View Full Version : Dolan for Derry
Well considering all the strong speculation I think its a done deal. I look forward to him coming. What about Noel O'Connor, he seems to rate him highly, could it be a possibility he brings him as assistant? (Cork & Wexford fans views)
new blue
16/06/2007, 4:23 PM
Not happy as Wexford supporter but looks like he's gone.
Probably best manager in Ireland.
But the show will go on.
How about Noel O'Connor, is he coming with him? Is O'Connor under contract?
what about limerick fans views!i think i speak for every limerick fan in saying he hasn't got a clue but dont know about him as an assistant
I didnt know he was at Limerick, if he isnt a good manager, dosnt mean he isnt a good assistant. Paul Hegarty is an example, hasnt exactly done wonders at harps, but was a great assistant with us.
JC_GUFC
16/06/2007, 5:27 PM
Heard from a reliable source (!) that Dolan will be taking over with Felix Healy as assistant!
I doubt very much felix would be assistant. he has an ego as big as you can get, he'll be thinking he should be manager and Dolan HIS assistant. I think dolan will be appointed but doubt very much about Felix. BTW how reliable is your source?
16/06/2007, 5:43 PM
I doubt very much felix would be assistant. he has an ego as big as you can get, he'll be thinking he should be manager and Dolan HIS assistant. I think dolan will be appointed but doubt very much about Felix. BTW how reliable is your source?
It'll be a two-handed job like on Setanta. Pat will be giving the team talk and all of a sudden Felix will take over and start asking Pat questions and reading out upcoming hockey fixtures.
ForzaWexford
16/06/2007, 6:04 PM
Someone from the club told me during the week that Pat wasn't going to Derry, "not for ten grand a week he wouldn't", he said.
That's why I was pretty confident Dolan wouldn't be leaving us. I'm not so sure after reading this thread though! It really would be a shame to see him go, I know we haven't been getting good results of late but if it wasn't for Pat I don't know if we'd have any points on the board at all.
I doubt either Pat or Noel are under contract with Wexford Youths, but losing them just as it looks like we might be finding our feet would be devastating.
JC_GUFC
17/06/2007, 11:04 AM
BTW how reliable is your source?
That remains to be seen but he did tell me that Felix doesn't have the badges so couldn't be manager....
17/06/2007, 5:34 PM
I didnt know he was at Limerick, if he isnt a good manager, dosnt mean he isnt a good assistant. Paul Hegarty is an example, hasnt exactly done wonders at harps, but was a great assistant with us.
Spot On.
O'Connor is a woeful manager but by all accounts an excellent coach
Couldn't see him going to Derry though, he has a butchers shop in town :ball:
Heard very similar story. When I say "similar", I of course mean "the same". :D
lofty9
18/06/2007, 10:27 AM
Heard very similar story. When I say "similar", I of course mean "the same". :D
Apparently Dolan has turned the job down, too many other commitments, and would possibly end up doing a Fenlon, leaving after a few matches.
18/06/2007, 10:33 AM
Apparently Dolan has turned the job down, too many other commitments, and would possibly end up doing a Fenlon, leaving after a few matches.Not enough money then so........
lofty9
18/06/2007, 10:49 AM
Not enough money then so........
Yep, €80k per year for him, but he's no budget to go out and spend. They were off their heads offering it to him anyhow, the Chairman would have been asked to give out of his own pocket to keep the ship afloat. The annoying thing is they have asked him to take time to think things over. One thing we don't have is time.
One thing we don't have is time.
Another thing you don't have is sharks with laser beams on their heads.
18/06/2007, 11:17 AM
Another thing you don't have is sharks with laser beams on their heads.
How do you think we got Fenlon out?
The sharks with laser beams chased him down the Foyle.....
I thought it was the greyhounds with rocket launchers that did that?
18/06/2007, 11:25 AM
How do you think we got Fenlon out?
The sharks with laser beams chased him down the Foyle.....
Jaysus the names of these provo splinter groups are getting weirder and weirder
"The 32 County Sharks With Laser Beams on their Heads Committee."
Anyway- Felix and Bugsy if Dolan doesn't want it? Felix hasn't the badges to take it on himself.
18/06/2007, 12:13 PM
Apparently Dolan has turned the job down, too many other commitmentsI bet Gregory is breathing a major sigh of relief at that.
18/06/2007, 12:23 PM
The annoying thing is they have asked him to take time to think things over. One thing we don't have is time.
Nor do we have many other options though Lofty.
It's lean times indeed on the Irish managers front..... :(
18/06/2007, 12:35 PM
Nor do we have many other options though Lofty.
It's lean times indeed on the Irish managers front..... :(
There's always Showaddy Roddy :D:D
(If you're really desperate)
18/06/2007, 12:38 PM
(If you're really desperate)..............another job for the SWLOTHs*
*Sharks With Lasers On Their Heads
18/06/2007, 1:26 PM
Nah - I'd rather the club appointed a manager....
Now that I think of it............
.....there's plenty of plastering to be done up here!!:D
John Robertson is favourite now apparently, former Hearts and Livingston manager
18/06/2007, 3:23 PM
John Robertson is favourite now apparently, former Hearts and Livingston manager
You'd be sorted on the song front anyway!
Old John Robertson - The Byrds
(Hillman/McGuinn)
Old John Robertson he wore a Stetson hat
People everywhere would laugh behind his back
No one cared to take any time to find out
What he was all about, fear kept them out
Children laughed and played and didn?t know his name
They could tell when he was coming just the same
Walking slow with old John?s crippled wife by his side
Then she sighed, then she died
Magic words from him would charm some children?s ears
But they laughed at him when he hid behind his tears
All in vain was no game for he'd lost an old friend
In the end, in the end
Old John Robertson he wore a Stetson hat
People everywhere would laugh behind his back
No one cared to take any time to find out
What he was all about, fear kept them out
18/06/2007, 10:49 PM
Is there any bookies taking bets on the next Derry manager?
TheSaint2002
18/06/2007, 10:54 PM
doudt it very much too much insider info going around in LOI circles, for instance I heard strong rumours of certain rovers players betting against themselves at 9/2 v sligo, and the bookies got done when drogheda fielded a second string in the league cup v rovers.
ForzaWexford
19/06/2007, 12:01 AM
Is there any bookies taking bets on the next Derry manager?
Ya looking to back Dolan? :cool:
19/06/2007, 12:59 AM
Ya looking to back Dolan? :cool:
No, would just be surprised if anywhere was doing the next Derry manager.
Felix Healy told me personally that he has accepted the post as manager of Derry City after the game at Finn Park tonight.
refjohn
19/06/2007, 8:03 AM
Felix Healy told me personally that he has accepted the post as manager of Derry City after the game at Finn Park tonight.
We ll that's Derry out of Europe then - as Felix doesnt have the 'A' coaching badges. Glentoran were told they would be kicked out if they appointed Walker, so ended up sacking him the day after signing him
ForzaWexford
19/06/2007, 10:25 AM
No, would just be surprised if anywhere was doing the next Derry manager.
Well AFAIK there wasn't. My oul lad was goin mad to back against Dolan! Only bookies I can imagine who might have had a book on it would be local bookies in Derry, but even at that I doubt there was anyone taking bets on it.
Looks like Pat is staying with us for the time being anyway, good stuff! I heard that he went up to Derry last week with no intention of signing, but he had his reasons at the same time. Firstly, he wanted more money out of Setanta. And secondly, he wanted to show an interest and keep his options open for the future.
19/06/2007, 10:40 AM
What is Dolan's role in Wexford?
19/06/2007, 12:45 PM
Dolan rejects Derry City offer
Paul O'Hehir
Tue, Jun 19, 2007
Pat Dolan has rejected Derry City's offer to become their next manager by extending his contract with Setanta Sports.
The former St Patrick's Athletic and Cork City manager was in talks with the north-west club following Pat Fenlon's recent resignation after just five months in charge.
Dolan said the club's offer was tempting and he considered ending his three-year exile from management.
However, he has carved a niche presenting and analysing football on Setanta Sports and was keen to continue in the role.
It is unclear whether he will continue to act as advisor to First Division side Wexford Youths where his friend Mick Wallace is manager.
"Derry City impressed me greatly with their approach and plans and I found their offer very tempting," Dolan admitted.
"I am a football manager at heart and I will look to return to management in the future, but only when it is right for me in all aspects."
Dolan, who first joined the sports channel in 2005, has extended his contract by three years.
He has been out of front-line management since guiding Cork City to a runners-up spot behind Shelbourne in 2004.
© 2007 ireland.com
19/06/2007, 1:11 PM
Does Gorman not have the euro badges? Maybe he would be assistant to Felix
refjohn
19/06/2007, 1:16 PM
Does Gorman not have the euro badges? Maybe he would be assistant to Felix
Not good enough apparently (or at least in the north) - UEFA wouldn't allow Alan MacDonald to be assistant to Roy Walker - apparently it has to be the boss man now.
londonhoop
19/06/2007, 2:47 PM
some liar that healy fella!!
SwanVsDalton
19/06/2007, 3:06 PM
As ForzaWexford pointed out, Dolan had absolutely no intention of signing for Derry. He led the directors up the garden path for two weeks and it was simply to angle for a new Setanta deal. He turned up 4 hours late to the interview on Saturday ffs.
I'm not particuarly dissapointed anyway, Dolan has proved himself to be a chancer time and time again. And the last thing Derry needs is another half-committed manager.
Louth4sam
19/06/2007, 3:26 PM
19June 2007: Dundalk Turn Down Derry Approach
Dundalk FC have today turned down an official approach from Derry City Football Club to speak to John Gill regarding the vacant managers position at the Brandywell.
Club CEO Gerry Matthews told Dundalkfc.com "I received the approach from Derry City this morning. I then had a discussion regarding the offer with John Gill and I was delighted to hear him say that he intends to honour his contract with Dundalk FC. John is an honourable man who we think is doing a fantastic job at the club. I'm sure all Dundalk supporters will agree that we are delighted that John intends to stay at Oriel Park. For a such a great club as Derry City to seek our manager is a testament to how well the club is doing at the moment. Having been told by John that he will honour his contract with Dundalk Football Club, I contacted Derry City and
refused them permission to make an approach to John."
Post-Match comments indicated Gill's desire to stay
John Gill's comments following the 3-0 win over Athlone Town last Thursday night had previously indicated that any official approach for his services would be rebuffed.
“I wouldn’t take a wage cut!…I’m happy here, why would I want to leave a fantastic club like this?! I work for a very, very progressive board, I’ve got a great bunch of players and a fantastic bunch of supporters, so I don’t really think it gets any better than this. I can’t help speculation. I’m under contract to Dundalk until November, and I’m not like other managers in the league who have walked out on contracts.
“Managers at times be moaning when they’re sacked when they’re under contract, and then other managers walk out on contracts - I don’t, I believe in the validity of a contract. I’m going to honour the contract I have here and I would like to extend it, but that’s not down to me. I’ll just keep doing what I’m doing, which is working very, very hard with a very honest bunch of players. I have great belief in my own ability. I think Dundalk is a massive football club, there’s not too many bigger clubs than it, so why would I want to go and uproot my family and myself to go and live up the north to manage Derry City? It’s a massive job and it’s very flattering to be linked with it, but I can’t help speculation. I have a big job here, I’m with a big football club here, and I’m happy here.
“As I’ve said before about football, a pat on the back is only eighteen inches away from a kick in the arse. Football is a funny game. I’m King John here at the moment, but if I lose two football matches, it will go the opposite way - I’m a realist as well. You’re judged on results and so far, my results have been very, very good, but that’s down to the players. I also said before, that sometimes managers take too much credit when things are going well. It’s not down to me, it’s down to the players and what they do on the park, it’s down to my backroom staff and it’s down to the board of directors - I’m only a small cog in a big wheel and I can’t do what I do without the backing of everybody else. Unless Gerry Matthews tells me that my P45 is in the post, I’ll be staying here. I’ve got a great relationship with Gerry and the board, and I respect them and we’ve got great belief in each other, and I’m happy here.”
Hibs4Ever
19/06/2007, 4:31 PM
The Herald saying that John "dirty Jambo bas***d" Robertson is favourite for the job
EDIT: Sorry, just saw it was posted already
19/06/2007, 5:16 PM
The Herald saying that John "dirty Jambo bas***d" Robertson is favourite for the job
Really? The Herald called him that:confused:
Actually, I'm not surprised. :)
Hibs4Ever
19/06/2007, 5:18 PM
Ok, maybe I added a little bit in ;)
He must be linked to the Rachel O'Reilly murder
SolitudeRed
19/06/2007, 7:12 PM
EDIT: Sorry, just saw it was posted already
No way Derry better not hire that scumbo John Robertson! Who is he managing now anyway is he even still managing a team?
Mon the Hibees!
Hibs4Ever
19/06/2007, 7:59 PM
No way Derry better not hire that scumbo John Robertson! Who is he managing now anyway is he even still managing a team?
Mon the Hibees!
He's at Livingston
lofty9
19/06/2007, 8:25 PM
He's at Livingston
Not since mid April.
19/06/2007, 8:32 PM
Robertson might be okay but the Derry board have let a few people embarass them at this stage (better now than 3 months in to the job i suppose.)
All the big Irish names out of the picture now bar the unrelegated one.
Pat Dolan has turned down the Derry City job so I guess we can saw he retired from football? Looks like he is committed football punditry now...
ForzaWexford
19/06/2007, 10:32 PM
What is Dolan's role in Wexford?
I'm not sure what his title is, but he takes training one night a week. And does a lot of talking on match days. Mick still picks the team.