View Full Version : Who is playing who in Europe?

24/06/2007, 10:39 AM
Who is playing who in Europe this year lads? When are the games on?

EalingGreen
24/06/2007, 11:12 AM
Who is playing who in Europe this year lads? When are the games on?

Full list of Qualified teams (so far) for the UEFA Cup to be found here:
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/uefacup/news/kind=1/newsid=552943.html
(Glentoran and Dungannon from NI)
Draw to be made this Friday:
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/uefacup/news/kind=1/newsid=551111.html

NI have two teams in the Champions League - Linfield and Derry City (;)):
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/ucl/news/kind=1/newsid=551776.html
(Draw also on Friday)

SolitudeRed
25/06/2007, 10:26 PM
If Cliftonville get through to the next round in the Intertoto they will play Belgian side KAA Gent.

Just had a thought who is the fourth IL team for next years Setanta cup then is it Dungannon Swifts or Portadown?

Steve Bruce
26/06/2007, 9:18 AM
Dungannon

SolitudeRed
27/06/2007, 9:33 PM
I take it that it is the first three teams from the league and then whoever wins the Irish cup or is Runner-up that qualifies for Setanta then?

The whole Shelbourne/St Pats/Sligo Rovers thing in this years competition has left me a bit confused! I take it the EL uses a different criteria for choosing who gets into the Setanta cup then?

Steve Bruce
28/06/2007, 8:35 AM
I take it that it is the first three teams from the league and then whoever wins the Irish cup or is Runner-up that qualifies for Setanta then?

The whole Shelbourne/St Pats/Sligo Rovers thing in this years competition has left me a bit confused! I take it the EL uses a different criteria for choosing who gets into the Setanta cup then?

I don't know what criteria the EL uses for the Setanta cup.

Our criteria is League winners, Runners up, Irish Cup winners and CIS Cup winners.

Since Linfield won the league and Cup Dungannon got into Europe and the Setanta cup by finishing runners up in the Irish Cup

Buller
28/06/2007, 1:21 PM
League of Ireland uses the samee criteria. EG: League winners + runners up, FAI Cup, League Cup...

Graemerz
29/06/2007, 9:16 AM
It really should have been Sligo Rovers that was in the Setanta Cup last year however the EL representatives chose St. Pats instead.

dublin15bohs
02/07/2007, 9:53 PM
If Cliftonville get through to the next round in the Intertoto they will play Belgian side KAA Gent.

Book the flights Gent is a great place as all the bohs fans will tell you get in touch with Foleys pub they done the place up in red and black for us and ran coaches to and from the game. Also done drink promos and BBQs.

SolitudeRed
04/07/2007, 7:20 PM
Book the flights Gent is a great place as all the bohs fans will tell you get in touch with Foleys pub they done the place up in red and black for us and ran coaches to and from the game. Also done drink promos and BBQs.

What happened to Bohs when you played them did you beat them? I'd say they will be a pretty tough team, they were runners up in the Intertoto cup last year.

05/07/2007, 7:55 AM
League of Ireland uses the samee criteria. EG: League winners + runners up, FAI Cup, League Cup...

I think for 2008 Setanta the League Cup winners will play off with the First Division winners.

05/07/2007, 12:11 PM
I think for 2008 Setanta the League Cup winners will play off with the First Division winners.

Correct.

SolitudeRed
07/07/2007, 12:51 PM

That sounds a bit mad! so we could be seeing the likes of Dundalk or Cobh in the Setanta cup next year:eek:

08/07/2007, 6:46 PM
I think its good that first div teams get a crack at it too. Good decision if true.

SolitudeRed
08/07/2007, 7:21 PM
I think its good that first div teams get a crack at it too. Good decision if true.

Yes definately I agree its a good decision! but I'm just suprised by it!

Graemerz
09/07/2007, 3:31 PM
Do you honestly think the First Division winners stand a chance against the League Cup winners though?

If this happened in Northern Ireland not one of the first division teams would stand a chance, they are all very very poor sides.

waide
09/07/2007, 8:46 PM
i think it is an exellent decision by the eirecom league to give their first div teams a crack at setanta qualification,it must give the teams at the top of the first div added incentive at the end of season.

Jackie

09/07/2007, 9:12 PM
Do you honestly think the First Division winners stand a chance against the League Cup winners though?
No. UCD played Harps in the League Cup last week and they are the form team in the First Division at the moment. They were awful, apart from Gethins.

10/07/2007, 2:40 PM

If this happened in Northern Ireland not one of the first division teams would stand a chance, they are all very very poor sides.

Well if Dundalk win the first division I wouldnt bet against them.

BTW this is fact about Derry: Originally Posted by SolitudeRed
As for their European run last year didn't they knock out a team which was a two times winner of the UEFA cup?

Graemerz
10/07/2007, 2:51 PM
Well if Dundalk win the first division I wouldnt bet against them.

BTW this is fact about Derry: Originally Posted by SolitudeRed
As for their European run last year didn't they knock out a team which was a two times winner of the UEFA cup?

Oh f*ck not this again, really. Woopee f*cking do.

Steve Bruce
10/07/2007, 2:54 PM
Oh f*ck not this again, really. Woopee f*cking do.

They also put out the Giants that is Gretna:rolleyes:

10/07/2007, 2:56 PM
They also put out the Giants that is Gretna:rolleyes:

Dont think you're in any position to slag off any club that plays in Europe given your appalling record. The other looper there incredibly dismissed the Gothenburg result as utter nonsense. Oh dear.

Steve Bruce
10/07/2007, 3:02 PM
Dont think you're in any position to slag off any club that plays in Europe given your appalling record. The other looper there incredibly dismissed the Gothenburg result as utter nonsense. Oh dear.

Sorry who are you:confused:

10/07/2007, 3:05 PM
Sorry who are you:confused:

In fairness not hard to confuse you. Thanks for coming

Graemerz
10/07/2007, 3:06 PM

Aye, Swedish teams have been tearing the Barcelona's AC Milan's and Chelseas of this world new arseholes in recent years, ain't they?

Actually have a look at Sweden's co-efficient and explain to me why they are so low?

No doubting IFK Goteborg's history but Derry City didn't beat any half-decent side in order to reach the UEFA Cup's third round. No way I can prove it but I'd fancy Linfield's chances of defeating both Goteborg and Gretna if we were mid-way through our season.

Oh and here's more info for you http://www.uefa.com/footballeurope/countries/association=127/standings.html have a look at how the former European Champions are fairing right now. I'm sure Alex Ferguson would be sh*tting his pants at the prospect of playing such Giants.

10/07/2007, 3:10 PM
Aye, Swedish teams have been tearing the Barcelona's AC Milan's and Chelseas of this world new arseholes in recent years, ain't they?

Actually have a look at Sweden's co-efficient and explain to me why they are so low?

No doubting IFK Goteborg's history but Derry City didn't beat any half-decent side in order to reach the UEFA Cup's third round. No way I can prove it but I'd fancy Linfield's chances of defeating both Goteborg and Gretna if we were mid-way through our season.

Oh and here's more info for you http://www.uefa.com/footballeurope/countries/association=127/standings.html have a look at how the former European Champions are fairing right now. I'm sure Alex Ferguson would be sh*tting his pants at the prospect of playing such Giants.

Wow such bitterness. What a shock.

Hey if any Irish League side beat Gothenborg home and away I think the majority of fans on the island would say fair play.........

Graemerz
10/07/2007, 3:25 PM
Is this the same majority of the island that shows total ignorance towards Linfield and the Irish League? Where is the acknowledgement of Linfield's success...

Bitter aye, indeed. :rolleyes:

10/07/2007, 3:28 PM
Is this the same majority of the island that shows total ignorance towards Linfield and the Irish League? Where is the acknowledgement of Linfield's success...

Bitter aye, indeed. :rolleyes:

Success in Europe?

Graemerz
10/07/2007, 3:32 PM
We can discuss Europe if you want, Linfield are Quarter Finalist's once... Sure Goteborg are Giants.. two can play that game...

Was more intrigued by the ignorance of members of this site and a certain football club in the Eircom League when it comes to the most successful club on the Island.

Steve Bruce
10/07/2007, 3:34 PM
In fairness not hard to confuse you. Thanks for coming

The only thing I was confused about was how some wee team who hasn't got a home let alone a decent football team can come on here talking about anyones European pedigree.

10/07/2007, 3:36 PM
We can discuss Europe if you want, Linfield are Quarter Finalist's once... Sure Goteborg are Giants.. two can play that game...

Was more intrigued by the ignorance of members of this site and a certain football club in the Eircom League when it comes to the most successful club on the Island.

Obsessed you mean. Gothenborg have won the UEFA Cup twice. Dont forget Glentoran have won a European competition!!!

Steve Bruce
10/07/2007, 3:43 PM

Now their's no need to bring up with quarter final of the european cup up. We don't want to p1ss on their parade with them qualifying to 1st round of the UEFA cup as being a remarkable success:rolleyes:

10/07/2007, 3:44 PM
The only thing I was confused about was how some wee team who hasn't got a home let alone a decent football team can come on here talking about anyones European pedigree.

Ah ignorance is bliss. When was the last time you saw us play? And dont forget our FA isnt propping us up.

We progressed the last time we were in Europe. You've lost to clubs from Finland and Sweden in the last few years where EL clubs have beaten them.

Graemerz
10/07/2007, 3:55 PM
Oh, we are now discussing invitational soccer tournaments held in the the USA that Linfield were invited to but declined due to the "never on a sunday rule".. They then went to Glentoran who eagerly accepted.. Glentoran then defeated basketball players and ice cream men in games of soccer and then were crowned Viennetta Champions of Europe using the now infamous name the Detroit C*nts. How could ever reaching the European Champions Cup quarter final ever top this? Steve we're both stupid here, Linfield can never top the achievements of the Detroit C*nts defeating ice cream men and Derry City reaching the 3rd round of the UEFA Cup.

Graemerz
10/07/2007, 3:57 PM
Ah ignorance is bliss. When was the last time you saw us play? And dont forget our FA isnt propping us up.

We progressed the last time we were in Europe. You've lost to clubs from Finland and Sweden in the last few years where EL clubs have beaten them.

And how about your previous matches against Linfield, how did they go?

In fact when was the last time Derry City actually BEAT Linfield? Would love to know that actually.

10/07/2007, 3:59 PM
Steve we're both stupid here

Nail on head there beavis and butthead. Did you not see the exclamation marks indicating I was trying to inject some badly needed humour for you two dour "individuals"??? Oh dear.

10/07/2007, 4:53 PM
And how about your previous matches against Linfield, how did they go?

In fact when was the last time Derry City actually BEAT Linfield? Would love to know that actually.How many times have you beaten us in our pre-season?

4 games, 3 draws and 1 victory.

World domination indeed.....

PS NY Hoop is a Rovers fan

Graemerz
10/07/2007, 6:44 PM
How many times have you beaten us in our pre-season?

4 games, 3 draws and 1 victory.

World domination indeed.....

No one is talking world domination... Just domination of the Island... Which I think we bring more to the table than yourselves...

Pre-season my ass... Just looking at the results from the Derry City site and it states clearly that we defeated you 2-1 at Windsor when you were 2 games into your domestic season. We can't choose the time Setanta wish to have the tournament just like we can't choose when UEFA decide to start their competitions. If you can put your poor results against Linfield as a timing issue then we can use our poor results in Europe as the same. ;)

SolitudeRed
10/07/2007, 6:48 PM
Oh Jesus don't tell me this has spilled over onto another thread YEEEOOO!!

Derry City and Linfield fans seem to love arguing even though they haven't played in the same league for well over 30 years! I think the Linfield should move to the EL so they can have more opportunities to give each other abuse!

waide
10/07/2007, 7:25 PM
Linfield and derry were never in the same league, we were always leagues ahead.

Jackie

10/07/2007, 7:51 PM
Thank God UEFA actually have a system that allows you to settle rows like this by comparing the performance of clubs in different European leagues based on their European competition performances over a defined period of time.

Its called club coefficients.

Thank you and good night....

Lux Interior
10/07/2007, 8:23 PM
Oh, we are now discussing invitational soccer tournaments held in the the USA that Linfield were invited to but declined due to the "never on a sunday rule".. They then went to Glentoran who eagerly accepted.. Glentoran then defeated basketball players and ice cream men in games of soccer and then were crowned Viennetta Champions of Europe using the now infamous name the Detroit C*nts. How could ever reaching the European Champions Cup quarter final ever top this? Steve we're both stupid here, Linfield can never top the achievements of the Detroit C*nts defeating ice cream men and Derry City reaching the 3rd round of the UEFA Cup.

Still banned from the ILF then?

Don't forget to mention which mighties you beat to get into the EC 1/4 final:D

Graemerz
10/07/2007, 10:44 PM
Still banned from the ILF then?

Yup, just got re-banned this afternoon. Reason stated was: None and the ban will be lifted: Never. :rolleyes:

waide
11/07/2007, 1:00 PM
The only true system to compare linfield and Derry in recent times is the setanta cup as it is the only competition that both teams have faced each other competitively in recent times.I don't think there can be any argument as to which team comes out on top as derry have either failed to qualify or progress from the group stages.it would not be fair to go back to the days when derry were an i l side as the contest would then become embarrassing.

11/07/2007, 1:32 PM
The only true system to compare linfield and Derry in recent times is the setanta cup as it is the only competition that both teams have faced each other competitively in recent times.I don't think there can be any argument as to which team comes out on top as derry have either failed to qualify or progress from the group stages.it would not be fair to go back to the days when derry were an i l side as the contest would then become embarrassing.I'm not surprised you'd prefer not to be compared on European performance....but the club coefficient is what it is.

I'll say it again, 3 draws and 1 victory does exactly amount to dominance in a competition you play in mid-season and we play in pre/early season.

As for the Irish League, its over 35 years and counting since we were excluded. About as relevant as your European Cup quarter final.

Anyway, I'll let you go back to putting 5 or 6 past teams like Limavady and Institute....

Steve Bruce
11/07/2007, 1:36 PM
I'm not surprised you'd prefer not to be compared on European performance....but the club coefficient is what it is.

I'll say it again, 3 draws and 1 victory does exactly amount to dominance in a competition you play in mid-season and we play in pre/early season.

As for the Irish League, its over 35 years and counting since we were excluded. About as relevant as your European Cup quarter final.

Anyway, I'll let you go back to putting 5 or 6 past teams like Limavady and Institute....

We'll let you go to battling in mid-table mediocrity.

Graemerz
11/07/2007, 2:07 PM
I'm not surprised you'd prefer not to be compared on European performance....but the club coefficient is what it is.

Lets look at it another way, back in 2005, we again became something you have never been All-Ireland Champions defeating Shelbourne in their own back yard, the following year we repeated it again at Windsor. This was the same Shelbourne team that beat you to the league title last year.. That must have hurt like hell, aye?

11/07/2007, 2:20 PM
We'll let you go to battling in mid-table mediocrity.It ain't over yet, half way through the season, we'll not win it but we'll be higher up than we are now.

In a decent League.

Lets look at it another way, back in 2005, we again became something you have never been All-Ireland Champions defeating Shelbourne in their own back yard, the following year we repeated it again at Windsor. This was the same Shelbourne team that beat you to the league title last year.. That must have hurt like hell, aye?.You obviously know nothing about our head to head record against Shels over the past 4 years.

Go and do a little research, particularly on our recent record at Tolka and then come back.

Graemerz
11/07/2007, 2:36 PM
It ain't over yet, half way through the season, we'll not win it but we'll be higher up than we are now.

In a decent League.

You obviously know nothing about our head to head record against Shels over the past 4 years.

Go and do a little research, particularly on our recent record at Tolka and then come back.

So head to head now suits you in the arguement?

11/07/2007, 2:41 PM
Lets look at it another way, back in 2005, we again became something you have never been All-Ireland Champions defeating Shelbourne in their own back yard, the following year we repeated it again at Windsor. This was the same Shelbourne team that beat you to the league title last year.. That must have hurt like hell, aye?

All Ireland Champions my hole. The true test was in Europe when Shels hammered Glentoran.