View Full Version : What was the story with flags on saturday
I tried to hang my 3 but some Gaa steward stopped me said there was no flags allowed despite the welsh end being covered in them.
26/03/2007, 1:23 PM
They did not want it blocking the sponsors. They feel they have paid good money and dont want it to be bloacked by Irish flags. make of that what you will.
I know that but I wasnt covering any signs.I have been all over the world and it was the 1st time I couldnt hang my flags.
26/03/2007, 1:35 PM
Yeah that was wrong so. Some guys got to get theres up, not sure how they did, They should have put a loads of them behind the goal also.
Countyman
26/03/2007, 1:37 PM
It wasn't the same without all our tricolours and definately detracted from the spectacle. Also it could be the fact the seats under the various tiers are quite close to the roof so any flag draped over the edges would probably block the views underneath. No problem if it blocked the premium levels IMHO.
well why not let us hang them down the canal end on the ground or empty seats?
Due to a combination of circumstances I only got into the ground (Lower Davin Section 319) at 3.00 pm. I had no time to hang up the Foot.ie flag but managed to unfurl it twice and go over the fans back to the top of the fans. (just before the match started and as the teams came out at for the second half).
Many of the "fans" had no idea what was happening but I did a reccie after the match and would be hopeful that it will be hanging (or placed) somewhere at that end on Wednesday (dont want to give details in case it's copped :confused: )
The lack of the traditional flags hanging was another contributory factor to the lack of atmosphere :( and is something that should be brought to the attention of the FAI. I had actually contacted them about this before the match but (surprise surprise) I'm still waiting for a response.
andrew1977
26/03/2007, 2:13 PM
What pity a lot more couldnt get their flags hung up...
How did the idiot with the tricolour with CHELSEA daubed on it manage to get that up, on the davin stand towards the cusasck side.
Someone should have ripped it down.
26/03/2007, 2:14 PM
The FAI had to take the gaaah stewards as part of the deal. Do they have flags and banners at GAA matches?
dont know Gary but i had 3 and ill i saw hanging was about 10 when there is usually tons of them.
casso36
26/03/2007, 2:25 PM
The FAI had to take the gaaah stewards as part of the deal. Do they have flags and banners at GAA matches?
Every ****er and their Aunty has a flag at GAA games and clearly wave it in front of them during the games and block people from viewing the full game. And you can't say anything to them because the don't understand english all these country folk!!!:D :D ;)
And thats a joke before you all start!!!
26/03/2007, 2:33 PM
The most common one I see in my frequent attendance at and/or tuning into GAA ;) is a chequered effort with the country colours. These are usually on flagpoles of some sort though (pikes?!?!? ....pitchforks?!?! ...Plough-shares maybe?!?!)
How did the idiot with the tricolour with CHELSEA daubed on it manage to get that up, on the davin stand towards the cusasck side.
Someone should have ripped it down.
Several posters in a few threads have torn into this individual. I'm not sure I see why.
If he's just some switcher from say Dublin, Limerick or Cork who hid his black and gold Cantona shirt in the bottom of an Oxfam donation bag when Abramovich arrived ...well then he's just a tosser and is to be pitied more than despised.
But if he's an actual Chelsea supporter who treks over to Dublin for the games ...well boola fcukin bás to him as far as I'm concerned.
well why not let us hang them down the canal end on the ground or empty seats?
Watch that space :eek: :confused: ;)
I'll avoid stereotyping:
Flags at GAA matches are, usually, waved after every score. Obviously this isn't the way at footie matches. Seems the differences weren't ironed out with Croke Park/stewards beforehand.
26/03/2007, 3:23 PM
I'll avoid stereotyping:
Flags at GAA matches are, usually, waved after every score. Obviously this isn't the way at footie matches. Seems the differences weren't ironed out with Croke Park/stewards beforehand.
So obviously flags on a stick are OK then but you won't get the big ones in with UEFA rules. Presumably they don't have banners at games then as there should have been no issue hanging banners on saturday once they didn't block hoardings. It is normally flags on a stick at rugby too.
26/03/2007, 3:32 PM
Several posters in a few threads have torn into this individual. I'm not sure I see why.
If he's just some switcher from say Dublin, Limerick or Cork who hid his black and gold Cantona shirt in the bottom of an Oxfam donation bag when Abramovich arrived ...well then he's just a tosser and is to be pitied more than despised.
But if he's an actual Chelsea supporter who treks over to Dublin for the games ...well boola fcukin bás to him as far as I'm concerned.
Not sure which is worse. You suggest the first for the obvious stupidity involved but the second is just as weird to me. Good luck to him if he likes Chelsea but putting the name of something he likes on a tricolour and bringing it to an Ireland game is pointless. What next, people waving Ireland flags with
TAKE THAT!,
THE SOPRANOS
or
CHINESE FOOD
written on them :confused:
26/03/2007, 3:33 PM
boola fcukin bás to him as far as I'm concerned.
On closer inspection, I can see that you wished DEATH upon the Chelsea fan :eek:
A bit harsh, but on reflection, probably a fair comment. :)
highlight100
26/03/2007, 5:28 PM
For Wednesday,try getting some of the flags on the big wide bit behind the goals lads.
loscherland
26/03/2007, 5:32 PM
Not sure which is worse. You suggest the first for the obvious stupidity involved but the second is just as weird to me. Good luck to him if he likes Chelsea but putting the name of something he likes on a tricolour and bringing it to an Ireland game is pointless. What next, people waving Ireland flags with
TAKE THAT!,
THE SOPRANOS
or
CHINESE FOOD
Brilliant!!! :D
... I think i might actually do that for Wednesday... (Chinese Food)
Also, what if you wrote "Guinness" on an Ireland flag - Would they let you hang it over the Guinness advertising boards!!?????
26/03/2007, 9:33 PM
loscherland LOL give it a go and see
WexDec
26/03/2007, 9:34 PM
So obviously flags on a stick are OK then but you won't get the big ones in with UEFA rules. Presumably they don't have banners at games then as there should have been no issue hanging banners on saturday once they didn't block hoardings. It is normally flags on a stick at rugby too.
There was a drum full of bamboo sticks on the checkpoint outside Cusack. I took this to mean that all sticks were removed from flags ?
A mate of mine who had a camera bag suggested when saw nothing was searched to fill it with cans for Wednesday.........good thinking !
26/03/2007, 9:49 PM
where i was sitting a lad was drinking a can of bulmers....i have a plan too!
also there were some funny coloured coke bottles!
26/03/2007, 9:55 PM
...How did the idiot with the tricolour with CHELSEA daubed on it manage to get that up, on the davin stand towards the cusasck side. Someone should have ripped it down.
Was that any worse than the big tricolour draped along the very last section of the Lower Cusack at the Hill end that had CELTIC on it?
WexDec
26/03/2007, 10:07 PM
where i was sitting a lad was drinking a can of bulmers....i have a plan too!
also there were some funny coloured coke bottles!
As long as its only cans, they won't be smashed on anybody's head ! Wouldn't mind sneaking in an auld lsix pack of large cans between the 3 of us, a can a half ;) Respectable but bridging the gap between the pre and post match drinks. The friendly matches in LR with the terraces where great for that as couldn't see in if were standing anywhere in the middle. A spiked bottle of coke may be the way to go though, will sort myself out in town before walking out.
27/03/2007, 3:23 PM
Was that any worse than the big tricolour draped along the very last section of the Lower Cusack at the Hill end that had CELTIC on it?
Are you serious? What would the reaction be if someone had rangers on the tricolour?
All this talk about "someone should have ripped it down". Well why didnt you?
Apparently the guy is from london but obviously not the full schilling as he doesnt realise how offensive his flag despite numerous posts about it. Why he doesnt just put London Irish or something on it beats me. He knows well the treatment he'd get if he hung that in the bridge.
That flag wont last long.
andrew1977
27/03/2007, 4:17 PM
I would have needed to have been been stretch armstrong to reach that flag ..I was in the Hogan stand towards hill 16 !!:)
27/03/2007, 8:43 PM
Are you serious? What would the reaction be if someone had rangers on the tricolour?
Apparently the guy is from london but obviously not the full schilling as he doesnt realise how offensive his flag despite numerous posts about it. Why he doesnt just put London Irish or something on it beats me. He knows well the treatment he'd get if he hung that in the bridge.
That flag wont last long.
I find an Irish flag with the name of any British or non-Irish club team plastered on it equally offensive whether it is Chelsea, Rangers, Celtic or Man.Utd. or anyone else and would argue that none of them have any place at an Ireland game. What has allegiance for any British club got to do with supporting Ireland?
In respect of 'that flag' not lasting long, well in this campaign so far it has been on display in Stuttgart, Cyprus, San Marino, Lansdowne Road and now Croke Park, so whoever owns it is certainly either keen on watching Ireland or causing offence!
28/03/2007, 10:41 AM
Any news on where we can hang our flags tonight there were more welsh than irish flags in croker last saturday surelysomeone in the FAI has some cop on and will let all the flags up tonight.
28/03/2007, 11:18 AM
I would have needed to have been been stretch armstrong to reach that flag ..I was in the Hogan stand towards hill 16 !!:)
I have faith in you!
reder
28/03/2007, 12:02 PM
So we have celtic, the now regular Chelsea flag, Tranmere was in the Davin upper and Liverpool was at the end of the Cusack (stand to the right of the Davin lower as you face the pitch).
Huh, thankfully the PL/SPL fans made the effort to add some colour. Didnt see one EL banner anywhere all day!!
28/03/2007, 1:28 PM
TAKE THAT!,
THE SOPRANOS
or
CHINESE FOOD
...why not? There's enough with the names of pubs, sandwich bars and nightclubs on them. Frankly I find the idea of having the name of a nightclub (I love nightclubs by the way) on a flag far more vulgar and cynical than that of a location which coincidently happens to be the name of an EPL football team.
Why stop at CHINESE FOOD? Why not get performance arty, philosophical and existential ...you could have one that says FLAG or MESSAGE or WORD ...or you could collaborate with others to spell out a dirty word right across croker.
On closer inspection, I can see that you wished DEATH upon the Chelsea fan
A bit harsh, but on reflection, probably a fair comment.
Touché!;)
Now there's a reasonable question. In my opinion ...No.
Hypothetically -If there was one that had say LEEDS IRISH ON TOUR would anyone have a problem with it? Or a Coventry one that had SKY BLUE AND GREEN? I'd hope not but suspect there might be a few who would.
But if it's just Wifey McBeatys Genuine Irish Pub, Amsterdam that's grand.
In respect of 'that flag' not lasting long, well in this campaign so far it has been on display in Stuttgart, Cyprus, San Marino, Lansdowne Road and now Croke Park, so whoever owns it is certainly either keen on watching Ireland or causing offence! Well said.
Let the man fly his flag I say ...as if ye could do something about it without being bigger jackasses anyway.:rolleyes:
28/03/2007, 1:40 PM
[QUOTE=Lionel Ritchie;654729
Let the man fly his flag I say ...as if ye could do something about it without being bigger jackasses anyway.:rolleyes:[/QUOTE]
If you or anyone else here cant see how stupid it is to have a club who have supporters who hate all things Irish printed on a tricolour then you should leave it at that.
There's no bigger jackass than anyone who puts an english club on a tricolour.
28/03/2007, 3:19 PM
If you or anyone else here cant see how stupid it is to have a club who have supporters who hate all things Irish printed on a tricolour then you should leave it at that.
That's a ridiculous catch-all argument NYH.
That Chelsea have an odious element in their support is not at question ...but nor is it materially relevant as virtually all clubs have similar troglodyte elements in their support bases. This individual Chelsea supporter and/or resident obviously doesn't "hate all things Irish".
There's no bigger jackass than anyone who puts an english club on a tricolour.
Nonsense again ... does the same apply to Scottish Clubs then?
29/03/2007, 2:17 PM
That's a ridiculous catch-all argument NYH.
That Chelsea have an odious element in their support is not at question ...but nor is it materially relevant as virtually all clubs have similar troglodyte elements in their support bases. This individual Chelsea supporter and/or resident obviously doesn't "hate all things Irish".
Nonsense again ... does the same apply to Scottish Clubs then?
Nonsense to you. I'm not a celtic fan and I'm certainly not getting into celtic are/are not Irish debate. But if you know anything about the game you will know that celtic have obviously Irish links. While chelsea are the same as rangers.
29/03/2007, 7:23 PM
So we have celtic, the now regular Chelsea flag, Tranmere was in the Davin upper and Liverpool was at the end of the Cusack (stand to the right of the Davin lower as you face the pitch).
Huh, thankfully the PL/SPL fans made the effort to add some colour. Didnt see one EL banner anywhere all day!!
We were too busy sabotaging the mexican waves to be dealing with flags.:D
In a previous life we did bring flags and lots of them, but that feels a long time ago now.
29/03/2007, 11:11 PM
I spotted two Chelsea flags Saturday - Chelsea written on the tricolour and the Chelsea Irish one. They didn't last long but it's a sad sight to see.
29/03/2007, 11:13 PM
....While chelsea are the same as rangers.....KOH
They both wear blue, so what???
I spotted two Chelsea flags Saturday - Chelsea written on the tricolour and the Chelsea Irish one. They didn't last long but it's a sad sight to see.
The Chelsea tricolour lasted the whole game. It was on level 5.
30/03/2007, 10:52 AM
Nonsense to you. I'm not a celtic fan and I'm certainly not getting into celtic are/are not Irish debate. But if you know anything about the game you will know that celtic have obviously Irish links. While chelsea are the same as rangers.
...and if someone wants to come a to an Ireland match with a tricolour that happens to have a Rangers crest on it -then bully for them too. That it's not likely is beside the point. There's a principle involved.
If you're there to support Ireland and want to deface our flag to make some statement about who you are, what you are and where you've come from then you should be free to do so whether you're Davy Keogh, Monaghan Boys, some nighclub from the midlands, a plethora of pubs or a Chelsea/Rangers/Celtic/anyone else supporter.
30/03/2007, 11:30 AM
...and if someone wants to come a to an Ireland match with a tricolour that happens to have a Rangers crest on it -then bully for them too. That it's not likely is beside the point. There's a principle involved.
If you're there to support Ireland and want to deface our flag to make some statement about who you are, what you are and where you've come from then you should be free to do so whether you're Davy Keogh, Monaghan Boys, some nighclub from the midlands, a plethora of pubs or a Chelsea/Rangers/Celtic/anyone else supporter.
You obviously just dont get it do you:rolleyes:
Sad sight to see. And by letting it hang the fans there are just as ignorant.
30/03/2007, 9:56 PM
What exactly gives you the right to call anyone ignorant and what makes you an authority on what flags are and are not acceptable at Ireland games? :confused:
You are just as entitled to have an opinion as anyone else but just because others don't agree with you, they are ignorant :mad:
31/03/2007, 8:57 AM
What's not to get except narrowminded prejudice?
KOH Okay you're starting to annoy me now KOH. Just who exactly the fcuk do you think you are and what exactly are you advocating here?
I think you need to clear up what you've in mind.
Should our supporters confront an individual with a flag you don't like and ask/tell him to remove it? If he refuses should they add a bit of menace?
If he stands his ground should it be forcibly removed?
Is that what you want at Ireland matches?:mad:
02/04/2007, 2:57 PM
Calm down ladies! Ok maybe ignorant was too strong for you.
Irish flags with english club names are not acceptable at Ireland games. At the Saudi game a few english tried to hang a union jack. They were told in no uncertain terms to get it down quick. They did.
I've never seen a union jack with an Irish club on it or a German flag with a french club on it.
It's frankly laughable that anyone would defend it to be honest.
02/04/2007, 8:52 PM
Irish flags with english club names are not acceptable at Ireland games.
I take it you did mean to write non-Irish?? or do you mean that Irish flags with names of clubs that have obviously Irish links are acceptable?? :confused:
03/04/2007, 8:30 AM
Calm down ladies! Ok maybe ignorant was too strong for you.
KOH Beep Beep Beep full reverse.
Irish flags with english club names are not acceptable at Ireland games.
Says you ...and who's army?
At the Saudi game a few english tried to hang a union jack. They were told in no uncertain terms to get it down quick. They did.
...I'll take your word for it that this is the chain of events. But if I'd been there, if I'd been English and it'd been my UJ (bit odd they'd a UJ rather than a George Cross but anyway...) I'd have told you and anyone else to go fcuk yourself. I must've seen tricolours at every friggin game no matter who was playing ...but when we do it it's cute I suppose. If it'd been Brazilians, Croats or Belgians would you have taken offence at their flag? Get over yourself ffs.
I've never seen a union jack with an Irish club on it or a German flag with a french club on it.
Now who's in denial about links?
It's frankly laughable that anyone would defend it to be honest.
Laugh away ...just mind your own business and don't be bringing aggro to Ireland matches while you're at it.:rolleyes:
03/04/2007, 10:21 AM
Beep beep:D
I'm surprised that you two who are obviously genuine EL fans defend idiots who put english clubs on a tricolour.
Might surprise you that there are people who dont post on the internet who are from happy about this as well.
Dont know about any links on the last post there though. Never said anything about aggro?
Sligo Hornet
03/04/2007, 10:25 AM
Am I the only one who thinks this "bickering" is getting tedious?.:eek: ...the key contenders have all made reasoned responses, but enough is enough....shake hands and move on......please!:)
03/04/2007, 11:38 AM
Beep beep:D
Dont know about any links on the last post there though. Never said anything about aggro?
I contend you dragged a coat-tail for it. You expressed disappointment that no one removed the guys Chelsea Tricolour. Assuming he's not going to just hand it over I don't think there's much room for manouvre.
casso36
03/04/2007, 11:53 AM
KFI! KFI! KFI! KFI!
Just thought i'd stick me Oar in!!!!:p
03/04/2007, 3:46 PM
I'm surprised that you two who are obviously genuine EL fans defend idiots who put english clubs on a tricolour.
NYH, cant let you away with this.
I am not defending anyone putting english clubs on a tricolour. My position is quite clear. Read a previous post of mine on this thread:
I find an Irish flag with the name of any British or non-Irish club team plastered on it equally offensive whether it is Chelsea, Rangers, Celtic or Man.Utd. or anyone else and would argue that none of them have any place at an Ireland game. What has allegiance for any British club got to do with supporting Ireland?
But you are avoiding the questions you have been asked several times but declined to answer?
- Is it only the names of English clubs on tricolours you are opposed to?
- Are you opposed to the name of any non-Irish club on a tricolour?
- Are the names of clubs that have obviously Irish links acceptable on a tricolour?
Sh*t or get off the pot!