View Full Version : Cork City FC Receive "Severe Warning" from Disciplinary Commission
passerrby
31/05/2007, 3:03 PM
remember once hearing a rovers fan shout "kellys carpets out out out" when asked why said he was againist all rug dealers
lofty9
31/05/2007, 3:05 PM
remember once hearing a rovers fan shout "kellys carpets out out out" when asked why said he was againist all rug dealers
:D very good!
31/05/2007, 3:08 PM
:D Great stuff!
Do you really believe that this is why he got the abuse? To set a good example to kids? Not just to amuse the person shouting, or to try and disrupt his (Ryan's) concantration?
No more of a byproduct of the guy(s) trying to disrupt Ryan's concentration. Getting back to the matter at hand, what exactly is offensive about calling a footballer who failed a drug test "junkie" or chanting "Barry, give us a line"?
31/05/2007, 3:08 PM
Do you really believe that this is why he got the abuse? To set a good example to kids? Not just to amuse the person shouting, or to try and disrupt his (Ryan's) concantration?
those are exactly the reasons. and arguably, they both worked. thats not to say however, that "protecting" ryan like this doesn't stop us from indirectly pointing out that footballers in a professional league should probably not use drugs lest they be ridiculed.
So drug abuse is ok then?
Who said anything about him abusing the drugs?
31/05/2007, 3:10 PM
Who said anything about him abusing the drugs?
Oh right, he was using cocaine responsibly?
31/05/2007, 3:13 PM
:D:D:D
31/05/2007, 3:14 PM
Getting back to the matter at hand, what exactly is offensive about calling a footballer who failed a drug test "junkie" or chanting "Barry, give us a line"?
You don't think it is in any way offensive?
I do, as I don't think anybody, footballer or otherwise, should have to hear it.
Would you find it inoffensive if it happened to somebody who is not a footballer?
And on a more general level, the kind of comments which are generally considered "banter" - questioning of sexual ability/preference, parental species, masturbation tendencies etc - do find them inoffensive in the context in which they are said?
31/05/2007, 3:18 PM
those are exactly the reasons. and arguably, they both worked. thats not to say however, that "protecting" ryan like this doesn't stop us from indirectly pointing out that footballers in a professional league should probably not use drugs lest they be ridiculed.
Which reasons are you talking about? The attempts to set an example for kids, or the amusement of the person shouting, or the interruption of his concentration?
passerrby
31/05/2007, 3:19 PM
masturbation tendencies etc - do find them inoffensive in the context in which they are said?
there you go again knocking my hobbies
31/05/2007, 3:29 PM
You don't think it is in any way offensive?
I do, as I don't think anybody, footballer or otherwise, should have to hear it.
Would you find it inoffensive if it happened to somebody who is not a footballer?
Clearly I don't think its offensive. If I was suspended from work for failing a drug test or for some other misdemeanor I would expect a serious slagging when I got back.
And on a more general level, the kind of comments which are generally considered "banter" - questioning of sexual ability/preference, parental species, masturbation tendencies etc - do find them inoffensive in the context in which they are said?
Homophobia and sexism I class with racism (I wouldn't count the washed up transsexual song as homophobia as its the washed up bit that is the point of slagging! :D )
Parental species? I'm not sure what you mean.
All the other stuff you mentioned fair game in my book.
31/05/2007, 3:29 PM
Which reasons are you talking about? The attempts to set an example for kids, or the amusement of the person shouting, or the interruption of his concentration?
the amusement and the concentration. sure he was joining in at one point, we must have amused HIM and broken his concentration.
at every game ive ever been at at turner's cross, we've 'abused' the keeper in some way, even if we've never heard of him by calling him dodgy and trying to put him off kick outs. Is "Dodgy keeper" acceptable?
31/05/2007, 3:35 PM
the amusement and the concentration. sure he was joining in at one point, we must have amused HIM and broken his concentration.
Fair enough, thats an honest answer.
at every game ive ever been at at turner's cross, we've 'abused' the keeper in some way, even if we've never heard of him by calling him dodgy and trying to put him off kick outs. Is "Dodgy keeper" acceptable?
Again, fair enough, if you don't have a problem with it. Nothing wrong with "dodgy keeper", but "dodgy keeper, your mother is a f##king sl#t", i do have a problem with.
My main arguement is that people try to justify the abuse in Ryans case with the line that they are actually doing it to set a good example for kids. This is think is nonsense.
31/05/2007, 3:39 PM
but "dodgy keeper, your mother is a f##king sl#t", i do have a problem with.
Who said that?
31/05/2007, 3:45 PM
Who said that?
It is an example, an example i heard at a game in Galway about 10 years ago (minus the "dodgey keeper" part).
I've heard similar things at many grounds. I'd guess most people have.
31/05/2007, 3:45 PM
My main arguement is that people try to justify the abuse in Ryans case with the line that they are actually doing it to set a good example for kids. This is think is nonsense.well i dont think anyone claimed we took it upon ourselves to start a war on drugs, but you must admit seeing someone ridiculed for his actions could influence some young fella not to try it.
at the end of this, our love/hate relationship with barry ryan will go on and the real vitriolic abuse will be aimed at a sufferer of the medical condition alopecia whose behaviour towards our fans, subsequent attempts to mask his teams defeat and the media/FAI's quickstep to attempt to cover up the damage he did to our and our league's reptutation, will surely be a less light hearted topic of argument than 'barry and charlie are best of friends.'
Ridiculous "decision" by the FAI. I am all for cracking down on clubs for not controlling their fans but what the f*** does severe warning mean anyway?
I haven't heard Barry Ryan complain or any Pats fan complain about this before. Barry has been on the receiving end of this for years & takes in good humoured way with a few gestures himself.
Will Bohs also be severely warned for the same chant heard clearly on tv last Monday?
31/05/2007, 5:11 PM
As someone said, football is for football fans and football fans shout abuse. It's part of the game. People are paying good money to watch their team play and abusing opposition players is all part of the banter.I don't accept the banter excuse - it is an excuse and always has been - on Foot.ie and I don't accept it in the ground either. You call it banter, I call it abuse, and in my opinion the people that do it are ignorant knuckle draggers.
As osuran said, shouting "dodgy keeper" is one thing, calling people and their families names is another. Namecalling is for primary schools. They should try adult humour. Age, shoe size, etc.
31/05/2007, 5:16 PM
what the f*** does severe warning mean anyway?
Shels got loads of them down through the years so I presume you'll eventually be demoted to the First Division if you keep it up...
31/05/2007, 5:23 PM
The whole thing cheapens any condemnation of the Webb affair too.
I think that this is an important point. The reaction to this is over the top.
I brought my kid to a City match when he was 8 and he loved it, but we could both have done without the knackers shouting abuse at people in our ears. Why should he put up with that crap?
You were being yelled at? Where were the stewards?
31/05/2007, 5:24 PM
As osuran said, shouting "dodgy keeper" is one thing, calling people and their families names is another.
Thats not what this debate is about. Its about Barry Ryan, drug use and getting some slagging for it.
I don't accept the banter excuse - it is an excuse and always has been - on Foot.ie and I don't accept it in the ground either.
Its all very well for you not accepting it on foot.ie, its your website. When it comes to football grounds I think thats for football fans to decide.
31/05/2007, 5:50 PM
Namecalling is for primary schools. They should try adult humour. Age, shoe size, etc.how would you define adult humour?
the reason, the sole reason, we sing or shout at football games is to produce an atmosphere, not to impress anyone. Normally, that atmosphere attempts to be both supportive of our own team and distracting or off-putting for the opposition. As fans we will go pretty far to do both, be it breaking laws with respect to firework safety, or 'personal abuse'. Clearly there are limits to this, which have been overstepped a handful of times in my recollection of eircom league soccer - simon webb being the obvious example. However, the limits are pretty self imposed and the football following community would 'police' the situation, such as by demanding action in the Webb case. Look around though, not only are people dismissing 'Junkie Keeper' as within those limits, but they are actively continuing the chant themselves, without further comment or theatrics by the follically-challenged one.
I'd be interested to know people's thoughts on the abuse of a keeper the week after the Pat's game. No, not the ironic 'Junkie Keeper' chants directed at Mick Devine but the 'Ginger Keeper' chants at the other lad. Surely this is worse, mocking a genetic, hereditary condition of which the lad has little or no control over, rather than 'Junkie Keeper' reminding Mr Ryan of his poor personal choices of the past. I know which one I'd be more afraid of explaining to a son - Gingers can be violent little feckers when called out on the schoolyard!
As long as the abuse isn't homophobic, racist or something equally as vile than I don't see the problem, inslting a player over hair colour/length, past drug abuse, former employers, past misdemeanors against your club is part and parcel of football
31/05/2007, 6:17 PM
Normally, that atmosphere attempts to be both supportive of our own teamOf course.
and distracting or off-putting for the oppositionI've never agreed with this. Calling it cheating is probably OTT, but I think it's very 'unsportsmanlike'; for want of a better phrase.
As has been said before, how would you like some neanderthal screaming abuse at you while you're trying to do your job?
Much of it lies and overexaggeration, I might add...
31/05/2007, 6:23 PM
I've never agreed with this. Calling it cheating is probably OTT, but it's very 'unsportsmanlike' imho, for want of a better phrase.Unsportsmanlike or not, its very much a race to the bottom isn't it? It started somewhere and the advantages can be clearly seen. To ignore this part of the game would be to give a little advantage to the competition who won't be so P.C. No football fan would contemplate doing that surely.
As has been said before, how would you like some neanderthal screaming abuse at you while you're trying to do your job?I work in tech support. :)
Much of it lies and overexaggeration, I might add...Call it farcical comedy. We're aware not every Dubliner is a Jackeen Junkie and Owen Heary probably does have a birth certificate.
31/05/2007, 6:29 PM
I'm very much a "game should be on the pitch" and "it's just a game" person, as you know. I don't think I need to restate my thoughts on the intelligence of the game as it's become.
People often wonder why a guy who's "not into football" - their words, not mine - would want to run a site like Foot.ie -- there's your answer. I'd probably be a hell of a lot more into it if it wasn't for the idiocy of the sport off the pitch.
lofty9
31/05/2007, 7:50 PM
My main arguement is that people try to justify the abuse in Ryans case with the line that they are actually doing it to set a good example for kids. This is think is nonsense.
I'll take it your referring to me. To start, I know that the crowd giving out the abuse have no interest of setting an example to kids.
I said that if Ryan was stupid enough to take drugs, he should take his oil as they say in Derry. He should get all the stick possible.
I was responding to the fact that kids shouldn't hear such things at games, arguing the point that Ryan being vilified actually may have a positive effect on kids at the games, in that we collectively think that drug taking is irresponsible and sending out the message that drug taking is wrong.
In this case I don't think it is unreasonable for the crowds to give him a bit of abuse in front of kids as believe it will send out the correct message. Young people are fully influenced by their peers and the young fellow at a game hearing the abuse may think twice.
If this is how you react to some of the stuff here, count yourselves you dont live in some of the other big football countries.
Kids would not even have understood the humour in the City chants towards Barry Ryan. Sure he has even made hand to nose gestures himself in the past in reply.
Is singing "Dessie & Richie, different fathers..." (they are twins) abusive?
I would be surprised if any player was offended by eL chants. Its a lot worse when you have an individual shouting abuse at a particular player.
I agree with the comment re:Webb as its over reaction belittles the abuse he got.
This is LOI football & not golf. If you took away the little atmosphere at our inadequate grounds & varying quality of football what would be left? If you want sportsmanship what sport on tv.
31/05/2007, 10:26 PM
Kids would not even have understood the humour in the City chants towards Barry Ryan. Sure he has even made hand to nose gestures himself in the past in reply.
Is singing "Dessie & Richie, different fathers..." (they are twins) abusive?
I would be surprised if any player was offended by eL chants. Its a lot worse when you have an individual shouting abuse at a particular player.
I agree with the comment re:Webb as its over reaction belittles the abuse he got.
This is LOI football & not golf. If you took away the little atmosphere at our inadequate grounds & varying quality of football what would be left? If you want sportsmanship what sport on tv.
They deffo won't be happy with that:p
I've seen Richie laughing at that while he was on the pitch... :cool: