match an seeing it as an opportunity to get bladdered..Grow up ffs:rolleyes:
Rovers fan
10/07/2007, 11:41 PM
I'm sick of it.. they win 2 games and now they're the greatest thing ever. the worst is the bandwagon jumpers, the "I've
been going to every championship match since I was 3" :rolleyes: brigade..
The bonfires on the news were embarrassing, that report made us look like slap-jawed yokels who'd never even won a raffle in our lives..yeah it's good but they won 2 games!
The over-reacting by 70 percent of Sligo is cringe-worthy... in the big picture of the all-ireland, we've been at this stage before.
How many pages of the weekender were dedicated to the win? It's a Championship among 5/7 teams, talk about mickey bloody mouse.
Plus, the way people of my age used it as an excuse to drink themselves stupid afterwards is truly embarrassing. Going to a match an seeing it as an opportunity to get bladdered..Grow up ffs:rolleyes:
Oh my God Brewer you really cease to amaze me in the stupidity of your posts. Its clear that you are trying to copy the likes of Sligoman in the hope of gaining new friends. As for the young people looking for an excuse to drink thats just bull, sure they could just go out to pub if they wanted as it would be a lot cheaper or if they really wanted a p!ss up they would have gone to oxegen. Did you not think for a second that they might have gone out of love for the gaa and also you know well that more people drink at soccer games than at gaelic matches. As for your bull about it being a championship between 5/7 teams there are a lot more teams with a realistic chance of winning the All Ireland than the Eircom league so i dont see you point there at all. In the big picture of the all ireland yes we have been here before but not much. Every time rovers get to the quarters of the cup there is hype amongst our supporters and it happens more often. I honestly laughed out of pity for you when i read the quote about the bandwagon jumpers. Pathetic is the only word to describe it. Thousands of people have watched sligo Gaa when they were getting hammered by teams like Galway so why wouldnt they celebrate with a few bonfires. the fact that you find that embarrasing is strange. Oh and btw they have won 3 games, im sure you would have counted killester in the amount of teams we bet in our cup run last year. Honestly Brewer for you sake here i hope you take a long look in the mirror and sort yourself out.
10/07/2007, 11:45 PM
Oh and btw they have won 3 games, im sure you would have counted killester in the amount of teams we bet in our cup run last year.Killester would beat New York in Gah-FACT!:p
sligobhoy67
11/07/2007, 12:55 AM
Breheny is from Maugheraboy, I'll give you that, I think they lived above/behind there shop - but I dont think either of his parents were from town either (could be wrong).
As for the St. John's guys - which part of town are those guy from.
How many people in the squad in total.
11/07/2007, 8:40 AM
out of 30, not 32....so probably a bit better even
O'Hara was going on about the 32 lads in the squad in most of his interview so thats what i was basing it on
11/07/2007, 9:35 AM
Breheny is from Maugheraboy, I'll give you that, I think they lived above/behind there shop - but I dont think either of his parents were from town either (could be wrong).
As for the St. John's guys - which part of town are those guy from.
How many people in the squad in total.
from Cleveragh, Carraroe, Crozon etc....
Fivesilver
11/07/2007, 9:39 AM
One thing I'm curious about:
Of the lads who are so desperately opposed to the Sligo Gaelic football team, how many of you are the proud owners of a Liverpool/Man U/Arsenal etc shirt, or consider youself a "fan" of those teams?
red bellied
11/07/2007, 10:03 AM
Toolan offered an open invitation to the Gaelic team to show off the Connaught cup in the Showgrounds on Saturday night. I am all for this but cant see it happening. They postponed a civic reception by the County Council in Riverside. They went out the county instead to different clubs. Its a fair enough decision as it is the heartland of the sport in Sligo. The Sligo side are now back concentrating on training and parading the cup in the Showgrounds or anywhere will probably be put off until they are knocked out in the next round.
Midgit
11/07/2007, 10:10 AM
Oh my God Brewer you really cease to amaze me in the stupidity of your posts. Its clear that you are trying to copy the likes of Sligoman in the hope of gaining new friends. As for the young people looking for an excuse to drink thats just bull, sure they could just go out to pub if they wanted as it would be a lot cheaper or if they really wanted a p!ss up they would have gone to oxegen. Did you not think for a second that they might have gone out of love for the gaa and also you know well that more people drink at soccer games than at gaelic matches. As for your bull about it being a championship between 5/7 teams there are a lot more teams with a realistic chance of winning the All Ireland than the Eircom league so i dont see you point there at all. In the big picture of the all ireland yes we have been here before but not much. Every time rovers get to the quarters of the cup there is hype amongst our supporters and it happens more often. I honestly laughed out of pity for you when i read the quote about the bandwagon jumpers. Pathetic is the only word to describe it. Thousands of people have watched sligo Gaa when they were getting hammered by teams like Galway so why wouldnt they celebrate with a few bonfires. the fact that you find that embarrasing is strange. Oh and btw they have won 3 games, im sure you would have counted killester in the amount of teams we bet in our cup run last year. Honestly Brewer for you sake here i hope you take a long look in the mirror and sort yourself out.
Well done "Rovers Fan" you catch on quick.:D
The Sligo side are now back concentrating on
training and parading the cup in the Showgrounds or anywhere will probably be
put off until they are knocked out in the next round.
I reckon they will parade it now to try and drum up more support among
the townies for the next game, and more luck to them.
I was delighted to see Sligo win, I even wore my Sligo RTC hurling jersey
for the day :D
Here's to a Sligo v Westmeath final :D
11/07/2007, 11:03 AM
Your a sad sad sligoman. It's one dimensional people like you who are the reason alot of sligo GAA dont support rovers.
very good post......this is why a lot of GAA fans dont attend football matches cos of the elitist attitude of EL fans.
BTW great victory for sligo and well done ye deserved. We do know the rules in roscommon who ever that cheeky fcuker was earlier in this thread....
11/07/2007, 11:08 AM
very good post......this is why a lot of GAA fans dont attend football matches cos of the elitist attitude of EL fans.Or else it's a lot handier for them to come up with that excuse than make the effort of going to the game.
Come on Shligo!
11/07/2007, 11:14 AM
sligoman you got it wrong;scccchllligo.
sligoman, i have gone to a few games not rovers games but other teams and it annoys me the way they go on, really just like metal in ireland, in their own little group and clique and because we are a minority we automatically have a divine right and knowledge when it comes to all things soccer.
endabob1
11/07/2007, 11:43 AM
very good post......this is why a lot of GAA fans dont attend football matches cos of the elitist attitude of EL fans. ..
Not just GAA fans, fans of all Sports get turned off by the attitude of SOME EL fans, I'm one of them.
11/07/2007, 12:37 PM
Of the lads who are so desperately opposed to the Sligo Gaelic football team, how many of you are the proud owners of a Liverpool/Man U/Arsenal etc shirt, or consider youself a "fan" of those teams?
IN fairness FS, they just might not like the sport itself.
chuckie
11/07/2007, 1:51 PM
I am not desperatley opposed to the gaa and was glad to see them win but at the same time I have no interest in it and would not have been that bothered if they lost, and yes i do own a liverpool jersey whats that got to
do with this subject.
It is this kind of elitist attitude that turns supporters of English teams away from the eircom league
11/07/2007, 1:59 PM
Not just GAA fans, fans of all Sports get turned off by the attitude of SOME EL fans, I'm one of them.Can I ask, do you support anyone? If you "support" an English team and using the above as an excuse not to bother going to EL games then that's just stupid in my opinion.
Midgit
11/07/2007, 2:39 PM
Agreed Gus close this thread please.