10/03/2007, 4:37 PM
Would you put it past us?

galway-united5
10/03/2007, 4:48 PM
Would you put it past us?
well maybe if tony cousins fields the same team-then were fuked

tribesman78
10/03/2007, 5:28 PM
Unfortunatly if it's the same team then i would have to say 3-0 to cork:( .

ccfcgirl
10/03/2007, 5:31 PM
Unless Cork City vastly improve ,I dought city will beat Galway 3-0 or4-0.
I see how Cork City get on against Pats before I predict.

gilberto_eire
10/03/2007, 5:35 PM
well lets see how smart tony is when the chips are down basically if reilly plays again against cork not very... IMO give james a run down the right and push reggie out too right back and bring billy in the middle and id try liam down the left because ive never seen him as a center anyway doesnt have the strength or height, id bring in foley to the middle and push murphy up front with o'flynn and put armstrong to the bench he didnt seem up too much the last day!. id even be up for giving treacy a run down the left, id expect at least 4-5 changes if not then ill be worried.

AT THE LEAST i dont want to see reilly playing he's utterly useless!!. you'll see teams attacking him if he plays from now on!

galway-united5
10/03/2007, 5:47 PM
What about keane if hes fit hell start at left

gilberto_eire
10/03/2007, 6:33 PM
he's not gonna be fit for another few weeks

fc hammer
10/03/2007, 6:35 PM
4-0 to Cork.

good lad conor h, you just might have got this one right:)

gufc4life
10/03/2007, 6:42 PM
i think if we make a few changes and learned our lesson last night we could be a completly different team against cork plus id say the big night go to them last night

10/03/2007, 6:47 PM
2-0 to cork

gilberto_eire
10/03/2007, 6:59 PM
see what sligo are forgetting is they have very little to choose from and to change so when the sh*t hits the fan for them which it will most prob on paddys they dont have anything to do about it while we can alter our game anyway we want...

what im trying to say is there gonna be found out VERY soon and they cant do anything about it while we can try new things till we fins what way suits us best!

10/03/2007, 7:13 PM
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha very funny, ye tried to change the game by bringing on CIARAN FOLEY, enough said

galway-united5
10/03/2007, 8:55 PM
hope cousins will give them the hairdryer and give reilly a big kick up the hole

eamo1
10/03/2007, 11:05 PM
to pull a huge performance out of the bag on friday night and maybe not win but draw and give a much better account of themselves.ive seen it happen so many times.utd have never really put in 2 very pi** poor performances in a row(with the exception of when dave connell was manager) so i doubt they will friday either.
agree with the comment about ppl leaving when the second goal went in and even a few left before that.i realise some ppl have to but others are just so maddening.
tony will sort it.

damoGUFC
10/03/2007, 11:16 PM
A draw would be great coming from Turners Cross on friday night and they could built on that if it could happen. I expect a few changes from the team that played against Sligo.

gilberto_eire
11/03/2007, 1:46 AM
i really dont care if he plays the corner flag up front as long as reilly takes a seat in the bench.... but how many ppl think thats gonna happen??.... i know its not, i saw him tapping reilly on the back TWICE(i mean on 2 differant occasions) on way of pitch gave impression they get on which i didnt like the look off this is work not play

pixiehead
11/03/2007, 2:32 AM
A draw would be tasty. and Reilly has to take a back seat. No confidence. On other matters i was happy with the small group of us who waited to Clap off the team on Friday night but where the hell did the rest go. Real Fans Stick by the team in thick and thin and for Feck sake its only the first game of the season:eek:

Claret Murph
11/03/2007, 4:24 AM
I would say 2-0 to Cork as turners cross is a graveyard for us . Anyone remember the last time we beat Cork ?

11/03/2007, 9:17 AM
agree with the comment about ppl leaving when the second goal went in and even a few left before that.i realise some ppl have to but others are just so maddening.
tony will sort it.

a lot left that were sitting beside me, they werent aware how late the kick was and thought that the 90 minutes were virtually up, of coarse that doesnt account for everyone.

Prediction for Cork match: If TC can improve the performance 0-0, if its the same team again 2-0 to cork.

11/03/2007, 11:13 AM
If you come out and play football against us you will be beaten. If you park the bus like Longford you might get a draw.

If you try to play football in all games you will lose some games but also win more so have chance of progressing like Sligo last season.

If you decide to park the bus in away games you will lose less but will have less wins & will have no chance of progressing.

Which choice will Cousins make?

galway-united5
11/03/2007, 11:16 AM
Which choice will Cousins make?

I hope he choses to play football.I think he will.were going to make the champions league.There i said it.

Demoshield
11/03/2007, 11:20 AM
Don't think we have much option against Cork, Derry, Drogheda, Bohs,
St. Pats away. If we try to play football it could be easily
4 or 5 nil everytime, if last Friday is anything to go by.

11/03/2007, 11:24 AM
Don't think we have much option against Cork, Derry, Drogheda, Bohs, St. Pats away.

You can't turn it on and off, you either play football or you don't.

galway-united5
11/03/2007, 11:24 AM
ya but last friday we played the long ball and we were ****e.If we put murphy o the left and get the ball out to him he'll cause trouble-get some crosses into stephen o'fhlynn-back of the net

11/03/2007, 11:44 AM
I guarantee we'll play for a 0-0 draw.

In fairness we'll get mopped if we try and play football against them down there.

galway-united5
11/03/2007, 12:17 PM
I guarantee we'll play for a 0-0 draw.

In fairness we'll get mopped if we try and play football against them down there.

ya but i see us lettin one in then scrambling to get goal but then conceding another one.

Tir Oilean
11/03/2007, 2:57 PM
You can't turn it on and off, you either play football or you don't.

You havent watched us play week in week out then cos sometimes we play football and sometimes we dont, mind you the former is a very rare occurence

Tribalhooie
11/03/2007, 10:26 PM
It doesnt matter if we play football or not because if Reilly is on the team we will always get hockeyed. Sligo spotted how ****e he was and all the attacks were down his side.

Trainee
12/03/2007, 3:45 AM
we will play a 4-4-1-1 formation

our team that i think that will start will be:

Rodgers

James Billy Wes Nightmer

cookie Lester Foley Dereck

Murphs

Armstrong

12/03/2007, 6:31 AM
I can see the team being:

Brinias
Reggie...billy...wes...reilly
James...lester...foley...o'brien
murphy...armstrong

MyTown
12/03/2007, 1:34 PM
Cork v Pats live on Setanta (NTL 105 and 401) at 8pm

An opportunity to suss out two opponents we face in the next few games.

It will be interesting to see how they approach it given their vastly different results at the weekend.

I'm glad Cork aren't waiting for us to arrive to get the defeat in Waterford out of their system.

galway-united5
12/03/2007, 8:05 PM
gough
james billy wesley noitmer
murphy lester foley o'brien
armstrong o'flynn

Paddyfield
12/03/2007, 9:22 PM
COUNTDOWN OF MY FINAL PREDICTION FOR CORK GAME

8 March (afer jumping on the GUFC Feel Good bandwagon) We will beat Cork 4 - 0 at the Cross

9 March (after losing 2 - 0 to Sligo) We will lose 7 - 0 in Cork

10 March (after reading that Waterford beat Cork) We will lose 2 - 0 in Cork

11 March (after dreaming Reilly got dropped and Quirke reinstated!!!) We will draw in 0 -0 in Cork

12 March (after watching Pat's win 3 - 1 in Cork on TV) We will win 1 - 0 in Cork

The mind boggles

12/03/2007, 9:34 PM
I didnt see the match paddy, were Cork as poor as there recent results would make you think?

ccfcgirl
12/03/2007, 9:47 PM
Cork City played alot better tonight than they did against Swifts and Waterford.

GuisaSaigon
12/03/2007, 9:58 PM
Cork played well, Pats first two goals were against the run of play. Pats played a 3-5-2 formation that helped them get forward more than they would have with one up front. Wouldnt mind seeing United try something simular on Friday. Cork werent as bad as the scoreline suggested, it could have easily been a draw.Two great finishes by Pats.
If we can be solid at the back in cork and nick a goal Cork could get frustrated, Devine looked a bit shaky in goals at times.

13/03/2007, 12:38 AM
Can't see us losing to ye lot lads, sorry.
Whatever about Healy and Farrelly (fingers crossed), 45 minutes of John O'Flynn should do the job.
2-1 City.

Paddyfield
13/03/2007, 6:19 AM
Can't see us losing to ye lot lads, sorry.
Whatever about Healy and Farrelly (fingers crossed), 45 minutes of John O'Flynn should do the job.
2-1 City.

Wow. Thank you Risteard for having the confidence in GUFC to score a goal at Turners Cross. Now all we have to do is stop ye scoring. Simple?

13/03/2007, 8:21 AM
I think if Gary is back we could easily get a result.Friday night was a wke up call for everyone especially the players so expect a battling performance on friday night.

Funny game soccer waterford manager is dreaming of Europe while half our fans are getting ready to commit Hari Kari.

Lets hope we are loud and proud on friday night and remember lads that Cork are very strict on Alcohol as we know from our last visit down there.:ball:

MyTown
13/03/2007, 8:48 AM
Disagree with Saigon - Thought Pats were full value for the win. Kirby & O'Neill were brilliant - Pats look the real deal.

Expect O'Flynn to start and a torrid night for Reggie.

Drogheda are getting terrible stick on the other boards for their boring outings so far - no doubt they're relying on Friday week to "get their season started":rolleyes:

scotsbeer
13/03/2007, 3:11 PM
I think if Gary is back we could easily get a result.Friday night was a wke up call for everyone especially the players so expect a battling performance on friday night.

Funny game soccer waterford manager is dreaming of Europe while half our fans are getting ready to commit Hari Kari.

Lets hope we are loud and proud on friday night and remember lads that Cork are very strict on Alcohol as we know from our last visit down there.:ball:

cup replay win for cork a couple of seasons ago still sticks in my throat a bit and we will get revenge one day so why not friday as they are off to a mingin start to the season.
agreed reilly had a mare against sligo but nobody really played well. murphy maybe and wesley got pass marks so i think the players will have somrthing to prove to cousins and gufc fans.
gutted im not going to make it to the match as am in kinsale for a wedding where i know there will be a big crowd of cork fans. will find a tv to see most of the match though and predict 1-1 but hoping for 1-0.
cant see cousins making too many changes as im sure the pre season was all about getting his best 11 and i cant see him changing it so early in the season

Tir Oilean
13/03/2007, 3:34 PM
hoping for 1-0.

Sorry for being a pedantic Pat but dont you mean 0-1 Scotsbeer!!!!!
I'm not sure how to call it neither team has had a great start City are sure to be favourites as they were in Waterford but a lot of teams have had poor starts so hopefully we can at least put in a good performace. Any one have any money on this match yet any odds?

derm
13/03/2007, 3:50 PM
Looking forward to this game, many of ye coming down?

Difficult one to predict with so many variables. City have a new defence that will take time to gel and our midfield is lacking if the new boys don't get clearance from FIFA...
Still O'Flynn coming back is bad news for ye, he was probably the best City player in Waterford for his 15 min cameo and won MOTM at the Cross (:rolleyes: ) for a similar amount of time. If he can put in 60 min and O'Donovan cops himself on then your defenders will be in for a hairy time ...

However they might not get any service until the last 10 minutes :rolleyes:

Anyway, enjoy the game and I really hope ye're gracious in defeat:D

scotsbeer
13/03/2007, 4:08 PM
Sorry for being a pedantic Pat but dont you mean 0-1 Scotsbeer!!!!!
I'm not sure how to call it neither team has had a great start City are sure to be favourites as they were in Waterford but a lot of teams have had poor starts so hopefully we can at least put in a good performace. Any one have any money on this match yet any odds?

aye.. 0-1 with united scoring first !!!!!

corbyeire
13/03/2007, 6:16 PM
dont think sligo were that good - and they bet us 2-0 - if tony sticks out the same team - against an experienced cork side at home - we will lose 2-0

Demoshield
13/03/2007, 9:20 PM
Gough/Rogers
Reggi
James Billy Wes McKenna
O'Flynn Murphs Lester O'Brien
Armstrong

O'Flynn has played on wing for Derry.Need his Experience in Cork.
McKenna is a gamble but can't be any worse than O'Reilly.
If it doesn't work,Cork are that bad or they feel very lucky, Reggi can go to rb, James to mid &
Murphs or O'Flynn can go up front.
Is Gamble suspended for this game? Straigh red in Setanta cup game.

13/03/2007, 10:48 PM
Then that means a Setanta Cup suspension surely.