Natine Swaheny - Beyond Skin.
Air - Moon Safrai
Nina Simone- Feeling Good.
Mike Oakfield - Tublar Bells
KraftWerk - TransEuropean Express

Dricky
17/03/2003, 9:05 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by sadloserkid
[B]Before I start I agree that Relish are muck, so bloody bland apart from 'Heart Shaped Box'.

SLK I couldn't agree more Relish, yaaaaaaaawwwwwnnnnnnnn my god what's that all about. My they are brutal some nice funk in the back but would your man ever shut up, he loves the sound of his own voice. The things we listen to for the women we love huh!!

Badweather Fan
17/03/2003, 10:45 PM
His first single was the bizarre My Star and On Top Of The Pops was;
A. One of the best live performances i've ever seen &
B. Ian Browns only good live performance ever.
Don't see him live.
It will ruin the legend.
Conor, i didn't think Whispers was one of the VERY best songs on the album.
I preferred F.E.A.R. another single, El Mundo Pequeno and my fave was The Gravy Train.
But then music is opinion.
I would recommend it as a purchase though.
Ye can add
Mercury Rev - Deserters Songs and
Ash - Free All Angels
to my list.

18/03/2003, 1:37 PM
Ill add P.O.D. “Satellite”, Manic Street Preachers “Know your Enemy” and The Seahorses “Do It Yourself” as well... plus Feeder “Echo Park” although the new one “Comfort in Sound” is quite good.

18/03/2003, 2:12 PM
Totally disagree about king monkey - go and see him in a smaller venue and he doesn't disappoint... saw him in The Olympia (twice) and the Red Box and he was excellent....

My Top Five albums (very predictable)

1 Stone Roses - Stone Roses
2 Happy Mondays - Pills N Thrills
3 The Charlatans - The Charlatans
4 Primal Scream - Screamadelica
5 Oasis - Definitely Maybe

18/03/2003, 2:31 PM
Originally posted by PAURO 7
Ill add P.O.D. “Satellite”, Manic Street Preachers “Know your Enemy” and The Seahorses “Do It Yourself” as well... plus Feeder “Echo Park” although the new one “Comfort in Sound” is quite good.

Yeah, 'Echo Park' is wicked... haven't bothered picking up the new one yet though...

Dricky
18/03/2003, 2:35 PM
Originally posted by Macy
My Top Five albums (very predictable)

1 Stone Roses - Stone Roses
2 Happy Mondays - Pills N Thrills
3 The Charlatans - The Charlatans
4 Primal Scream - Screamadelica
5 Oasis - Definitely Maybe

1-4 you didn't happen to do alot of drugs did you????

4 is a class album thouugh

18/03/2003, 3:14 PM
In no particular order:
Radiohead: OK Computer
Air: Moon Safari
Mercury Rev: Deserters' Songs
Turn: (don't have a full album but all the two EPs and single is as much)
The Frames: Fitzcarraldo

18/03/2003, 3:32 PM
Originally posted by Schumi

try the live breadcrumb trail cd by the frames schumi
its gift ..gota great 8min+ version of fitzcaraldo

anyone seen the film.. really good, bout a guy trying to push a boat over a mountain and through the jungle ..

18/03/2003, 3:56 PM

Sorry lads lost track of the thread, and thought you were still talking about out of place albums!!! Seahorses as a top 5 album, dont think so...
(heres my top 5 anyway (no particular order)

Radiohead - The Bends
Nirvana - Nevermind
Smashing Pumpkins - Siamese Dream
The White Stripes - White Blood Cells
Chemical Brothers - Surrender

and plenty of others bubbling under..

Badweather Fan
18/03/2003, 6:02 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
In no particular order:
Radiohead: OK Computer
Air: Moon Safari
Mercury Rev: Deserters' Songs
Turn: (don't have a full album but all the two EPs and single is as much)
Good man.
I've got the lot.
I like you Schumi. ;)
Hug?:)
P.s. Nice signature too.
luv u xox xox Mmmwwwaaahhh:D

Badweather Fan
18/03/2003, 6:05 PM
I'm only basing my Brown Live opinion on what i've seen on the propaganda box (tv).
I tragically missed my great idol supporting my great idols MSP in the Point last year.
Its a touchey subject.

Cynmya
18/03/2003, 11:57 PM

Oh, Ilike Primal Scream forgot all about them.:D

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 8:38 AM
Ill add P.O.D. “Satellite”, Manic Street Preachers “Know your Enemy” and The Seahorses “Do It Yourself” as well.
Do It Yourself was very poor.
Only good thing Seahorses did was single You Can Talk To Me after the album and before the breakup(well,obviously).

Anyone know the name of the singer and song on new Vodafone ad?
An' it goes a little something like this
'You must remember this.
True friends never part'
Ah bliss.

21/03/2003, 8:53 AM
Seahorses, ‘Do It Yourself’ was v dodgy. Anagram for “He Hates Roses” apparantly. Liam Gallagher wrote his first ever song for them, cant remember the name of it. That was in my ‘out of place’ collection.

The Vodafone ad song wud be by Jerry Fish and the Mudbug Club “True Friends”, great song... speaking of Vodafone ads, Dandy Warhols “13 Tales from Urban Bohemia” is worth a listen, but the big feck off Vodafone sticker on the cover, would make ya not want to buy it..

21/03/2003, 8:55 AM
Originally posted by Badweather Fan
I tragically missed my great idol supporting my great idols MSP in the Point last year.

well BWF as someone at that gig i can tell yea your idol mr brown sucked eggs bigtime.. as for the Manics, they rocked like a motherfcuker

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 8:57 AM
Thanks.

21/03/2003, 9:06 AM
Thanks.

If i was musically knowledgable, i wouldnt have bought that feckin Seahorse’s album! :)

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 9:46 AM
If i was musically knowledgable, i wouldnt have bought that feckin Seahorse’s album! :)
Well Pauro, If BWF was musically knowledgable, HE wouldn't have bought that feckin Seahorses album either.
We all make mistakes.

Dricky
21/03/2003, 10:26 AM
Well no matter what people have as their worst albums it is agreed (I hope) that Pop isn't even classed as music.

Worst 5 albums
Beatles - Revolver I just don't get what the fuss is all about. I've listened to it on all sorts of drugs and it doesn't bring me to another level of music it just brings me to slumberland.
Kylie- she's lucky she a ride that all I can say.
Leonard Cohen - Best Of Dupeimp my good zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz and our parent say our music is bad.
Oasis - Standing on Shoulders of Giant. Sorry I know there is alot of Oasis fans there but the can't sign they are unoriginal and they are knackers.
Blue don't have anything of theirs but I thought they were worth a mention as worst newcomer.

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 11:26 AM
Nobodys mentioned Urban Hymns.
With regard to best albums of course.

21/03/2003, 11:28 AM
Nobodys mentioned Urban Hymns.
With regard to best albums of course.

There's a pretty good reason for that... ;) 'Appetite for Destruction' it ain't!!!

21/03/2003, 11:32 AM
Originally posted by Conor74
Not just an anagram apparently, an anagram actually, though the band members and Squire denied it was intended. I heard that they decided to form a group after drinking all day in some pub in a seaside town like Whitby in the North of England. The lead singer was a busker who was playing in the town that they.

And the name 'The Seahorses' came after your man banged his head on a fibreglass seahore. Or after he was told 'The ****horses' wouldn't be a good name... I forget which. :p

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 11:32 AM
And, as for the SR, after all the analysis of it, I thought The Second Coming was crap too.
Wrong there.
First one might have been better but Breaking into Heaven and Love Spreads are among the best riffs ever.

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 11:33 AM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
There's a pretty good reason for that... ;) 'Appetite for Destruction' it ain't!!!
Ya i know.
Its an album i know.

21/03/2003, 11:40 AM
And, as for the SR, after all the analysis of it, I thought The Second Coming was crap too. They had it all, they had a fortune and they blew it all away chasing sheep round valleys in Wales during their disappearance. Aparently the SR sucked live too.

“Second Coming” by the Stone Roses, i thought was decent enough, Love Spreads, Ten Storey Love Song and Tears, more than stand up to their previous stuff...

21/03/2003, 11:40 AM
Ya i know.
Its an album i know.

It'd wanna be. How could I respect you otherwise huh???

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 11:42 AM
Still would have loved to have seen the one and only original Mancunian swagger.

Originally posted by James
well BWF as someone at that gig i can tell yea your idol mr brown sucked eggs bigtime.. as for the Manics, they rocked like a motherfcuker
Really?
Did Nicky have a lovely blouse and mini?:D

21/03/2003, 11:42 AM
Still would have loved to have seen the one and only original Mancunian swagger.

Really?
Did Nicky have a lovely blouse and mini?:D

Whoar!!! Now that's bitchy!

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 11:45 AM
Anyone see the Stone Roses at Feile or whtever its called in O'Keefe Park?
Another one tragically missed by moi for reasons beyond my control. (though i was probably too ickle for the county board to let me into O'Keefe Park anyway):)

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 11:47 AM
Whoar!!! Now that's bitchy!
Je suis un diehard Manic, slk.
I actually wanna know, James.

21/03/2003, 11:48 AM
Je suis un diehard Manic, slk.
I actually wanna know, James.

Never mind then...

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by Dricky
Worst 5 albums
Beatles - Revolver
Oasis - Standing on Shoulders of Giant.
They were poor alright.
But from two of the best things ever to happen to rock music though. (as in promoting it like, converting pop kids and that)

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 11:51 AM
Never mind then...
Very good.
Preferred In Utero though. :D
Grrrrooooooaaaaaan

Dricky
21/03/2003, 12:17 PM
Ok hands up who owns a Simon & Garfunkle album I for one do.

21/03/2003, 12:25 PM
First album was excellent (In my top 5 anyway), but all down hill after that..... Morning Glory was good at best, and then they've been in free fall since.....

Never really liked the Beatles, Here comes the sun being my favorite (and that's not even Lennon/ McCartney).... From the 60's my favorites would be The Small Faces, The Who, Hendrix, Dylan, Velvet Underground and late 60's (through to the mid 70's) Stones.... Beatles wouldn't be ahead of any of them, IMO....

Dricky
21/03/2003, 12:35 PM
First album was excellent (In my top 5 anyway), but all down hill after that..... Morning Glory was good at best, and then they've been in free fall since.....

I'm one of the people who just can't stand Oasis.

Never really liked the Beatles, Here comes the sun being my favorite (and that's not even Lennon/ McCartney).... From the 60's my favorites would be The Small Faces, The Who, Hendrix, Dylan, Velvet Underground and late 60's (through to the mid 70's) Stones.... Beatles wouldn't be ahead of any of them, IMO....

Velvet Underground ..... class themselves, and the Ramones the Kinks where great as well.

What I love about the music from 60's and 70's
Bands release an album and they are all squeeky clean so mummy won't mind their little terror buying it as 'they look like such nice fellows'

Then BAMB
Drugs come along their music goes for a trip along with their minds and they suddenly have found GOD. They go all wierd.

but I still cannot find a good album writen by anyone high on H or C

21/03/2003, 12:39 PM
Originally posted by Dricky
but I still cannot find a good album writen by anyone high on H or C
Velvet Underground and Nico? Transformer? Pills N Thrills and Bellyache (Happy Mondays)?

21/03/2003, 1:08 PM
Saw the ramones mentioned earlier. I'm not a big fan personally but there is a picture of me (and my band) on Joey Ramone's Official Website (http://www.joeyramone.com) Just enter the site, go to tributes and scroll down a bit. It's a newspaper cutting and kinda blurred and small but still tis pretty cool. Playing at another Ramones tribute/lympomic cancer benefit night in the middle of next month too.

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 1:36 PM
Morning Glory was the pinnacle of the 90s man.:cool:

21/03/2003, 1:48 PM
Dandy Warhols “13 Tales from Urban Bohemia” is worth a listen Didn't do much for me. About 4 decent tracks but the rest is fairly bland.

b_mcsweeney
21/03/2003, 3:38 PM
i saw the roses at feile in 95 and, to the person who claimed they weren't any good live, they were fantastic. i bought a love spreads t-shirt from some punk feen outside the stadium and i still have it. have seen both brown and squire solo as well (squire played the ambassador recently promoting his new album). solo stuff is ok, but its like a soap opera couple thing, you just wish they could get back together. even though theres the chance they might be crap now, it'd still be worth it if it came off and they produced even just one more class album.

as well as the roses, be diggin the scream, oasis, the frames, guns'n'roses anything thats probably got too much guitar than is good for me.

oh, and going back to the whole inconguous album thing that started this thread, i once purchased an aerosmith album.

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 3:47 PM
Originally posted by b_mcsweeney
solo stuff is ok, but its like a soap opera couple thing, you just wish they could get back together. even though theres the chance they might be crap now, it'd still be worth it if it came off and they produced even just one more class album.
We wish.

Recent quote from Q.
Ian, what would it take for anything to come about musically with you and John?
You could give me Mars and Jupiter but it still ain't gonna happen.
:(

Badweather Fan
21/03/2003, 10:54 PM
And because of the toxic fumes, hence the paramedic alert thingy.

24/03/2003, 8:16 AM
I bought the John Rzeznik single over the weekend. A shiny bonus point to anybody who can tell me who his day band are. :)

Badweather Fan
24/03/2003, 8:18 AM
And i don't want the world to see me cos i don't think that they'd understand.

Where's my lollipop slk?

24/03/2003, 8:43 AM
And i don't want the world to see me cos i don't think that they'd understand.

Where's my lollipop slk?

Well done old man, I am genuinely impressed! Though I should also point out that they've much better stuff then the still impressive ballad you alluded too. Last years 'Gutterflower' does the serious stuff better and 1993's 'Superstar Car Wash' is probably the best pop-rock album ever, even better than The Fountains of Wayne or The Jellyfish!!! :eek:

Badweather Fan
24/03/2003, 8:48 AM
Actually not too many of their songs come to mind.
Remember the name from when Iris was in the charts(the whole year).

Re : best albums,
thought Mellon Collie and The Infinite Sadness would have been mentioned.

24/03/2003, 8:51 AM
Re : best albums,
thought Mellon Collie and The Infinite Sadness would have been mentioned.

I like the Pumpkins but think it's a bit uneven. If they'd cut out the arty pretensions and just released one album of stuff it woulda been legendary stuff as opposed to merely excellent. I'll throw another couple on the table...

Alice In Chains - Dirt
Pearl Jam - Ten
Counting Crows - August & Everything After and/or Recovering The Satellites
Green Day - Dookie
The Las - Eponymous