View Full Version : Most annoying DJ's

Den Perry
06/04/2007, 11:22 PM
Right I've got to blow off some steam here.

Colm and Jim Dim on 2FM have to be the worst and most embarressingly idiotic DJs ever on air in this country. They are in no way funny (but they think they are), and their ****ing jingles are so self indulgent. Were they on FM104 proior to this....wouldnt have heard them as my job has changed and now i can listen to radio!RTE have made a major mistake here in my view.Anybody care to share their feeling on this?

Also, Ray D'arcy has turned into a tosser.1 He seems to rate himself very highly!Now I'm no bible basher but he's always having a go at the Catholic Church. Would he be so brave when it comes to other religions? Of course when this was put to him he said that as he was reared Catholic he has a better insight...tosspot.
In addition why does he call his mother "mum"? he from ****ing Kildare not Foxrock.3. He interviewed Bertie Ahern a few weeks ago and started getting thick with him about something Ray son, you are light entertainment, definitely not a political analyst.4 He's always going on about ****ing rugby. INever heard him telling us how big a rugby fan he was until recently.

On the other side ogf the coin, Will Leahy is fantastic, as is Ray Foley and Matt Cooper?

Any views on my rant?

KoemansCC
06/04/2007, 11:37 PM
Gave up listening to 2FM years ago, used to listen to Matt Cooper a lot but it's newstalk all the way now. Cycle to and from work so it's George Hook in the evening and the breakfast show with Ger Gilroy and Claire Byrnes in the morning (good lot of sport coverage...Paul McGrath the odd time). As I work nights I get to listen to the repeat shows too as they are played throughout the night.

Keeps me up to date with the world anyway....

06/04/2007, 11:42 PM
2FM haven't gotten the morning show right since Ryan Tubridy left, people might have their problems with him, but at least he didn't treat his audience like they were morons. I used to enjoy listening to him.

Rick and Ruth in the morning did my head in, although Rick O'Shea was actually decent on his own in the evening

Marty Whelan was alright, a step up from R&R. Ironically enough his best spell in the morning show was when he found out he was being replaced, so he just cut loose and made it sound like he was having fun.

Jury is still out on Colin and Jim-Jim, but it's not looking good. The prank phone calls with one of the lads from Naked Camera aren't funny, and them trying to convince us they are makes it worse.

KoemansCC
07/04/2007, 12:00 AM
2FM haven't gotten the morning show right since Ryan Tubridy left...

I think they havn't got it right since they hired Ryan Tubridy!!!....I don't think Garreth O'Callaghan or the AA girl at the time got on with him. Before Tubridy Garreth O'Callaghan used to always have a bit of banter with the presenter (Damian McColl) but after it was sports and sports only and no banter.

I remember one time he said to the then AA girl something along the lines of "...and it's over to ___ with the traffic news when she's finished with her hair..." and she quickly replied "...I'll do it whenever you give me a bloody chance..." and then she went straight into the traffic report.

07/04/2007, 12:27 AM
Aidan Leonard is very annoying , always laughing at his own jokes and too similar to Alan Partridge for comfort.

skitz3
07/04/2007, 7:47 AM
Tony Fenton is a pr*ck and i'm starting to agree about Ray D'Arcy too. Ray Foley is the funniest and best DJ on the radio at the moment easily.

07/04/2007, 9:51 AM
Used to listen Colm and Jim-Jim when i was in Dublin, they could be quite funny at times but havent heard the 2FM show yet. Funnily enough, they used to completely rip the p!ss out of RTE on their shows. Wonder how they feel now. Anooying djs i can recall, definitely Fony Tenton, the guy who used to be on after Ray D'Arcy's show, I couldnt remember his name but he was a t0sser. Phil Cawley, thats the one. Gerry Ryan of course, just a complete tit. His show has been stale for years. And i really dont want to hear about multiple orgasms at 10am. Over here, I really hate Johnny Vaughan, so full of it. Chris Moyles is a gobsh!te too.

07/04/2007, 11:00 AM
Hate Gerry Ryan and also that sports guy, Michael McMullen, his accent is dire.

07/04/2007, 11:22 AM
Gerry Ryan is good at interviewing but when he talks about the news or current affairs, he doesn't seem to know what he's talking about.

We've a clown on Red FM at night called Victor Barry who runs a sort of Questions and Answers for the stupid people.
Always stupid topics on gender battles and foreigners.
"Tonight, are the women expecting too much of us?"

Monkfish
07/04/2007, 11:43 AM
Nothing compares to the rubbish we have in Limerick with live 95. Having said that though anyone with a bit of talent usually goes to a national/big station so you can hold it too much against them. Ray D'arcy is just a female friendly clown, Fenton? clown! cawley? lesser clown! 2fm? the whole station should sack everyone and start from scratch.

07/04/2007, 12:21 PM
I always detested Chris Barry when he was on FM104. I know Adrian Kennedy isn't everybodys favourite but I thought he was a breath of fresh air compared to Barry. Although Jeremy, his producer, is a total gobdaw. I agree with the general consensus that Colm and Jim Jim are unfunny eejits.

I can't stand Steve Kay, Nikki Hayes or your one Cliona from Spin103.8. I only ever listen to FM104 or Spin103.8.

My mother listens to Radio One and Vincent Browne has to have the most boring voice ever. Derek Mooney and Mooney Goes Wild **** me off. Not the best way to start a Sunday morning. I always liked Ronan Collins though.

highlight100
07/04/2007, 12:30 PM
Joe Duffy is a legend though.....

07/04/2007, 10:51 PM
Tony Fenton is a pr*ck and i'm starting to agree about Ray D'Arcy too. Ray Foley is the funniest and best DJ on the radio at the moment easily.

unfortunately im in school when his show is on now! his night time show was quality, i listened from its beginning to its end for the 2 years or so! original and funny! i met the guy once too and he is a genuinely nice guy!

Thunderblaster
08/04/2007, 6:49 PM
I find Dave Fanning annoying. I wouldn't exactly sit down to the local radio DJs. Atlantic 252 DJs were pretty dire.:eek: Tim Kelly can be a bit boring but good tunes.:( Ian Dempsey is a legend.:D

skitz3
08/04/2007, 10:27 PM
Ian Dempsey is a legend.:D

I used to love him but i feel the standard has slipped a lot. The article in todays Sunday World with that bimbo gombeen Amanda Brunker was pathetic i thought.

09/04/2007, 12:24 AM
id rate the 2 rays, matt cooper and tom dunne from today fm very highly.
loved the blast when it was on, brilliant show.
all the newstalk presenters are topnotch as well.. fantastic stuff from them.

gerry ryan, mooney, dempsey, fenton, and all ocean fm presenters get on my tits very easily

09/04/2007, 10:40 AM
cant believe people still listrn to 2FM, gave up ion that sh ite years ago, who is that bimbo they have on it thses days, she is ignorant

today FM is top notch

but since im living on the mainland (as some here might call it!;) ), i listen to talksport radio, its class, especially with Quinn and that guy that used to be off the Word, hilarious, and much better than five live

09/04/2007, 2:58 PM
The only two DJs worth a damn on national radio in Ireland are Tom Dunne and Larry Gogan, purely because they're the only two that are more interested in promoting the music and not themselves

Den Perry
09/04/2007, 8:53 PM
cant believe people still listrn to 2FM, gave up ion that sh ite years ago, who is that bimbo they have on it thses days, she is ignorant

today FM is top notch but since im living on the mainland (as some here might call it!;) ), i listen to talksport radio, its class, especially with Quinn and that guy that used to be off the Word, hilarious, and much better than five livewhere can i find talksport on the dial?
id rate the 2 rays, matt cooper and tom dunne from today fm very highly.
loved the blast when it was on, brilliant show.
all the newstalk presenters are topnotch as well.. fantastic stuff from them.

gerry ryan, mooney, dempsey, fenton, and all ocean fm presenters get on my tits very easilyD'arcy ia a tool

Paddyfield
10/04/2007, 9:21 PM
Before Tubridy Garreth O'Callaghan used to always have a bit of banter with the presenter (Damian McColl) but after it was sports and sports only and no banter.

Gareth O'Callaghan is on the Breakfast Show on Galway Bay FM every moring 7 t0 10am. He's still good after all the years. Then I switch on D'Arcy because he is the lesser of all evils that are on mid-morning. He's a bot of a girl sometimes.

Phil Cawley is gone off Today FM now so I flick around. Newstalk is great later in the day but their jingles sound like what I'd expect from Carrick-On-Shannon FM.

To answer the original the question...yes, Colm and Jim Jim are muck. I hate them.

finlma
11/04/2007, 8:39 PM
Tony Fenton, Ruth Scott and Ray Foley all wreck my chops.

I'm a big fan of Matt Cooper, Ray Darcy and above all Tom Dunne

Also - fair play to Darcy for slagging off the Catholic Church. Not enough people do it.

11/04/2007, 10:59 PM
Like many others I gave up on 2FM at least 10 years ago. Are the DJs still twice the age of the listeners? This topic brings back memories of Gerry Ryan manufacturing audiences with wind up attempts so lame they wouldn't work here. Still can't understand what the purpose of 2FM is as a public service broadcaster in receipt of tv licence money.

I used to listen to Today FM but moved to Newstalk when they started. If I want music switch to MP3 player. I don't get to listen to him as much as I would like but Sean Moncriff is best radio show host by some distance. Radio is the perfect medium for his humour.

skitz3
12/04/2007, 6:48 AM
I don't get to listen to him as much as I would like but Sean Moncriff is best radio show host by some distance. Radio is the perfect medium for his humour.

Agreed.

12/04/2007, 1:03 PM
Ernie on Q102's "love zone" late night show (Mrs Raptor listens to it in Bed:rolleyes: ) sounds like a feckin' paedophile

12/04/2007, 1:16 PM
Sean Moncriff is best radio show host by some distance. Radio is the perfect medium for his humour.

yep!!

12/04/2007, 1:27 PM
Ann Marie Kelly irritates the hell out of me with her catch phrase
"And coming up in the next hour"

D'Arsey is also a bit painful.Tries to be everybodys friend but I can't help thinking there is something more sinister in that mans make up.

Don't mind Gerry Ryan, The only radio I listen to is Ian Dempsey and Tom Dunne and of course Trevor Welchs Big Red Bench at the weekend.

carrickharp
16/04/2007, 3:28 PM
Gerry Ryan and Tony Fenton I hate them, they should be shiped off to Mid West Radio! Think the Ray Foley show is good gives a change to the afternoon.

brokenstar
17/04/2007, 9:54 AM
Women DJ's in general are very irritating... it's the whole 'i think i'm funny' thing that gets me.

Basically anyone on 98fm in Dublin too

17/04/2007, 10:07 AM
Tony Fentons fake accent does it for me.
John Clarke = zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

17/04/2007, 10:17 AM
Johnny Vaughan on Capital FM over here is a cretin. Some female dj’s are grand, but its the laugh along with your jokes type on breakfast radio that annoy me. Take a bow, Jenny Kelly, Brenda ODonoghue et al.

17/04/2007, 11:18 AM
Pretty much only listen to talk radio these days, if I listen to music I prefer my own choice (think this how older people get out of touch!). If I was to listen to music, it'd be phantom. Don't think I even have 2FM tuned in.

The sport on the Newstalk breakfast show is just about keeping it on in the morning. Clare Byrne is the most irritating person on radio - always trying to be smart when she clearly isn't, and always trying to be controversial. Being top notch eye candy doesn't really cut it on radio. Kinda flick between that and Morning Ireland these days.

Like Anne-Marie Kelly in the early breakfast show, but it just doesn't seem to work when she stands in for others later in the day. Dempsey should've retired 5 years ago. Don't mind Darcy to be honest, but wouldn't be listening that often and can see where the irritation could come from. Ray Foley is okay to listen too, but would say he could get irritating after a while too.

Really enjoy the Moncrieff show, when I get to listen, but wish he'd give longer to the features. Always seems to rush the finish. Would've listened to Hook most in Drivetime, but now he's just double jobbing as the Dick Roche and Michael McDowell fan club. Really disappointing that he doesn't see through two of the biggest spoofers in politics and gives them so much of an easy ride they are falling over themselves to be on the show. So kinda between Matt Cooper and him now.

Evening's would've been Tom Dunne, but Off The Ball easy winner since Newstalk went national.

citizenerased
17/04/2007, 1:23 PM
Love newstalk, particularly moncrief, and the lads on off the balls...that ger gilroy is an annoying smug git

17/04/2007, 1:43 PM
Love newstalk, particularly moncrief, and the lads on off the balls...that ger gilroy is an annoying smug git

I agree. Its great Gilroy gone to morning radio as he gone before my commute. :D

You can't have female DJs for the same reason few female comedians. Its the guys job to make jokes for women to laugh at. :p

smellyfeet
17/04/2007, 4:00 PM
Colm & Jim Jim, can't stand them.
They are pure ****e TBH and i'd say most People change stations when they come on the radio,well at least we in work do.

There was just an add for their show on the radio as i write this...Terrible stuff.

Best DJ has to be Will Leahy.

09/05/2007, 11:54 AM
The chat shows on any local radio are awful.
There was a woman on Neil Prendeville today complaining about vandalism at her families grave.
When Prendeville said security should be tightened, kids have no respect etc etc . . . . . . she said they should move it.:eek: :eek:
Move the feckin graveyard.

How the fcuk would that work?

09/05/2007, 12:07 PM
Actually think he's alright. 2FM is by far the best raio station if you want to listen to any new music (phantom excepted but not always a great reception).

Tom Dunne's grand in the evenings but rubbish when he's in for D'Arcy, which is saying something as I detest D'Arcy. The morning guys on Spin make me laugh more than they should. Don't know why. Used to listen to hook but he's believing his own hype now and irritates me more than he should

ollie
09/05/2007, 2:08 PM

Yeah i like him all right.Used love the Saturday show he used do.