View Full Version : Tv Coverage

sligored
19/06/2007, 7:03 PM
who is deciding what matches to show
i am going to cancel my setanta subscription
considering the mundane football that is shown why do rovers never get on tv home or away
we have been involved in some of the best athmosphere and football games this season for example 4-1 v cork at home 2-1 v bohs at home and 3-2 v shams away. i know these are only winning games but drogs at home , galway away and bohs away were also tv worthy
if we were playing hoofball football i could understand but the standard at the moment is very high

League of Ireland live TV schedule
Setanta Sports Cup
Feb 26 Drogheda v Linfield 0-1
Mar 5 Linfield v Glentoran 1-1
Mar 12 Cork City v St Patrick's Athletic 1-3
Mar 19 Dungannon Swifts v St Patrick's Athletic 2-2
Mar 20 Linfield v Derry City 2-1
Mar 26 Derry City v Linfield 2-2
Apr 2 Linfield v Drogheda 0-0
Apr 16 Cork City v Dungannon 2-1
Apr 17 Drogheda v Derry City 2-1
Apr 24 St Patrick Athletic v Drogheda 0-1 AET (Semi Final)
Apr 30 Linfield v Cork City (Semi Final) 1-0
May 12 Linfield v Drogheda (Final) 1-1 (Drogheda win on penalties)
All on Setanta Sports

Eircom League Of Ireland
Mar 9 Bohemians v Drogheda Utd 0-0 RTE 2 <146,000 tv viewers
Mar 16 Cork City v Galway Utd 0-0 RTE 2 <120,000 tv viewers
Mar 23 Derry City v St Patrick's Athletic 0-1 RTE 2 <138,000 tv viewers
Mar 30 Drogheda U v Derry C 2-1 Setanta Sports
Apr 9 Derry City v Cork City 1-4 Setanta Sports
May 3 Cork City v St Patrick's Athletic 1-0 Setanta Sports
May 14 Derry City v Shamrock Rovers, 1-0 Setanta Sports
May 21 St Patrick's Athletic v Drogheda Utd 1-0 Setanta Sports
May 28 Bohemians - St Patricks Athletic, 8pm 2-0 Setanta Sports
June 1 Cork City v Derry City 7.45pm 1-1 TG4
June 22 Galway United v Shamrock Rovers 7.45pm TG4
June 25 Bohemians v Waterford United 8pm Setanta Sports
June 29 St Patricks Athletic v Derry City 7.45pm TG4
July 2 Drogheda United v Galway United 8pm Setanta Sports
July 9 Bohemians v Bray Wanderers 8pm Setanta Sports
July 16 Shamrock Roves v UCD 8pm Setanta Sports
July 23 Shamrock Rovers v St Patrick's Athletic 8pm Setanta Sports

FAI Cup
June 15 Drogheda United v Bohemians 7.45pm TG4

League Cup
Oct 9 League Cup Final (teams tbd) Setanta Sports

As of June 14th no further matches announced

Midgit
19/06/2007, 10:10 PM
Well firstly we can't get a home live broadcasted match because we have no TV Gantry. Secondly i don't have a clue about our away games. Seems scandless a UCD game get shown and we don't. Sure UCD have a miniture fan base.

I can remember reading somewhere last week that the Rovers are in talks with some company (TV Station) about putting up a permanent TV gantry above the Jinks Stand.
I cannot remember it all but that was the jist of it.

19/06/2007, 10:15 PM
Seems scandless a UCD game get shown and we don't. Sure UCD have a miniture fan base.
Get over yourself. We've as much right to be on telly as anyone else.

Pretty much all of the Premier sides were on telly once last year (with the possible exception of Waterford). You'll have one game at least. We're only half way through yet.

19/06/2007, 10:17 PM
Whats a scand?

19/06/2007, 10:18 PM
Dunno, but either us or Sligs don't have one.

Midgit
19/06/2007, 10:27 PM
Whats a scand?

A scandle????? =scandless????:confused:
You never heard that saying???

19/06/2007, 10:32 PM
Scandal => Scandalous.

20/06/2007, 12:42 PM
Ah, Pineapple, it's rewarding to know that the tax payer's money is not being wasted on your education. Midget, keep the head down, these ones are a menace to society until they graduate.

red_away
20/06/2007, 12:56 PM
This is absolutely pathetic - its no wonder sponsorship in dublin is far greater than that of the provinces as the TV cameras and probably journalists never seem to leave the pale and when they do it is always showing a dublin team!!! Is there no rules in the TV agreement that every team must appear at least a certain number of times like in the english sky deal?
In a 12 team league Sligo, Longford and Waterford do not appear at all....this is ridiculous!!!!!

20/06/2007, 6:19 PM
Ah, Pineapple, it's rewarding to know that the tax payer's money is not being wasted on your education. Midget, keep the head down, these ones are a menace to society until they graduate.
Who says I'm in college? :confused:

When UCD fans leave college, do they change club?

When UCD fans are in sixth year in school, how does that work?

Jeebus
20/06/2007, 6:26 PM
Who says I'm in college? :confused:

Fair is fair now Avvenalaf, I've seen a few of the UCDD lads before matches in the bar in the Montrose and they look alot older than your normal students, so i'm guessing they are past pupils.

Either that or they failed 1st year more times than i did:D

20/06/2007, 6:27 PM
A little from column A...

Bravo
20/06/2007, 8:15 PM
Either that or they failed 1st year more times than i did:D

In fairness you would need to be thick to support UCD:p

FarmHoop
20/06/2007, 8:26 PM
In fairness you would need to be thick to support UCD:p

They're a team like all the rest:cool:

Bravo
20/06/2007, 8:32 PM
That belong in a school league, like all the rest;)

FarmHoop
20/06/2007, 8:39 PM
Hardly, ucd have been better than most mid table sides this season

sligored
20/06/2007, 11:17 PM
i did not want this to descend into a slagging match against ucd supporters. i just wonder if the tail is wagging to dog when it comes to picking tv matches . these league promotion officers (or dare i say, even higher authorities) have a lot to answer for as they have not given the so called unfashionable teams a fair crack of the whip. if we are to sell tv rights for our league , it should not be cherry picking matches.
AFAIK skys agreement with the english premier league insists that all teams are shown a minimum of 6 live games.
i have therefore cancelled the setanta subscription and would encourage all other disgruntled supporters to do likewise.
i dont want to lay the blame directly at the promotion officers but i would question their voice at a higher level if they cant get their clubs equal tv rights.
maybe employing these is more lip service by the eircom league.
can we please have a bit of variety(or is this too much to ask)

21/06/2007, 12:06 PM
Pineapple, this descended below craic. Feck off, lads. UCD are a fine example of what can be achieved with a good manager and players with the right attitude.

21/06/2007, 12:21 PM
i did not want this to descend into a slagging match against ucd supporters. i just wonder if the tail is wagging to dog when it comes to picking tv matches . these league promotion officers (or dare i say, even higher authorities) have a lot to answer for as they have not given the so called unfashionable teams a fair crack of the whip. if we are to sell tv rights for our league , it should not be cherry picking matches.
AFAIK skys agreement with the english premier league insists that all teams are shown a minimum of 6 live games.
i have therefore cancelled the setanta subscription and would encourage all other disgruntled supporters to do likewise.
i dont want to lay the blame directly at the promotion officers but i would question their voice at a higher level if they cant get their clubs equal tv rights.
maybe employing these is more lip service by the eircom league.
can we please have a bit of variety(or is this too much to ask)

You're way, way off the mark

1) There is no seperate TV gantry in the showgrounds
2) The TV packages in England show over 130 live games a season. Off this they have to only show the smaller sides 6 times, and then they usually show them against the bigger sides. It is exactly the same in every country in the world. Even in countries with saturation coverage you will rarely see mid table teams play each other
3) The league is less than half way though the season and already teams like UCD, Waterford and Galway have been on (or announced) - No offence to those clubs BTW
4) The promotion officers, and indeed the clubs, have NO say at all as to whether they get on TV. Cork chairman Brian lennoix was actually complaining about being on TV when they playeed us on a Thursday
5) The highest quality (potentially) should be on TV each week. If that means showing Cork ten times and Pats once, so be it. We (as a league) can barely muster any excitement in the casual fan by showing him/her our best, what do you think showing them some sub-standard stuff will do?

21/06/2007, 12:26 PM
5) The highest quality (potentially) should be on TV each week. If that means showing Cork ten times and Pats once, so be it. We (as a league) can barely muster any excitement in the casual fan by showing him/her our best, what do you think showing them some sub-standard stuff will do?Like Bohs/Drogheda in the cup you mean? A borefest. It was obvious it was gonna be either 0-0 or 1-0 to a side. Our game with shams should have been on instead of that.

21/06/2007, 12:32 PM
Bohs v Drogs was 2nd v 4th or something like that. It was obviously the tie of the round

The got a poor game but both those sides are better than Sligo and Shamrock. They can't tell the future FFS

21/06/2007, 12:37 PM
Bohs v Drogs was 2nd v 4th or something like that. It was obviously the tie of the round

The got a poor game but both those sides are better than Sligo and Shamrock. They can't tell the future FFSIt was obvious which game was going to be better!! Drogs/Bohs had 0-0 all over it, luckily for Bohs they managed to get one.

neutrino
21/06/2007, 12:38 PM
You're way, way off the mark

1) There is no seperate TV gantry in the showgrounds
2) The TV packages in England show over 130 live games a season. Off this they have to only show the smaller sides 6 times, and then they usually show them against the bigger sides. It is exactly the same in every country in the world. Even in countries with saturation coverage you will rarely see mid table teams play each other
3) The league is less than half way though the season and already teams like UCD, Waterford and Galway have been on (or announced) - No offence to those clubs BTW
4) The promotion officers, and indeed the clubs, have NO say at all as to whether they get on TV. Cork chairman Brian lennoix was actually complaining about being on TV when they playeed us on a Thursday
5) The highest quality (potentially) should be on TV each week. If that means showing Cork ten times and Pats once, so be it. We (as a league) can barely muster any excitement in the casual fan by showing him/her our best, what do you think showing them some sub-standard stuff will do?

1. Thanks for telling us what's in our own ground. There is no gantry at all let alone a seperate one. The club really really need to sort this. like 4 years ago !! it's borders insanity to have no gantry.

2. True but showing the smaller teams 6 times even if it is against bigger teams is much better than EL. why cant the sligo rovers vs cork game or sligo rovers vs bohs game been on tv. both cracking games for sligo rovers point of view. Turners goal against cork would be heralded in any other league but no chance of that happening here with no coverage. As far I as remember we were on once last year and that was by default in getting to semi-final.

3. The first half of the season could be used to show the "unfashionable" sides play. We wont get a look in in 2nd half of the season .

4. Spot on

5. It all depends what you determine higher quality. It's simply doesnt mean Drogs v Cork. Cork v Bohs. Pats v Cork etc etc etc. I've seen alot of games on tv this year and alot having been very very hard to watch. I'd prefer to see an exciting game as opposed to 4 potential title chasers drag out a one niler. It's all about excitement regardless of who is playing. To call football outside the top 4 teams sub-standard isnt correct. Mostly the games we played this year have been good to watch in terms of overall play.

21/06/2007, 12:42 PM
I was using the 6 times a season to say that they get 4/5 maybe even 6 times the amount of live games we get. I agree that every club should be on TV. I'm making the point that its still early.

I know the "quality" thing is completely subjective, but you understand the point I'm trying to make.

21/06/2007, 12:47 PM
You can't call football outside the top 4 team sub standard for the simple reason the top 4 teams keep changing. Not like England where you have liverpool, United, Arsenal and Chelsea. there is very little between the teams in the league.

Yeah sorry, didn't mean to come across like that. I'm just saying that casual fans will always be more interested in 1st v 3rd than 1st v 5th, even if there's little in it. Its far easier to market

21/06/2007, 12:56 PM
There's no point in highlighting cracking games that happened. If Galway and Waterford played out an 8-7 thriller and Pat's v Drogs was instead chosen and it played out to a 0-0 borefest you can't castigate the channel for picking the boring match. They have to pick the games in advance and don't have a clue what kind of affair the teams will serve up.

Also the very fact that UCD will be on TV is evidence that all clubs will get a fair crack of the whip.

21/06/2007, 1:01 PM

If a UCD fan falls in the woods and no one is there to see it, did he really fall?

21/06/2007, 1:17 PM
There's no point in highlighting cracking games that happened. If Galway and Waterford played out an 8-7 thriller and Pat's v Drogs was instead chosen and it played out to a 0-0 borefest you can't castigate the channel for picking the boring match. They have to pick the games in advance and don't have a clue what kind of affair the teams will serve up.Before it was announced which game would be shown, I emailed TG4 to see what game they were doing and suggested the Rovers derby would be the best given the history etc. They replied, "We're showing Drogheda Vs. Bohemians, it should be a cracker!" I replied with "It has 0-0 written all over it". They should have listened to me and they'd have got the right game!:p

21/06/2007, 2:16 PM
why cant the sligo rovers vs cork game or sligo rovers vs bohs game been on tv.
Because there's no TV gantry? You can hardly have the main camera being blocked if some guy stands up in the back row. I don't know the camera situation in the Showgrounds but that's happened in Waterford (on EL weekly) which also doesn't have a gantry.

21/06/2007, 2:24 PM
Its not just for cameras. The commentators need somewhere too

neutrino
22/06/2007, 12:53 PM
Because there's no TV gantry? You can hardly have the main camera being blocked if some guy stands up in the back row. I don't know the camera situation in the Showgrounds but that's happened in Waterford (on EL weekly) which also doesn't have a gantry.

I totally agree; i was trying to reference those games not looking out of place on tv. my wording isnt great on it.

SeaniesRedArmy
22/06/2007, 12:58 PM
There's no point in highlighting cracking games that happened. If Galway and Waterford played out an 8-7 thriller and Pat's v Drogs was instead chosen and it played out to a 0-0 borefest you can't castigate the channel for picking the boring match. They have to pick the games in advance and don't have a clue what kind of affair the teams will serve up.

Also the very fact that UCD will be on TV is evidence that all clubs will get a fair crack of the whip.

very good point

25/06/2007, 11:30 AM

The got a poor game but both those sides are better than Sligo and Shamrock Rovers. They can't tell the future FFS

Eh we've already beaten Drogheda twice.

Sligo like Waterford and Derry do not have any sort of tv gantry. Until they do there is no point whinging. All clubs in the premier are guaranteed to be shown once.

Although I do question their wisdom in showing Rovers v UCD at tolka. At Belfield it wouldnt look so empty.

neutrino
25/06/2007, 12:59 PM
there is no point whinging

Although I do question their wisdom in showing Rovers v UCD at tolka. At Belfield it wouldnt look so empty.KOH

.......:D

BohsFans
25/06/2007, 3:18 PM
Although I do question their wisdom in showing Rovers v UCD at tolka. At Belfield it wouldnt look so empty.

Aren't the away fans going to be in the main stand as well?