View Full Version : Setanta Cup Final

Pages : 1 [2] 3

11/05/2007, 10:11 AM
You wish.

Save the persecution complex.So someone does really like us?:eek:
Brilliant.
Remember, we have to stay positive though despite the torrential onslaught against us.:D

ndrog
11/05/2007, 10:18 AM
Of course you're well capable of doing it but you don't. And eveyr other fan in the country thinks likewise. Its not about whether you deserved to beat pats, its about whether you're going to excite nuetrals. And the answer is no

read the post again .We DID do it , against " you " to put you out of the setanta cup , REMEMBER ? And since when has it been about exciting nuetrals .Cork excited loads of nuetrals with some nice football and lost to linfield .Results business .Play crap and still win , we did it in last years final and will be happy if we do it again :D

11/05/2007, 10:32 AM
IF you think that was good football, that would be pleasing to a nuetral, there's no hope for you my friend...

ndrog
11/05/2007, 10:56 AM
Again try READING my original post .I make reference to the last part of the game .The last 20 mins of the sacond half and extra time .We played some decent football did we not ? Lots of people on here seemed to think we did .

11/05/2007, 10:59 AM
And read my last post

ndrog
11/05/2007, 11:03 AM
I did ,its you thats concerned about pleasing nuetrals , i wanT to win the game at all costs .Hope its a great game with some wonderful football but at the end of the day dont care as long as we win .Im off now to get excited about cup final day tomorrow .YIPEE :D

11/05/2007, 11:11 AM
The ONLY point I made was that you're an ugly team to watch. I didn't say anything how effective you are.

Steve Bruce
11/05/2007, 11:12 AM
I did ,its you thats concerned about pleasing nuetrals , i wanT to win the game at all costs .Hope its a great game with some wonderful football but at the end of the day dont care as long as we win .Im off now to get excited about cup final day tomorrow .YIPEE :D

I agree, although I prefare good football, if we get the result I'll not complain.

Are you heading up tomorrow mate?

ndrog
11/05/2007, 11:51 AM
Heading up on the 10 o clock train and going to the shankill for a few light refreshments pre match .Hope i can actually see the game :D

Dodge i think your being very unfair about The drogs team being ugly .Fabio and zayed are big favourites with the ladies round here ya know .

11/05/2007, 12:00 PM
Given the political developments of this week, I hope the non-Setanta media will highlight how easily Drogs and Linfield fans will be mingling for this game.

Setanta did a nice piece on it for one of their group games, but we need the mainstream media to pick-up on such good news stories for the domestic game.

11/05/2007, 12:57 PM
Is it true that if its a draw after 90 minutes that St Pats will get the trophy? :D

Probably :D :D

11/05/2007, 4:01 PM
Given the political developments of this week, I hope the non-Setanta media will highlight how easily Drogs and Linfield fans will be mingling for this game.

Setanta did a nice piece on it for one of their group games, but we need the mainstream media to pick-up on such good news stories for the domestic game.

I've been dissappointed that there have been few if any articles in the broadsheets on the success of the Setanta in fostering good relations between clubs eg Mid Shankhill supporters club's open invititaions to visiting fans.

You can guarantee if there was ever trouble at a game you'd be able to wallpaper a warehouse with the coverage.

Aaron
11/05/2007, 4:56 PM
Drogheda are the Chelsea of the EL, plenty of money, play boring football but are effective

Dyl10
11/05/2007, 6:56 PM
All this talk about attractive football is rubbish, football is about winning fairly.

Aaron
11/05/2007, 7:09 PM
All this talk about attractive football is rubbish, football is about winning fairly.

Yes football is about winning fairly, but whatever happened to the phrase the "Beutiful Game". Just look at Arsenal, they won the Premiership with great football and went a whole season unbeaten through it. Teams can play football and win with the right players, and Drogheda IMO have the right players

Celdrog
11/05/2007, 7:59 PM
I'll make a deal with all of you. Your teams all go out and play beautiful, eye catching football (which none of you do btw).
We'll keep winning things.

Fair enough?

Aaron
11/05/2007, 8:02 PM
I'll make a deal with all of you. Your teams all go out and play beautiful, eye catching football (which none of you do btw).

Fair enough?

I'd rather have both. Also Drogs havnt won as much as they should have with the money they have spent

EireBadBoy
11/05/2007, 8:09 PM

If youse keep winning trophies at the current rate gawd knows where ye'll keep them all...:confused:

kdjaC
11/05/2007, 8:12 PM

If youse keep winning trophies at the current rate gawd knows where ye'll keep them all...:confused:

Yes 2 in 10 years, the cabinet is bursting at the seams :eek:

kdjac

Celdrog
11/05/2007, 8:44 PM
Or 3 in 2 years (assuming we win tomorrow).
And it wasn't 2 in 10 years. It was 2 in 40 years:D

Mind you Pats must have played astonshingly wonderful football tonight. Fair play to them. Still didn't win though

kdjaC
11/05/2007, 8:46 PM
And it wasn't 2 in 10 years. It was 2 in 40 years:D

Mind you Pats must have played astonshingly wonderful football tonight. Fair play to them. Still didn't win though

Its not the winning the counts it the top of the table part, oh look who we play next :D

kdjac

Celdrog
11/05/2007, 9:15 PM
Its not the winning the counts it the top of the table part, oh look who we play next :D
kdjac
And then look at who were the first to beat you this season :D :D
Anyway should be a cracker

12/05/2007, 7:37 AM

:eek: jaysus if you added all them they'd nearly be worth a league win! :p

carrickharp
12/05/2007, 5:00 PM
0-0 Half time Drogheda well on top.

12/05/2007, 5:05 PM
0-0 Half time Drogheda well on top.

sounds familiar :eek:

12/05/2007, 5:26 PM
Molesting them?
Or have Linfield been interfering with the game a bit?

harry crumb
12/05/2007, 5:26 PM
This is so one sided its untrue.

Linfield dont deserve to win.....if they do

Erstwhile Bóz
12/05/2007, 5:28 PM
sounds familiar :eek:
It is risibly familiar. :D :D Drogs just had a penno saved (McAreavey gave it away), and then another class save off Byrne.

I predict the 86th minute for Linfield's nicking goal.

Olander
12/05/2007, 5:30 PM
holy jesus.....

Erstwhile Bóz
12/05/2007, 5:30 PM
Hahahaha... 67th minute, sorry!

lofty9
12/05/2007, 5:34 PM
Its just like watching Wimbledon (the old football team)

carrickharp
12/05/2007, 5:41 PM
1-1:D

Erstwhile Bóz
12/05/2007, 5:43 PM
Tony Grant scores. On as a sub.

Very much a day for the bald so far in Windsor Park, from the shiny babybum pates of both managers to the receding buzzcuts of both scorers.

carrickharp
12/05/2007, 5:58 PM
1-1 Full time extra time to be played.

12/05/2007, 6:06 PM
When it comes to us there are no neutrals on this MB.:(

Is it true that if its a draw after 90 minutes that St Pats will get the trophy? :D

1-1 Full time extra time to be played.

Dolan has agreed to drop the trophy off in Inchicore on his way home. Nice one.:cool:

carrickharp
12/05/2007, 6:37 PM
Penaltys.....

Erstwhile Bóz
12/05/2007, 6:45 PM
Oooooh. One save each now after four pennos. All square.

Drogs win.

carrickharp
12/05/2007, 6:47 PM
Great chance now.....

Olander
Yessssss

carrickharp
Drogs win 4-3

Saint MacDara
12/05/2007, 8:14 PM
Drogheda are a determined side,fair play to them,but they still have problems in goal scoring department.They could have easily whacked in 3 and finished off a poor Linfield side (even by their standards) instead they risked all their hard work by going to penalties.

LeviathanNI
12/05/2007, 8:16 PM
Just home, and don't mind saying I am gutted.. completely gutted. Fair play to the Drogs lads, the competition on the pitch was nearly as good as the competition on the stands ;).. you are a credit to your club, and provided you let us win, are welcome back anytime.

All the best lads, and see you next year...

*******s :(

12/05/2007, 8:55 PM
Our tickets are selling very well and only a handful left i believe.
How did you work this out? Ground looked only half full.

Edit - also, what was Chris Coleman doing giving half-time analysis? Very random! Unless they had Sanchez lined up, but he became suddenly otherwise engaged!

Fortuna1886
13/05/2007, 12:22 AM

Edit - also, what was Chris Coleman doing giving half-time analysis? Very random! Unless they had Sanchez lined up, but he became suddenly otherwise engaged!

The 2 stands allocated to Linfield where very full.

Quite a few pics from today at www.southstandsays.co.uk/gallery

Erstwhile Bóz
13/05/2007, 12:25 AM

That was embarrassingly class when they basically asked him on air to take the IFA manager's job. He said it should be an IFA man.

13/05/2007, 3:13 PM

The 2 stands allocated to Linfield where very full.

Quite a few pics from today at www.southstandsays.co.uk/gallery
But the ground was half empty. Why were the clubs allocated only half the ground's capacity? Especially if, according to the original post, tickets were close to selling out a couple of days in advance?

13/05/2007, 6:03 PM
But the ground was half empty. Why were the clubs allocated only half the ground's capacity? Especially if, according to the original post, tickets were close to selling out a couple of days in advance?
There is that one stand that's been deemed a fire hazard. That'd explain some of it. Maybe it was just Linfield's allocation that was close to selling out. The stand with the Drogs fans was far from full.

13/05/2007, 6:42 PM
But the ground was half empty.
Didn't look half empty to me. The stand the Drogheda fans were in was about 35% full, the two Linfield stands were close to full and the fourth stand is tiny and never used as far as I know. I don't know the various capacities but I'd be surprised if the ground was much less than 70% full.

ger121
13/05/2007, 7:07 PM
The Indo's report said the attendance was 7700. Does that sound about right? How many did Drogs bring with them?

oriel
13/05/2007, 7:34 PM
Well done to the drogs, a fantastic achievement considering their huge injury problems not to mention playing in linfields back yard. I thought they were brilliant in the first half and overall deserved to win. Also fair play to the drogs support, i`ve been critical in the past of the towns luke warm support but last night it looked great, a real family day out and must have been 1,500 up.

So much as it pains me to say (again) congratulations to a great performance and to a very good side.

Also David Jeffrey came across very well on tv, vert dignified in defeat.

Ps david/steve bruce/other lfc fans - could he not have got an up to date training top - the one he wore had 'ifa cup final 2007 v dungannon' on the front !