View Full Version : "We molested football tonight"

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

04/05/2007, 1:20 PM
Great post

See what I was saying about the mutual back slapping?
Self praise is no praise.
Like I said before, our striking problems are well documented, we're under no illusion about that. What's your excuse for being utterly rubbish?

04/05/2007, 1:24 PM
3) Enjoy the intertoto cup now there's a nothing competition!!See ye in the UEFA Cup.

Steve Bruce
04/05/2007, 1:31 PM
See what I was saying about the mutual back slapping?
Self praise is no praise.
Like I said before, our striking problems are well documented, we're under no illusion about that. What's your excuse for being utterly rubbish?

And still winning? None, we where bad, no point in being like yourselves and blame everything and anything on your failings. We are through so we haven't failed.

On another day we could have played you off the park and you could have beat us. Football is like that and you should have a bit more sense or intelligence to realise that football is funny that way. You should also have the sense and hte intelligence to not judge a football team on one display.

Also I wasn't praising myself, I was praising another poster who supports a different team to who I support for his accurate observation of Cork City.

04/05/2007, 1:35 PM
Also I wasn't praising myself, I was praising another poster who supports a different team to who I support for his accurate observation of Cork City.

I was talking about linfield fans, as a whole, praising themselves.

C'mere boy, there's only so many times one can laugh at the same joke so I'm going to leave you and your mates to your little fantasy of being something significant.

I'm off to enjoy my long weekend, because you don't register with me and I've got much more important things going on in my life.

Cheerio!

Steve Bruce
04/05/2007, 1:39 PM
I was talking about linfield fans, as a whole, praising themselves.

C'mere boy, there's only so many times one can laugh at the same joke so I'm going to leave you and your mates to your little fantasy of being something significant.

I'm off to enjoy my long weekend, because you don't register with me and I've got much more important things going on in my life.

Cheerio!

EASY EASY EASY EASY!!!

04/05/2007, 1:50 PM
EASY EASY EASY EASY!!!Thats entirely your own business. :eek:

04/05/2007, 1:53 PM
Jaysus lads would ye not give it a rest? This is worse than Bohs V Rovers and Limerick V Galway put together.

04/05/2007, 1:55 PM
Only Drogs and Linfield v the 3 City fans gullible enough to keep at it.
What a load of poos.

Steve Bruce
04/05/2007, 2:16 PM
Jaysus lads would ye not give it a rest? This is worse than Bohs V Rovers and Limerick V Galway put together.

To be honest mate, I find the whole thing very amusing as does other people on the ILFs who are watching this. I think though it is starting to come to the end of it's life now. But it was fun whilst it lasted:D

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 2:18 PM
Is there any point to this wee bigot?:rolleyes:

i was only having a joke off ya... not a bigot at all..... poor olde cobh forgotten about ha

Steve Bruce
04/05/2007, 2:21 PM
i was only having a joke off ya... not a bigot at all..... poor olde cobh forgotten about ha

Excuse me if I don't find being called a "hun *******" funny. It didn't come across as a joke and it certainly isn't funny.

I never forgot about Cobh Ramblers, I've never even heard of them before.:D

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 2:22 PM
apologies so..... sorry u might of heard of queenstwon fc before so? no? ye sent a dodgy ship down here about 1914... huge but faulty.....

04/05/2007, 2:25 PM
apologies so..... sorry u might of heard of queenstwon fc before so? no? ye sent a dodgy ship down here about 1914... huge but faulty.....

Ha ha.
Things are looking up.
Think i might hang about.

Sure all Linfield are is a bunch of ****ing Prods anyway.
Go on, deny it Bruce, deny it!;)

*Risteard on ruthless quest to have thread locked.

LeviathanNI
04/05/2007, 2:26 PM
15 miles to be precise..... cobh rams are a serior side ya hun ******* ha

Yeeeooo!! Slap it up ye! This Hun ******* is going to watch his team in the All Ireland Final.. what will Corkonians be doing?

I said it before, and I'll say it again... you truely are the Derry City of the Republic, and put our bitter rivals the Glens to shame... really. Now toodle off to your Muxster Cup or whatever it is, and when you get your 'International Players' playing, have your suspended players not suspended and on the pitch, and manage to score goals (you know that thing that wins games?) and manage to qualify again, we will play you again... until then, if you wan to see the All Ireland Champions, tune into Setanta Ireland in a few weeks.. it is as close as your team will get

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 2:27 PM
hey i was only having a little joke off bruce... no need to start bigot ****......

Steve Bruce
04/05/2007, 2:31 PM
Ha ha.
Things are looking up.
Think i might hang about.

Sure all Linfield are is a bunch of ****ing Prods anyway.
Go on, deny it Bruce, deny it!;)

*Risteard on ruthless quest to have thread locked.

Why would I deny I'm a prod:confused:

LeviathanNI
04/05/2007, 2:32 PM
Here fishy fishy.. just out of interest btw was that the 'Real' Cork team last night on TV? I could have swore it was the same one, albeit you got a penalty and played against 10 men (which you didn't beat)...

04/05/2007, 2:32 PM
Typical. :rolleyes: Another good molestation thread ruined by petty bickering. :(

04/05/2007, 2:34 PM
Sarcasm Steve Bruce, sarcasm.:rolleyes:

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 2:34 PM
and it was all a mistake message erased and all feck sake

LeviathanNI
04/05/2007, 2:35 PM
There is no point going into the whole religion thing, everyone and their dog knows the history of our club, our background and culture. It is a non issue, and only brought up when something goes wrong... like a team dominating for a game and still getting beaten. If you are intersted in our club, you are more than welcome to come up and we can take you on a tour.. maybe take in a game. I'm sure the Longford/Drogheda/Derry/ some Cork fans can attest to the friendlyness of it all.

04/05/2007, 2:36 PM
There is no point going into the whole religion thing, everyone and their dog knows the history of our club, our background and culture. It is a non issue, and only brought up when something goes wrong... like a team dominating for a game and still getting beaten.
Holy Christ.
I can't believe my post was taken seriously . . . . . . . . unless the jokes on me.

:confused: :ball:

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 2:39 PM
There is no point going into the whole religion thing, everyone and their dog knows the history of our club, our background and culture. It is a non issue, and only brought up when something goes wrong... like a team dominating for a game and still getting beaten. If you are intersted in our club, you are more than welcome to come up and we can take you on a tour.. maybe take in a game. I'm sure the Longford/Drogheda/Derry/ some Cork fans can attest to the friendlyness of it all.

id come but im a student couldnt even afford to put toppings on my pizza for lunch.. 1.20 for about 5 measlt slices of tomatoe.....

04/05/2007, 2:50 PM
Here fishy fishy.. just out of interest btw was that the 'Real' Cork team last night on TV? I could have swore it was the same one, albeit you got a penalty and played against 10 men (which you didn't beat)...

Did I miss a late Pats equaliser?:confused:

LeviathanNI
04/05/2007, 2:51 PM
Holy Christ.
I can't believe my post was taken seriously . . . . . . . . unless the jokes on me.

;) :D

04/05/2007, 3:07 PM
;) :D
Phew.
Relieved.

id come but im a student couldnt even afford to put toppings on my pizza for lunch.. 1.20 for about 5 measlt slices of tomatoe.....

I went to an IL game.
It wasn't good.

What would be the game to go to for a trip to Windsor Park?
Glentoran or Cliftonville?
If the City match was on a Saturday, would have been great.

BleusAvantTout
04/05/2007, 3:29 PM
I cant believe the cork fans on here. For f**k sake the absolute state of you's!!

1) You don't dominate a game unless you score goals. You had more posession then Linfield thats about all it boils down to!!

2) Linfield have proven themselves as worthy matches to any Eircom league side. The results prove that. Thats what matters not your poxey more shots off target ect bull****!!!

3) Enjoy the intertoto cup now there's a nothing competition!!

At last a succinct summation!!:cool: Or for those beaten semi-finalists, are they called "langers(?), you've hit the nail on the head!!!!;)

Steve Bruce
04/05/2007, 3:34 PM
Phew.
Relieved.

I went to an IL game.
It wasn't good.

What would be the game to go to for a trip to Windsor Park?
Glentoran or Cliftonville?
If the City match was on a Saturday, would have been great.

I went to an English game, Man Utd vs Liverpool 10 or more years ago, it was rubbish. What's your point.

Every team and every league had good and bad games, it certainly wouldn't put me off going to another game.

LeviathanNI
04/05/2007, 4:55 PM
If you want to go to a game with a 'fuller' atmosphere, then the Glens are usually good for it.. lets be honest here, you are never going to get a good atmosphere when the opposition brings 147 people in a 6000, two tiered stand.
Cliftonville games are pretty good as well, and they usually have some nice messages on wallpaper for us.

As for the football, well you know yourself, not all games are classics, and sometimes the games you think will be brilliant are ****e, and vice versa.

AnnaghRed
04/05/2007, 6:55 PM
Linfield have South Belfast.

No harm to you but Linfields catchment area extends well beyond south Belfast, a cursory glance round the flags at tomorrows final will tell you that.

"Tobermore", "Cookstown", "DUNGANNON"....hell, back in the sands of time i even remember a "Poyntzpass" flag. :eek:

And back before Portadown mounted a serious challenge for honours, its probably a fair bet that there were damn near as many Bluemen in Portadown as there were Ports fans!

AnnaghRed
04/05/2007, 8:30 PM
I think its fairly clear that Linfield are the best side in the IL as the others have done nothing in the Setanta Cup.

Linfield aside, the northern teams have fared pretty badly in the Setanta, though there have been a couple of notable results in our favour ie Derry 1-2 Glentoran & Cork 0-1 Portadown

Summer football, and an all-round more professional approach by the EL has given you an enormous advantage over our clubs, but in the event of an AIL then the seasons would run in tandem [obviously] and the northern clubs would be forced to take a similar professional approach.

And - as posted elsewhere - the northern clubs had a slight advantage in UEFA co-efficients prior to the advent of summer football in the south.

Obviously you are streets ahead of the likes of Portadown at the minute, but after a couple of seasons acclimatization, I don't think there'd be the enormous chasm some of you southern dudes imagine.

kdjaC
04/05/2007, 8:32 PM
Obviously you are streets ahead of the likes of Portadown at the minute, but after a couple of seasons acclimatization, I don't think there'd be the enormous chasm some of you southern dudes imagine.

Do you fancy Linfield vs Anyone in their CL game?

We fancy ourselves vs Anyone in our respective rounds.

kdjac

AnnaghRed
04/05/2007, 8:37 PM
We fancy ourselves vs Anyone in our respective rounds.

I'm happy for you.

Now what was your point in relation to the quote you highlighted?

kdjaC
04/05/2007, 8:42 PM
The enormous chasm is there already, we starting to expect wins in our Euro games. IL teams just happy to be on planes.

kdjac

AnnaghRed
04/05/2007, 9:03 PM
The enormous chasm is there already, we starting to expect wins in our Euro games. IL teams just happy to be on planes.

My post related to current Setanta performances, likely future AIL performances, and UEFA co-efficients prior to the advent of summer football in the south.

Though fair enough, happy to be on the planes is about right, but I'll still be cheering you boys as you fight the brave fight next season.

05/05/2007, 2:49 AM
I went to an English game, Man Utd vs Liverpool 10 or more years ago, it was rubbish. What's your point.
That the match was poor.

05/05/2007, 12:13 PM
We fancy ourselves

kdjac

Er, ok but shouldn't that be in off topic?

Dr.Nightdub
07/05/2007, 10:23 AM
Fair play to Peadar, the deliberate omission of smileys totally fooled everyone for a few days. I applaud you sir.

As regards Linfield v Cork, Linfield showed a mental resolve that Cork completely lacked. I'm not saying Bailie is some kind of nordie Nesta, but defending is actually part of the game too and he was pretty good in the semi. Learning how not to lose is something Linfield have got the hang of. Learning how to lose with grace is something Gamble hasn't.

As for Cork as a team, they're rapidly turning into the Arsenal of the LoI - lovely football in the approach phase, very watchable for a neutral but chronic inability to actually score. It's all well and good to point out that O'Flynn was crocked, O'Donovan suspended and Behan, well, just naturally devoid of ability, but it does kinda beg the question why youse're relying on a crock, an undisciplined scut and a complete stocking to win you games.

In their last three matches, Cork have played what are probably the three best teams on the island at the moment - Drogheda, Linfield and us - and what's been the common theme? No peno, no result.

08/05/2007, 4:54 PM
Just flicking through the Times GAA championship preview supplement, they have a If (county) was a cartonn Character they'd be: bit for amusement.
The one for Cork suits their Associaton bunch down to the ground too!

Angelica Pickles:
Thinks she's bigger than is the case and screams blue murder if doesn't get her own way. Has no idea how annoying she is.

08/05/2007, 5:29 PM
In their last three matches, Cork have played what are probably the three best teams on the island at the moment - Drogheda, Linfield and us - and what's been the common theme? No peno, no result.

In your last two matches, you've played teams, supposedly, from outside the top three on the island. The common theme? You lost. Thats three games in a row now, right? How's slaphead holding up? Not making any absurd rants in the paper like some kind of a bottler?

08/05/2007, 5:54 PM
Thats three games in a row now, right?
Wrong :rolleyes:

08/05/2007, 6:02 PM
Wrong :rolleyes:

Us, drogheda and UCD, and i'd forgotten about the little scare against rovers! how silly of me. still can't have been good for the baldy one's mental state.

08/05/2007, 6:15 PM
How's slaphead holding up?

how silly of me. still can't have been good for the baldy one's mental state.

Disgraceful anti-baldy comments. There seems to be a trend coming into this message board. Disgusting. We don't want that kind of thing in society and we certainly don't want that in the game. :mad:

David Jeffrey will back me up on this.

08/05/2007, 6:22 PM
Gavin Golden.com, Inc, will do everything in its power to weed out those who choose to besmirch the good name of our personage with this kind of mindless behaviour.

Our sincerest apologies to Mr. McDonnell and the inference that any past alopecia should be a topic of conversation in today's professional game.

08/05/2007, 6:55 PM

Its better to be getting & scoring them than giving up penalties every game. How many is that now for Pats? :p

Dr.Nightdub
09/05/2007, 12:50 PM
Four, but two of them were missed so they hardly count. ;)

10/05/2007, 9:03 AM

Sorry,the "ye're goal was a penalty so ye didn't really beat us" argument doesn't stand up once you're over the age of 12.

As Linfield fans rightly said last week, the result is what it's all about. We beat Pats 1-0 and whether the goal was a penalty or punched in by Roy is irrelevant.

I'd hardly think scoring 2 penalties in 2 consecutive games shows a complete dependence on them but if we won every game for the rest of the season 1-0 with every goal a peno I'd be delighted.

06/06/2007, 11:54 PM
Y6ffOQyk7gY
Did Gamble get a fine for this?

07/06/2007, 12:04 PM
[yt]Did Gamble get a fine for this?

First time i've seen this. :cool:

07/06/2007, 12:08 PM
Ya, nothing too crazy about it really.
Good to see how much Joe cares, the interviewer seems to be provoking him really. I'd say he's half-thinking he'll get a thump. ha.

Touch of Keane about Joe when he says "No doubt we were the better side."