View Full Version : Setanta Cup Final

Steve Bruce
10/05/2007, 1:50 PM
Could we have a thread to post links to build up of this Setanta Cup final?

Also for people to give opinions(without going into slagging matches)

Also if anyone has any info on players who are in/out of the game. And how well tickets are going?

So far Linfield are definately without - Kris Lindsay, Connor Downey & Oran Kearney.

Our tickets are selling very well and only a handful left i believe.

passerrby
10/05/2007, 1:55 PM
sorry steve but hope the drogs win ..you had your day in the sun last week, but best of luck to both oh and no matter who wins except defeat gracefully

Steve Bruce
10/05/2007, 1:57 PM
sorry steve but hope the drogs win ..you had your day in the sun last week, but best of luck to both oh and no matter who wins except defeat gracefully

I'll not make any excuses if we lose. No point, it's not going to give me much comfort.

I still take the Blues to win 2-1.

Steve Bruce
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/local/article2528491.ece

galwayhoop
and hopefully no football molestation !!

Steve Bruce
10/05/2007, 1:59 PM
and hopefully no football molestation !!

I think we are safe this week, Corks not in the final:D

10/05/2007, 2:00 PM
Going on past games between the 2 teams it should be tight.First goal will be crucial.

Hope theres a good crowd.

As an EL fan I hope the Drogs win but Linfield have been really impressive at getting results since the start of the Setanta and are due a lot of credit for that.

Is it true Bertie and Ian are going?

10/05/2007, 2:08 PM
The Biggest Club on The Island(TM) to win

Steve Bruce
10/05/2007, 2:10 PM
Going on past games between the 2 teams it should be tight.First goal will be crucial.

Hope theres a good crowd.

As an EL fan I hope the Drogs win but Linfield have been really impressive at getting results since the start of the Setanta and are due a lot of credit for that.

Is it true Bertie and Ian are going?

Apparently they have been invited, But don't know if they will turn up.

Steve Bruce
10/05/2007, 2:12 PM
The Biggest Club on The Island(TM) to win

I hope your right. As said before the first goal is important, I think if Linfield get the first goal, we will be hard to shift.

To be honest the confidence isn't too high at the moment amongst Linfield supporters. Our standard of play recently has been very poor(not talking about just against Cork, against everyone) and our team looks very tired and possibly stale. Hopefully with this weeks rest(the first one in a long time) we will be a bit fresher and hopefully put on a good show and more importantly get the win.

passerrby
10/05/2007, 2:24 PM
if the drogs are at there best i think they wil be unstoppable however linfield will not go gently into the night

lofty9
10/05/2007, 2:25 PM
I'm torn. My despise for Drogheda equals any thoughts for Linfield. I cannot bear to see any of them win. I predict that the Belfast Kick and Rush Merchants will grind out a 0 0 draw at Full time. They will be absolutely knackered during extra time but will poach a last minute winner from nowhere. Paul Doolin will be disappointed and will blame injuries and bemoan his teams luck. Big fat Pat will then proceed to credit Linfield with having "character" whilst Felix will say that home advantage for the umpteenth final in a row was key to Linfields success. Then we will have the big baldie one rub it in everyone noses by having a pop at all who have fallen under Linfields sword. This speech will be taken straight from Stuart Byrnes locker. He will get extremely red faced whilst spouting this and his face will then turn purple as Pat Dolan slowly retracts his head from his arse.

galwayhoop
10/05/2007, 2:28 PM
I'm torn. My despise for Drogheda equals any thoughts for Linfield. I cannot bear to see any of them win. I predict that the Belfast Kick and Rush Merchants will grind out a 0 0 draw at Full time. They will be absolutely knackered during extra time but will poach a last minute winner from nowhere. Paul Doolin will be disappointed and will blame injuries and bemoan his teams luck. Big fat Pat will then proceed to credit Linfield with having "character" whilst Felix will say that home advantage for the umpteenth final in a row was key to Linfields success. Then we will have the big baldie one rub it in everyone noses by having a pop at all who have fallen under Linfields sword. This speech will be taken straight from Stuart Byrnes locker. He will get extremely red faced whilst spouting this and his face will then turn purple as Pat Dolan slowly retracts his head from his arse.

all in all it sounds like you're looking forward to it then lofty??? :D

10/05/2007, 2:29 PM
Apparently they have been invited, But don't know if they will turn up.

Doesn't Paisley support Ballymena?

10/05/2007, 2:30 PM

Doesnt sound too bad...personally id prefer that there was a big scrap. everyone involved game was abandoned and both teams thrown out of the competition.....Then us and Pats would playoff to see who gets the money.

Steve Bruce
10/05/2007, 2:31 PM

He does, but Ian and Bertie are being invited as head of states to the game.

Steve Bruce
10/05/2007, 2:31 PM

I'd take that;) :D

galwayhoop
10/05/2007, 2:32 PM
Doesnt sound too bad...personally id prefer that there was a big scrap. everyone involved game was abandoned and both teams thrown out of the competition.....Then us and Pats would playoff to see who gets the money.

of course it would just be awarded to st. pat's without the need for a play-off. it is the setanta cup you know!!

passerrby
10/05/2007, 2:34 PM
ballymena never never never

10/05/2007, 2:37 PM
If Linfield play like recent matches then Drogs will win. If they after skipped the beer this week then Linfield could win.

I would not expect a footballing classic & odds are against goals but heres hoping.

Best chance for Linfield is to get deep crosses in as Drogs Finn keeper is dodgy.

10/05/2007, 3:05 PM
Hoping Linfield win. Mainly because I won't be at a game to hear their fans gloat.

Hope its a good game for the TV (but with a Doolin "inspired" Drogs team I doubt it)

crc
10/05/2007, 3:33 PM
He does, but Ian and Bertie are being invited as head of states to the game.
Just to be pedantic, they are Heads of Government; the Heads of State are Mary Mac and Liz.

Without wishing to sound clichéd, I'd hope for a good game. Like Lofty, I'm not sure I'd want either side to win, but if there's a poor game it could doom the whole competition. The SS Cup final is probably one of the few times we might be able to get increased attention for eL/IL football.

passerrby
10/05/2007, 3:35 PM
any idea who the ref is

ndrog
10/05/2007, 3:53 PM
Hoping Linfield win. Mainly because I won't be at a game to hear their fans gloat.

Hope its a good game for the TV (but with a Doolin "inspired" Drogs team I doubt it)

Whys that ? Doolin fairly inspired the players to play you off the park for the last park of the game in inchicore .Still a bit sore are we :rolleyes: We are well capable of playing some good football .But then again you all know better dont ya .

ciaraa
10/05/2007, 3:53 PM

This match actually has the potential to be the worst ever televised game.

Steve Bruce
10/05/2007, 3:58 PM
Just to be pedantic, they are Heads of Government; the Heads of State are Mary Mac and Liz.

Without wishing to sound clichéd, I'd hope for a good game. Like Lofty, I'm not sure I'd want either side to win, but if there's a poor game it could doom the whole competition. The SS Cup final is probably one of the few times we might be able to get increased attention for eL/IL football.

I knew when I posted it, It was the wrong terminoligy, but couldnt be bother to edit it. :o

10/05/2007, 4:13 PM
Whys that ? Doolin fairly inspired the players to play you off the park for the last park of the game in inchicore .Still a bit sore are we :rolleyes: We are well capable of playing some good football .But then again you all know better dont ya .

Of course you're well capable of doing it but you don't. And eveyr other fan in the country thinks likewise. Its not about whether you deserved to beat pats, its about whether you're going to excite nuetrals. And the answer is no

10/05/2007, 4:43 PM
In fairness to Drogs they were flying in the first half in the semi against Linfield last season.

I think they took Linfield by surprise and should have got a couple before they scored. Held on to the lead fairly comfortably as well if I recall.

If Doolin does something similar this year Drogs could do it.

10/05/2007, 4:45 PM
Its not about whether you deserved to beat pats, its about whether you're going to excite nuetrals. And the answer is no

Since you brought up exciting neutrals over results can I remind people how well we played against Linfield last week:D

passerrby
10/05/2007, 5:22 PM
if your stuck for a few bob could you not sell some houses of the plans..sorry robbie could not resist

10/05/2007, 5:24 PM
they can always ground share in oriel.

kdjaC
10/05/2007, 8:05 PM

hhehheeh

I think we get a 3-0 headstart in that scenario and your barred from getting penos. Dolans rules afaik.

kdjac

10/05/2007, 8:17 PM
Linfield will win, definately.
They're awful.

Aaron
10/05/2007, 8:19 PM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/local/article2528491.ece

Like Stephen Kenny once said, you only win trebles on dartboards, a Drogs win for me

10/05/2007, 8:20 PM
its about whether you're going to excite nuetrals.

Tbh I dont give a f*** - once we win matches :)

Bomb Landsdowne
10/05/2007, 8:47 PM
What pub in Drogheda would be good to watch the match on Saturday??

10/05/2007, 8:53 PM
What pub in Drogheda would be good to watch the match on Saturday??

Mother Hughes. Stick around for the night and you'll be in for a cracker of a night if we win as the players and cup will probably arrive back there :)

lilywhite stu
10/05/2007, 8:59 PM
My despise for Drogheda equals any thoughts for Linfield. I cannot bear to see any of them win. .

I feel pretty much the same. Can't wait for next year when they'll let the first division champions (aka Dundalk) play in the setanta cup aswell.;)

10/05/2007, 9:04 PM
I feel pretty much the same. Can't wait for next year when they'll let the first division champions (aka Dundalk) play in the setanta cup aswell.;)

if you beat the league cup winners.

d13bohs
10/05/2007, 9:25 PM

Doesn't Bertie support some shower of English w@nkers? There might be some chance of Paisley turning up but Bertie??? He'll be packing his ManUre scarf, hat and jersey to go over and watch them get the trophy on the Sunday. Actually, it would say a hell of a lot about who gives a damn about Irish football if Paisley turns up and Bertie doesn't

lilywhite stu
10/05/2007, 9:25 PM
Typical FAI always putting some obstacle in our way!

Dr.Nightdub
10/05/2007, 10:12 PM
Think it might be better for the competition if Linfield win it. After Portadown and Dungannon getting mullered regularly in this year's group stage, it'd at least prove that LoI teams aren't invincible and might encourage whatever nordie teams are in it next year to treat it more seriously.

Would also like to see Linfield win it from a purely Pats perspective. The more hacked off Drogheda get this year, the better.

10/05/2007, 10:26 PM
Hope Linfield win cos I said they would at the start(didn't bet on it though), but I can see Drogheda wining.

That's fair enough if you didn't have players that were capable of playing football. Doolin has the players to play football that is pleasing to the eye- he doesn't do that cos he's an eejit.

Celdrog
10/05/2007, 11:35 PM
. Doolin has the players to play football that is pleasing to the eye- he doesn't do that cos he's an eejit.
He's not a complete eejit though, he left you guys:D

11/05/2007, 12:56 AM

He managed to get a mention of them in front of the TV cameras yesterday - fair play to him.

He's probably just being a good constituency MP with such support, but sure it all counts.... :)

11/05/2007, 7:48 AM
Since you brought up exciting neutrals over results can I remind people how well we played against Linfield last week:DWhen it comes to us there are no neutrals on this MB.:(

Is it true that if its a draw after 90 minutes that St Pats will get the trophy? :D

11/05/2007, 8:05 AM
When it comes to us there are no neutrals on this MB.:( You wish.

Save the persecution complex.

Steve Bruce
11/05/2007, 8:46 AM
Team news from Linfield

http://linfieldfc.com/interview.asp?inv=266

galwayhoop
11/05/2007, 8:56 AM

from a team supporters point of view thats perfectly fine. however i think the point being made earlier is that there may be a fair few neutrals (and possibly non eL/IL supporters) watching and with drogs and linfield playing it is unlikely to be an open and exciting game.

from a neutral point of view a pat's and cork final would probably be more appealing purley for entertainment value.

that said both linfield and drogheda deserve credit for reaching the final and it is the managers job to get results - by whatever means possible. they may get respect from neutrals for playing fluent attacking football but the only way to get the respect of your fans and more importantly keep your job is by winning games and trophies!!!

Steve Bruce
11/05/2007, 9:05 AM
I think the problem with this game is, the two teams are so evenly matched.

Drogs have to be favourites though, defending champions, a lot fresher. Linfield have played in and around 60 games and have looked jaded in recent weeks. On the upside, we have a home game so hopefully that'll pull us through.