View Full Version : Dolan for Derry

Pages : 1 2 [3]

richiemd
19/06/2007, 10:43 PM
It is interesting that Dolan turned down Derry to stay with Setanta,
Shades of Andy Gray sticking with Sky instead of managing Everton!!
I guess the money is very good in punditry as well!

19/06/2007, 11:13 PM

You've nothing to prove in punditry, your popularity doesn't wane, your job is secure, and if you like the limelight - it's a great place to be.

Mediocrity and money are the key words here....

19/06/2007, 11:17 PM

PR spin. His star column on Friday ended with him saying he was a football manager and would always be interested in returning.

20/06/2007, 8:21 AM
No way Derry better not hire that scumbo John Robertson! Who is he managing now anyway is he even still managing a team?

Mon the Hibees!..........because irrelevant foreign football rivalries are foremost in our minds when consider who to appoint.....

passerrby
20/06/2007, 3:32 PM
what a chancer says he is a football manager and then turns down the chance of his life with an ambitous club he is nothing but a talking muppet

20/06/2007, 3:46 PM
PR spin. His star column on Friday ended with him saying he was a football manager and would always be interested in returning.

IMO this is related to the fact that he has a commitment to Mick Wallace to take over Wexford Youths after their second season. Wallace has always maintained that he does not see a future for himself managing the senior team, he is happy working with the youngsters. Wallace is simply establishing the team and ensuring it is populated with local players for it's formative years. Year 3 is the target year for the club to gain promotion, again IMO, Wallace will step aside at this point and Dolan will take over. He will be backed financially and allowed to bring in outside players.

In five years Wexford Youths will be playing in the champions league. :)
(OK the last bit is a little over ambitious)

SolitudeRed
20/06/2007, 6:20 PM
..........because irrelevant foreign football rivalries are foremost in our minds when consider who to appoint.....

Well he hasn't really achieved much during his managerial career he did okay at Hearts then he managed Livingston for most of last season and they finished in the bottom half of the Scottish First Division! to me he doesn't appear to be as good as Stephen Kenny and he has no experience of Irish football plus he would probably want to be paid a s**t load of money!

That and hes a Jambo:D Although he was a big fan of Hibs when he was a kid apparently!

20/06/2007, 11:25 PM
IMO this is related to the fact that he has a commitment to Mick Wallace to take over Wexford Youths after their second season. Wallace has always maintained that he does not see a future for himself managing the senior team, he is happy working with the youngsters. Wallace is simply establishing the team and ensuring it is populated with local players for it's formative years. Year 3 is the target year for the club to gain promotion, again IMO, Wallace will step aside at this point and Dolan will take over. He will be backed financially and allowed to bring in outside players.

No disrespect - but in terms of opportunity, there is no comparison between City and Wexford. And Dolan knows that too....

21/06/2007, 12:21 AM
No disrespect - but in terms of opportunity, there is no comparison between City and Wexford. And Dolan knows that too....

Dolan's a spoof-merchant. He's currently doing his parasite routine in Wexford

The Derry board wouldn't give him stupid money.

21/06/2007, 12:27 AM

Aye, far more money available in Wexford

21/06/2007, 12:35 AM

It's a plum deal for himself and his henchman.

Decent money with little or no expectation/pressure and a buddy to exploit

EireBadBoy
21/06/2007, 6:30 AM

So the three year extension he has wrangled out of all this hype is just an aul' bit of craic?

21/06/2007, 10:04 AM

Wexford will just be another Longford Town.

They would not be able to sustain themselves consistentluy at the top end of the footballing food chain in Ireland. Fact....

21/06/2007, 10:15 AM
Maybe but they still have more money available to them than Derry

21/06/2007, 10:43 AM

They're a football club - not a bank.

Maybe they can shape it into fans or football players, as having money is no use in football if it doesn't make you better than all the others....

21/06/2007, 10:49 AM
So the three year extension he has wrangled out of all this hype is just an aul' bit of craic?
Why do you think he went up to Derry when he never intended taking the job?

Sunny Jim
21/06/2007, 11:01 AM
Wexford will just be another Longford Town.

They would not be able to sustain themselves consistentluy at the top end of the footballing food chain in Ireland. Fact....

It's a fact is it? And you know this how?

21/06/2007, 11:12 AM
Doubt it Dodge.

Wallace isn't in the mega-mega rich category (his profile is much higher than his actual wealth, he's only a mid-tier builder) and has consistently said whilst he will pay for infrastructure he won't pay high wages out of his own pocket.

We may have no moneybags investors but our crowds, wages and consequently turnover is and will remain much higher than Wexford.

21/06/2007, 11:15 AM
No, attracts Dolan though

21/06/2007, 11:37 AM
It's a fact is it? And you know this how?

You are reliant upon the generosity of a single individual. You do not have the crowds, facilities, catchment area, latent support or tradition of a club like Derry, Cork or Bohs to enable you to sustain a presence at the top end of the Irish footballing tier for anything beyond the short term.

The one guarantee re sugar daddies in football is that, sooner or later, they and their money goes....

21/06/2007, 11:40 AM
No, attracts Dolan though

Wexford is just a play thing for Dolan. He's under zero pressure to deliver there, so why wouldn't he be involved ?

If he'd gone to Derry he'd have had to prove himself and deliver the goods regularly - which he's never done at any club.

21/06/2007, 12:32 PM
You are reliant upon the generosity of a single individual. You do not have the crowds, facilities, catchment area, latent support or tradition of a club like Derry, Cork or Bohs to enable you to sustain a presence at the top end of the Irish footballing tier for anything beyond the short term.

The one guarantee re sugar daddies in football is that, sooner or later, they and their money goes....

1. Crowds - Still average over 1,000, first year in league, will improve as results improve.
2. Facilities - 2 UEFA standard pitches, Top class clubhouse and dressing rooms, 2,200 seater stand with shop and more dressing rooms, press facilities etc. on the way.
3. Catchment Area - Wexford has a population of 131,749 and rapidly growing according to CSO figures. Not only this but one of the largest schoolboy leagues in the country, with development acadamies established from U 12 up.
4. Wallace has been involved in Wexford soccer for the last 15 years or more. He is not going to walk away. No way will we ever be a Longford. We might not compete at the very highest level as Wallace is not going to throw money away. If the business is run professionally there is no reason it can't generate enough turnover to maintain a decent team without Wallace dishing out of his own pocket.

21/06/2007, 1:11 PM
ah passinginterest yere crowd against us the other night was 350 being generous.and from what ive heard in the last few weeks has only been 500 and ye play in the middle of nowhere

The crowds have dropped recently, but I'm more talking about potential for the future. The lowest league crowd was around 600. Comparing the situation to Longford with a population of less than 40,000 is plain silly is really the point I'm making.

Drogman.
21/06/2007, 1:34 PM

To be fair, you can't really judge a team 1/3 a way through a league that they've just joined.

I mean I'm sure it'll be a little while before the club and players become popular in the area. Also it'll take a little time for the club to develop a good marketing plan to attract people.

I don't envisage Wexford being at the top end of Irish football anytime soon, but with the correct approach, they could get up there within 10 years, maybe?

21/06/2007, 1:49 PM
1. We might not compete at the very highest level as Wallace is not going to throw money away.

Seems we're in agreement then.

21/06/2007, 1:59 PM
To be fair, you can't really judge a team 1/3 a way through a league that they've just joined.

I mean I'm sure it'll be a little while before the club and players become popular in the area. Also it'll take a little time for the club to develop a good marketing plan to attract people.

I don't envisage Wexford being at the top end of Irish football anytime soon, but with the correct approach, they could get up there within 10 years, maybe?

There is a very clear correlation in football between the success of a club and its relative catchment area. This has been proven consistently across Europe. Hence in England, clubs that are consistently successful are from the bigger citiies/conurbations : Manchester, Liverpool, London. And so it is in Scotland, Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Holland..... you get the idea.

It is also the same in Ireland - north and south. The teams who area always there or thereabouts in our league are from the cities. The last time a non-city team won our league was Dundalk in 1995. In the 12 years since then, the league has been won by a Dublin club 10 times (83%). The last non-city team other than Dundalk to win the league was Athlone in 1983.

And so I expect that history will repeat itself in this regards re Wexford. Just as it has with Longford, Cobh, Monaghan, Bray, Kilkenny, Kildare etc since they all joined....

Saint MacDara
21/06/2007, 2:44 PM
Nobodys saying theyre gonna win the league but there is a realistic prospect they'll be promoted to the premier division over the coming seasons.

You cant fault them for having drive and ambition.

lofty9
21/06/2007, 3:44 PM
Wallace saying that Dolan turned down €150,000 per year plus expenses. Don't believe that for a minute.

http://www.newrossecho.ie/news/story.asp?j=26808&cat=sport

21/06/2007, 3:48 PM
Wallace saying that Dolan turned down €150,000 per year plus expenses. Don't believe that for a minute.

http://www.newrossecho.ie/news/story.asp?j=26808&cat=sport

Why, no wonder the pitches in Wexford are in such good nick

Wallace just opens his mouth and spreads whatever comes out all over them

lofty9
22/06/2007, 2:15 PM
My cousin lives in Edinburgh and said that it's on the radio over there that Robertson has been offered the job.

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport.cfm?id=979632007

Meanwhile, former Hearts manager John Robertson could be in line for Stephen Kenny's old job at Derry City.
Robertson has been out of football since his departure from Livingston in April but Pat Fenlon's resignation last month would appear to have opened the door for a return to the game. Fenlon replaced Kenny as Derry manager when the Irishman moved to Dunfermline but quit after just 11 games in charge. The Candystripes are believed to have made Robbo, who was also manager at Ross County and Inverness, their No.1 target after failing to lure Pat Dolan out of retirement

Flexy
23/06/2007, 12:59 PM
My cousin lives in Edinburgh and said that it's on the radio over there that Robertson has been offered the job.

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport.cfm?id=979632007

Meanwhile, former Hearts manager John Robertson could be in line for Stephen Kenny's old job at Derry City.
Robertson has been out of football since his departure from Livingston in April but Pat Fenlon's resignation last month would appear to have opened the door for a return to the game. Fenlon replaced Kenny as Derry manager when the Irishman moved to Dunfermline but quit after just 11 games in charge. The Candystripes are believed to have made Robbo, who was also manager at Ross County and Inverness, their No.1 target after failing to lure Pat Dolan out of retirement
Heard he was at the game last night, bet he wasnt impressed, needs a clear out of the clicks in the team

lofty9
02/07/2007, 9:25 AM
Latest reports now saying Noel King

02/07/2007, 9:34 AM

Seriously? :)

It's destiny.

Flexy
02/07/2007, 10:33 AM

No chance, hes a crook, he did the club out of money the last time, the fans never forget a bad smell. If the club want to get rid of their great fans then appoint him, but I for one wont go back if hes appointed, hes 10 times worse than Felix Healy

02/07/2007, 10:43 AM
Is he still managing the irish ladies?

02/07/2007, 12:55 PM
Is he still managing the irish ladies?

Yup...

02/07/2007, 1:47 PM
Yup...

Also doing the UEFA A coaching course:

Those participating in the course are:
Paul Ashford (Skonta Riga FC, Latvia)
Packie Bonner (FAI Technical Director)
Joe Boyle (Ireland under-17 coach)
Paul Clement (Ireland under-21 assistant manager)
Tony Cousins (Galway United)
Pat Dolan (Wexford Youths)
Paul Doolin (Drogheda United)
Pat Fenlon
John Gill (Dundalk)
Don Givens (Ireland under-21 manager)
Mike Kerley
Brian Kerr (St Patrick's Athletic)
Noel King (Ireland Senior Women's Team Manager)
Pete Mahon (UCD)
Tony Mannion
Alan Mathews (Longford Town)
John McDonnell (St Patrick's Athletic)
Noel O'Reilly (FAI Head Coach)
Damien Richardson (Cork City).

I know the rules don't normally apply to him but Roddy not being on the course would probably limit his chances of getting back into management? (Of course he could still get a job as an "unpaid consultant" at some desperate club)

02/07/2007, 3:09 PM
I think the UEFA coacjhing ban will only affect next years managers. Its part of the UEFA license and Derry already got it on the basis of Fenlon having the best available at that time. I'd say Roddy has that, he just didn't go for the one above

02/07/2007, 8:40 PM
Some Robertson guy got the job according to Derry City forum. Claimed to have being announced to players in Derry hotel this evening.

02/07/2007, 8:50 PM
Club have released a press statement annoucing the other John Robertson, as he is known, as our new manager.

02/07/2007, 8:53 PM
Club have released a press statement annoucing the other John Robertson, as he is known, as our new manager.There's 3 living John Robertson's(associated with football) according to Wikipedia, which guy is he?:confused:

dcfc_1928
02/07/2007, 9:15 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Grant_Robertson

This one