Thread: Most annoying DJ's

Most annoying DJ's

Right I've got to blow off some steam here.

Colm and Jim Dim on 2FM have to be the worst and most embarressingly idiotic DJs ever on air in this country. They are in no way funny (but they think they are), and their ****ing jingles are so self indulgent. Were they on FM104 proior to this....wouldnt have heard them as my job has changed and now i can listen to radio!RTE have made a major mistake here in my view.Anybody care to share their feeling on this?

Also, Ray D'arcy has turned into a tosser.1 He seems to rate himself very highly!Now I'm no bible basher but he's always having a go at the Catholic Church. Would he be so brave when it comes to other religions? Of course when this was put to him he said that as he was reared Catholic he has a better insight...tosspot.
    In addition why does he call his mother "mum"? he from ****ing Kildare not Foxrock.3. He interviewed Bertie Ahern a few weeks ago and started getting thick with him about something Ray son, you are light entertainment, definitely not a political analyst.4 He's always going on about ****ing rugby. INever heard him telling us how big a rugby fan he was until recently.

On the other side ogf the coin, Will Leahy is fantastic, as is Ray Foley and Matt Cooper?

Any views on my rant?
    Last edited by sligoman; 11/04/2007 at 10:58 PM. Reason: language filter

Gave up listening to 2FM years ago, used to listen to Matt Cooper a lot but it's newstalk all the way now. Cycle to and from work so it's George Hook in the evening and the breakfast show with Ger Gilroy and Claire Byrnes in the morning (good lot of sport coverage...Paul McGrath the odd time). As I work nights I get to listen to the repeat shows too as they are played throughout the night.

Keeps me up to date with the world anyway....

3,498 Posts
    2FM haven't gotten the morning show right since Ryan Tubridy left, people might have their problems with him, but at least he didn't treat his audience like they were morons. I used to enjoy listening to him.

Rick and Ruth in the morning did my head in, although Rick O'Shea was actually decent on his own in the evening

Marty Whelan was alright, a step up from R&R. Ironically enough his best spell in the morning show was when he found out he was being replaced, so he just cut loose and made it sound like he was having fun.

Jury is still out on Colin and Jim-Jim, but it's not looking good. The prank phone calls with one of the lads from Naked Camera aren't funny, and them trying to convince us they are makes it worse.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    2FM haven't gotten the morning show right since Ryan Tubridy left...
    I think they havn't got it right since they hired Ryan Tubridy!!!....I don't think Garreth O'Callaghan or the AA girl at the time got on with him. Before Tubridy Garreth O'Callaghan used to always have a bit of banter with the presenter (Damian McColl) but after it was sports and sports only and no banter.

I remember one time he said to the then AA girl something along the lines of "...and it's over to ___ with the traffic news when she's finished with her hair..." and she quickly replied "...I'll do it whenever you give me a bloody chance..." and then she went straight into the traffic report.

Aidan Leonard is very annoying , always laughing at his own jokes and too similar to Alan Partridge for comfort.

Tony Fenton is a pr*ck and i'm starting to agree about Ray D'Arcy too. Ray Foley is the funniest and best DJ on the radio at the moment easily.

112 Posts
    Used to listen Colm and Jim-Jim when i was in Dublin, they could be quite funny at times but havent heard the 2FM show yet. Funnily enough, they used to completely rip the p!ss out of RTE on their shows. Wonder how they feel now. Anooying djs i can recall, definitely Fony Tenton, the guy who used to be on after Ray D'Arcy's show, I couldnt remember his name but he was a t0sser. Phil Cawley, thats the one. Gerry Ryan of course, just a complete tit. His show has been stale for years. And i really dont want to hear about multiple orgasms at 10am. Over here, I really hate Johnny Vaughan, so full of it. Chris Moyles is a gobsh!te too.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Hate Gerry Ryan and also that sports guy, Michael McMullen, his accent is dire.

Gerry Ryan is good at interviewing but when he talks about the news or current affairs, he doesn't seem to know what he's talking about.

We've a clown on Red FM at night called Victor Barry who runs a sort of Questions and Answers for the stupid people.
    Always stupid topics on gender battles and foreigners.
    "Tonight, are the women expecting too much of us?"
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Nothing compares to the rubbish we have in Limerick with live 95. Having said that though anyone with a bit of talent usually goes to a national/big station so you can hold it too much against them. Ray D'arcy is just a female friendly clown, Fenton? clown! cawley? lesser clown! 2fm? the whole station should sack everyone and start from scratch.

I always detested Chris Barry when he was on FM104. I know Adrian Kennedy isn't everybodys favourite but I thought he was a breath of fresh air compared to Barry. Although Jeremy, his producer, is a total gobdaw. I agree with the general consensus that Colm and Jim Jim are unfunny eejits.

I can't stand Steve Kay, Nikki Hayes or your one Cliona from Spin103.8. I only ever listen to FM104 or Spin103.8.

My mother listens to Radio One and Vincent Browne has to have the most boring voice ever. Derek Mooney and Mooney Goes Wild **** me off. Not the best way to start a Sunday morning. I always liked Ronan Collins though.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Joe Duffy is a legend though.....

Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    Tony Fenton is a pr*ck and i'm starting to agree about Ray D'Arcy too. Ray Foley is the funniest and best DJ on the radio at the moment easily.
    unfortunately im in school when his show is on now! his night time show was quality, i listened from its beginning to its end for the 2 years or so! original and funny! i met the guy once too and he is a genuinely nice guy!

I find Dave Fanning annoying. I wouldn't exactly sit down to the local radio DJs. Atlantic 252 DJs were pretty dire. Tim Kelly can be a bit boring but good tunes. Ian Dempsey is a legend.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    Ian Dempsey is a legend.
    I used to love him but i feel the standard has slipped a lot. The article in todays Sunday World with that bimbo gombeen Amanda Brunker was pathetic i thought.

id rate the 2 rays, matt cooper and tom dunne from today fm very highly.
    loved the blast when it was on, brilliant show.
    all the newstalk presenters are topnotch as well.. fantastic stuff from them.

gerry ryan, mooney, dempsey, fenton, and all ocean fm presenters get on my tits very easily

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    cant believe people still listrn to 2FM, gave up ion that sh ite years ago, who is that bimbo they have on it thses days, she is ignorant

today FM is top notch

but since im living on the mainland (as some here might call it! ), i listen to talksport radio, its class, especially with Quinn and that guy that used to be off the Word, hilarious, and much better than five live

The only two DJs worth a damn on national radio in Ireland are Tom Dunne and Larry Gogan, purely because they're the only two that are more interested in promoting the music and not themselves

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    cant believe people still listrn to 2FM, gave up ion that sh ite years ago, who is that bimbo they have on it thses days, she is ignorant

today FM is top notch but since im living on the mainland (as some here might call it! ), i listen to talksport radio, its class, especially with Quinn and that guy that used to be off the Word, hilarious, and much better than five live
    where can i find talksport on the dial?
    Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    id rate the 2 rays, matt cooper and tom dunne from today fm very highly.
    loved the blast when it was on, brilliant show.
    all the newstalk presenters are topnotch as well.. fantastic stuff from them.

gerry ryan, mooney, dempsey, fenton, and all ocean fm presenters get on my tits very easily
    D'arcy ia a tool
    Last edited by sligoman; 09/04/2007 at 10:25 PM. Reason: merge

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KoemansCC View Post
    Before Tubridy Garreth O'Callaghan used to always have a bit of banter with the presenter (Damian McColl) but after it was sports and sports only and no banter.
    Gareth O'Callaghan is on the Breakfast Show on Galway Bay FM every moring 7 t0 10am. He's still good after all the years. Then I switch on D'Arcy because he is the lesser of all evils that are on mid-morning. He's a bot of a girl sometimes.

Phil Cawley is gone off Today FM now so I flick around. Newstalk is great later in the day but their jingles sound like what I'd expect from Carrick-On-Shannon FM.

To answer the original the question...yes, Colm and Jim Jim are muck. I hate them.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care