View Full Version : Pats 3-1 Rovers

22/05/2007, 4:15 PM
I have a good feeling about this one. that 4-0 drubbing hurt and so did last week, hopefully they will want to restore some pride after that joke of a display last week

Atmosphere wise,last week although we didnt have much to sing about and were low on numbers it was very poor. Cant be having this again lads,the next 3 games are very important so time to stand up and be counted,we cant do anything about the players or cook imploring that motto except showing our support.

predicting 1-0 us,foyzer with a long over due free kick

22/05/2007, 4:19 PM
Expect nothing but a comprehensive defeat for this, I'd be happy keeping it to 2-0 to Pat's. Hard being optimistic but as always, prove me wrong on the pitch lads!:)

Da Real Rover
22/05/2007, 6:24 PM
Atmosphere wise,last week although we didnt have much to sing about and were low on numbers it was very poor.

Admit it rory, ye missed my creativity and improvisation on the terraces.

Midgit
24/05/2007, 7:26 PM
I have a good feeling about this one.

I can't see anything but a loss. An i don't think we should be getting our hopes up.

celticV3
24/05/2007, 7:34 PM
i hate exposin ya real rover but i kno al bout ur sleepless nights leadin upto away games tryin to plan out conversations on the bus and searcin d internet for songs to sing,shamefull real:(:(

25/05/2007, 8:14 AM
I can't see anything but a loss. An i don't think we should be getting our hopes up.

don't worry,im not going to top myself if im proven wrong and we don't win

going to have about 20 fans there id say,very poor....as loud as 200 though:D

25/05/2007, 8:49 PM
3-1 result. Could have been worse:o. I'll leave the comments to the ones at the match...

kdjaC
25/05/2007, 9:05 PM
3-1 result. Could have been worse:o. I'll leave the comments to the ones at the match...

Should ahve beeen 5-0 to Sligo in 1st half, we were bad shockingly bad but thankfully not as bad as your forwards i counted 8 shots to you in 1st half one to us and ours was a horrible backpass that O neill collected and rounded the keeper. Whoever did it should be shot but your right sided forward had tonnes fo chances but needed a left foot but everytime he pushed itonto right and the chance was gone.

2nd half we dominated and scored 2 goals schoolboys would have defended better at but they were coming, Quigley with a header from edge of 6 yard box he didnt even have to jump for and there was noone near him to stop him.

3rd was much the same cross from the right and O Connor stole in at back post under no pressure and neat header. Your goal should ahve been cleared twice but Turner managed to rifle it in near post.

I like Turner is he for sale? he played very well :D

kdjac

25/05/2007, 9:13 PM
I like Turner is he for sale? :DNo, feck off!

You'll have to join the queue:(.

kdjaC
25/05/2007, 9:19 PM
Very good player didnt do much when we played you in Sliga but played well tonight in 1st half vs Mulcahy and Kirby and Fahey. Shame your Cbs are poor when you see the goals you will cringe mainly the 1st 2.

If there is a q we more than likley top of it :(

kdjac

25/05/2007, 9:24 PM
Turner is a huge loss for the next two games.Why's he missing?:confused: Bohs and all:(.

Can you post up the starting 11 too RT when ya get the chance? Cheers!

kdjaC
25/05/2007, 9:32 PM
are you missing like not in the sentence ?

We have money therefore the Man utd of transfers if you want a gig be linked to pats, ask Eamon Collins ala agent to all seems to be working for his lads./ not really Sliga related but he is the new Devlin.

kdjac

25/05/2007, 9:58 PM
Looks like the Return of Hutch to the Rovers 1st team
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2007/0525/stpat.html

Who's Tierney?

25/05/2007, 10:02 PM
Looks like the Return of Hutch to the Rovers 1st team****ing raging I missed that:(. Played very well in U-21 game last week, no surprise he played a bit tonight and could well do a job for us this season.

26/05/2007, 12:05 AM
i think the lad wants to go back over the sea to try his luck.
Who was he with before?

26/05/2007, 12:07 AM
kdjac's being very kind to Sligo by saying it should've been 5-0 at half time...

Although Sligo were much improved from the game a month ago we were always in control and ran out easy winners.

We gifted each other a goal too...

26/05/2007, 12:12 AM
Who was he with before?

Derby County.

26/05/2007, 1:01 AM
i'd be surprised if pat's aren't interested in o'grady as well, the through ball he played for the 1st was amazing, arcaba & defenders didn't stand a chance. defending for the 2nd was f#ckin disgusting as well, vasas ducked when the ball was goin over his head. peers is a huge loss, hopefully he doesn't miss many more this season. turner's off with northy u21s for next 2 games sligoman

26/05/2007, 2:44 AM
Are you saying we weren't in control or ever looked in danger of dropping the points?

We didn't play well tonight, but still ran out comfortable winners

DonalE
26/05/2007, 10:04 AM
Who's Tierney?

Levi is his first name, came on in the middle of the park. Son of Leo as already mentioned

26/05/2007, 10:15 AM
Levi is his first name, came on in the middle of the park. Son of Leo as already mentioned

Good stuff another good prospect hopefully!Kudos on the Smiths sig by the way;)

MarkyH
26/05/2007, 2:22 PM
I thought rovers started off quite well. Some good build up play but never really looked like scoring. Judge seems to be improving but we need another striker urgently. Faz had one of those games when his final pass/cross was terrible.

The 1st goal was a real sickener, o'grady with 1 of the worst back passes i've seen in a long while (and after winning a good tackle as well). We still tried to play our way back into the game and gary curran missed a great chance to equalise after the break.

The 2nd and 3rd pats goals were real shockers from a defenisive point of view, free headers from a few yards out. The organisation at the back was appalling, which I suppose was why Hutch was brought on. Don't think we'll see Vassas playing too many more games!

Chrissy Turner was by far and away the best rovers player on the park again, kept going right to the final whistle. We'll certainly miss home for the next few games and if he goes in the summer.

Wasn't overly impressed with pats considering they are 8 points clear at the top. They are solid at the back alright but seemed to benefit from our mistakes and defensive uncertainty rather than any outstanding play of their own. I would have to agree that the standard of the league has dropped as the Cork, Derry or Shels teams of the last couple of years were much stronger IMHO

Sean South
26/05/2007, 2:34 PM
Nice of PC to send the players over to the supporters at the end of the game.

26/05/2007, 3:55 PM
We didn't play well tonight, but still ran out comfortable winners

It's like all the pundits say, if you can play poorly and still grind out the 3-1 wins you're in with a chance.:ball: :)

Saint MacDara
26/05/2007, 5:17 PM
Pats score 7 in two meetings with Sligo and they still question the team's quality!!!

The only standard that has dropped this season is clubs like Sligo who will only be saved from relegation because whats happened to Longford.
We can only beat whats put infront of us and we did that last night,i for one enjoyed it:)

26/05/2007, 5:40 PM
Pats score 7 in two meetings with Sligo and they still question the team's quality!!!

The only standard that has dropped this season is clubs like Sligo who will only be saved from relegation because whats happened to Longford.
We can only beat whats put infront of us and we did that last night,i for one enjoyed it:)

Yea but would your same team have been so far ahead this time last year and the year before ?

26/05/2007, 5:44 PM
Yea but would your same team have been so far ahead this time last year and the year before ?

Doesn't mean standards have slipped neccesarily, just means its more competitive betweens others.

The football I'm seeing this year is better anyway :D

I think clubs like Derry and Cork just made relatively poor starts, otherwise they'd be up there too. I still thinks Drogs will win

Da Real Rover
26/05/2007, 6:39 PM

No questioning your current quality, just raising the point that your current standards are not as high as the table topping standards of previous shels, cork and derry teams, simple as.

And we did beat longford, we didnt need the points deduction to feel secure ahead of them.

Saint MacDara
26/05/2007, 7:06 PM
Last season Shels and Derry (both losing 4 games) finished level on 62 points only sperated by goal difference.At the moment Pats are on 29 points with 12 games played.

Id be surprised if Drogs or Pats dont surpass 62 points.I think people are annoyed that the title has become a two horse race already whereas last year 4 teams were in the mix until very late in the year.

So the league at the top has become less competitive but i wouldnt concede its of poorer quality between the leaders.

kdjaC
26/05/2007, 7:11 PM
I would have to agree that the standard of the league has dropped as the Cork, Derry or Shels teams of the last couple of years were much stronger IMHO

Odd statement as both Sligo and Pats try to play football and did so last season but "stronger" (not better foootballing just stronger) beat us most weeks.

So is standard of strong hoofball teams maybe dropping or the quality of ball playing teams getting better?

Tomato tomata :p

kdjac

red bellied
26/05/2007, 10:04 PM
Since Rovers arrived back in the premier, Derry are the only side that looked half decent and that was last season. Rovers beat them three one but on footballing terms they were easily the best team in the Showgrounds all season. Cork were good as well and Shels for about twenty minutes.

The standard this season has been very crap.

Saint MacDara
27/05/2007, 12:20 AM
Speak for yourselves:p

27/05/2007, 7:52 AM
I like Turner is he for sale?

kdjac

Someone may correct me, but I believe his contract is up at the end of the season so will be on a free then and can start talking to interested clubs during the july transfer.

Sniffer
27/05/2007, 11:23 AM
Whats the first name of the Hutch?

27/05/2007, 11:32 AM
mark..

Sniffer
27/05/2007, 11:44 AM
Go raibh mile maith agat

DRDoc
27/05/2007, 7:16 PM
Are we sure Turner is not available for the next two games??

28/05/2007, 1:45 AM
http://www.stpatsfc.com/watch_video.php?id=64

Highlights

28/05/2007, 9:38 AM
http://www.stpatsfc.com/watch_video.php?id=64

HighlightsWho's the weird guy at the end and why's he shouting?:confused:

28/05/2007, 10:41 AM
He's legendery Pats fan Paddy Eccles

28/05/2007, 11:17 AM

pretty sure. apparently he was supposed to be out for last friday but he flew back from the ni u21's to play in the pats game and then went back.

Redzer
28/05/2007, 11:54 AM
After all the hullabaloo about O'Grady that went on pre-season, is anyone of the same opinion as me that he has been a real let down this season. His passing Friday night was was terrible, and as for the back pass which led to the first goal, nuff said. He was no pressure whatsoever. I dont understand why he even tried to back pass.
I think he has lost alot of the passion from last season.

Only1Rovers
28/05/2007, 7:17 PM
Leo's son just came for the last 5 or so minutes

Where does he play? When he came on he went up front then he spent some time making shapes as a center half

28/05/2007, 10:12 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=340&Itemid=88His name isn't there so does that mean he might be playing after all?

I think it's certain he's out for Bohs game though as NI U-21's are playing in Moldova on Friday so unless he flies back from there for Saturday:D.

Midgit
29/05/2007, 11:51 AM
Anyone watch Eircom League weekly? It was the best one ever because that muppet Keely wasn't on and it was just Paul Osam.
Paul never stopped praising the Rovers the whole way throughout saying we had some very good players. he singled out Judge, Hughes, Faz, Turner and O'Grady.
He also said Drogs would have a hard time against us tonight.

DonalE
29/05/2007, 3:12 PM

Not around tonight, not sure about the next game

29/05/2007, 3:56 PM
Not around tonight, not sure about the next gameHe's missing both games. Like I said, they're in Moldova Friday, he's not gonna fly back and play again the next day.