View Full Version : Scientology on Panorama

15/05/2007, 9:52 AM
did anyone see this last night? I had checked it out on youtube yesterday and then had watched panorama. Anyone on this board a "follower" of scientology?scary stuff!

Did anyone notice the shawn losendale ( sp? ) what was the writing on his cap saying? something Irish though couldn't make it out.

DONT MESS WITH SCIENTOLOGISTS!!!!:D thats the moral of the story.

15/05/2007, 10:01 AM
Good entertainment, but as a piece of investigative journalism it was pretty poor. All we learned is that scientologists are scary people, and that L.Ron Hubbard was a bit of a nutjob (goodish writer though I might add). Plus the Panorama reporter kinda blew the whole thing by losing his head with them at the end.

All in all it told me what I already knew, stay away from those wackos. Such a shame people like Juliette Lewis and Beck are scientologists though

15/05/2007, 10:02 AM
very scary but funny in places.

cheifo
15/05/2007, 10:03 AM
I remember Time Magazine did a huge expose on this shower years back.Scary stuff.Its one of their commandmendts that people who publicly question their beleifs should be harrased.These alien Lizards are very defensive:) .

15/05/2007, 10:13 AM
makes sense beck is, crap musician and a weirdo :D

"fair game" is waht they are called cheifo. John sweeney said, he was constantly followed by 13 strangers, one of which arrived at his wedding!!! In fairness if you had that over 7 days constantly i think you would eventually blow your top, which is what they wanted and it worked. He even said in his hotel at night he would hear people walking past the door and stopping. Creepy or what. Have to say it would be fun for a while ( to see if you could out-wit them ), but then would really be scary.

I think in the journalists defence, he wasnt able do anything. He was so closely monitored that he couldnt dig anywhere at all. I mean the toiled thing, he couldnt dig anyway deep. Also the fact that they have a "celebrity centre" speaks volumes. Did ye notice how they werent allowed show anything that was said? Again another example of road-blocks in his pursuit to uncover the truth about them.

Did anyone think that Tommy Davis guy was a cross between ed norton ( fight club and american history x ) and tom cruise? :D

15/05/2007, 10:17 AM
What I was wondering is how they stop members that have quit from releasing information on their practices legally. I thought it was funny when he questioned their whole 'we were sent here after being exiled by a warlord from outer space' thing, thatthe celebrities didn't know where to look

15/05/2007, 10:22 AM
what do you mean jebus? as though they were completely unaware of it? In fairness the tommy davis guy told him that no one beleived that so I think it was irrelevant to bring that up....

15/05/2007, 10:30 AM
what do you mean jebus? as though they were completely unaware of it? In fairness the tommy davis guy told him that no one beleived that so I think it was irrelevant to bring that up....

Not that they were unaware of it, just that they seemed unwilling to talk about it, fair enough they don't believe it now, but shouldn't they be able to joke about it then? Kinda like some Catholics do about Purgatory?

15/05/2007, 10:33 AM
summary of scientology
DAmEO-oLHzA

15/05/2007, 10:33 AM
Anyone remember a debate on scientolgy on the old late late show (when gay byrne presented it and knew how to mix serious and light hearted segments...)?

Scared the bejesus out of me at the time and I've never trusted scientologists since. Apparently Jenna Elfman (of Dharma & Greg and various poor films) is the arch-scientologists and her blog is ultimate propanganda. Read it once and swore I'd never read it again.

BBC guy losing it was hilarious

15/05/2007, 10:41 AM
it was, but did ye see how even though he lost it, he calmed and asked "do you understand?" "do you understand me?" in the middle of it before he went off again on one, as though he was completely being manipulated. When someone loses it ( if they are "controlling" themselves ) they cant just turn it off and on. Its as though they were controlling how he was reacting.

15/05/2007, 10:46 AM
Anyone remember a debate on scientolgy on the old late late show (when gay byrne presented it and knew how to mix serious and light hearted segments...)?Do I what?
"Church" versus the guys family, spotted a guy from work in Row 2, turned out it was about him,:eek: He was involved in the church and was giving them all his money and the family were trying to get him out. He moved to the US after and heard no more about him. He was a quiet, vulnerable chap, seems to be their type.

Why would the Scientologists behave in such an aggressive, protective manner if they didn't have something to hide?
and don't mention the word "cult".

where is tom cruise if he isnt in the closet? i didnt see that one? :)

Slashdot had an interesting discussion on this story. I recommend it - there are a number of good comments. http://yro.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=07/05/14/0425209

15/05/2007, 10:48 AM
ya cult is like the celtic word on this forum:D

actually razor, the first thing you do is an IQ test, they pick people who can be manipulated and who can manipulate, but also who are actually quite forceful when needs be - not necessarliy quite people, moreso vulnerable people:
http://www.imagination-institute.com/ssmr_oct__2001_paper.htm

15/05/2007, 10:51 AM
not necessarliy quite people, moreso vulnerable people:Might explain why they've so many celebs on board.
So you have to a test to get in?
Last nights show is online now here (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/panorama/default.stm)

15/05/2007, 10:59 AM
Might explain why they've so many celebs on board.
So you have to a test to get in?
Last nights show is online now here (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/panorama/default.stm)
They are alleged to target celebrities and up and coming stars because they value the marketing power they bring.
The way I've always heard it is that they offer people a free personality test, which would certainly put them in the position to target the vulnerable, and give them leverage to manipulate them.

15/05/2007, 11:51 AM
where is tom cruise if he isnt in the closet? i didnt see that one? :)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trapped_in_the_Closet_%28South_Park%29#Controversy

the episode ends with the credits listing only "John Smith" and "Jane Smith", a reference to the Church of Scientology's reputation for litigiousness

15/05/2007, 12:24 PM
Seen that episode. Made me laugh. Funnily enough I was actually doing abit of reading on scientology recently. I didn't know that place on Abbey Street that was askng me did I want to do a "personality test" all the time was a scientology place...

15/05/2007, 12:39 PM
Saw Dodge ;) :)

so was I actually, its funny how this programme then appeared all of a sudden. Did anyone read the piece by John Travolta which he sent to the BBC? It was brilliant, completely manipulated the facts, but brilliant all the same, very cunning.

15/05/2007, 1:03 PM
summary of scientology
Good stuff that, especially the soulcatcher. I'd have to admit that it's more imaginative than that Original sin/Immaculate Deception stuff that is also doing the rounds.

Evolution is a party pooper though. .

anto1208
15/05/2007, 3:15 PM
Good stuff that, especially the soulcatcher. I'd have to admit that it's more imaginative than that Original sin/Immaculate Deception stuff that is also doing the rounds.

Evolution is a party pooper though. .

Love the line in south park ( from the chef's dead episode )

"Is it any more retarded than believing the son of god came down to earth to save us "

Stan : its way more retarded :D

finlma
15/05/2007, 3:19 PM
Scientology is ridiculous but then again so is believing that some dudes body and blood are available for consumption in a church every week and that his mother was a virgin.

All religions don't make sense.

Our planet has existed for billions and billions of years - humans have only been on the planet for a very very short time. If there was some sort of god why would he make a planet and then wait billions of years to make an intelligent life form - thats just plain lazy.

anto1208
15/05/2007, 3:50 PM
Scientology is ridiculous but then again so is believing that some dudes body and blood are available for consumption in a church every week and that his mother was a virgin.

Our planet has existed for billions and billions of years - humans have only been on the planet for a very very short time. If there was some sort of god why would he make a planet and then wait billions of years to make an intelligent life form - thats just plain lazy.

There is no time in heaven , allthough he only had a week to finish the job ?? :confused: :D

Still its more interesting than : there was nothing , there was a big bang , there was a universe :D

15/05/2007, 3:54 PM
Still its more interesting than : there was nothing , there was a big bang , there was a universe :D
Who created the bang?

finlma
15/05/2007, 3:55 PM

Might be more interesting but certainly doesn't make more sense.

What did he do before he created the Earth? Was he really bored one day and said "ah feck it - I'll make this little blue planet and put a bunch of eejits on it so they can fight with each other for my entertainment". Just like I used do when I played Sim City all those years ago.

And if he does exist then who made him or is he so great that he made himself - but how could he do that? Santa Claus makes more sense.

So many holes and so few answers - thats what religions, including Scientology, are all about.

endabob1
15/05/2007, 3:55 PM
Fear of the unknown is what drives all religions. Any explanation regardless of how far fetched it might appear is preferable to saying "Actually I have no idea what we are all doing here or what happens when we die".

Personally I think you either accept the scientific proof of evolution or you believe in a "creation" based religion, it's a black & white issue.

finlma
15/05/2007, 3:57 PM
Who created the bang?

Yawn!! Plenty of sceintific theories put forward about it. None have been proven yet - but they will one day. Why would someone just create a bang and hope for the best if he has the power to create anything - again just plain laziness. Or maybe because they just don't exist.

anto1208
15/05/2007, 3:59 PM
Who created the bang?:D

Or whats in the terry pratchet books something like

in the begining there was nothing , then that nothing exploded and made the universe !!:D
Yawn!! Plenty of sceintific theories put forward about it. None have been proven yet - but they will one day. Why would someone just create a bang and hope for the best if he has the power to create anything - again just plain laziness. Or maybe because they just don't exist.Why wouldnt they ? maybe he has a God complex ;)

15/05/2007, 4:05 PM
Yawn!! Plenty of sceintific theories put forward about it. None have been proven yet - but they will one day. Why would someone just create a bang and hope for the best if he has the power to create anything - again just plain laziness. Or maybe because they just don't exist.
Relax... I was kidding

kingdom hoop
15/05/2007, 4:12 PM

In the UK, humanist (no God) activities, since 2006, are considered religions for legal purposes. So now claiming that all religions don't make sense appears to suggest that nothing makes sense, which is probably just about spot on.:D

finlma
15/05/2007, 6:51 PM
Relax... I was kidding

Sorry - religous zealots having being annoying me lately and I'm easily pushed into my atheism rant.

15/05/2007, 7:11 PM
Speaking of religion and lunatics, Jerry Falwell just passed away. This is the guy that blamed gays, feminists and liberal groups for 9/11.

TheBoss
15/05/2007, 7:16 PM
Did anyone think that Tommy Davis guy was a cross between ed norton ( fight club and american history x ) and tom cruise? :D

I thought he was from the Matrix

15/05/2007, 7:18 PM

Cults tend to have similar characteristics. Oh, and they're rather tougher to leave.

Who created the bang?
And who created that person? Or does causality become a bit funny when you take all of time and space out of the equation? Face it, we know jack about the beginning of the universe. Suggesting that it involved a guy with a beard isn't much help.

15/05/2007, 9:06 PM
Suggesting that it involved a guy with a beard isn't much help.

Yeah but some of these anti religous zealots annoy me... (etc etc)

15/05/2007, 10:04 PM
I think the BBC would get the same treatment if they called other religions a cult. The scene where the BBC fella lost the plot was bizarre.

Overall fairly shoddy work by the BBC but then again Panorama standards are hopeless in recent years - remember the football bung "revelations"?

BTW South Park is great source of info for religions - Mormons, Scientology, Atheists :)

TheBoss
15/05/2007, 11:22 PM
Atheists

Is that a religion against a religion ?

16/05/2007, 10:31 AM
Surprised no one has posted this up here:
hxqR5NPhtLI

16/05/2007, 10:37 AM
the boss i think filmna is a little confused, i think he meant to say he is agnositic, although he did say something created us, but not sure so maybe he is aetheist or maybe he just doesnt know himself ;) - perhaps a little confused. :)

16/05/2007, 11:04 AM
Is that a religion against a religion?

I think its more they reject existing religions.

Now that I think of it I don't think any religion has been spared the wrath of South Park which is the way it should be.

16/05/2007, 11:06 AM
Scientology is like a real life Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster cult, and should be used as such as an example of the idiocy of faith.

kingdom hoop
16/05/2007, 12:01 PM
Scientology is like a real life Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster cult, and should be used as such as an example of the idiocy of faith.

Idiocy of faith or people though? :(

I think by attacking faith you must be attacking mankind...

16/05/2007, 12:14 PM
Surprised no one has posted this up here:
Is that a BBC journalist losing his rag? Looks like he could do with a personality test.

Was that scene part of the Panorama doc?

16/05/2007, 12:34 PM
Is that a BBC journalist losing his rag? Looks like he could do with a personality test.

Was that scene part of the Panorama doc?

Yeah that was the BBC guy. Don't think that was actually on the programme though, not sure.

16/05/2007, 12:42 PM
Okay, I have checked out the BBC website
http://search.bbc.co.uk/cgi-bin/search/results.pl?tab=av&q=panorama&recipe=all&scope=all&edition=i
and there's a good bit of stuff there on this.
So far as I have seen, the Scientology guy has won all the rounds, ending with a ko punch in the outburst, followed by more humiliation for Sweeney in the post programme interview where he digs himself deeper trying to get out of the hole.
Pompous príck.

16/05/2007, 1:12 PM
Okay, I have checked out the BBC website
http://search.bbc.co.uk/cgi-bin/search/results.pl?tab=av&q=panorama&recipe=all&scope=all&edition=i
and there's a good bit of stuff there on this.
So far as I have seen, the Scientology guy has won all the rounds, ending with a ko punch in the outburst, followed by more humiliation for Sweeney in the post programme interview where he digs himself deeper trying to get out of the hole.
Pompous príck.

Panorama sent a guy to Jamaica to investigate the Bob Woolmer case. Conclusion: He might have been murdered, probably something to do with cricket...:rolleyes:

16/05/2007, 1:14 PM
Panorama sent a guy to Jamaica to investigate the Bob Woolmer case. Conclusion: He might have been murdered, probably something to do with cricket...:rolleyes:

Was he not already there though? Agree the "special" was terrible. No information at all

16/05/2007, 1:17 PM
Yeah that was the BBC guy. Don't think that was actually on the programme though, not sure.

No they showed it alright, pretty much had to given that the scientologists were recording it too

16/05/2007, 1:43 PM

Watched the show on the BBC website & it definitely was included in the show.