View Full Version : "We molested football tonight"
Steve Bruce
03/05/2007, 8:42 AM
See.....
Read above, thanks for the example.
Me and you both. It's like some sort of mantra. If it's so unfair, don't enter next year.
Maybe that is the graciousness they are talking about, giving EL clubs plaudits for professionalism - nope, they just moan, whinge and bitch about it.
I think our comments on Full-time football are not moaning, well not from Linfield which is all I care about to be honest.
Linfield have consistantly done well in this tournement, despite the fact we are part-time and the LOI clubs are full-time. The fitness and speed could be seen at times, but Linfield has excelled and have beat every LOI team we have played.
David Jeffrey in particular has applauded numerous times the setup of many LOI clubs and the league as a whole.
Maybe you should take your candystripe tinted glasses off and brush off that big chip because you just look bitter about Linfield, nothing more nothing less.
Very good at getting to cup finals... ye're reminding me of Longford a few years ago, more and more every day.
not just very good at getting to cup finals ,were also very good at winning them against cork ;)
03/05/2007, 10:07 AM
Very good at getting to cup finals... ye're reminding me of Longford a few years ago, more and more every day.
not just very good at getting to cup finals ,were also very good at winning them against cork ;)
Can't believe you set that up for him GavinZac. :eek: :D
03/05/2007, 10:08 AM
Joe was quite obviously gutted and you can be sure that the last thing he wanted to do was give an interview. He knew it was his fault.
Linfield were very fortunate and won the game courtesy of a late mistake but we have only oursleves to blame, chance after chance went a begging.
I sometimes get the feeling that certain people on this board merely exist to have a pop off us. Well, whatever floats your boat.
03/05/2007, 10:15 AM
Give me Gamble's from the heart interview any day, rather than the usual footballers media-coached cliché-ridden drivel.
03/05/2007, 11:59 AM
There's a simple fact here. Cork City FC were the best footballing side to play Linfield, in Windsor, for years! Linfield have their apologists, who claim that they had an off day, when the truth of the matter is, they're from an inferior league and were blessed with our poor finishing. We should have been out of sight in the first half, but our striker problems are well documented. drogs enjoyed the same reprieve last season.
Having put in such a performance, Joe Gamble was understandably gutted after gifting them the winner. A patronising Man of the Match award, combined with probing questions was only going to yield one response from him.
We've got areas of our game to work on and are a well aware of our limitations but Linfield are only fooling themselves, if they think that topping a league, which was embarrassed by its other SCC entrants, sets them up as a team of note. They'll be shown up again in the Champions League but no doubt Jeffery’s will have a bag of excuses ready for that.
03/05/2007, 1:00 PM
But very bad at beating us when it matters!
Do Cup finals and finishing above ye in the league resulting in ye having to play in the intertwobob cup not matter :rolleyes:
Steve Bruce
03/05/2007, 1:23 PM
There's a simple fact here. Cork City FC were the best footballing side to play Linfield, in Windsor, for years! Linfield have their apologists, who claim that they had an off day, when the truth of the matter is, they're from an inferior league and were blessed with our poor finishing. We should have been out of sight in the first half, but our striker problems are well documented. drogs enjoyed the same reprieve last season.
Having put in such a performance, Joe Gamble was understandably gutted after gifting them the winner. A patronising Man of the Match award, combined with probing questions was only going to yield one response from him.
We've got areas of our game to work on and are a well aware of our limitations but Linfield are only fooling themselves, if they think that topping a league, which was embarrassed by its other SCC entrants, sets them up as a team of note. They'll be shown up again in the Champions League but no doubt Jeffery’s will have a bag of excuses ready for that.
:D That has to be the post of the century, I have just witnessed the funniest post I have ever seen.
Cry me a river.
1) Cork City are far from the best footballing side that has played at Windsor this season alone let alone for years. Cliftonville played Linfield off the park the first match of the League beating us 3-0. That was the best exihibition of football shown against Linfield in years. Cork City although where better than us the other day, I think your over emphasising your dominence, It took you over an hour to force a save from our keeper.:rolleyes:
Our Champions league performances are never going to get better untill Irish League moves into summer football. I don't think the teams in the LOI have got so much better in the last few years, I just think that they have moved there calender round to suit the LOI teams in Europe to give yourselves the best possible chance and I commend yous for taking that step.
And also about this striking problem. Give me a break, basically what you are saying is we are a fantastic team but we cannot stick the ball in the net. Here's news for you, sticking the ball in the net is part of being a good team.
I think I'll stick with my crap team that wins matches and wins cups rather than your great team that wins f*ck all squared every season.
hoops1
03/05/2007, 1:32 PM
Say what you want about Linfield, but they are winners.
Outplayed in alot of Setanta Cup games by various EL sides but they still win
Great attitude to the game and great mental strength.
Anyone who thinks the full time set of the EL sides doesnt give them a huge advantage is over IL sides is wrong
LeviathanNI
03/05/2007, 1:33 PM
Regardless of your petty 'the world is against us' rubbish.. we play in our National League, and Irish Cup, and we can only beat whats put in front of us.. that includes Cork City in the Setanta.
All the gurning in the world about our league standard isn't going to change the fact that we put you out of the Setanta, have won OUR league and hope to win the Irish Cup.
Now away ye go and see if you can go about winning YOUR league, and maybe we can meet again next year.
Regardless of your petty 'the world is against us' rubbish.. we play in our National League, and Irish Cup, and we can only beat whats put in front of us.. that includes Cork City in the Setanta.
All the gurning in the world about our league standard isn't going to change the fact that we put you out of the Setanta, have won OUR league and hope to win the Irish Cup.
Now away ye go and see if you can go about winning YOUR league, and maybe we can meet again next year.
Seriously, why are you linfield lot letting the l@ngers comments wind ye up so much? Everyone in the EL knows what theyre like on and off the pitch so welcome to the club!! Theyre just an arrogant lot who cant take their beating!
Looking forward to the final next week!! Great bunch of supporters are linfield and am looking forward to another trip to windsor and defend the trophy successfully :)
03/05/2007, 1:49 PM
I see you got out of the cuchi tunnels in one piece Cosmo, how were the ladyboys?
Steve Bruce
03/05/2007, 1:56 PM
Seriously, why are you linfield lot letting the l@ngers comments wind ye up so much? Everyone in the EL knows what theyre like on and off the pitch so welcome to the club!! Theyre just an arrogant lot who cant take their beating!
Looking forward to the final next week!! Great bunch of supporters are linfield and am looking forward to another trip to windsor and defend the trophy successfully :)
Looking forward to Drogs invading Windsor again. Always a good friendly atmosphere. But I have to disagree with your last bit.
WE WANT OUR TROPHY BACK:D
03/05/2007, 2:12 PM
Regardless of your petty 'the world is against us' rubbish..
Where did I say the world was against us?
Frankly, I thought the game was one of the biggest anti-climaxes I've endured for years.
Your lot and drogs had your team hyped up to the last and we were told about this special atmosphere. You were absolutely rubbish and before the goal, your fans could only muster a few bars of songs, designed to provoke a sectarian response. (Looks like Iran rules the waves now, not Britannia) You're big fish in a small pond and your little love-in with drogs will get you a few additional column inches in the tabloids, but as far as "big" games go, you don't register with me anymore. You had your chance and you blew it!
As long as you fail to recognise that you were outclassed, you'll continue to be nothing more than a jumped up pub team.
The final should be amusing as it's the battle of two teams who grind out results they don't deserve and dine out on it forever.
As far as hospitality goes, the Ports fans have been extremely welcoming to us for the past 3 years, without making any song or dance about it. Everywhere we go in Europe, we get a great reception, but our hosts don't expect the plaudits for showing some common courtesy.
Where did I say the world was against us?
Frankly, I thought the game was one of the biggest anti-climaxes I've endured for years.
Your lot and drogs had your team hyped up to the last and we were told about this special atmosphere. You were absolutely rubbish and before the goal, your fans could only muster a few bars of songs, designed to provoke a sectarian response. Looks like Iran rules the waves now, not Britannia) You're big fish in a small pond and your little love-in with drogs will get you a few additional column inches in the tabloids, but as far as "big" games go, you don't register with me anymore. You had your chance and you blew it!
As long as you fail to recognise that you were outclassed, you'll continue to be nothing more than a jumped up pub team.
The final should be amusing as it's the battle of two teams who grind out results they don't deserve and dine out on it forever.
As far as hospitality goes, the Ports fans have been extremely welcoming to us for the past 3 years, without making any song or dance about it. Everywhere we go in Europe, we get a great reception, but our hosts don't expect the plaudits for showing some common courtesy.
Post of the month :D
03/05/2007, 2:16 PM
Tis well you may laugh. You've got the easiest possible final.
Steve Bruce
03/05/2007, 2:17 PM
but as far as "big" games go, you don't register with me anymore. You had your chance and you blew it!
Oh that was like a knife to the heart:rolleyes:
I think we'll not worry too much about some two bit team 400 miles away.
Come back to me once you have broken through the mediocrety barrier of winning nothing each and every season.
Steve Bruce
03/05/2007, 2:18 PM
Please remind me of the score the other night:D
Steve Bruce
03/05/2007, 2:18 PM
Have to say they are the biggest comedians I know. I think I have found out where Mourinho gets his material from:D
As results show this season :rolleyes:
Linfiled have taken 4 out of 6 points off us and beat us in united park.
Steve Bruce
03/05/2007, 2:34 PM
As results show this season :rolleyes:
Linfiled have taken 4 out of 6 points off us and beat us in united park.
Leave mini Mourinho alone, he can't help being dillusional.;)
The good thing about this final is, we will have two sets of supporters and two sets of teams who will have 100% respect and also know that the game can go either way.
Head to head we are exactly the same 1 win each and a draw.
well the good thing is, unless Cork actually start winning some games, we wont have to listen to the gurns and moans of them next season in teh Setanta when they fail to win it for a 3 year in a row.
and your little love-in with drogs will get you a few additional column inches in the tabloids.
Btw we dont have a 'love in' with anyone - just to make that clear, jsut get on on with decent supporters - sure a couple of portadown supporters that have us as their second team are even getting a 'portadown drogs' flag made up themselves - i suppose it'll save them bringing down a drogs flag next time theyre at the cross :D
03/05/2007, 2:41 PM
Come back to me once you have broken through the mediocrety barrier of winning nothing each and every season.
We usually win the Munster senior cup and we've a good Munster senior league record. i would say the enormity of that achievement is the equivalent of the irish (ulster) league.
03/05/2007, 2:49 PM
We usually win the Munster senior cup and we've a good Munster senior league record. i would say the enormity of that achievement is the equivalent of the irish (ulster) league.
You are truly kidding.
03/05/2007, 2:54 PM
You are truly kidding.One primate club dominating a competition against other teams well below Eircom league standard?
03/05/2007, 2:56 PM
One primate club dominating a competition against other teams well below Eircom league standard?
Are you calling Linfield fans monkeys? :mad:
03/05/2007, 2:57 PM
Are you calling Linfield fans monkeys? :mad:
Would I do that? :D (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Primate_city)
LeviathanNI
03/05/2007, 2:58 PM
ffs the Munster Senior Cup is equivilent to our Co Antrim Shield.. or the 'Bin Lid' as we affectionately know it.. Are you sure you aren't a Derry City supporter? And we have Regional Amateur Leagues as well.. but sure, lets not get off topic here.. we beat you in the Setanta Cup, you aren't in the final, we are. No point having all that 'skill' and 'depth' if you can't get the players on the pitch to do the fundamental ie put thye ball in the net :D
Enjoy your Munster Cup :D
passerrby
03/05/2007, 3:04 PM
this is sad ...peader it maybe is the worst cliche in the world but the best team won...
lofty9
03/05/2007, 3:05 PM
ffs the Munster Senior Cup is equivilent to our Co Antrim Shield.. or the 'Bin Lid' as we affectionately know it.. Are you sure you aren't a Derry City supporter?
Leave us out of it. I was enjoying all these rantings from Cork without having to comment.
BTW anyone know the official attendance for the game that this thread is about?
03/05/2007, 3:09 PM
BTW anyone know the official attendance for the game that this thread is about?
Less than half as many people as watched us beat you 2-0 in Turners Cross to lift the title.
The biggest club in Ireland were resting their 12th Man for the final. :rolleyes:
03/05/2007, 3:15 PM
the best team won...
because that always happens in sport, right?
Steve Bruce
03/05/2007, 3:18 PM
Easy Easy Easy Easy
Peadar, Gav, please desist with the inflammatory comments, there are some fans here trying to love each other
Obviously we cannot partake because nobody likes us.
:( Boo Hoo :(
lofty9
03/05/2007, 3:20 PM
Less than half as many people as watched us beat you 2-0 in Turners Cross to lift the title.
The biggest club in Ireland were resting their 12th Man for the final. :rolleyes:
Just had a look at their official site match report:
http://www.linfieldfc.com/matchreport.asp?mid=420
Aidan O’Kane stepped up in the 85th minute to give the Blues the lead and to send 2500 Linfield supporters wild. Mulgrew crossed from the right, Devine flapped at it, Gamble (Setanta's MOTM !!) fluffed it, and O’Kane stole the ball off his toe to blast the ball home from four yards on the left.
For a semi final? Shocking.
passerrby
03/05/2007, 3:22 PM
it does if you are gracious loser
And 147 of them from the so called 'best supported team in the EL'
Steve Bruce
03/05/2007, 3:26 PM
Just had a look at their official site match report:
http://www.linfieldfc.com/matchreport.asp?mid=420
Aidan O’Kane stepped up in the 85th minute to give the Blues the lead and to send 2500 Linfield supporters wild. Mulgrew crossed from the right, Devine flapped at it, Gamble (Setanta's MOTM !!) fluffed it, and O’Kane stole the ball off his toe to blast the ball home from four yards on the left.
For a semi final? Shocking.
Do you not find that number to be very suspect?
Considering there was officially 2647 attendance, 147 where Cork fans. So the media/Linfield are telling us Linfield had exactly 2500 fans in the ground.
Incidently there was probably around 3500 bluemen. Although not fantastic, by any stretch of the imagination, but Linfield has had many big games lately and this match wasn't close to our biggest.
But to be honest 50,000 or 200 the fact of the matter is Linfield are through
Steve Bruce
03/05/2007, 3:27 PM
And 147 of them from the so called 'best supported team in the EL'
Now don't be giving them any facts that would quash there myths;)
03/05/2007, 3:33 PM
Lads, this is all getting very petty, everyone needs to get back to the football and turn on Setanta tonight to watch the two best football teams on the island. At least that's something that everyone can agree on.
lofty9
03/05/2007, 3:45 PM
:p
Do you not find that number to be very suspect?
I wasn't at the game. The official attendance could be seen by some observers then as a ruse from Linfield to decrease VAT on gate receipts and therefore defraud the Queen's estate. tut tut:p .
03/05/2007, 4:22 PM
:p
I wasn't at the game. The official attendance could be seen by some observers then as a ruse from Linfield to decrease VAT on gate receipts and therefore defraud the Queen's estate. tut tut:p .
The so-called "biscuit tin" theory...
BleusAvantTout
03/05/2007, 4:29 PM
After the final whistle, only 3 Cork players stayed on the pitch to shake hands with our players and to acknowledge their 147 fans!! I'll quote what I said on ILF & let foot.ie users decide about Cork City!!!
Disgraceful behaviour by the majority of their players, not shaking hands and not acknowledging their fans who sang their hearts out in the North Stand!!
A massive :embarasse for most of the players. Your fans had to sit for 12+ hours in a bus to get to Windsor and back. You neglected them big time!!! :embarasse
Evidently "bucket bake the gurn" was more interested in girning to the media than being a sportsman! :rolleyes:
LeviathanNI
03/05/2007, 6:14 PM
And..according to the tax man, we reguarly get 2-3000 at games ;)
AnnaghRed
03/05/2007, 6:42 PM
So the media/Linfield are telling us Linfield had exactly 2500 fans in the ground.
2500? That would mean the South [3000] & Kop [4000] stands were only round a third full.
I'd be surprised, but given previous IL attendances in this competition, maybe not.
You'd have to wonder how long some of these Cork boys have been following football.
Any experienced fan knows that sometimes you dominate games but still end up on the losing side, thems the breaks.
Given some of the opinions expressed about the IL on here you'd wonder why the galacticos in the south deign to play us. It must really stick in their craw that the best of our bad bunch continue to put manners on them where it matters most, on the pitch.
BleusAvantTout
03/05/2007, 7:44 PM
Given some of the opinions expressed about the IL on here you'd wonder why the galacticos in the south deign to play us. It must really stick in their craw that the best of our bad bunch continue to put manners on them where it matters most, on the pitch.
Preach it, brother, preach it!!! :cool: :D
04/05/2007, 12:02 AM
You'd have to wonder how long some of these Cork boys have been following football.
Any experienced fan knows that sometimes you dominate games but still end up on the losing side, thems the breaks.
Of course we know that :rolleyes: its just this "winning ugly" line thats being trotted out is entirely inappropriate for a game when for 85 minutes of the match you were outclassed on the pitch apart from one stupid **** up by the best player on the pitch, and out sung, as cosmo so helpfully points out, by 147 fans off it. Winning ugly is grinding out results in the face of pressure or adversity; what happened monday night was the football equivalent of finding a tenner down the back of a sofa.
Cosmo, just how many people did you expect to travel in fantastic weather around exam time for 22 hours to see a secondary cup football game on a monday, after 2 changes of plan? All four or five thousand that were in the ground tonight for the important match this week? :confused: It wasn't long ago 147 would be a decent attendance at a cobh v drogheda game :rolleyes:
BleusAvantTout
04/05/2007, 6:49 AM
This "secondary football game on a Monday" is worth at least 80,000 Euro to the winners of the semi-final, possibly 150,000 Euro! :cool: There is no club on this island that would turn down this dinero, if it had the chance to win it! ;)
04/05/2007, 8:45 AM
Linfield lads on here, telling each other how great they are, as they assemble in a circle, for a bit of mutual back slapping, only backed up by drogs, who are desperate to secure a ground sharing deal, for when drog park is shut down. If it wasn't so contrived, it might actually be funny!