View Full Version : Drogheda Hooligans
08/05/2007, 11:32 PM
We may as well make a new sub forum :D
geezer
09/05/2007, 8:08 AM
and the rest of us trying to encourage more people to games. sad sad league
Disgraceful. I wonder what the Drogheda officials will do in relation to this allthough i heard last night that the gave the incident a devil may care attitude.
Also these "Drogheda Skins" made a threatening phone call to a rovers fan 2 weeks ago.
JUZ
Not commenting on the incident but the only place a window on a Pats bus has ever been broken is Drogheda. A few years ago now...
And green blood, just because Rovers are rubbihs shots, doesn't mean its acceptable. Again it was a few years ago so best for people to only comment on last night's events
green-blood
09/05/2007, 8:57 AM
we had a 13 year old thumped inthehead by some cowardly Drogs fans a few years back and bus windows doen in, its not a new thing
I've never flung a stone/bottle, entered a playing surface, thrown a punch or facded off anyone at a football match and I wont, that behaviour is not condonable.
That all said, Rovers are up in Drogheda in 2 weeks for league game.... I hope it will be managed better
Wiseguy
09/05/2007, 8:59 AM
As has been said in a previous post some Rovers fans have been at this crap for years and nothing has been done so looking for Drogheda to be kicked out is a bit rich really.
IMO the solution to all of this crap is to fine the club whose fans are responsible and fine about 10k plus warn them that if their fans are involved in any more of this crap then deduct them points.I'm fairly certain that clubs would then go out of their way to make sure nothing ever happened again.
nope I saw the incident happen, well I saw a fracas and I saw stones and I saw the Inchicore knackers firing all sorts
Interesting you could tell them apart from the Rovers knackers :rolleyes:
Anyway lads, get this back on the topic of last night
Grayzer
09/05/2007, 9:53 AM
The big men from drogheda decided tonight that it would be clever to put the rovers team bus windows in, leaving the driver in shock. not only that but drogheda scum fans ran amok after the game and also spat i my 6 year old daughters face while running past us on the way back to the car. dirty scum, Drogheda should be thrown out of the league they are a disgrace to this country and league. We would be better off without them. United park should be condemned.
I heard the notorious Drogheda Skins are responsible for this, I hope they rot in hell.
Get a grip will you, nothing the club can do about a gang of knackers OUTSIDE the ground, that is the polices responsibility. I can guarantee you that most of them lads weren't even at the match so how is it Drogheda Uniteds responsibility.
Our buses are regularly stoned at all Dublin grounds, Bohs put in a window on our bus last year, the Shels schooligans for the past few years have tried it and two weeks ago after the Pats match a gang of scumbags (50 plus) were dying for a scrap and a few buses were hit with stones so lets kick all clubs with a minority scum element out!
09/05/2007, 10:01 AM
Get a grip will you, nothing the club can do about a gang of knackers OUTSIDE the ground, that is the polices responsibility. I can guarantee you that most of them lads weren't even at the match so how is it Drogheda Uniteds responsibility.
They WERE at the game - they were the little scrots who tried to leave early to attack Rovers fans. The attitude of DUFC towards our squad was equally contemptible.
09/05/2007, 10:03 AM
Thats the problem, when a bunch of local Limerick heads came up to Hogan Park last year and caused trouble for the Rovers fans outside the ground there was little the club could actually do. They barred a few people, but really the only game anyone of us had seen those people at was that Rovers game, so that was hardly punishment, and since it happened up the road from the club's ground there was little more they could do about it
09/05/2007, 10:07 AM
Agree there is very little any club can do when something happens outside a ground. But there was a degree of pettiness last night up there. Our cameraman not allowed into the gantry for one. He is treated with courtesy everywhere else.
Despite us having a dedicated away section there were home fans streaming through our section trying to get around to the shed.
Is this some sort of childish revenge because some idiot shouted abuse at one of the Drogheda players in the last game?
Can you imagine the global hysteria if the Drogheda bus had windows put in last night? It's the double standards and hypocrisy from certain people in this league, not to mention the meeja, that gets me.
The bebo, schooligan thing is getting completely out of hand as well.
Despite us having a dedicated away section there were home fans streaming through our section trying to get around to the shed.
Is this some sort of childish revenge because some idiot shouted abuse at one of the Drogheda players in the last game?
Can you imagine the global hysteria if the Drogheda bus had windows put in last night? It's the double standards and hypocrisy from certain people in this league, not to mention the meeja, that gets me.
The bebo, schooligan thing is getting completely out of hand as well.
Good post. United Park has a quasi segregated away section that allows home fans into it too. Given the events during the last game would have made sense to enforce properly.
I think the FAI need to dare I say it reign in the clubs & ensure they actually deal with clubs breaking the rules. All we have at the moment is the media listening to whichever Manager shouts the loudest until he is at the receiving end.
09/05/2007, 10:41 AM
I think the FAI need to dare I say it reign in the clubs & ensure they actually deal with clubs breaking the rules. All we have at the moment is the media listening to whichever Manager shouts the loudest until he is at the receiving end.
I agree with that, but in this case there would be little the FAI could do about it, given that all this happened away from the ground, bar the FAI getting on to the Gardai and asking them for more men outside the grounds before and after the games
09/05/2007, 10:47 AM
http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts/Article.asp?ArticleID=1049
Drogheda obviously know who it was seeing as they can say they weren't drogheda fans, or even at the game
09/05/2007, 10:52 AM
Drogheda obviously know who it was seeing as they can say they weren't drogheda fans, or even at the game
Sure, they could ban them from the ground for life but that wouldn't bother them so there's no point...:rolleyes:
09/05/2007, 11:03 AM
Or they obviously know who didn't do it. At least that's what that pathetic statement is inferring. To repeat myself, the little toerags who tried to leave the ground early smashed up the Rovers team bus. They were at the game, they are Drogheda fans and no amount of prevaricating from DUFC will change that.
09/05/2007, 11:05 AM
Not commenting on the incident but the only place a window on a Pats bus has ever been broken is Drogheda.
Happened with us up there numerous times!
Hibs4Ever
09/05/2007, 11:43 AM
SO Drogs know the EXACT people who done it.
Did they report them to the Garda :confused: :rolleyes:
Cluba06
09/05/2007, 11:52 AM
Am sorry to say that every club in the world has this distgusting side to them, dundalk has it, drogheda has it, shamrock rovers has it, linfield has it, man utd has it, barca has it etc etc...
09/05/2007, 12:08 PM
Am sorry to say that every club in the world has this distgusting side to them, dundalk has it, drogheda has it, shamrock rovers has it, linfield has it, man utd has it, barca has it etc etc...
I'm fairly sure the Rovers team bus wouldn't be bricked at Barcelona or man Utd...
09/05/2007, 12:16 PM
The vast majority of these incidences (which are still fairly rare) happen outside the ground.
Security outside of grounds is the responsibility of the Gardai.
In many other countries, the police force assess the level of security required in and around the ground and the club are required to pay directly for the policing. This is not the case in Ireland.
If this was the case, clubs would be unable to afford the cost of adequate policing.
Catch 22.
09/05/2007, 12:21 PM
In many other countries, the police force assess the level of security required in and around the ground and the club are required to pay directly for the policing. This is not the case in Ireland.
If this was the case, clubs would be unable to afford the cost of adequate policing.
Clubs Absolutely do have to pay for policing.
09/05/2007, 12:22 PM
The vast majority of these incidences (which are still fairly rare) happen outside the ground.
Security outside of grounds is the responsibility of the Gardai.
Catch 22.
That's all true but how come if Rovers were involved in trouble outside a ground the above wouldn't hold? And if we try to use that line of argument it's usually shot down. Yet it's ok for DUFC to absolve themselves of all blame. :confused:
Incidentally, Drogheda refused to give any assistance to Rovers after the incident. Again, if it was the other way around.....
Grayzer
09/05/2007, 12:23 PM
Our cameraman not allowed into the gantry for one. He is treated with courtesy everywhere else.
On the cameraman I can only assume that it has got to do with insurance etc, that gantry is well dodgy :D
Was childish but not revenge, little ****s that did it probably wouldn't know who Simon Webb is.
Or they obviously know who didn't do it. At least that's what that pathetic statement is inferring. To repeat myself, the little toerags who tried to leave the ground early smashed up the Rovers team bus. They were at the game, they are Drogheda fans and no amount of prevaricating from DUFC will change that.
So you can prove that can you? You saw the incident? Why were you waiting around for the team bus? Every team know the trouble-makers, doesn't mean they know there names or addresses.
Since you know so much, where exactly was bus when it got stoned? What window was broken?
I'm fairly sure the Rovers team bus wouldn't be bricked at Barcelona or man Utd...
'Cos there would be a police presence, they left before the team bus pulled up.
09/05/2007, 12:24 PM
Clubs Absolutely do have to pay for policing.Only the token 2 guards inside the ground texting their mates though?:confused:
Incidentally, Drogheda refused to give any assistance to Rovers after the incident.
Serious:eek: ?
Thats shocking behaviour. Whatever about them claiming they could do nothing about it because it was outside the ground surely they should have offered to help.
To my mind thats almost worse tbh
09/05/2007, 12:30 PM
That's all true but how come if Rovers were involved in trouble outside a ground the above wouldn't hold? And if we try to use that line of argument it's usually shot down. Yet it's ok for DUFC to absolve themselves of all blame. :confused:
Incidentally, Drogheda refused to give any assistance to Rovers after the incident. Again, if it was the other way around.....
KOHI think you know the answer as well as I do, its double standards because Rovers carry a "reputation" for this kind of thing going back about 30 years.
I don't agree with it, you don't agree with it, but as long as Mick McCaffrey and his ilk are going to keep writing tripe it will perpetuate the myth that Rovers cause the vast majority of trouble in the EL. As a result of this reputation (deserved or underserved) Rovers seem to act as a homing beacon for every lowlife in the vacinity of everty ground they visit.
That said, morons like the one that abused Simon Web don't exactly help your cause.
09/05/2007, 12:33 PM
Serious:eek: ?
Thats shocking behaviour. Whatever about them claiming they could do nothing about it because it was outside the ground surely they should have offered to help.
To my mind thats almost worse tbh
All true, to quote one of our board - "The general level of arrogance and rudeness from DUFC towards everyone connected with SRFC all night was nearly worse than the actual incident."
As for the apologist above re. the gantry, I asked our cameraman was it a case of insurance or accreditation and he told me it never even got that far. He was simply told to F**k off by DUFC officials.
The sooner the bubble bursts at that disgrace of a club the better.
Grayzer
09/05/2007, 12:51 PM
All true, to quote one of our board - "The general level of arrogance and rudeness from DUFC towards everyone connected with SRFC all night was nearly worse than the actual incident."
As for the apologist above re. the gantry, I asked our cameraman was it a case of insurance or accreditation and he told me it never even got that far. He was simply told to F**k off by DUFC officials.
The sooner the bubble bursts at that disgrace of a club the better.
You failed to answer any of my questions, you didn't see the incident, window got smashed, shouldn't have happened, get over it. Rovers fans are trying to take some of the heat they have been getting off themselves and onto Drogheda. You have the hard core Burberry wearing scum (grown men not schooligans) who regularly try to cause agro.
As for cameraman don't believe that.
Only the token 2 guards inside the ground texting their mates though?:confused:
There was a good police presence during the match, they left before the team bus though.
passerrby
09/05/2007, 1:35 PM
why do you all run for the paripits to defend your clubs yobbo,s with stupid comments like its only one person or its only a minority, or you started it first or you did it last year, or its outside so not our problem
this slagging back and forward is becoming a pain in the arse.
i propose that we take a line from the bible and let he (club) who is without sin cast the first stone that should shut most of you up.
Erstwhile Bóz
09/05/2007, 1:52 PM
Can I point out that I wasn't 'flaming' WeAreRovers per se so much as pointing out the irony of a loyal KOH Hoopster saying "the sooner the bubble bursts at that disgrace of a club the better". Presumably this means that any support for Rovers over the Thomas Davis Affair from Drogheda fans is unwelcome?
Like most of the other Bohs fans I recall reading on this site I condemn schooligan filth with a particular annoyance. This latest fracas seems to have been a thankfully minor incident, though, given the bad feeling over the Webb incident and what might have happened had the cup game been closer to that event.
If this were a Bohs-Rovers thread it would have been deleted by now. How are Drogheda and Rovers allowed to have blatant flame wars but when it's Bohs-Rovers they get deleted? :confused: Not to even mention the thread title; didn't kdjac have a thread chopped because the title had the words "Rovers" and "scum" in it?
Not by me, and I'm letting this one go too. We usually allow the first couple of Bohs/Rovers rubbishy threads alone too. Its just when you get 4/5 a day they get chopped
Frankfurt Hoop
09/05/2007, 2:16 PM
3 posts Grayzer, and you know everything. Well done, that man!
One side of the bus was put in last night and the driver is a lucky man. It's well that he held his nerve and controlled the vehicle. We could have been looking at very different headlines today.
DUFC say that those who did it weren't at the game. That means they know who they are. Will they turn them in?
Also, who knew when the Rovers' players were ready to leave and the bus was being called up? That's the sort of question Drogheda should be be asking today.
passerrby
09/05/2007, 2:21 PM
wearerovers whats your point are you saying
a. you dont have a scum problem
b. its only a tiny minority.
c. it does not happen
d. we are provoked.
if you accept that along with a number of clubs you have scumbags who have attached themselves to your fine club and go to games to incite trouble the maybe you can begin to deal with them ,to the other posters who just love to point our the shortfall in rovers i think you should get your own houses in order first before judging others.
OhNoYouDidn't
09/05/2007, 2:54 PM
before we get totally sidetracked and miss the point here, what rovers fans are trying to say is not that drogs are hoolies and no-one else has a problem.
its the total contrast in reactions of the club.
one loon gives verbals to web, our chairman apologises to the player and directors. doolin goes on tv3 and gives out about it. action is taken by the club and the guy banned.
there is a physical attack on our players and not only did drogs not help by letting our driver into the clubhouse to wait for an ambulance, they issue a press release refusing to accept any responsibilty for the 'shamrock rovers incident' (ie we were implicitly involved) and deny that their fans were involved. no speech from doolin this week despite the fact there were actual injuries, ergo a far more serious attack.
we wouldnt get away with it, why should drogs?
can we ignore the tit for tat and ask why the rules are different for rovers?
and mickdlk, the difference is the incident you started a thread on never happened. this did and someone got hurt
Erstwhile Bóz
09/05/2007, 3:02 PM
can we ignore the tit for tat and ask why the rules are different for rovers?
The rules are different because the incidents are different. It's the age-old 'outside the ground' versus 'inside the ground'. Drogheda United can't ban people from throwing stones in Drogheda. The gardaí should be dealing with them.
When's the last time the Rovers board -- or any board -- issued a public apology for the violent actions of what people alleged were Rovers fans, outside of a football ground?
This has nothing got to do with the Webb incident except that it's the same two teams.
If your man said that to Webb at the lights when Webb was driving home do you reckon Rovers would have issued a public apology?
Are you having a laugh, Rovers got away with alot more, not remember being asked to stay in the ground for 10 minutes after the game in Oriel and breaking the gate to get out of the ground.... SUPPOSE THAT IS NOT TRUE ASWELL
Is a Dundalk fan seriously trying to have a go at any club about their "hooligan" element?
Passerby is spot on...
No im not saying we dont have a "hooligan" element but when is their ever any trouble in Oriel Park. The answer When Rovers play us
The last 3 times Pats have played there too. And its the only trouble we ever get outside of Dublin
OhNoYouDidn't
09/05/2007, 3:14 PM
The rules are different because the incidents are different. It's the age-old 'outside the ground' versus 'inside the ground'. Drogheda United can't ban people from throwing stones in Drogheda. The gardaí should be dealing with them.
When's the last time the Rovers board -- or any board -- issued a public apology for the violent actions of what people alleged were Rovers fans, outside of a football ground?
This has nothing got to do with the Webb incident except that it's the same two teams.
If your man said that to Webb at the lights when Webb was driving home do you reckon Rovers would have issued a public apology?
Both these incidents happened inside the grounds for all intents and purposes.
I was more driving at the difference in reaction from the respective boards and managements. Doolin and the rest of the Drogs arent so vocal this week when the shoe is on the other foot.
We as a club were treated appalingly up there and to refuse help a man who needed medical attention.....
mickdlk, no-one broke any gates. we walked out of the ground as per Garda instructions.
09/05/2007, 3:21 PM
Ive never seen trouble against Pats in Oriel, the only time there is trouble is when Rovers play and the time Bohs fans came over to the Shed so get you facts straightAre you Maxi?
Are you Maxi?
Whoever he is he is changing his story. FIrstly it was just against us now bohs were involved in trouble also
In relation to trouble v Pats. mickdlk you probably dont remember or didnt see World War II. That doesnt mean it didnt happen.
Also the game against us in September with 10 minutes to go in a delicately poised top of the table clash suddenly a hoard of Dundalk "fans" (i use the term loosely) suddenly began to depart the ground. Now i dont pretend to be the most intelligent bloke in the world but it was even obvious to me what they were up to. As for the gate it wasnt broken down or anything like that it was wide open. We were told we were going to be kept back for "6" minutes by a steward and a police officer.
The reception we have received from both CO Louth clubs in the last year has been shocking to say the least. Maybe both of you have more in common than you think.
When i read the Drogheda Utd statement I couldnt help but think "heads in the sand". If we had have done that after the Simon Webb incident we would have been castigated.
Hypocritical I think.
JUZ
09/05/2007, 3:30 PM
As for calling me an idiot, I await the mods to stick by the attack the post not the poster rule. Ok - the action you describe in that post would have been idiotic, and a wiser action would have been to alert the on duty Garda and walk away, rather than diverting the Garda's attention to your own behaviour.
Erstwhile Bóz
09/05/2007, 3:30 PM
In fairness I'd question the bona fides of the thread-starter and his outlandish call to ban Drogs (echoing perfectly a drunken Drogs fan's rambling rant on the night of the Webb thing calling equally ludicrously for Rovers to be banned). Very Willie Frazer ;).
Grayzer
09/05/2007, 3:35 PM
DUFC say that those who did it weren't at the game. That means they know who they are. Will they turn them in?
Also, who knew when the Rovers' players were ready to leave and the bus was being called up? That's the sort of question Drogheda should be be asking today.
It means nothing of the sort, it means they know they weren't at the game thats all, i.e. they did not enter Utd Park.
Oh ye, someone inside Drogheda rang the schooligans to let them know the bus was coming, good man!! Rovers fans and there conspiracy theories :D
there is a physical attack on our players
They weren't on the bus so how was there a physical attack :confused:
I never changed my story I said we always get trouble with Rovers [and in always it is every time use come to Oriel] and had trouble with Bohs once in the last 5 years.
If what you are saying is correct and the gate was open and use were asked to stay for 6 minutes, How come use left when use knew there would be trouble???
To every sane person is because use wanted trouble
You said we only have trouble when rovers play dundalk. When Dodge said it happened v Pats you denied it and then changed your story to include an incident v Bohs.
The gate that night (AFAIK) was opened by either a steward or a cop now once a game is over (and especially in an away game on a thursday night after a days work) you just want to get out and get home.
So why did those fans leave ten mintes before the end of the game.
Look im leaving it at this as this is exactly what Drogheda Utd "Fans" want to avoid the issue of what happend last night. Maybe you are a drogs fan in disguise or else your just obsessed with us.
JUZ
It means nothing of the sort, it means they know they weren't at the game thats all, i.e. they did not enter Utd Park.
Oh ye, someone inside Drogheda rang the schooligans to let them know the bus was coming, good man!! Rovers fans and there conspiracy theories :D
They weren't on the bus so how was there a physical attack :confused:
So are we to take it it wasnt the gang of "Schooligans" that left 5 minutes before the end of the match then?
JUZ
mickdlk
09/05/2007, 3:43 PM
What happened was wrong Gardai should never have let it happen but what im reading here is that when it happens against Rovers it is a joke but when they are the trouble makers it is ok
Are you having a laugh, Rovers got away with alot more, not remember being asked to stay in the ground for 10 minutes after the game in Oriel and breaking the gate to get out of the ground.... SUPPOSE THAT IS NOT TRUE ASWELL
I know 100% that the broken gate story is a complete & utter myth, the reason being i was the first Hoop to leave Oriel that night as i was on my way to meet up with the supporters club bus i was involved in running to the game that night, i along with 2 or 3 other walked straight out through the gate even having time to thank the stewards on the way who did likewise back! Sadly within seconds we ( trust me the three of us are far from being the burberry wearing scum as no doubt you see us all as) were the targets of a stoning & then attacked by local troublemakers!
That quite simply is the truth! Now enough of the propoganda! Enough is enough, the days of hiding behind 'Rovers did this, Rovers did that' should be long gone considering the actions of various different clubs 'supporters/locals' i've seen over the recent past!
Oh and to the poster above questioning the cameraman story, trust me it happened, i know the guy well as he travels on our supporters club bus and is far from being prone to fiction or exaggeration!
Koh
why cant the dublin(and louth)clubs(minority troublesome)fans have the laugh when they play other teams.... they all have this ''green street'' and ''football factory'' element in them and think there tough etc.... by causing trouble..... even the majority dont really want to get amongst the other fans(like the non-dublin/louth) and have a few drinks but thats fair enough though....
i tried adding a picture of derrys visit here last friday but didnt work/ dont know how...... well over 100 turned up to foxes like they we'r asked(i think 2/3 pats fans came in before the match when we played them) and us and them got the drums out round the side and got a bit of a buzz going...... everyone getting along drinking, kicking a football....... thats the way it should be!!
You're talking rubbish if you think its restricted to some clubs. I've been spit on in Sligo, had stones thrown at me in Cork and Waterford and Derry. The only ground I haven't witnessed trouble is Galways.
The truth is the vast vast vast majority of clubs have a tiny element. OThers have a larger element, but its still small compared to what happened in the 70s and early 80s.
oh no you dont.....
have any Drogs fans got anything to say?
Yes .. wasnt there , didnt see it .We have an element of scumbags who have done this before , and they need to be delt with swiftly .They are not supporters of dufc as far as im concerned , but pure filth .The club and the cops are responsible for what goes on both inside and outside the ground in my opinion .As someone else pointed out we have had buses put in on many occasions on away trips .The last being up in dalymount if i remember correctly .The cops walked away from the bus and little scumbags chucked huge bricks at us .Pretty bad experience i have to admit. Feel sorry for the people on the shamrock rovers bus, the driver must have been freaked out .I also witnessed attacks by shels , bohs and rovers fans over the last 3 seasons and its not fun .Coming on here bitching at each other aint gonna make any difference .I hope whoever is responsible for this is arrested and charged .I also hope that DUFC contacts rovers to discuss the matter .We recieved a swift apology about simon webb so its only fair tbh .
Im gonna contact the local gardai for info about the incident , will let you know what they say .