View Full Version : St Pats Take over.

Pages : 1 [2] 3

14/03/2007, 4:28 PM
This very week, Kelleher has been meeting with community representatives and other groups in Chicago to win support for his other (150-story, $2bn) project. The final plans will be unveiled in the next few weeks. Genuinely surprised to see him in Richmond yesterday but this would appear to back up the point above.

Is Kelleher known as a Pats fan? Just wondering why Pats?

14/03/2007, 4:32 PM
This very week, Kelleher has been meeting with community representatives and other groups in Chicago to win support for his other (150-story, $2bn) project. The final plans will be unveiled in the next few weeks. Genuinely surprised to see him in Richmond yesterday but this would appear to back up the point above.

he wasnt in richmond yesterday!

my guess is those pics were taken last summer! :eek:

TheSaint2002
14/03/2007, 4:45 PM

my guess is those pics were taken last summer!

naa if ya look behind them the walls were only recently painted,

http://unison.ie/images_papers/news/41/15362/pictures/400932.jpg

14/03/2007, 5:21 PM
Is Kelleher known as a Pats fan? Just wondering why Pats?
Have you seen the state of the other Dublin clubs. Not even a contest...

Oh and hoopdub, ever hear of a rhetorical question?

14/03/2007, 5:27 PM

The 2 most famous and successful Dublin clubs aren't for sale so that leaves Shels or Pats.....

14/03/2007, 5:29 PM

my guess is those pics were taken last summer! :eek:

We can't rule out the possiblity of cloning. Or have you forgotten just how rich this guy is? :eek:

Bald Student
14/03/2007, 5:32 PM

The 2 most famous and successful Dublin clubs aren't for sale so that leaves Shels or Pats.....

KOHDon't forget about Dublin's least successful and least famous club. We're not for sale either!

14/03/2007, 5:35 PM
Don't forget about Dublin's least successful and least famous club. We're not for sale either!

All good points. Also we're the only football club with plans (now!) to stay in the city.

Bald Student
14/03/2007, 6:00 PM
All good points. Also we're the only football club with plans (now!) to stay in the city.Only just, Belfield Bowl is about 5 yards from the border with the Corpo and is a few hundred yards further from O'Connel Street that Richer.

14/03/2007, 7:25 PM
Whatever culchie

kdjaC
14/03/2007, 7:43 PM
If he gets all the planning permission for the things he wants on site, we be unstoppable financially. The centre, shops,gym, flats, pub would generate enough income to sustain the club.

I dont want to do a shels and buy everyone, pats have a tradition of getting the best out of certain type of players, i hope that continues with players coming tru rather than Zayed etc:

With Kerr there i have faith Johnny mac wont go FM07 on the league, and if JMC goes i think Dolan will come back may even come back before that in some job.

How can other teams compete with a Chelsea type situation, our old board struggled for years and tbh well done to them for having the club in a decent position.

Regarding why us? Rovers ground issue and previous history isnt a decent selling point, but if they had Tallaght sorted they would be the next Kelleher type person investment.

Bohs had the deal agreed at some point before Kelleher met Andy.

Shels who the **** wants a 1st div club :D but than likkely Ollie put them off, put my job off sponsoring them.

Would Bohs Rovers Shels fans accept this guy if he picked them?

kdjac

bad mongo
14/03/2007, 9:07 PM
Out of interest-what exactly is in the other bank of the Camac?. any chance of a new access route into the site (pedestrian or vehicle)? Richmond is a very constrained site to build anything other than a 6k capacity ground. Will be very interested to see how this pans out. good luck to the junkies bit i for one am glad not to have to place the fate of my club in the hands of one potential benefactor-no matter what offer is on the table though.

kdjaC
14/03/2007, 9:13 PM
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/171/421321461_fd36c44b00.jpg?v=0

kelleher owns the factories some of the houses and the hill behind the camac would be an aquedate stand if the camac was piped. As for placing our faith in one man...... You must be new to the Eircom league?

its not an offer he owns the club the lease on the ground, everything, we are his bitch now.

kdjac

14/03/2007, 9:15 PM
Out of interest-what exactly is in the other bank of the Camac?. any chance of a new access route into the site (pedestrian or vehicle)?

Plan is for an access point from Inchicore Road, probably where the current park is now.

chippie0001
14/03/2007, 9:20 PM
If he gets all the planning permission for the things he wants on site, we be unstoppable financially. The centre, shops,gym, flats, pub would generate enough income to sustain the club.

I dont want to do a shels and buy everyone, pats have a tradition of getting the best out of certain type of players, i hope that continues with players coming tru rather than Zayed etc:

With Kerr there i have faith Johnny mac wont go FM07 on the league, and if JMC goes i think Dolan will come back may even come back before that in some job.

How can other teams compete with a Chelsea type situation, our old board struggled for years and tbh well done to them for having the club in a decent position.

Regarding why us? Rovers ground issue and previous history isnt a decent selling point, but if they had Tallaght sorted they would be the next Kelleher type person investment.

Bohs had the deal agreed at some point before Kelleher met Andy.

Shels who the **** wants a 1st div club :D but than likkely Ollie put them off, put my job off sponsoring them.

Would Bohs Rovers Shels fans accept this guy if he picked them?

kdjac

Sorry but I would rather be in our position that yours. Our destiny is in our own hands, when we move we have about €40m in the bank and its the clubs. The interest alone on that is a few million a year. You have an owner best case scenario has no plans to move you etc, but may get bored, see no return etc in the long run. So if this guy picked us I would say NO and we will look after ourselves, rather than bank on someone who has to this point in his life had no interest in the league.

14/03/2007, 9:35 PM
Sorry but I would rather be in our position that yours. Our destiny is in our own hands, when we move we have about €40m in the bank and its the clubs. The interest alone on that is a few million a year. You have an owner best case scenario has no plans to move you etc, but may get bored, see no return etc in the long run. So if this guy picked us I would say NO and we will look after ourselves, rather than bank on someone who has to this point in his life had no interest in the league.

bit closed minded chippie? how on earth do we attract outside investment (which I believe is essential) with that attitude - there is no one involved in irish football with that kind of moolah - so Irish football doesnt contain the answer in itself - it HAS to appeal to the big rollers and stop them - stupidly - in my view investing in Sunderland and their ilk

I mean Sunderland?? wot in the name of fck has that to do with Ireland??

kdjaC
14/03/2007, 9:35 PM
Sorry but I would rather be in our position that yours. Our destiny is in our own hands, when we move1 we have about €40m in the bank and its the clubs. The interest alone on that is a few million a year. You have an owner best case scenario has no plans to move you etc, but may get bored, see no return2 etc in the long run. So if this guy picked us I would say NO3 and we will look after ourselves, rather than bank on someone who has to this point in his life had no interest in the league.

1 If when , rovers should be a lesson in how things work, letting fasn run a club is complete madness, and letting bohs fans run a club is comcial, how long has Connor got?

2* return in the EL? if you put in 25 mill as kelleher is what can you honestly get back? 400k if you do 4 in a row? there is no money to be made unless 2 things happens you sell one player to PL every year and get into the CL. you must be apart of the bohs running staff if you believe you will get a return out of a El club.

* Kelleher is a buisness man he wil get a return for the club out of the pub and flats and AFL team. Bohs fans/club are not all they are doing is ****ing 40 million into the wind in a mad belief they will be better than Rovers, unless you have a strategy to retain the investment and and capitilise on ehh stuff you ehh own umm sorry after taking the 40 million and running im kinda lost on the plan to keep Bohs at the top of the league.

3 he did you told him to feck off as you just agreed your own deal to move out of Dublin City.

Pats living of Shels and Bohs scraps and loving it :D

kdjac

kdjaC
14/03/2007, 9:38 PM
bit closed minded chippie? how on earth do we attract outside investment (which I believe is essential) with that attitude - there is no one involved in irish football with that kind of moolah - so Irish football doesnt contain the answer in itself - it HAS to appeal to the big rollers and stop them - stupidly - in my view investing in Sunderland and their ilk

Ssshh stop talking sense, sell your ground move to tallaght and compete with Rovers history. I mean its what bohs are doing so we should all do it. Completley overlook the fact someone irish is investing in a irish club along with wallace who have the money to back up any mad ideas they have.

Wallace has Dolan , Kelleher has Kerr...........

rocket science it is not.

kdjac

14/03/2007, 9:57 PM

I caught the end of NewsTalk's excellent 'Off Their Balls' radio show and someone texted in a similar comment. The presenter (really sharp guy) made an insightful point in response

Oh yeah, because the eircom League is REALLY attractive to investors, isn't it???:rolleyes::rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I didn't hear what he said after that because I was distracted by the explosion of my sarcasm detector.

14/03/2007, 9:59 PM

kdjac

Where are these going to be built? I always thought the Richmond Park site was very small.

Has Kelleher made his plans for the site public?

14/03/2007, 9:59 PM
How much would Richer be worth now anyway lads?

Buller
14/03/2007, 10:08 PM
How much would Richer be worth now anyway lads?

a very sizeable sum it would be safe to assume...

14/03/2007, 10:18 PM
Figures range from 15-50 million

14/03/2007, 10:20 PM
Figures range from 15-50 million

And if its developed?

(Just asking now lads, its obviously a reasonable question aswell)

14/03/2007, 10:28 PM
who knows face.

14/03/2007, 10:38 PM
Not savvy enough to read between the lines but if the ground was going to be extended to 10/15k then surely there will have to be some extraordinary building because Richmond always appears limited. Even more so having looked at the picture. Would it be possible to build a bigger stand over the Camac?

14/03/2007, 10:39 PM
Thats the plan, and he's bought land behind the inchicore end and on emmet road...

14/03/2007, 10:45 PM
this is the benchmark site value in the area - a quote from the papers about the Hilton Hotel site in adjoining Kilmainham - a stones throw from Richmond Park and adjacent sites.

"In Kilmainham, Dublin 8, he (Lally) bought the old Nestle Rowntree factory from Treasury Holdings for €25 million and is developing apartments and a 120-bed Hilton hotel on the site. That deal ended up in the Supreme Court after property developer Bryan Cullen took legal action to force Treasury to sell the site to him."

14/03/2007, 10:55 PM
Thats the plan, and he's bought land behind the inchicore end and on emmet road...

So we're talking a complete demolishing of Richmond?

bad mongo
14/03/2007, 11:15 PM
1 If when , rovers should be a lesson in how things work, letting fasn run a club is complete madness, and letting bohs fans run a club is comcial, how long has Connor got?

2* return in the EL? if you put in 25 mill as kelleher is what can you honestly get back? 400k if you do 4 in a row? there is no money to be made unless 2 things happens you sell one player to PL every year and get into the CL. you must be apart of the bohs running staff if you believe you will get a return out of a El club.

* Kelleher is a buisness man he wil get a return for the club out of the pub and flats and AFL team. Bohs fans/club are not all they are doing is ****ing 40 million into the wind in a mad belief they will be better than Rovers, unless you have a strategy to retain the investment and and capitilise on ehh stuff you ehh own umm sorry after taking the 40 million and running im kinda lost on the plan to keep Bohs at the top of the league.

3 he did you told him to feck off as you just agreed your own deal to move out of Dublin City.

kdjac

guff of the highest order. You make it sound nice and simple: Canny investor with unbeatable business plan Vs Fans boys with cheque books. If/when there is a wobble in either proposed future for Pats or Bohs who's gonna be left standing: A members owned entity or a private company?

14/03/2007, 11:27 PM
whats to demolish?

15/03/2007, 1:01 AM
not being smart but whats the current capacity? 6k tops? Both ends seem cráp and it would seem logical if ye're build a top notch ground better to start all over.

15/03/2007, 2:57 AM
Is this the same guy who purchased McDowells for Pats last year?

If it is does that not set off alarm bells for Pats fans in terms of lovely roadside access to that site...?

15/03/2007, 7:35 AM
It'd set off more alarms if he bougt McDowells and didn't buy into the club...

15/03/2007, 8:02 AM
It'd set off more alarms if he bougt McDowells and didn't buy into the club...

Eh, why?

If he just owned the pub how would that affect Pats if he didn't own Richmond Park? Pats have their own access to the main road.

At a glance it looks like a developer buying a pretty large valuable land bank, that happens to include Richmond Park.

Not winding ye up, I really hope it turns out as ye hope cos it looks like the Drogs deal may end in tears and the league doesn't need another one.

15/03/2007, 8:11 AM
Yeah the Drogheda deal was doomed with their underhandedness. Have a google on this guy and see what you make of him. The land at Inchicore is worth sod all in real terms to this guy, and not worth the effort for a minimal return.

I'd be down as cautiously optimistic rather than the cartwheeling Pats fans. The Brian Kerr thing is a huge huge plus

chippie0001
15/03/2007, 8:29 AM

kdjac

Can I have some of those drugs please. We will own our own pitch when the deal is complete. Not some business man owning it for us. We will have as much money as Kelleher is putting into Pats to do exactly as you want to do. Kelleher bought Pats as he bought all the land around you and has a plan to do something with the site. He could n ot have done that at Dalymount so stop waffling that we turned him down. I don't believe you will get a return out of a LOI club, hence why I would not want an "investor" to own my club, you contradict yourslef.

As for your points WWS, investment is good and if its genuine great. I would rather be the ruler of my own destiny though and not have my club as part of a grander scheme of appartments, centres etc and a football stadium. If someone came in and said they would build a 10,000 stadium, a youth academy etc etc so strings attached, no alternatibe agenda great. Kelleher however has plan that Pats are part of, not plans that centre on Pats.

As I said I would rather be in control of our own future, we will have a new stadium, loads of cash and hopefully plans to ensure we stay top of the pile, if we ever get there. :eek:

Billy Lord
15/03/2007, 9:39 AM
rovers should be a lesson in how things work, letting fasn run a club is complete madness,

Could you explain this, please?

15/03/2007, 9:53 AM
As for your points WWS, investment is good and if its genuine great. I would rather be the ruler of my own destiny though and not have my club as part of a grander scheme of appartments, centres etc and a football stadium. If someone came in and said they would build a 10,000 stadium, a youth academy etc etc so strings attached, no alternatibe agenda great. Kelleher however has plan that Pats are part of, not plans that centre on Pats.

As I said I would rather be in control of our own future, we will have a new stadium, loads of cash and hopefully plans to ensure we stay top of the pile, if we ever get there. :eek:

Chippie who exactly rules the bohs destiny? a very small group of people, who basically present the odd plan to the members and NEVER have any difficulty selling their version of events. By your own admission the Bohs membership is not very proactive and most of the members seem happy to have the whole thing run for them with little dissent/contrary views etc etc. I'd hold fire on statements such as "deal not centred on Pats" until you see the public version of the plans. The developer of the biggest building in the world isnt interested in the paltry margin on 25 mill he can make from a site in Inchicore (25 mill is the cost of THE landmark site in the area - the Kilmainham Hilton), he certainly isnt interested in the negative publicity to be garnered from selling out a community in a public fashion - eh hello? he develops stuff in this town as well - is he gonna irrevocably blot his copybook with the city planners - eh I dont think so!

cheifo
15/03/2007, 10:04 AM
Judging by the Pr effort I have no doubt this is a genuine opportunity for Pats to move seriously forward.The media dont like to be used.I dont think he would want to blacken his name in the locality or nationally when hes already
got millionsworth of property.

chippie0001
15/03/2007, 10:13 AM
Chippie who exactly rules the bohs destiny? a very small group of people, who basically present the odd plan to the members and NEVER have any difficulty selling their version of events. By your own admission the Bohs membership is not very proactive and most of the members seem happy to have the whole thing run for them with little dissent/contrary views etc etc.

Would not disagree with that, but that is the members perogative as such. That can change over time and hopefully it will. I would still rather be in the situation above with some chance of change, that looking from the outside in with no chance of change. I hope Kellher does everything he says he will, and I hope its all for the good of Pats and not for his wallet. Can be a cynic but I doubt it. Anything that brings the league up if its on a firm base can only be good for the rest of us.

15/03/2007, 10:31 AM
Could you explain this, please?

Dont bother. He's always anti Rovers.

Genuinely hope that this works cos Richmond is a great old LOI ground with character and soul and crucially it has potential.

Would be worried if Kelliher was in on this on his own but with Kerr there it doesnt seem like Pats are being hoodwinked.

Would only listen to Pats fans on this so is there any link or official statement on what the proposed plans for Richmond are? Its not on the official website.

Would I be right in assuming that he plans to buy up the houses on Emmet Road from McDowells down to the apartments?

15/03/2007, 10:55 AM
To be Honest NY Hoop, only a select few have seen them. My sister in law seen them but has no interest in football at all and trying to get info out of her is harder than explaining the offside rule. We've been told most of them and like I said they're fairly ambitious.

From what I recall the idea is to buy the houses on Emmet Road that back out on to Richmond (Some of which are already purchased) The factories at the Inchicore End have apparently been purchased., and we already own the land on the far side of the Camac, with rights to an access point through the park on Inchicore Road.

The "academy" will be based in the area where the factories are now and will host pool, gym, astro pitches etc. All these will be available to the public. Apartments and shops to be built but can't remember if these are at the Inchicore end or on Emmet Road. The shops/apartments would not be a huge amount and the idea is tht rents received would be a constant revenue stream.

The ground would be developed on four sides. Inchicore end to be developed in tandem with the other facilities. Camac side would see the camac either piped or re-routed slightly and the stand built over this. Kilmainham end (Shed end) would see a small stand built in line with the others. Like I said this is 2nd/3rd hand info

15/03/2007, 10:57 AM
Chippie who exactly rules the bohs destiny? a very small group of people, who basically present the odd plan to the members and NEVER have any difficulty selling their version of events.
the proposed Shels groundshare was opposed en masse by the membership.

Also, a lot of suggestions were made at members meetings with regards to safegaurds against us getting screwed.

15/03/2007, 11:05 AM
To be Honest NY Hoop, only a select few have seen them. My sister in law seen them but has no interest in football at all and trying to get info out of her is harder than explaining the offside rule. We've been told most of them and like I said they're fairly ambitious.

From what I recall the idea is to buy the houses on Emmet Road that back out on to Richmond (Some of which are already purchased) The factories at the Inchicore End have apparently been purchased., and we already own the land on the far side of the Camac, with rights to an access point through the park on Inchicore Road.

The "academy" will be based in the area where the factories are now and will host pool, gym, astro pitches etc. All these will be available to the public. Apartments and shops to be built but can't remember if these are at the Inchicore end or on Emmet Road. The shops/apartments would not be a huge amount and the idea is tht rents received would be a constant revenue stream.

The ground would be developed on four sides. Inchicore end to be developed in tandem with the other facilities. Camac side would see the camac either piped or re-routed slightly and the stand built over this. Kilmainham end (Shed end) would see a small stand built in line with the others. Like I said this is 2nd/3rd hand info

Thanks for that. Sounds promising but believe it when I see it I suppose. Would Pats fans not be entitled to see the plans or will there be a meeting to explain all?

15/03/2007, 11:07 AM
I hope that Richmond stays a football ground - after all the other 3 famous grounds are gone or soon will be - but to say that an investor is the only way forward and fans owning a club is crazy is a ridiculous statement.

Without fan ownership, we'd be out of business and Bohs would never have done the deal they've done. Look at Shels and now Drogheda and possibly Pats. That's what Bohs would have been faced with without being a members club.

In one scenario, you have a wealthy, fan-owned Bohs in a new ground, Pats in a re-developed Richmond with a wealthy owner - see the difference? - and a fan-owned Rovers in a municipal ground. That's 3 different models and I know the one I'd prefer, or rather the one I rather not have.

We are going down the European road, Pats are following the British model (ie Pats owner is) and Bohs are doing something relatively new and I think we can discount Shels. Exciting times ahead....hopefully.

Ebmania
15/03/2007, 11:09 AM
Thanks for that. Sounds promising but believe it when I see it I suppose. Would Pats fans not be entitled to see the plans or will there be a meeting to explain all?

Yes a general meetings took place to talk about the move out of Richmond so would hope there will be a meeting on the bright new future.

DvB
15/03/2007, 11:21 AM
I hope that Richmond stays a football ground - after all the other 3 famous grounds are gone or soon will be - but to say that an investor is the only way forward and fans owning a club is crazy is a ridiculous statement.

Without fan ownership, we'd be out of business and Bohs would never have done the deal they've done. Look at Shels and now Drogheda and possibly Pats. That's what Bohs would have been faced with without being a members club.

In one scenario, you have a wealthy, fan-owned Bohs in a new ground, Pats in a re-developed Richmond with a wealthy owner - see the difference? - and a fan-owned Rovers in a municipal ground. That's 3 different models and I know the one I'd prefer, or rather the one I rather not have.

We are going down the European road, Pats are following the British model (ie Pats owner is) and Bohs are doing something relatively new and I think we can discount Shels. Exciting times ahead....hopefully.

A nice summary!

Koh

15/03/2007, 11:28 AM

AFAIK the meeting has already been asked for. As the announcement was only Tuesday and GK was in Chicago, its fair enough to give him a bit of time. We'll see whats in the programme tommorow. Also these plans were submitted months ago, long before he actually got involved. A lot may have changed since then...

15/03/2007, 11:28 AM
Without fan ownership, we'd be out of business

Y'see this is why it's a bad thing. :)