View Full Version : Setanta Cup - The Verdict

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Graemerz
28/03/2007, 2:01 PM
Just back-tracked a bit in this thread...

Will the winner of Eircom Division One play the winners of the Eircom League Cup for a Setanta spot? :o

Krstic
28/03/2007, 2:09 PM
Just back-tracked a bit in this thread...

Will the winner of Eircom Division One play the winners of the Eircom League Cup for a Setanta spot? :o

Yes, they're hoping to get a team in there that Portadown could beat.:eek:

mickdlk
28/03/2007, 2:20 PM
One - Due to security needs you wouldn't fit 10,000 into Oriel Park for the visit of Linfield FC.

Two - It is not 1979 anymore. Two days before the European Cup game in 1979 the IRA killed 18 British soliers in Warrenpoint and Lorn Mountbatten in Sligo. The tension at the game was unbelieveable. A game between the two clubs today, with proper security of course, wouldn't have anything like this level of hostility in the air.

Three - I do agree however that I don't think it is too far beyond the imagination to feel that we can win this division and a playoff against the League Cup winner. Setanta 2008 bring it on. :cool: :) ;)

If we qualify and hopefully we do, and draw Linfield I can guarantee their will be trouble at both games. you think were going to go to Windsor and not get trouble and same the other way.
It wont be supporters of both teams, it will be the thugs in both areas who will see it as a chance to fight, throw stones etc... same as it was outside Tolka on Friday night

Graemerz
28/03/2007, 2:35 PM
If we qualify and hopefully we do, and draw Linfield I can guarantee their will be trouble at both games. you think were going to go to Windsor and not get trouble and same the other way.
It wont be supporters of both teams, it will be the thugs in both areas who will see it as a chance to fight, throw stones etc... same as it was outside Tolka on Friday night

There is never that much trouble at Windsor...

Graemerz
28/03/2007, 2:38 PM
Yes, they're hoping to get a team in there that Portadown could beat.:eek:

No way would our First Division Champions beat the CIS winners (Glentoran). Our First Division Champions would struggle to beat the relegated Premier side, never mind Glentoran. :o

28/03/2007, 2:42 PM
It wont be supporters of both teams, it will be the thugs in both areas who will see it as a chance to fight, throw stones etc... same as it was outside Tolka on Friday nightDerry City have managed to go to Windsor twice and Linfield come to the Brandywell twice without any trouble inside the ground and likewise they have travelled to Tolka and Drogheda a few times.

Some of the songs they sing in Windsor are fairly disagreeable but in terms of security its the best ground North or South bar none. They've had plenty of practice perfecting it!

Graemerz
28/03/2007, 2:49 PM
Derry City have managed to go to Windsor twice and Linfield come to the Brandywell twice without any trouble inside the ground and likewise they have travelled to Tolka and Drogheda a few times.

Some of the songs they sing in Windsor are fairly disagreeable but in terms of security its the best ground North or South bar none. They've had plenty of practice perfecting it!

And um... Longford, we went there.... That was a crazy camel-ride journey into the unknown. :D

28/03/2007, 2:56 PM
I understand that to be honest.
Its not such an issue for Derry fans to see a unionist.

CCFC fans themselves have had great experiences at all times with all opposing fans (bar one night at United Park) and all would love to see Linfield at the Cross.
However, I fear every stupid bigotted 14 year old Wolfe Tones fan in the City would turn up and along with a few 30yo alco sell-thick fans, there could be hassle.
Wasn't there minor incidents at Shels v Linfield?

Graemerz
28/03/2007, 3:24 PM

CCFC fans themselves have had great experiences at all times with all opposing fans (bar one night at United Park) and all would love to see Linfield at the Cross.
However, I fear every stupid bigotted 14 year old Wolfe Tones fan in the City would turn up and along with a few 30yo alco sell-thick fans, there could be hassle.

I never witnessed any but heard there was a few...

SwiftsSupporter
28/03/2007, 4:19 PM
Good luck to ye then:ball:

Have to say, I've enjoyed watching Swifts in the Setanta the last couple of seasons - i hope you can qualify again, and then aim to go further next time.

Thanks.

Boh_So_Good
28/03/2007, 10:32 PM
The Setanta Sports Cup is great - if the IL clubs are rubbish that's their problem and not the fault of the comp.

To suggest the competition should be pulled on these ground makes little sense to me. Did LOI club ask for the UEFA Cup be canceled because our teams got hammered in the past.

Did the GAA demand that the International Rules Series be canceled just because the bogballer's were not quite the incredible athletes and "top sportsmen" the Lucocade ads claims they are...oh wait, that's just what happened. Sorry, scrap that last example.

29/03/2007, 12:01 AM

'Welcome to Dundalk - Twinned with 1972......'

29/03/2007, 12:03 AM
The Setanta Sports Cup is great - if the IL clubs are rubbish that's their problem and not the fault of the comp.

To suggest the competition should be pulled on these ground makes little sense to me. Did LOI club ask for the UEFA Cup be canceled because our teams got hammered in the past.

Did the GAA demand that the International Rules Series be canceled just because the bogballer's were not quite the incredible athletes and "top sportsmen" the Lucocade ads claims they are...oh wait, that's just what happened. Sorry, scrap that last example.

Who's suggested the Setanta Sports Cup should be pulled......?? :confused:

MyTown
29/03/2007, 9:29 AM
Slightly off topic but some of the Setanta guys are smart cookies. They showed the Poland games live on Saturday & last night. Despite a disasterous world cup, the Poles are top of their Euro2008 group and with 100k citizens in the Republic alone, Setanta had done their homework.

Back on topic, as posted before, I hope they continue to support the "domestic" game. They've got Drogs v Derry live tomorrow night. Let them know if you're watching it.

Louth4sam
29/03/2007, 9:41 AM

Yeah thats why the Linfield fans had to take a 1 hour detour as they couldnt drive through parts of Derry :rolleyes:

Looks like Derry may be twinned with the 70s too!

29/03/2007, 9:46 AM

Are they mad, in a coma, or back in time? Whatever's happened, it's like they've landed on a different planet. Now, maybe if Maxi can work out the reason, they can get home...

David
29/03/2007, 11:09 AM
Yeah thats why the Linfield fans had to take a 1 hour detour as they couldnt drive through parts of Derry :rolleyes:

Noting to do with Derry fans though. The guy saying there would be trouble between Linfield and Dundalk is way off the mark.

ndrog
29/03/2007, 11:17 AM

thats funny ! how come there is a huge thread over on irishleauge forums about cork being hostile towards portadown supporters .We just had glentoran and linfield in our local before the games .No trouble whatsoever .Fantastic time had by all .For proof go over to there forums .The only trouble weve had in there in recent times was cork city fans singing really offensive songs looking for trouble .

Louth4sam
29/03/2007, 11:24 AM
I know it had nothing to do with Derry fans but still sad state of affairs when its not safe to drive through some parts of a city. I was just responing to dcfcsteve's comment that dundalk was stuck in the 70s and was demonstrating that his City has huge problems still. I also believe that if trouble where to happen between Dundalk and Linfield it would have nothing to do with fans on other side and would be more likely to happen in Dundalk rather then Belfast. Linfield are used to hosting matches with the potential for trouble and the PSNI are used to dealing with potential flash points. Dundalk Fc are not and the local Gardai are crap. Also a chance local scumbags, Celtic supporters clubs, could turn up just to cause trouble

David
29/03/2007, 11:33 AM
I know it had nothing to do with Derry fans but still sad state of affairs when its not safe to drive through some parts of a city. I was just responing to dcfcsteve's comment that dundalk was stuck in the 70s and was demonstrating that his City has huge problems still. I also believe that if trouble where to happen between Dundalk and Linfield it would have nothing to do with fans on other side and would be more likely to happen in Dundalk rather then Belfast. Linfield are used to hosting matches with the potential for trouble and the PSNI are used to dealing with potential flash points. Dundalk Fc are not and the local Gardai are crap. Also a chance local scumbags, Celtic supporters clubs, could turn up just to cause trouble

Fair point. As others can confirm, if you come to Windsor there is no need to go into a residential area so would be no problems.

29/03/2007, 11:40 AM
Noting to do with Derry fans though. The guy saying there would be trouble between Linfield and Dundalk is way off the mark.

Most clubs have had trouble in Dundalk, can't see them making an exception for Linfield

29/03/2007, 11:59 AM
thats funny ! how come there is a huge thread over on irishleauge forums about cork being hostile towards portadown supporters .We just had glentoran and linfield in our local before the games .No trouble whatsoever .Fantastic time had by all .For proof go over to there forums .The only trouble weve had in there in recent times was cork city fans singing really offensive songs looking for trouble .

Did you actually read the thread properly? Or the post. there were NO offensive songs and no trouble.the only problem was overzealous idiot stewards which treat us as badly as them. Not the fans :rolleyes:

And Risteard was simply stating a fact. The only two places iv witnessed trouble is Drogheda-where the bus we were on got stoned and Bohs where some little scuts tried to pick fights with women and children. Nothing huge or major in either case but both happened.

Every club havs its little scumbags.

Louth4sam
29/03/2007, 1:00 PM
Most clubs have had trouble in Dundalk, can't see them making an exception for Linfield

Probably true but what big club hasnt had problems with trouble of some type or another. Most of the problems of the past with Dundalk were due to no seggragation and very poor security/stewarding. Although the stewarding still isnt at level to stop everything it has improved greatly and when playing clubs with a potential of trouble occouring the fans are now seggragated. Dundalk along with most LOI clubs still have a long way to go to provide football with minimal chance of trouble.

29/03/2007, 2:15 PM
thats funny ! how come there is a huge thread over on irishleauge forums about cork being hostile towards portadown supporters?
Drogheda fans.
Seriously, nearly all the Drog fans on that site are very silly.

For proof go over to there forums .
No.
Instead of spending time on those stupid (Bohs-Rovers-esque) internet wrangles, I'm going to put time into a nice cup of tea and come back here and post on something else.

29/03/2007, 3:05 PM

I think you'll find Linfield fans had no such issues at all getting to and from the Brandywell on Monday night. Typical Dundalk attitude - stuck in the past....

And there wasn't a single person proclaiming there'd be ANY trouble between Linfield and Derry fans - let alone personally guaranteeing it, like Mickdlk on here has re Dundalk.

Even the Shinners are down with the PSNI these days. Time to move on lads...

29/03/2007, 4:39 PM
And there wasn't a single person proclaiming there'd be ANY trouble between Linfield and Derry fans - let alone personally guaranteeing it, like Mickdlk on here has re Dundalk...

In fairness Steve, the view of one fan (Mickdlk) shouldn't be taken as the view of all fans. I'm quite sure that with the appropriate level of segregation and security a Dundalk vs. Linfield match would pass of without incident.

kdjaC
29/03/2007, 6:38 PM
. I'm quite sure that with the appropriate level of segregation and security a Anyone vs. Anyone match would pass of without incident.

This is ireland, so unlikley.

kdjac

kdjaC
29/03/2007, 8:27 PM
heres what the setanta had thrown up and what real football fans are about in the competition

http://www.irishfootienetwork.com/viewtopic.php?t=6984

to hell with the little scumbags that cause trouble.too much danny dyer is their problem

Please enter your username and password to log in.

Cut and paste?

kdjac

Celdrog
30/03/2007, 12:30 AM
Bus will be laid on for you to pick you up at Central Station in Belfast. I see that your train is due in around 1535. Bus will take you to Mountainview Tavern on the Shankill Road. Food will be provided and a bus will be laid on to take you over to Windsor for the game. There will be no cost to you. Looking forward to seeing you all on Monday and returning the excellent hospitality we received in February. Also hoping for 3 points by the way to ensure we top the group.
David talking about Drogs fans going to the Shankill road on Monday and the hospitality they will receive

30/03/2007, 12:59 AM
Who cares?

Celdrog
30/03/2007, 1:51 AM
Who cares?
I take it the tea wasn't nice so. Was the milk sour or did you let it go stewed before you took the teabag out?

30/03/2007, 2:43 AM
Shouldn't have left it 10 hours to start drinking.:D

30/03/2007, 7:11 AM
The patronising nonsense from Derry City fans in particular is annoying. Why criticise Linfield for wanting to do what most other clubs do ie play in the league of their own country? Yes I would like an AIL if the conditions are right but Linfield wanting to stay in their own league surely has to be respected.

I have no issue with clubs wishing to remain within their jurisdictions. I also happen to think Cardiff, Swansea etc should be in the League of Wales as they would be in Europe every year.

The only way an AIL would work or even happen would be as an IFA/FAI jointly run venture. Plus as a cross border venture it could generate revenues flowing into the island as a whole since the advent of the Peace Process .

Ceirtlis
30/03/2007, 1:55 PM
I also happen to think Cardiff, Swansea etc should be in the League of Wales as they would be in Europe every year.

You must be joking. Playing all year against teams that get an average attendance of 250 just for a few games in the Uefa Cup?

bigmac
30/03/2007, 2:40 PM
You must be joking. Playing all year against teams that get an average attendance of 250 just for a few games in the Uefa Cup?

I agree - I think the disparity in standards between the League of Wales and the English League is much larger than that between the EL and IL (if of course, there is such a thing - can we avoid having that argument again?).
On the other hand, if they all played in Wales, maybe the standard would be higher.

30/03/2007, 5:41 PM
The patronising nonsense from Derry City fans in particular is annoying. Why criticise Linfield for wanting to do what most other clubs do ie play in the league of their own country? Yes I would like an AIL if the conditions are right but Linfield wanting to stay in their own league surely has to be respected.

Patronising nonsense my arse.

If you want to stay solely in the Irish League due to political/national sentiment, then as I've stated before on here no one can really have an issue with that. Given the weakness of the Irish League I would find such an attitude disappointing, but it's still Linfield's decision to take and I respect that.

But if that is the reason then just say it. The real source of patronising nonesense on this issue is the smokescreen of claims from Linfield that their opposition to an AIL is more about issues like European qualification etc.

If your club admitted that it's for reasons - and valid ones - of national and political sentiment, then you'll find the patronising responses melt away.

Cymro
30/03/2007, 7:17 PM
I agree - I think the disparity in standards between the League of Wales and the English League is much larger than that between the EL and IL (if of course, there is such a thing - can we avoid having that argument again?).
On the other hand, if they all played in Wales, maybe the standard would be higher.

The English league is fully professional and run on much bigger crowds (example: average gates in League Two alone are about 3-4,000 compared to a few hundred in the Welsh Premier) so you would certainly expect that to be the case. However, clubs in the Welsh Premier do well considering their attendances and budgets. The top sides would definitely be OK in the Conference from what I've seen and clubs there average crowds of well over a thousand.

As a Swansea fan I honestly would not want to see Swansea playing in the Welsh Premier right now-nothing against it in principle but the gap in standards and perhaps more importantly grounds and attendances is just too steep a drop at the moment. I would like to see in the future it if it was viable though. At present we are not allowed to play in Europe and it seems the only way that will change is if we join the Welsh Premier. Hopefully the current clubs will do well in Europe and maybe we'll see an improvement.

PS: Interesting point about an All-Ireland league: Have UEFA said anything about such a possibilty? And have they given it their blessing? If they have and teams in that will qualify for Europe as normal then I don't see any reason why UEFA should keep their ban on Welsh clubs playing in the English system.......

AnnaghRed
30/03/2007, 10:16 PM
Patronising nonsense my arse......the weakness of the Irish League

Anyone would be forgiven for thinking you set the Irish League alight during your tenure, but the statistics show that in 50 odd seasons competing in our - "glorified pub league" - you managed 1 [one] league title.

30/03/2007, 10:31 PM
Anyone would be forgiven for thinking you set the Irish League alight during your tenure, but the statistics show that in 50 odd seasons competing in our - "glorified pub league" - you managed 1 [one] league title.

Your right our one title pales in comparison to Portadowns whopping four.

kdjaC
30/03/2007, 10:45 PM

by 3.

kdjac

30/03/2007, 10:54 PM
by 3.

kdjac

Thanks Ms Vorderman, was havin' trouble with that one.

kdjaC
30/03/2007, 11:06 PM
Thanks Ms Vorderman, was havin' trouble with that one.

np anytime.

kdjac

Erstwhile Bóz
30/03/2007, 11:24 PM
by 3.

:lol:

BleusAvantTout
31/03/2007, 12:09 AM

It sure ensures you are forever in our shadow!!!!! :cool: :D

DCFC aha aha aha!!!!

All this political claptrap about Linfield wanting to stay in their home country league! People in glass houses should............................................ .................................................. .................................................. ..........................!:rolleyes:

AnnaghRed
31/03/2007, 1:31 AM

Did you go to skool in Lurgan?

31/03/2007, 1:51 AM

Errrr - hello !!! This is 2007, not 1973. Keep up....... :rolleyes:

31/03/2007, 1:53 AM
All this political claptrap about Linfield wanting to stay in their home country league! People in glass houses should............................................ .................................................. .................................................. ..........................!:rolleyes:

People in glass houses should what ? Move to a different league where they would get treated a bit better...? :confused:

Oh wait..... !!!!!

31/03/2007, 2:01 AM

Not to mention the fact that all 4 of Portadown's title wins came after City had left the Irish League - so we'd a much better record than them when we were in there. Doubtless we helped prolong their minnow status.

And they've had 23 years more than us to try to create that 3 title gap. It still took them until 1990 to win a league title - and that was their first title of any real substance..... :o

Gutted that as City fans we'll never know what it feels like to get shredded 7:0 by the Langers. That's one achievment the Ports can be sure they'll always hold over us.....

higgins
31/03/2007, 2:14 AM
Ireland, Northern Ireland, Wales, Scotland.

Not all teams have to enter at the same stage ?
Maybe we could add in the Scottish teams later and the Welsh teams ealier?

Home and Away knockout start with 4 N Ireland and 4 Welsh teams. Then add in the 4 EL teams and then add in the 4 Scottish teams. Have it based on the UEFA Country Ranking as to who comes in at what stage.

I do think there should be more teams added or not as many from the North if the 5-0, 7-0's are going to continue. Thats going to quickly drive the fans away.

Maybe there should be some form of seeding for this?

Or a 1 to 6 in the North play a 1 to 6 in the south.
1v6, 2v5 etc

6 winners play a league, top two in the final.
Might run the risk of 6 teams from the one country that way I suppose!

4v4 is not working too well. Linfield are the only ones to give it a real go.

David
31/03/2007, 2:24 AM
Patronising nonsense my arse.

If you want to stay solely in the Irish League due to political/national sentiment, then as I've stated before on here no one can really have an issue with that. Given the weakness of the Irish League I would find such an attitude disappointing, but it's still Linfield's decision to take and I respect that.

But if that is the reason then just say it. The real source of patronising nonesense on this issue is the smokescreen of claims from Linfield that their opposition to an AIL is more about issues like European qualification etc.

If your club admitted that it's for reasons - and valid ones - of national and political sentiment, then you'll find the patronising responses melt away.

Maybe I missed it but when have Linfield FC made any public statement on this. As far as I am aware David Jeffrey has but David remember is an employee of the club. I may be wrong but I do not the club publicly giving any reason on this, nor do they have to. If and when the decision has to be made then it will be up to Linfield to make that decision based on what is right for Linfield FC.