View Full Version : Calling mam, mum

Pages : 1 [2] 3

04/04/2007, 1:55 PM
Mam for me, don't mind mom, can't stand mum

04/04/2007, 10:13 PM
She is my Mum. He is my Dad. But if am talking to someone about them I will say my Mother and my Father.

My kids call me Mum but call their dad by his first name. My eldest went thro a phase calling me by my first name and I didnt mind coz I thought it was good for them to realise that yes I was their mother but I had another identity as a person in the real world too!

05/04/2007, 1:32 PM
Luckily my mam is a fine yoke. :p

She is indeed.:eek: :D

05/04/2007, 1:49 PM
I call her Mammy. Mainly because she hates being called Ma. When referring to her I call her Ma.

Den Perry
06/04/2007, 11:11 PM
Was always Ma or Mam.

Must be a Dub Northside thing. Any kid referring to Mum or Mummy would have got some stick!!!

Mum sounds so ridiculous...the first time I ever heard anyone in this country using the term was my first day in UCD, mainly used by the D4 brigade.But I goy used to it, no harm in it HOWEVER, I've heard that Ray D'arcy clown saying it and it sounds so f ucking stupid. He is from the country so it should be Mam, but no its f ucking Mum with him . He is a f ucking sickner
Its snobby and ridiculous.Its Mam or Ma in our house.

Olander
08/04/2007, 12:13 PM
mom and dad always

Dr.Nightdub
11/04/2007, 10:16 PM
"Mum" for her.

"Da" for him (never "Dad", no idea why).

My Da uses "Yer ma" when he's talking to me about my Mum.

"The folks" when referring to the pair of them. Even my sister-in-law uses that term now but refers to her own as "my parents" - handy for separating the two sets.

"Mummy" is what my wee nieces call their Mum, though they've both been born and reared in the south of England so that's not surprising. Don't ask me where they get "Granpaw" from, though, for referring to either of their Grandas, to the best of my knowledge, neither of my nieces has ever been to Alabama.

11/04/2007, 11:37 PM
Ma and Da appears to be a Dub thing.

On a separate note, I've been known to call my male sibling "our kid".
Doubtlessly a by-product of my mid-late 90s attempt at being Noel Gallagher.:o

12/04/2007, 8:42 AM
Well my brothers have always been known as "our boys" and they call me & my sister "our dolls".

inexile
18/04/2007, 1:00 PM
if im talking to her its mum prob cos she is english, talking to him its dad, talking about them its de mudder and de oul fella

Wolfie
18/04/2007, 1:04 PM
As section 46, sub section 3 of the North Dub school of etiquette states:

When paying someones mother a complement you declare "Yer oul wans a brasser!!" :D

smellyfeet
18/04/2007, 1:17 PM
Ma and Da is what we call them at home.

Ive a young 6 year old and he has always called me and the wife by our first names.

Ive never heard of it anywhere before.

18/04/2007, 1:33 PM
Family guy - stewie "mom" (http://youtube.com/watch?v=aKfnRrCLbho)

ollie
18/04/2007, 2:47 PM
What about calling your teacher mam/mummy/mum when you were in school?

Did it national school.But the teacher was my mother.;)

Mom usually is what i call her.
Old man and old lade(lady) would be what a lot of people would call them in Cork(city) though obviously when only when talking about them and not to them.

smellyfeet
24/04/2007, 10:37 AM
I know a couple who have a young fella of 1 n 1/2. They have him calling them MAMA and PAPA, what the hell is that all about:confused: :o

24/04/2007, 11:07 AM
French surely.

Erstwhile Bóz
24/04/2007, 11:09 AM
Are they, respectively, an extremely fat female singer reputed to have obtained her talent for hitting the high notes after banging her head and a slim, moustachioed singer-songwriter, both deceased? If not, then that's outrageous.

smellyfeet
24/04/2007, 11:13 AM
French surely.

Na, that would be grand if they were French but their Irish and Scotish,
I'll have to ask them what the story is cause its a bit stupid imo, can you imagine the young fella when he's older calling them MAMA and PAPA,he's in for some stick. Then again, my young fella calls me by my first name.

Calcio Jack
24/04/2007, 12:22 PM
I always refered to her as Ma.....

as Dylan said on his theme talk radio show recently ".... a Mother is the only person that can have nine children and love them all equally.." for me that summed up what my Ma and your mum, Old dear, Mam,Old lady, Old Wan stands for and never forget it as you'll miss her when she's gone

onenilgameover
24/04/2007, 9:31 PM
Mums not the word

Cymro
26/04/2007, 2:54 PM
The reason why they probably say 'mam' in the North of England is because 'mam' is an old Celtic word that has survived into modern Welsh and Cornish as well as in regional dialects across England.

Just to shed some light on it for you lot. ;)

I have no idea why they use 'mom' in the US, though.

Erstwhile Bóz
26/04/2007, 3:24 PM
"Mam(a)" is almost universal in Indo-European languages, though. The suckingesque "mama" seems to be the sound an Indo-European human kid will automatically make, all other things being equal, when it's feeding time and it wants its mother to 'present'. Hence mamma, 'breast', and all that cognate jazz.

26/04/2007, 5:22 PM
"Mam(a)" is almost universal in Indo-European languages, though. The suckingesque "mama" seems to be the sound an Indo-European human kid will automatically make, all other things being equal, when it's feeding time and it wants its mother to 'present'. Hence mamma, 'breast', and all that cognate jazz.
Good chat up line there for certain parts of the southern US and all that cognate banjo playin' like.

BobtheDrog
26/04/2007, 7:33 PM
always been mum for me

26/04/2007, 8:27 PM
This is similar to the cake thread last year.

Always been Mum. I don't think she would answer to mam. Always felt it a common. Mam seems to be urban or very rural. Its possible Mum is middle class.

27/04/2007, 11:10 AM
Its possible Mum is for people who think they are/want to be middle class

Erstwhile Bóz
27/04/2007, 11:50 AM
Its possible Mum is for people who think they are/want to be middle class
Perhaps. Lots of bona fide middle-class people call their mams "mum", though. And no hip youngster, if his finger is to be on the pulse, wants to be middle class or falsely portrays himself so to be in this day and age; the middle class is the pariah majority (and "mum" be its shibboleth).

Anyway, it's mad to think that people would try to pretend to be middle class (if theyr'e not) when they're talking to their own mothers. (Not that I would put it past them, most people being strange feckers.) How far can you climb, socially, in your mam's house, like?

27/04/2007, 12:19 PM
Ma if I'm talking to her. Mam or Aulwan if I'm talking about her

The equivalents for the aulfella too.

Little Miss Dodge calls hers Mum. She's working class from Inchicore so its not a class thing (Her mam is from Wicklow...)

RogerMilla
27/04/2007, 1:36 PM
always been mam for me , that what she called her mam ( RIP )
if i called her anything else she would be shocked i reckon !

27/04/2007, 2:15 PM
Anyway, it's mad to think that people would try to pretend to be middle class (if theyr'e not) when they're talking to their own mothers. (Not that I would put it past them, most people being strange feckers.) How far can you climb, socially, in your mam's house, like?

naivety, perhaps, on your part I mean? It is not a question of one trying to be elitist to his/her mother, but the mother that dictates her beliefs onto son. Think about it.

Little Miss Dodge calls hers Mum. She's working class from Inchicore so its not a class thing (Her mam is from Wicklow...)

one sperm is not produced on its own.

27/04/2007, 2:34 PM
Her Dad's from Crumlin (as if it mattered)

27/04/2007, 2:35 PM
not my point.

27/04/2007, 2:40 PM
You had a point!?!?!?

27/04/2007, 3:04 PM
(Her mam is from Wicklow...)
Wicklow townies tend to say Maaam or Maaamy.

27/04/2007, 3:15 PM
Her mam isn't a townie... (and thats already too much info)

27/04/2007, 3:16 PM
Dodge, wow if your child says mum, an exception to every rule ( probably just like yourself ;) or do you get that ?!?! :D ), that was my point. why does everything have to be spelt out for you?

27/04/2007, 3:20 PM
Where did I say I had a child? You making stuff up again? Little Miss Dodge = the girlfriend

stann
27/04/2007, 3:26 PM
This is similar to the cake thread last year.

No, cos that had a definitive answer, whichever of the two you are referring to.
Jaffa Cakes are cakes, and it's Rice Krispie Buns! This is subjective.

Mam, sometimes mum, occasionally ma (which she don't like too much).

Never mom, hate seeing that creeping in here, 'tis but a short step from 'mom' to 'go-to guy in the clutch' and don't say ye weren't warned when that happens.

crc
27/04/2007, 3:39 PM
Well,

I can't bring myself to address my parents directly. I don't call either of them Mam/Mum/Mummy or Dad/Daddy/Da to their faces. If I had to call for them in another room I tend not to, preferring to walk to the room they are in and ask them straight. I think I used to say Mummy and Daddy when I was a kid, but once I stopped using those terms (because I felt them to sound too childish) I never migrated to different words. Its a bit strange and does feel awkward sometimes.

If I had to refer to them in the 3rd person (to the other parent, or to my sisters) I would say "daddy" to my mother, but generally try to avoid the situation when talking to my dad (although "mommy" has crept out on occasion). Talking about them in the 3rd person to other people I would say "my mum" and "my dad". When back in Derry it can slide to "me moller" and "me faller" :p

My (teenage) little sister says "mommy" all the time (no, we're not American), whereas my other sister always says "mum"; both say "daddy". They don't suffer the same qualms as I do. :o

Erstwhile Bóz
27/04/2007, 3:52 PM
naivety, perhaps, on your part I mean? It is not a question of one trying to be elitist to his/her mother, but the mother that dictates her beliefs onto son. Think about it.

No, I meant they do but to think about them doing it gives me a "mad" feeling.;)

Regards "mom", I know two people who say that and they're from the Aran Islands and the Kerry Gaeltacht respectively. And the poster from the Cork Gaeltacht said it's what he calls his old dear, too. Curious. An imirce is cúis leis, b'fhéidir.

29/04/2007, 6:35 PM
My Dad I call Dad or sometimes I call him Kevin.

Any particular reason ?:D

30/04/2007, 10:05 AM
Where did I say I had a child? You making stuff up again? Little Miss Dodge = the girlfriend

d'oh!!! i didnt think you had but after a liquid lunch on friday, for some reason i assumed lilttle miss dodge meant you had a baby girl!!! :D

but the making stuff up bit, whats that about? i never made anything up before.....

30/04/2007, 10:16 AM

most of your arguments seem made up ;)

30/04/2007, 12:19 PM
I heard my youngest son call his Dad "daddy" for the first time in 7 yrs yesterday! He always calls him by his name.

Over the post
30/04/2007, 5:09 PM
I heard my youngest son call his Dad "daddy" for the first time in 7 yrs yesterday! He always calls him by his name.

I'm confused. Are you referring to yourself in the third person? :confused:

30/04/2007, 5:13 PM
I'm confused. Are you referring to yourself in the third person? :confused:
AFAIK, Magicme is a woman.

Over the post
30/04/2007, 5:15 PM
AFAIK, Magicme is a woman.

That'd explain it alright. Damn male chauvinist mindset!

01/05/2007, 8:08 AM
*kicks over the post for his gaff*

I am the mum in the house!

01/05/2007, 8:19 AM
*kicks over the post for his gaff*

I am the mum in the house!

Whats foot.ie coming to ... BohsPartisan thinking I'm
a girl and Over the post thinking your a fella. :confused:

01/05/2007, 8:31 AM
ash you are a bit of a girl really though arent ye?!