View Full Version : Chris Turner
19/06/2007, 11:18 AM
Probably being biased but the best football I have seen this season has come from Rovers. If the club were properly organised at the start of the season (manager and three or four decent signings) they wouldnt be too far from wining the league.
:D :D :D
Deluded!
red bellied
19/06/2007, 11:24 AM
Deluded!
Least we are actually getting to see some football after two seasons of hoof alot Connor when he was here.
19/06/2007, 11:25 AM
Deluded!
Not as deluded as you think , A team that finished below us last year had stability and made those 3-4 decent signings and now they are top of the league.
19/06/2007, 11:28 AM
Yes but that team has pot loads of money. Hardly the same thing. I'm sure if you had a Sugar Daddy like Pats or a sweet property deal like us it would be well within you but you don't AFAIK - correct if wrong.
red bellied
19/06/2007, 11:33 AM
Try telling Derry that when Kenny was manager and look how close he came. Dont think they had a sugar daddy or property magnet.
19/06/2007, 11:35 AM
Yes but that team has pot loads of money. Hardly the same thing. I'm sure if you had a Sugar Daddy like Pats or a sweet property deal like us it would be well within you but you don't AFAIK - correct if wrong.
Money isnt everything , another few signings the likes of Peers and Turner who wouldnt be on bank breaking money compared to Pats I imagine and who knows .
19/06/2007, 11:43 AM
property magnet.
ROFL :D
19/06/2007, 10:06 PM
lads.. i dunno about ye but I wish turner all the best.
he has given 100 percent while playing for us for the time he has been there, and to be honest, nothing we could offer chrissy could match what bohs have offered him.
whenever the occasion was needed, chrissy rose to it. hes too good for bohs, us and any other irish team... only that bohs are paying stupid money, he'd easily be championship, maybe premiership.
he never faked injury.
this deal had probably been agreed for months but did chrissy's commitment towards rovers on the pitch wane? no. unlike mansaram, singh and connor, he's given his all, right to the end.
i say hold on to chrissy. play him to the end of the season. take the 30k. let him go at the end of the season and
make the man welcome if he comes back to the showgrounds. he's no traitor, he's the best player i ever saw pull on a rovers shirt
19/06/2007, 10:20 PM
i say hold on to chrissy. play him to the end of the season. take the 30k. let him go at the end of the season and
This seems like the sensible course of action to me. Why drop someone who could be pivotal to your season just because he's going elsewhere next year? Win the cup and you're in Europe, Setanta etc. If he can help you do that its just daft to consign him to the under 21's or try and get rid of him sooner (unless you have a cast Iron replacement lined up).
Midgit
19/06/2007, 10:23 PM
this deal had probably been agreed for months
And like I have said Brewer you know nothing about football.
If the deal was agreed months ago that would be called tapping up!!:rolleyes:
He can only talk to other clubs once he reaches the last six months of his contract.
Of course he knew there was interest but nothing would have been agreed.:rolleyes:
Right and if you say he is good enough for the preimership you really haven't a notion. He is good and maybe when he has a few years of Championship under his belt then maybe. If he was good enough for the premiership he would walk into the Northern Irelad team no problem (seeing as most of their player are league one and two!!!).
And of course he is the best player you seen pull on a Rovers shirt seeing as you have been supporting them for how many is it???.......... oh ya 2 years or is it 1 year!!!:rolleyes:
Midgit
19/06/2007, 10:26 PM
This seems like the sensible course of action to me. Why drop someone who could be pivotal to your season just because he's going elsewhere next year? Win the cup and you're in Europe, Setanta etc. If he can help you do that its just daft to consign him to the under 21's or try and get rid of him sooner (unless you have a cast Iron replacement lined up).
Oh and we are in talks with Bohs to let Turner go in the Tranfer window. If something is agreed then he will go in July. But if not he will stay and see out the rest of his contract.
From the weekender
19/06/2007, 10:52 PM
And like I have said Brewer you know nothing about football.
If the deal was agreed months ago that would be called tapping up!!:rolleyes:
He can only talk to other clubs once he reaches the last six months of his contract.
Of course he knew there was interest but nothing would have been agreed.:rolleyes:
Yeah nobody has ever done that before.:rolleyes: Connor was reported by some Northern team at the start of the season so he has a history of doing it. This transfer seems like he was tapped up to me.
On another note does anybody know if Sligo offered a contract to Turner before he signed for Bohs? If they didn't they won't be entitled to any compensation.
19/06/2007, 10:57 PM
Connor was reported by some Northern team at the start of the season so he has a history of doing it.
So this is proven? Has there been sanctions? Has he been convicted of anything?
This transfer seems like he was tapped up to me.
On what basis? Wheres your proof? What do you base these allegations on? :rolleyes:
AFAIK Sligo offered him a contract.
Midgit
19/06/2007, 10:58 PM
Yes Rovers offered a contract and during the neglogations he decided to sign with Bohs without even telling manager or Chairman. The chairman found out through a phone call from a Bohs official. It was on the papers today that our Chairman is furious over the transfer.
DocRovers
19/06/2007, 11:06 PM
Turner has been excellent all season. Cannot understand why he would move to Bohs at this point, it is a lateral move despite the few quid extra. He cannot move until season end without the Rovers agreeing. If he continues to play as he has, he would secure a decent move across channel & the proper opportunity he deserves. I think he let Cook down by not discussing his intention to sign a pre-contract with Bohs(another inappropriate move by Connor) but I hope to see him in Rovers colours again before he moves. Despite this certainly, not the best Rovers player I ever saw - Tony Fagan ????
19/06/2007, 11:07 PM
connor was already reported for tapping up turner by turner at the end of last season so of course he (turner)would have known he was after him:rolleyes:
also what stone do you think he was living under? course he knew there were clubs after him..mainly bohs..especially after he was tapped up.
Connor never made any secret of his interest in Turner. Bohs made offical approaches to Sligo so its not tapping up. If it was don't you think your chairman would have jumped at the oppotunity of having sanctions taken against SC?
As for it being a lateral move LMFAO :D* Like saying moving from Bolton to Arsenal would be a Lateral move!
*We need more expressive smilies here.
19/06/2007, 11:15 PM
So this is proven? Has there been sanctions? Has he been convicted of anything?
This (http://www.elevenaside.com/bohemians/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=27658) is the only story I can find about it. It's very difficult thing to prove because the club themselves are hardly going to own up to it and the player involved probably wouldn't be signed by the club, and would probably be given a better contract to keep his mouth shut. Anybody making allegations of tapping up would be almost certain of it as they could easily get used for libel/slander (whichever it is).
I think he let Cook down by not discussing his intention to sign a pre-contract with Bohs(another inappropriate move by Connor)
Bohs were doing nothing wrong offering him a contract.
DocRovers
19/06/2007, 11:16 PM
I hate to tell you, but Bohs are not Arsenal that's for sure!! did'nt you maintain your premier status via a playoff not long ago & where did you finish last year?? Wake up you are a middle ot the road club, who had to sell your ground to survive
19/06/2007, 11:36 PM
we shouldnt bother dropping him for the season. look at the beckham situation. fairly similar in ways
20/06/2007, 12:21 AM
ROFL :D
lol :D i need to get me one of those property magnets...
Our manager spoke with Turner regardinga move to Inchicore but he was offered a massive deal with Bohs and we weren't prepared to match it. Around €4k a week is the figure
20/06/2007, 9:56 AM
Big clubs don't sell their ground and sell out their community in the process. ;)
Big Clubs move on to bigger and better things. As for us surviving via a play-off nearly ten years ago, so what, big clubs have their ups and downs! We've won two league titles and a cup this decade not to mention knocking Aberdeen out of the Uefa cup and a few other good European results. Despite our hicup in Sligo we are title contenders and even if we don't do it this year we'll win another couple of titles this decade. Thats a big club. Sligo ca't compete with our greatness.
As for us not being Arsenal duh, never said we were, I said the difference between us and you is like the difference between Arsenal and Bolton. Thats probably being kind.
red bellied
20/06/2007, 10:04 AM
Greatness me hole. Bohs are the money club and they have got the right man in Connor to plunder it.
20/06/2007, 10:21 AM
Not very good at Dublin Geography are you? Our main base is Cabra and Finglas which are not far from Harristown at all. It is also within easy reach of all our main catchment areas - Ballymun, Blanch, Santry, Swords etc. So we are not moving away from our support.
I knew the greatness line would get ye going!
20/06/2007, 11:00 AM
Shels have SFA in Finglas. A few kids maybe. Finglas is and has always been Bohs territory. Finglas and Cabra are the Bohs community who have built the club. Shels are a southside team who did abandon their community.
I didn't get upset by RT's statement, I barely paid it any heed. Say what you want, you're a bitter lot but theres very few other groups of fans that would deny that we are a big club and that a move to Bohs from Sligo is not a step up for any player.
20/06/2007, 11:04 AM
Its a big step up for his wage packet ,not much else though
20/06/2007, 11:13 AM
Its a big step up for his wage packet ,not much else though
What have Sligo won this decade?
What will you win in the next few years?
Best you could hope for is to emulate Longford's cup exploits where we'll be champions again maybe not this year but soon. If you don't think thats a step up you mustn't be very good at physics. :rolleyes:
20/06/2007, 11:17 AM
What have Sligo won this decade?
What will you win in the next few years?
Best you could hope for is to emulate Longford's cup exploits where we'll be champions again maybe not this year but soon. If you don't think thats a step up you mustn't be very good at physics. :rolleyes:
Ah fair enough , maybe I got it all wrong , I just find it hard to believe the claims of a club as being so much bigger and better than us when we have beaten that club 4 times in the last 15 months
rusheenrover
20/06/2007, 12:05 PM
Turner is a good player and if he is offered the kind of money mentioned it would be difficult for him to turn it down. The priority for Rovers should be to get as much as possible for him.
Rovers and almost all other clubs in the league would go bust within a year if they paid that kind of money. However the way Turner has handled things ,if correct, does not reflect well on him. It would be helpful if the Club issued a statement in this regard to clarify matters.
The Club will survive without him and 2 of our best displays for some time (Bohs & Shams) were achieved without him. There seems to be a good spirit in the team at present and everyone is giving 100%.
To talk about him being the best Rovers player ever is IMO nonsense. I would not have him in the top 10. What about Fagan (the best ever), Pugh, Harry McLoughlin, Hulmes, Brooks, Annand, McGee, Rutherford, Stenson, Patterson, Walker. Also is he any better than O'Grady, Hughes, Raf, Coleman, Peers or Faz from the present team.
20/06/2007, 1:04 PM
he's the best player i ever saw pull on a rovers shirt
Despite this certainly, not the best Rovers player I ever saw - Tony Fagan ????
To talk about him being the best Rovers player ever is IMO nonsense. I would not have him in the top 10.In fairness to Brewer, he's only been supporting Rovers for like 2 years now so he can't really give a good indication of past players.
20/06/2007, 1:36 PM
POTM :D ha ha, even the Bohs fans would have to admit that is the put down line of the century if this was a boxing match the ref would have to stop it !
Hardly.
Hey BohsP Arsenal ?! I suppose you think that Mansarram is Henry ? Joxer Kelly is Cesc Fabregas, Sutherland is Pat Rice and just by what you have posted in the last few minutes you obviously must take up the position of Nick Hornby.:D
Read my comparison again.
Gustavo, the amount of times you have beaten us in the last 15 months is hardly a measure of how "Big" either club is. That is measured by a combination of many factors, but all you have to do is ask any player if they'd rather play for Bohs or Sligo Rovers, that should tell you.
20/06/2007, 1:42 PM
Players in Ireland would probably pick you because of the fact you are in Dublin and so are most players in the eL based
Players out of Ireland will have heard of neither.
20/06/2007, 1:47 PM
Players in Ireland would probably pick you because of the fact you are in Dublin and so are most players in the eL based
Players out of Ireland will have heard of neither.
Some would have through Irish players some would no doubt be aware of our European pedigree. Even those who hadn't, after touring the facilities that are at the disposal of both our clubs would pick us. Of course being in Dublin will always be an advantage in that respect.
(as is having a manager that could sell pork to Osama Bin Laden)
red bellied
20/06/2007, 1:58 PM
Hardly.
Read my comparison again.
Gustavo, the amount of times you have beaten us in the last 15 months is hardly a measure of how "Big" either club is. That is measured by a combination of many factors, but all you have to do is ask any player if they'd rather play for Bohs or Sligo Rovers, that should tell you.
There, you got it in a nutshell and its the money. Especially to the likes of Manseram and Sickly Singh, they couldnt give a rats arse about Bohs. Bigger notes elsewhere and they be out the door.
20/06/2007, 2:29 PM
But he'd probably have nicked the pork off some other butcher. Or got Gerry Cassidy to source it for him because he wouldn't know a pig if it grunted at him.
20/06/2007, 2:37 PM
There, you got it in a nutshell and its the money. Especially to the likes of Manseram and Sickly Singh, they couldnt give a rats arse about Bohs. Bigger notes elsewhere and they be out the door.
We were a big club even when we were in financial difficulties. Drogheda have money. They are not a big club. Its a combination of factors as I said. Money is one of them yes but so what. Its our money. Its not money from a sugar daddy its us cashing in on an asset that is ours and we control. Thats part of us, not someone buying into the club. In that respect we are the biggest club in the LOI. In terms of history, trophies its Shamrock Rovers. But when you combine all the different factors like the two mentioned, with average league positions, famous former players, European progress, name recognition, control over our own destiny/ground's destiny, future potential etc. We are the biggest. Only Linfield on this Island can boast being a bigger club than us, yet in other ways we trump them too.
20/06/2007, 2:43 PM
I believe your great victories in Europe over FC Levadia Maardu from Estonia, FC Bate from Belarus and Aberdeen are the talk of the parisian cafe scene at the moment.
Well the Aberdeen one came up in a pub conversation I had in Edinburgh recently. Also our 3-2 win over Rangers in 1984 would be famous enough over there.
On a recent trip to London I went to a Crystal Palace game and in the Pub before hand we were chatting away with some palace fans, and my mate who lives in London pointing to me says "his club just made a fortune selling their ground" a palace fan turns around immediately and asks if I support "The Bohs"?
20/06/2007, 3:10 PM
Who are ye? who are ye? who are ye?
You should be banned for such a pethetic comeback :mad::rolleyes:
20/06/2007, 3:22 PM
You should be banned for such a pethetic comeback :mad::rolleyes:
Read his post, it was all he deserved. Saddo posts deserve saddo replies.
Midgit
20/06/2007, 4:48 PM
Can we please get back to the topic!?!?!
In the Champion today that Rovers will try and squeze every bit of money they can out of Bohs for the transfer.
20/06/2007, 5:27 PM
Turner spotted alongside 6 other players in PP today. He's still in town anyway:D.
20/06/2007, 5:51 PM
What was Patsy Palmer doing in town ?
Ballagh Red
20/06/2007, 5:53 PM
Good luck to Turner if he's going to get 4K a week. We'd all change jobs for that sort of pay raise. He could have handled the move better but keep playing him if he does the business on the pitch.Hard to see how the move will improve him as a player though,cos he didn't stand out last season
20/06/2007, 6:01 PM
To talk about him being the best Rovers player ever is IMO nonsense. I would not have him in the top 10. What about Fagan (the best ever), Pugh, Harry McLoughlin, Hulmes, Brooks, Annand, McGee, Rutherford, Stenson, Patterson, Walker. Also is he any better than O'Grady, Hughes, Raf, Coleman, Peers or Faz from the present team.
i said the best player that i saw in a rovers shirt..
and yes, he is the best player in the current squad
20/06/2007, 6:02 PM
and yes, he is the best player in the current squadIn your opinion.
20/06/2007, 6:11 PM
In your opinion.
Yes in my opinion.
however I think Faz, Peersy, Seamie and Judgie are very close behind him.
Shiba
23/06/2007, 12:28 PM
Heard Cotteril was suppose to be coming over to watch Turner play against Shams,but because of way Turner handle the whole affair Cook decided to leave him out of squad and on the Bus told Turner of this missed oppertunity.Fair play to Cookie I say was big decision to make.Sign of a man not afraid of making the hard decicsion.
dublinred
23/06/2007, 1:32 PM
Heard Cotteril was suppose to be coming over to watch Turner play against Shams,but because of way Turner handle the whole affair Cook decided to leave him out of squad and on the Bus told Turner of this missed oppertunity.Fair play to Cookie I say was big decision to make.Sign of a man not afraid of making the hard decicsion.
Alex Rae was there last night taking notes not sure who he is working for now , turner played up front when he came on for faz , the bench last night was Turner, Foy, Curran, Raf and acraba probably the best subs ever for rovers.
Rae manages Dundee. I think a move to them from Rovers would be a fairly big step down.