View Full Version : Cork City FC Receive "Severe Warning" from Disciplinary Commission
30/05/2007, 9:19 PM
Cork City FC Receive "Severe Warning" from Disciplinary Commission
Cork City Football Club have been issued with a "severe warning" by the FAI's Disciplinary Commission following it's meeting on May 23rd. The warning relates to the game against St. Patrick's Athletic at Turner's Cross on May 3rd. The warning stated that the Disciplinary Commission had decided "To issue your club with a severe warning in relation to your club's supporters' behaviour for all future matches."
Manager Damien Richardson told CorkCityFC.ie that he was disappointed with the harshness of the warning issued, stating that "the Rebel Army have proven themselves to be the best and most colourful fans in the country. However, we acknowledge that both UEFA and the FAI are determined to implement a family friendly atmosphere at games across Europe. These demands require the most sporting behaviour from fans across the continent."
The obvious ramifications of this warning are that Cork City FC would be vulnerable to hefty fines should the behaviour of players and supporters not measure up to the now strict requirements.
Richardson went on to comment: "The rapport between Cork City fans and visiting goalkeepers has been one of the most enjoyable aspects of games at Turner's Cross. Players such as Tony O'Dowd, Stephen O'Brien and Alan Gough have all enjoyed banter with the Rebel Army and, indeed, have commented on how they have enjoyed their experiences as opposition players at Turner's Cross." Captain Dan Murray is under no doubt that "The Rebel Army have proven themselves to be our Twelfth Man, and the best supporters in the business."
Cork City Football Club believes that it is an essential part of all future success that our supporters continue to make Turner's Cross one of the most atmospheric and hostile, yet sporting, venues in Irish football. Our supporters are our "Twelfth Man" and their support is greatly appreciated and valued by everyone at the club.
Philly
30/05/2007, 9:53 PM
That warning sure does sound severe.
OhNoYouDidn't
30/05/2007, 10:29 PM
is all this coming from mcdonnells rant?
bizarre stuff
s-side hoop
30/05/2007, 10:53 PM
the FAI are Killing atmosphere at games! we might aswell all give up and start watching bowls or something.
Saint MacDara
30/05/2007, 11:46 PM
That's rick coming from a shams supporter,you lot want every negative comment against your club to be deleted.
There's a difference between atmosphere and a vendetta.
30/05/2007, 11:51 PM
That is a disgrace, just for chanting at Ryan. Severe warning my arse, **** off FAI!
hoops1
30/05/2007, 11:53 PM
Pats fans could clearly be heard giving Des Byrne dogs abuse on Monday
Will they get a warning?:rolleyes:
Dyl10
31/05/2007, 12:01 AM
That is a disgrace, just for chanting at Ryan. Severe warning my arse, **** off FAI!
It was clearly chanting about drug abuse. If I was nearby I dont think I would want my child listening to that crap. From the article it would seem it was more of a concern for the young/family fans around as opposed than Ryan himself.
Saint MacDara
31/05/2007, 12:06 AM
Will they get a warning?:rolleyes:
Why dont you make a complaint about that to the FAI,im sure SRFC know all the ins and outs of the disciplinary procedures being at the receiving end of it quite a bit:p
31/05/2007, 12:07 AM
It was clearly chanting about drug abuse. If I was nearby I dont think I would want my child listening to that crap.Well don't bring yer child to a match then. I do laugh at people giving out about people using bad language at football matches, or heaven forbid, someone standing up at a match:rolleyes:. I mean FFS, it's not mass yer going to! Plus, Ryan was previously caught for taking drugs so in fairness, he is obviously an easy target for abuse.
BohsFans
31/05/2007, 2:02 AM
Surprised it hasn't been said yet, but:
Ridden Rock Soild! :(
:p
31/05/2007, 3:16 AM
Well don't bring yer child to a match then.How would you like it if you weren't brought to matches when you were a kid? How would you like if you weren't allowed bring your own kids to matches later in life? It's a rite of passage ffs!
I brought my kid to a City match when he was 8 and he loved it, but we could both have done without the knackers shouting abuse at people in our ears. Why should he put up with that crap?
For that matter, why should I? I'm no prude, in fact people have complained about the amount I curse in company, but I don't shout it at people, and I certainly don't shout it at strangers.
31/05/2007, 3:59 AM
The 'severe warning' is absolute nonsense.
The chanting at Ryan was no worse than he gets at any other ground in the country and certainly no worse than any of the chanting that was aimed at george o'callaghan last season.
Ryan played along with it on the night, which is half the reason it was sustained. This is all down to Johnny McDonnell and his stupidity. The severe warning should have been directed squarely at a man who ran from his technical area at the end of the game to scream and gesticulate at fans, that was an incident far more worthy of inverstigation, but the FAI have proven themselves inept again.
Re: Kids at games; Cork City have a designated Family enclosure specifically aimed at keeping younger kids involved and entertained. It's separated by quite a distance from any chants that the Shed or opposing fans make.
Mountains out of molehills and it's onjly going to result in more abuse being thrown at Pat's when they're next down, more likely McD will be on the receiving end this time though.
31/05/2007, 8:17 AM
It's PCGM I tell you
MyTown
31/05/2007, 8:59 AM
How would you like it if you weren't brought to matches when you were a kid? How would you like if you weren't allowed bring your own kids to matches later in life? It's a rite of passage ffs!
I brought my kid to a City match when he was 8 and he loved it, but we could both have done without the knackers shouting abuse at people in our ears. Why should he put up with that crap?
For that matter, why should I? I'm no prude, in fact people have complained about the amount I curse in company, but I don't shout it at people, and I certainly don't shout it at strangers.
POTM - Family enclosures are fairly unrealistic given the numbers attending games, but if clubs WANT to have a future, they need to make provision for children. Often part of the deal in getting to a game, for some parents, is to bring their children.
The hard men with the ready torrents of abuse (most of whom have had two thimblefuls of buckfast on their way to the ground) might find it hard to tolerate the younger generation, but IMO, they have a lot of growing up to do themselves.
No al Calcio Moderno.
Disgusted
31/05/2007, 9:13 AM
That's just terrible. It's ricidulous how far FIFA/UEFA and the FAI are pushing things now.
I noticed in the programme for the Bray UCD match the other night our GM wrote a piece about Bray fans abusing players, fans and officials. I found it pretty annoying and I wasn't the only one either. Effectively they are trying to stamp out the atmosphere at games. Now I don't know how far they'll push this one but if I was ever to get thrown out for cursing I assure you I wouldn't be coming back. If they want to protect the families they can put them in other areas of the grounds. Simple as.
Ebmania
31/05/2007, 9:23 AM
Bad season getting worse for the Rebel army. "Severe Warning and "Severe inconsistancy.
31/05/2007, 9:26 AM
Football is for football fans and football fans shout abuse. Its part of the game. Its part of what makes the atmosphere real as opposed to the sanitised organised chanting at american sports. The abuse for Ryan I beleive was coming from the shed. If you want to bring your kid to a game and you don't want them to hear the abuse, don't sit with the hardcore fans. Most grounds have areas that are far enough away from that. The warning is ludicrous in the extreme. Its no different from the abuse any player or manager gets (Geoghan - phone related, Scully - adultery related, Keeley - divorce related, Digger - Dwarf related, ALL PATS PLAYERS AND FANS INCLUDING EX PLAYERS PLAYING FOR OTHER CLUBS - Junkie related.) Most players know this is part of the game and can handle it. I'm sure Ryan can too as he's been getting it for long enough. McDonnels rant was simply the bluster of a man who couldn't handle losing a game. Now that he's got this result he'll continue to whinge. The whole thing cheapens any condemnation of the Webb affair too. If anything the FAI's reaction should have been - John McDonnell, Yellow Card for diving. :mad:
The day the "atmosphere" at a football match involves "family friendly" pre arranged chanting only is the day I stop going to football. Or would you rather we had a foot.ie approach to chanting. How about "The referee's a" then a pause where the word should be before repeating "The referee's a".
Any chance of someone posting up the article in the Cork City programme from the night you played us? I thought it really hit the nail on the head.
Yerp, and he deserved it. As did Barry Ryan. Stoopid decision
This is absolutely ridiculous.When we were up in Inchcore Bohs fans sang at Ryan .... "Barry give us a line".....to which he responded by pointing at the sideline.Will Bohs face sancture over this incident?In fairness Ryan takes the abuse quite well in fairness and lets be honest its not exactly the most personal of stuff.He did take drugs and he recognises he has to put up with the consequences.
The FAI should be concentrating on getting their house in order and not worrying about stupid non-events such as this.A parallel is what Robbie Fowler used to get in England.Did you ever hear of the FA giving a severe warning to any English club.
In fairness what can Cork City do if a section of their support start singing a song.....get stewards to go sssshhhh lads please.This isnt a classroom and last time I checked this country was not a dictatorship.
Its political correctness gone mad!
OhNoYouDidn't
31/05/2007, 9:44 AM
I have two major problems with this.
1: the arbitrary nature of whats acceptible etc. We all agree there are lines not to be crossed, racial abuse etc., but what makes this incident worse than 10,000 others? are there guidelines to whats allowed and whats not? opens up all sorts of precedents.
and 2: This is manager driven. we only heard of this because JMcD lost the plot and decieded to deflect attention in a certain direction in the same way Doolin did a week earlier. Especially relevent as both incidents saw the managers deciding to get offended publically on the players behalves.
The FAI have a right to act about songs on terraces. But the right songs for the right reasons.
lofty9
31/05/2007, 9:46 AM
If a sportsperson is foolish enough to take drugs then he should be able to take the consequences. Ryan is lucky he is even allowed to play football as far as I am concerned after being caught. He's setting the worst example to kids and for him to be vilified in public IS a good example to kids "that Drugs are Bad, okay". This warning is sending out the wrong signals to kids.
However, this jesting with Ryan is all it is and he revels in it: this warning is way OTT and will serve Ryan no good but to get more abuse at grounds.
hoops1
31/05/2007, 9:49 AM
Im not sure about this family atmosphere they are trying to promote.
My family hated each other and used to beat the **** out of each other
Is that what they really want at the matches:D
Rovers fans are civilised in comparison that will do me thanks very much
Ebmania
31/05/2007, 9:50 AM
The moral of this story is dont mess with BARRY RYAN.
31/05/2007, 9:53 AM
, ALL PATS PLAYERS AND FANS INCLUDING EX PLAYERS PLAYING FOR OTHER CLUBS - Junkie related
Spot on. Why is it OK to direct these chants at other fans but severe warnings are dished out when a player is the victim:confused:
Sets a dodgy precedent that action will be taken if any manager complains about something on TV (except for Rico of course :))
31/05/2007, 9:57 AM
RRS, all because McDonnell couldn't take his defeat.
31/05/2007, 9:58 AM
Pathetic. Diversionary tactics by slaphead end with this?
31/05/2007, 10:47 AM
I awaited McDonnells post match interview last Monday night with some anticipation.
Having listened to the Bohs faithful give Barry abuse (aka banter) for most of the game I was sure he would be ranting and raving again.
But No, he was most gracious in defeat. :eek:
Maybe defeat hurt the first time and now he is getting used to it.
Shame on you McDonnell, you have caused this mess.
31/05/2007, 11:36 AM
Football is for football fans and football fans shout abuse. Its part of the game. Its part of what makes the atmosphere real as opposed to the sanitised organised chanting at american sports. The abuse for Ryan I beleive was coming from the shed. If you want to bring your kid to a game and you don't want them to hear the abuse, don't sit with the hardcore fans. Most grounds have areas that are far enough away from that. The warning is ludicrous in the extreme. Its no different from the abuse any player or manager gets (Geoghan - phone related, Scully - adultery related, Keeley - divorce related, Digger - Dwarf related, ALL PATS PLAYERS AND FANS INCLUDING EX PLAYERS PLAYING FOR OTHER CLUBS - Junkie related.) Most players know this is part of the game and can handle it. I'm sure Ryan can too as he's been getting it for long enough. McDonnels rant was simply the bluster of a man who couldn't handle losing a game. Now that he's got this result he'll continue to whinge. The whole thing cheapens any condemnation of the Webb affair too. If anything the FAI's reaction should have been - John McDonnell, Yellow Card for diving. :mad:
The day the "atmosphere" at a football match involves "family friendly" pre arranged chanting only is the day I stop going to football. Or would you rather we had a foot.ie approach to chanting. How about "The referee's a" then a pause where the word should be before repeating "The referee's a".
Agreed 100% - family atmosphere :rolleyes:
31/05/2007, 11:47 AM
If anything the FAI's reaction should have been - John McDonnell, Yellow Card for diving. :mad:
In fairness, contact was made (however minimal) - if he hadn't gone down the ref wouldn't have taken any action (known in the business as a Roy O'Donovan special ...)
31/05/2007, 1:22 PM
How would you like it if you weren't brought to matches when you were a kid? How would you like if you weren't allowed bring your own kids to matches later in life? It's a rite of passage ffs!
adamAs someone said, football is for football fans and football fans shout abuse. It's part of the game. People are paying good money to watch their team play and abusing opposition players is all part of the banter.
If you or your son got shouted abuse at personally then that's different, then you should report that to the club. But on the pitch, players have to expect abuse.
A family section in EL grounds, away from all the "hardcore" fans, might be a good idea though.
31/05/2007, 1:57 PM
Well don't bring yer child to a match then. I do laugh at people giving out about people using bad language at football matches.
I think dahamsta deals with this well.....
How would you like it if you weren't brought to matches when you were a kid?
we could both have done without the knackers shouting abuse at people in our ears. Why should he put up with that crap? For that matter, why should I?
This is the whole point. If the eL and their fans are serious about raising the standard of football, the standard of stadiums, and the number of fans, certain things must be done. One of them is to weed out the morons talking and chanting crap at people they dont know and know nothing about.
Football is for football fans and football fans shout abuse. Its part of the game.
But it doesnt have to be. To say it is "part of the game" is to take the easy way out.
The abuse for Ryan I beleive was coming from the shed. If you want to bring your kid to a game and you don't want them to hear the abuse, don't sit with the hardcore fans.
So are you saying that if it comes to a choice between me and my young child, and some clown who thinks it is cool to shout abuse, you believe I should allow him to do what he wants, and just avoid him. Do you really think that actually solves the problem?
He's setting the worst example to kids and for him to be vilified in public.
As opposed to all those idiots shouting dogs abuse at strangers within earshot of children, sometimes their own children.
31/05/2007, 2:01 PM
So drug abuse is ok then?
OhNoYouDidn't
31/05/2007, 2:08 PM
Osarun, if you think the main thing keeping people away is chants like thise slagging BR about his drug past (statements of proven fact btw) we are on different planets.
It comes with the territory and is seen in leagues like Germany and England that are turning people away.
lofty9
31/05/2007, 2:10 PM
As opposed to all those idiots shouting dogs abuse at strangers within earshot of children, sometimes their own children.
Drugs vs verbal abuse? So Ryan is the victim here? He deserves all he gets. As I said before - No sportsperson should be allowed to return to his profession for doing drugs. It sets all the wrong examples. I'd rather have my kids call someone a ****in junkie ******* than be that "****in junkie *******". If people at a football match show younger people it is bad form to do drugs then I'm all for a bit of dogs abuse.
Ryan is getting a bit of stick, it's football and if that stick highlights that Ryan has been a mug for taking whatever then a good lesson has been taught to my kids.
31/05/2007, 2:19 PM
That is a pathetic post.
point out where i said or implied that.
Explain to me how you logically drew the conclusion that I meant that.
31/05/2007, 2:23 PM
Drugs vs verbal abuse? So Ryan is the victim here? He deserves all he gets. As I said before - No sportsperson should be allowed to return to his profession for doing drugs. It sets all the wrong examples. I'd rather have my kids call someone a ****in junkie ******* than be that "****in junkie *******". If people at a football match show younger people it is bad form to do drugs then I'm all for a bit of dogs abuse.
My point is that I dont think we can say that abusing him over a wall on a football field is going to achieve any social reform of our morals, or perform a valuable service to the community.
And I am reasonably sure that this was not in the minds of those who shouted the abuse.
green army
31/05/2007, 2:24 PM
In fairness what can Cork City do if a section of their support start singing a song.....get stewards to go sssshhhh lads please.This isnt a classroom and last time I checked this country was not a dictatorship.
Its political correctness gone mad!
i agree with what your saying and think JMD went way over the top. i think what annoyed him was the fact that someone had a megaphone and kept on chanting. no steward tried to stop him.
31/05/2007, 2:25 PM
It comes with the territory and is seen in leagues like Germany and England that are turning people away.
But people on this forum never shut up about how they hope the eL never becomes the "sanitised" junk atmosphere as the Premiership has.
31/05/2007, 2:25 PM
That is a pathetic post.
point out where i said or implied that.
Explain to me how you logically drew the conclusion that I meant that.
So are you saying that if it comes to a choice between me and my young child, and some clown who thinks it is cool to shout abuse, you believe I should allow him to do what he wants, and just avoid him. Do you really think that actually solves the problem?
If the guy is a clown for giving Ryan dogs over his drug abuse it is implied that the abuse is a worse offence than the drugs.
What is stupid is people wanting to destroy the atmosphere at games. Are bohs fans supposed to stop singing about Rovers being homeless or Pats being Junkies in case some prude gets offended? Are Rovers and Pats supposed to stop singing songs slagging us off? I'd be dissapointed if they did. This Helen Lovejoyism has no place at football grounds. The banter, the slagging has always been part of the game - nay sport and society, its part of what makes us human and its bloody great. There is a line that shouldn't be crossed - racism, the type of abuse Simon Webb got etc. but slagging a guy for getting caught red handed doing drugs etc. is fair game.
31/05/2007, 2:29 PM
This Helen Lovejoyism has no place at football grounds.That is a class way of describing it!:D
passerrby
31/05/2007, 2:30 PM
are we assumming that the warning was entirly for the ryan slagging or was there something else ..
31/05/2007, 2:34 PM
are we assumming that the warning was entirly for the ryan slagging or was there something else ..
It was for the Ryan slagging. No one would have paid any attention to it only for McDonnell trying to make capital over what happened to Webb.
31/05/2007, 2:35 PM
If the guy is a clown for giving Ryan dogs over his drug abuse it is implied that the abuse is a worse offence than the drugs.
So you feel that the guy who was shouting was driven by a desire to make Ryan see the error of his ways, and he felt the best and most efficient way of doing this was to abuse him during a football game.
If this is the conclusion you drew......why did you post this -
My point regarding the abuse of Ryan, and the reasons given for it on this thread are this-
My point is that I dont think we can say that abusing him over a wall on a football field is going to achieve any social reform of our morals, or perform a valuable service to the community.
And I am reasonably sure that this was not in the minds of those who shouted the abuse.
And on a general note -
Don't get me wrong, I dont want to kill the atmosphere at games (perhaps we have different views on what is acceptable "banter - so be it). My point is that this kind of abuse will deter some (not all, but some) fans from coming, or coming a second time, especially those fans with kids, and these kids are the future supporters we need. We are not in the position of clubs in other countries to be able to turn people away if they dont like it, confident that others will fill their place.
31/05/2007, 2:39 PM
We are not in the position of clubs in other countries to be able to turn people away if they dont like it, confident that others will fill their place.
Thats why we should have family sections. You are never going to please everyone. When I started going to LOI games, what got me coming back again and again was the atmosphere. I think my third or fourth game was against rovers and the atmosphere at that just sealed the deal for me. I've brought mates who live in England and attend the odd premiership game to games against Rovers, Shels, the Drogs and Pats and they were so impressed with the atmosphere that any time they come over the first question they ask is "are we going to a game?"
What is stupid is people wanting to destroy the atmosphere at games. Are bohs fans supposed to stop singing about Rovers being homeless or Pats being Junkies in case some prude gets offended? Are Rovers and Pats supposed to stop singing songs slagging us off? I'd be dissapointed if they did. This Helen Lovejoyism has no place at football grounds. The banter, the slagging has always been part of the game - nay sport and society, its part of what makes us human and its bloody great. There is a line that shouldn't be crossed - racism, the type of abuse Simon Webb got etc. but slagging a guy for getting caught red handed doing drugs etc. is fair game.
Must agree here too. Shouting abuse, a bit of healthy slagging, or popping a vessel in your head at the ref is part and parcel of the game. Osarusan you say it doesn't have to be, but that in turn is a trivial statement, which can be levelled at pretty much all aspects of the game. We don't have to have grass either. Or 'keepers. Or goalposts even. Or 11 a side. Or kicking the ball. Whatever someone takes against.
The fact is that it is there, it has always been there, and within certain boundaries it always should be there, and I personally would rather a handful of people who've kids with sensitive ears (or more likely, kids with ears that the parents feel need over-protection) were not trying to stop me calling the referee a useless w*nker if he is being one. And I don't sit with hardcore supporters, so I don't know where ye are going to go! :D
31/05/2007, 2:50 PM
If the guy is a clown for giving Ryan dogs over his drug abuse it is implied that the abuse is a worse offence than the drugs
From which you inferred that I condoned drug abuse?
So you feel that the guy who was shouting was driven by a desire to make Ryan see the error of his ways, and he felt the best and most efficient way of doing this was to abuse him during a football game.
I'd appreciate a reply.
Thats why we should have family sections. You are never going to please everyone. When I started going to LOI games, what got me coming back again and again was the atmosphere. I think my third or fourth game was against rovers and the atmosphere at that just sealed the deal for me. I've brought mates who live in England and attend the odd premiership game to games against Rovers, Shels, the Drogs and Pats and they were so impressed with the atmosphere that any time they come over the first question they ask is "are we going to a game?"
You make it sound like a ban on abuse would leave the fans with nothing to say.
31/05/2007, 2:56 PM
I'd appreciate a reply.
Its been said over and over in this thread, its not a matter of making Ryan see the error of his ways more an example to set to the kids i.e. do this and you are going to be in for some real stick.
You make it sound like a ban on abuse would leave the fans with nothing to say
It would certainly cut out a lot of the "wittier" songs on the terraces.
31/05/2007, 3:03 PM
more an example to set to the kids i.e. do this and you are going to be in for some real stick.
Do you really believe that this is why he got the abuse? To set a good example to kids? Not just to amuse the person shouting, or to try and disrupt his (Ryan's) concentration?