View Full Version : St Pats Take over.
kdjaC
15/03/2007, 12:19 PM
Could you explain this, please?
Fans in a general sense should never be allowed run a club they dont think with their heads (barca perfect example). If a club is a commercial entity then someone with a good head should run it. If the pats thing works out and tallaght is sorted for Rovers only who would be the next ideal club for someone with a few quid to buy?
Would rovers fans allow some rich dude to pump money into them developing the stadium, academy? Assuming the guy is genuine about Rovers? Is there someone waiting in the wings? ;)
kdjac
Billy Lord
15/03/2007, 12:34 PM
Fans in a general sense should never be allowed run a club they dont think with their heads (barca perfect example). If a club is a commercial entity then someone with a good head should run it. If the pats thing works out and tallaght is sorted for Rovers only who would be the next ideal club for someone with a few quid to buy?
Would rovers fans allow some rich dude to pump money into them developing the stadium, academy? Assuming the guy is genuine about Rovers? Is there someone waiting in the wings? ;)
kdjac
When Rovers was last in private hands the club ran up debts of 3 million+, lost ownership of the stadium in Tallaght and was virtually bankrupt. Under the fans' ownership the club pays its bills, is 100% tax-compliant, won promotion last year while also making a profit.
There is nothing wrong, and everytghing right, about fans owning their club. Unless, of course, the fans are idiots.:cool:
chippie0001
15/03/2007, 12:38 PM
Ireland is the perfect reason why fans should own clubs. How many grounds have Pats/Rovers and Shels played in over the years? How many have Bohs used in that same time. As Billy Lord says look at what happened recently to Rovers in private hands and also look even more recently at Shels.
Membership has its flaws no doubt about it, but as other have said I would far prefer it and its drawbacks to having a sugar daddy that to this point has had no interest in football or the league. If a rich Pats fan took over the club thats a whole different matter.
15/03/2007, 12:38 PM
Which, we all know, most are :D
15/03/2007, 12:40 PM
As ever the general rule applies here - if Rovers and Bohs agree on something then it's true. Simple. ;)
15/03/2007, 12:42 PM
Fans in a general sense should never be allowed run a club they dont think with their heads.
Which is why Bohs members demanded that the playing budget should be secondary to paying debts and establishing a youth acadamy? :rolleyes:
15/03/2007, 12:49 PM
Two wrongs don't make a right, WaR... Simple school logic dictates that
Oh and Bohs fans demanded nothing, you're told what to do by the committee, when was the last time anything was voted down by the membership?
kdjaC
15/03/2007, 12:57 PM
When Rovers was last in private hands the club ran up debts of 3 million+, lost ownership of the stadium in Tallaght and was virtually bankrupt. Under the fans' ownership the club pays its bills, is 100% tax-compliant, won promotion last year while also making a profit.
There is nothing wrong, and everytghing right, about fans owning their club. Unless, of course, the fans are idiots.:cool:
But Rovers cant move forward without major investment, something only a sugar daddy can bring. Rovers when they get tallaght would be the only possible EL team could make a profit but only with some investment.
Chippie is correct about ireland being the only place where a club could "survive" with fan ownership but in Rovers case if was fans actually going to the club from 90ish onwards that kept them surviving now the same fans own the club.
Question still stands would Rovers fans turn down a sugar daddy who was a Rovers fan?
kdjac
chippie0001
15/03/2007, 1:23 PM
Oh and Bohs fans demanded nothing, you're told what to do by the committee, when was the last time anything was voted down by the membership?
Just to show you are not 100% right, we voted down membership increases about 3 years back, that were proposed by the board. See we can oppose things when it suits us. :p
The membership also opposed the Shels groundshare which is probablu or more significance and most of the changes to our structure and rules have been brought about my ordinary members and not the board. On the playing side we generally sit back and take it.
15/03/2007, 1:45 PM
But Rovers cant move forward without major investment, something only a sugar daddy can bring. Rovers when they get tallaght would be the only possible EL team could make a profit but only with some investment.
Chippie is correct about ireland being the only place where a club could "survive" with fan ownership but in Rovers case if was fans actually going to the club from 90ish onwards that kept them surviving now the same fans own the club.
Question still stands would Rovers fans turn down a sugar daddy who was a Rovers fan?
kdjac
Jaysus, you've bought into this big time. ;)
To answer your question - it would be up to the members to decide (will Pats fans get a say in their club?) but after the debacles under private ownership in the past, including under so-called Rovers fans, I'd imagine it would be a resounding no.
The fan-owned model operates successfully all over Europe, no reason why not here. In fact fan-owned clubs don't lose football grounds or go out of business. Clubs owned by suggar daddies, on the other hand, become homeless and go bust all the time.
I suggest you buy the Guardian on Wednesdays and read David Conn's stuff or else just carry-on cheerleading for 'Pats fan' Kelleher's property play. Whichever suits.
kdjac
they're 50% owned by a sugar daddy already - or certainly were when they took over from the last regime. I'd urge people just to take a step back and wait and see what the pats owner delivers - he'll be judged on that - all the above in this thread is nonsense speculation and cringe inducing scaremongering.
15/03/2007, 1:56 PM
On the playing side we generally sit back and take it.
Excluding Bohemian Bob's Farrelly Out Petition! :D
Jaysus, you've bought into this big time. ;)
Bought into what?
We either get new ground or dont atm we have a hole of a ground and possible move to tallaght,so we really have nothing to lose. Its whats called win win, i dont like the idea of moving to talllght but it will always remain a possibility until theres a new ground in richmond.
We still playing good football and get revenue from a pub, have our house in order and manager playing to a budget. Its not us buying into it its others being sceptical due their own previous issues.
kdjac
blackholesun
15/03/2007, 2:51 PM
Look at the sat map ...
http://maps.google.com/?ie=UTF8&z=17&ll=53.340918,-6.317954&spn=0.003818,0.008186&t=k&om=1
He now has supposedly has the ground, McDowells, some houses on emmet road and the warehouse directly to the west.
If he has also snapped alot of the old houses along the Inchicore Road to the North and can get the rest and get access through these or the through the park to the west then he controls a huge bowl shaped piece of land where he can build quite a few high story blocks of apts with the stadium and training facilities in there somewhere too. I wouldnt be surprised if the stadium ended up say rotated by 90 degrees even or who knows what.
The only minor problem with the site is the Camac but that could be rerouted easily enough and probably turned into a feature through the middle of the apts.
I was initially taken in by the "social conscience" stuff but the more I think about it, the more and more it looks like Kelleher will make good money on it, and fair play to him, Ive no problem with that, he makes money, new stadium for Pats, everyone a winner ... , I wonder though would he be willing at the end of it all to sign the stadium over a fans trust or the O'Callaghans. Doubt it!
But in the long term I think Bohs should have more money to burn each year on players than Pats. Cant see Kelleher throwing in a million or two every year to allow Pats to keep up with Bohs.
bhs
ps. btw wws "they're 50% owned by a sugar daddy already" Ray Wilson coughed up ~250K to help save Rovers, his shareholding is continously being diluted as more monthly members subscriptions roll in. He didnt do to make or profit or even get his more back and has said that once he is happy that the club is on a sound footing, he'll hand any whatever % remains back to the members club, so Rovers will be 100% owned by the members in the end.
fair play to him, i applaud any and every investment in irish soccer as oppossed to sunderland. whats his holding now as a matter of interest ?
15/03/2007, 2:59 PM
fair play to him, i applaud any and every investment in irish soccer as oppossed to sunderland. whats his holding now as a matter of interest ?
Details were furnished at our AGM. ;)
so what your saying is, ask Dr Hoopdub ?
But in the long term I think Bohs should have more money to burn each year on players than Pats. Cant see Kelleher throwing in a million or two every year to allow Pats to keep up with Bohs.
Personally i would rather we kept up signing promising LSL players and local lads coming tru the academy than buying success. Atm we have 7 from either Crumlin Belgrove Cherry orchard or in house. To me i would rather see the come good than buy whats left of Drogs next season.
kdjac
You can, if he hasn't drowned in a sea of magnolia paint!
Koh
15/03/2007, 3:14 PM
Which reminds me, he hasn't paid his Hoops SC subs for this year yet.
Nah, he's sorted, trust me!!;)
Colin Farrells could be awkward though!!:D
Koh
Figures range from 15-50 million
I would think closer to the lower figure. How much was the land that the existing apartments built on sold for?
Anyway I thought ye staying in Richmond Park or was that Inchicore?
Dr.Nightdub
15/03/2007, 4:47 PM
1. Magnolia me hole. Rich Havana Gold, with Jamaican Bronze skirting boards. I pick paint colours by their names not how they look. Bonus points if it sounds like something you can smoke.
2. I have never paid dues to be a member of Hoops SC and my bet with WAR doesn't come up for settlement until 2012.
3. What is all this Bohs and Rovers sh1te doing cluttering up OUR thread? :D
4. Regarding the apartments at Richmond, at one of the PFR public meetings, Andy talked about having apartments all around the ground, i.e. the stadium would be backed by apartments on all sides - as DvB will verify, DCC have already been asked about acceptable densities of apartments. Let's say for arguments sake there's 400 in total (think that was the figure DCC gave, no?) = huge revenue stream. How it gets divvied up is something none of us can answer - the naysayers will maintain Kelleher will pocket the lot, the Pats optimists will say we'll get a chunk too.
5. The Kelleher's "social conscience" bit that someone mentioned IS actually a huge factor in this - the memory of his own tennis scholarship, not wanting other Irish kids to have to go abroad to pursue sporting dreams, regeneration of a rundown part of Dublin with Pats at the heart of it, deepening the links between an old but modernised Inchicore institution and the new community around it, etc - look at all the stuff Kerr talked about in his first interview and remember he's hardly gonna be doing solo runs on plans / policies or going off-message in those circumstances.
6. Why Pats? Andy O'C was lucky enough to land on one of the few people in this town in a financial position to combine investment and philanthropy, and to develope links between him and the one club in the one area who could most benefit - Rovers can't cos they're fan-owned and looking to play on a council pitch, which will limit the scope for infrastructural development. Much the same constraints apply to Bohs bar the council pitch.
Think of it as Kelleher's involvement as a modern version of the mediaeval system of patronage in painting and sculpture when the Medicis or whoever else was seriously loaded could get the likes of Michelangelo in to paint the bathroom (magnolia if they were so inclined! :D ) To me, this is a similar type project for Kelleher, I wouldn't term it a vanity project cos that'd be to demean it, but it's probably something he wouldn't even consider in the normal course of his business dealings.
BohsFans
15/03/2007, 7:01 PM
Two wrongs don't make a right, WaR... Simple school logic dictates that
Wrong Dodge! :rolleyes:
Why does every cun_t from another club always think they know it all about my club. You really haven't got a clue. :mad:
We know about your club because we work with Bohs fans, or have friends who are Bohs fans. I was wroong on the membership fes thing but seeing as I'm a ****, maybe you could tell me what else Bohs fans have voted down?
15/03/2007, 7:33 PM
Andy talked about having apartments all around the ground, i.e. the stadium would be backed by apartments on all sidesYet again, UCD lead and others follow. :D
We know about your club because we work with Bohs fans, or have friends who are Bohs fans. I was wroong on the membership fes thing but seeing as I'm a ****, maybe you could tell me what else Bohs fans have voted down?
Dont you remember the glorious stand the Bohs members took against robbing Branvard Ltd blind with silly rents when they were broke themselves?
BohsFans
15/03/2007, 8:27 PM
and why would I tell you that?
It's a private members club.
BohsFans
15/03/2007, 8:31 PM
Dont you remember the glorious stand the Bohs members took against robbing Branvard Ltd blind with silly rents when they were broke themselves?
you didn't expect us to miss the chance of kicking the scum when they were down did you? :rolleyes:
blackholesun
15/03/2007, 10:08 PM
kdjac
>Fans in a general sense should never be allowed run a club they dont think with their heads (barca perfect example). If a club is a commercial entity then someone with a good head should run it.
your are talking sh1te ... the people elected to run Barca are all usually very wealthy in their own right and successfull business people ... getting elected to run Barca isnt one step up from selling scarves and golden goals in the local tapas bar you know ...
bhs