View Full Version : Calling mam, mum

Monkfish
29/03/2007, 6:11 PM
Anyone else hear annoyed when people do this? i always thought we called her mam, the English mum (possible exeption in the north-east) and the yanks mom, is it a middle/upper class English wannabe thing or what?

Soper
29/03/2007, 6:18 PM
Well, I call mine mum, and my cousins in Sligo do too. I'd like to think that none of us have any delusions of grandeur!

29/03/2007, 6:35 PM
110% with ye on this one!! i hate it!!!

29/03/2007, 6:42 PM
I was going to post a similar thread... i hate the middle class term. Mummy! Mummy says... Heard a posh child on the train saying that on the train the other day. It really gets on my t!ts for some reason. I call mine Mammy, or Mum. Dot mind Mom so much though.

29/03/2007, 6:49 PM
I've never heard anyone say Mummy and if i did i'd hit them, regardless of age.
Mam all the way although i used say Mom when i was ickle.

ccfcgirl
29/03/2007, 6:52 PM
Mam thats what I use....

finlma
29/03/2007, 7:03 PM
The Old Lady for me.

Spudd
29/03/2007, 7:14 PM
I call mine ma or mom...

29/03/2007, 8:03 PM
Ma and ma only when i'm talking to her,if i called her anything else my brothers would beat the sh*te out of me.

When i'm refering to her in conversation,it's me Aul wan.

29/03/2007, 9:42 PM
mum for me, always has, always will be.

29/03/2007, 9:57 PM
Always think it's only buffs that say mammy:D. Tis mum for me.

Neish
29/03/2007, 10:04 PM
C*rist have you lot little to be worrying about? Who cares if someone calls there mother mum or mam

29/03/2007, 10:37 PM
Didn't we have this thread last year?

Mum here. I always though Mam was very knackerish. Hate Mom.

29/03/2007, 11:31 PM
I call my mother by her name.

I now feel very weird.....

30/03/2007, 1:04 AM
thats cos you are redarmy

30/03/2007, 2:34 AM
I've never heard anyone say Mummy and if i did i'd hit them, regardless of age.

Thats the spirit.

30/03/2007, 2:40 AM
Unless it was your newborn, osarusan.
Somehow, ミイラ just doesn't have that annoying ring to it.
Best of luck.

30/03/2007, 7:42 AM
I call mine Mam back home but call her her Mum when I'm referring to her over here. I used to cringe at the word Mummy before I moved away from Cork but now that I'm enveloped in it over here in Scotland I prefer the word Mum. My little boy refers to his mother as Mum.

Sometimes I hear my brothers calling my Mam "Mammy" and it just sounds all babyish to me.

30/03/2007, 7:48 AM
Ma.
When I was a kiddo it was Mammy. My Dad I call Dad or sometimes I call him Kevin.

30/03/2007, 8:37 AM
Has to be a posh middle class English thing. Vaguely related topic, a posh guy in my old job insists that Mother's Day is always "Mothering Sunday" which baffles me!

30/03/2007, 8:40 AM
Not on your own OneRedArmy, I call her by her name, too. When refering to her in the third person, I would tend to call her as either "me Ma" or "my Mother", depending on the context.

30/03/2007, 8:44 AM
Ma.That's what I call mine when I'm shouting a question at her. MA!? ;)

30/03/2007, 8:53 AM
I think a lot of people in Cork use mum, when referring to their mother. If I was trying to get her attention though, I'd say ma or mam.

Erstwhile Bóz
30/03/2007, 9:27 AM
I use "Mam" talking to her or about her. So does my brother.

Went through a phase when I was a kid of using "ma" like my mates but soon had that beaten out of me; she can't stand it. My sister calls her "Mum", though, which is weird.

Might be okay for girls ... I'm not sure. My 4-year-old calls her mother "mam".

30/03/2007, 10:22 AM
Mam or ma. Mum is symptomatic of our 'Britishness'. When I was a kid only the very posh used mum, now it seems to be everywhere.

30/03/2007, 10:31 AM
I've heard this britishness thing before, I don't get it. I'm only 34 and we've always called my mother 'mum', and we're hardly posh.

30/03/2007, 10:43 AM
What about calling your teacher mam/mummy/mum when you were in school?

We've all done it!!! Instant ridicule for an undetermined period of time.

30/03/2007, 10:47 AM
Oh jesus, I did that to my art teacher in 2nd or 3rd year in Douglas Comm. Luckily it wasn't in class, but I nearly died! Sorry about that Mrs Daly! :)

Erstwhile Bóz
30/03/2007, 10:59 AM
2nd or 3rd year? :eek: That has to be a record, Daddy.

30/03/2007, 11:16 AM
Late bloomer. :)

30/03/2007, 11:45 AM
I've heard this britishness thing before, I don't get it. I'm only 34 and we've always called my mother 'mum', and we're hardly posh.

Obviously my opinion is based on Dublin. Cork, as ever, is a whole other ball game. ;)

DvB
30/03/2007, 11:52 AM
Always used 'mum' myself, as have both my sisters, even being Dublin born & bred i cant say i ever noticed it being out of place!

Curious as to how people refer to their father, t'was alway 'dad' for us though most of my mates growing up would use 'da'....
or 'mongo' as one of my closer mates refers to his, i kid you not!!

Koh

Over the post
30/03/2007, 11:56 AM
Mine's always been Mum but that's probably because she's English. I don't seem to remember anyone else in rural Limerick using it. In fact I remember one Christian Brother taking the pi$$ out of me in front of the whole class because I didn't say Mammy like a proper Irishman. Of course the bigoted ba$tard was the first to kiss her ar$e at the parent-teacher meetings.

This is turning into a bit of a group therapy thing.

Dislike Mom, like movie, gas (instead of petrol), etc. That's all very well if you're American but we've our own vocabulary thank you very much.

kingdom hoop
30/03/2007, 12:26 PM
Dislike Mom, like movie, gas (instead of petrol), etc. That's all very well if you're American but we've our own vocabulary thank you very much.

must be all the yank tourists to kerry that shaped my vernacular then as i'm an unabashed 'mom' man :) for me, mum is way too posh, private school rubbish.

30/03/2007, 1:29 PM
Obviously my opinion is based on Dublin. Cork, as ever, is a whole other ball game. ;) A whole other country boy, a whole other country!

30/03/2007, 4:02 PM
Whatever about your mother, I call my dad dad, which sounds a bit embarrassing if i'm in the pub or something.
I'm with you on that teacher thing.
Often call my girlf mam (especially if she's in the kitchen).

30/03/2007, 4:16 PM
Ma and Da and i can honestly say i've never ever refered to them as Mam,Mum or Dad respectively

Erstwhile Bóz
30/03/2007, 6:45 PM
i've never ever refered to them as Mam,Mum or Dad respectively
You're very lucky, Anthony; most children only have a Mam and a Dad.

31/03/2007, 11:43 AM
"the mother" :cool:

ive noticed most sligonians say mum while mayo folk say mam....strange one

31/03/2007, 11:49 AM
mum for me, can't believe those sligo ones are copying us fermanagh folk again! :rolleyes: :D

Mam always sounds a bit dub knackerish :eek:

Erstwhile Bóz
31/03/2007, 12:13 PM
Mam always sounds a bit dub knackerish :eek:
Oi!

In Dublin semiotics, "mam" is the upper working-class to middle-lower middle-class word; "ma" is the 'rest-of' working-class word; "mum" is the upper-lower middle-class to lower upper-class word; the PDs refer to their natural parents in the European language du jour.

Monkfish
31/03/2007, 12:36 PM
I bet Mams rashers taste better than Mums bacon!

01/04/2007, 3:30 PM
Ma and Da and i can honestly say i've never ever refered to them as Mam,Mum or Dad respectively

Agreed.

01/04/2007, 4:09 PM
Oi!

In Dublin semiotics, "mam" is the upper working-class to middle-lower middle-class word; "ma" is the 'rest-of' working-class word; "mum" is the upper-lower middle-class to lower upper-class word; the PDs refer to their natural parents in the European language du jour.

heh heh :D

Over the post
02/04/2007, 10:45 AM
Whatever about your mother, I call my dad dad, which sounds a bit embarrassing if i'm in the pub or something.
I'm with you on that teacher thing.
Often call my girlf mam (especially if she's in the kitchen).

Can't thing of any real alternatives to Dad or Da.

As for calling your better half Mam, well, I'm sure Freud would have a lot to say about that :)

02/04/2007, 12:49 PM
As for calling your better half Mam,

Ah I heard its not that unusual at all in Cork! ;)

02/04/2007, 1:03 PM
I call my mother by her name.

I now feel very weird.....

I hate that with a passion.
My little one called me by my name y-day coz she hears mrs. Raptors two call me by it and I gave out to her (which I very rarely have to)

02/04/2007, 5:24 PM
Can't thing of any real alternatives to Dad or Da.

As for calling your better half Mam, well, I'm sure Freud would have a lot to say about that :)

Ah I heard its not that unusual at all in Cork!
Ah ya.
He was dead right.
People say they're like twins.*
Luckily my mam is a fine yoke. :D :p

*not true.

Wolfie
03/04/2007, 2:54 PM
Was always Ma or Mam.

Must be a Dub Northside thing. Any kid referring to Mum or Mummy would have got some stick!!!

03/04/2007, 3:53 PM

hardly posh? you called most of cork "knackerish". fair play for someone with a link to your cork slang dictionary in your signature.