View Full Version : Eircom League Weekly
carrickharp
08/03/2007, 12:53 PM
Back on Monday at the same fcuking late time of 11.25pm (repeat 5.50 am Tuesday) thought they might have moved this to a earlier hour for the new "FAI super dooper league" season:mad:
08/03/2007, 1:07 PM
Ludricous time,no doubt.
It's a terrible show though.
A new show with proper analysis and interviews at 5pm on a Sunday evening or something along those lines would be far more beneficial for the league.
Also if Sligo and the likes would maybe move the gantry to to show the good side of the grounds it would look better aswell.
It might be a terrible show but for now there is no alternative...It's the only highlight show airing on tv.
GuisaSaigon
08/03/2007, 1:09 PM
It's bad enough that it's a crap show but having it on at 11.25 on Monday night is a joke. Wouldnt expect anything else from a coming together of the FAI and TV3.
superblues
08/03/2007, 1:12 PM
Was gutted to see they still have the rights to the Eircom League. Its a disgraceful programme and is really frustrating to watch as they usually skip the key parts in games. Another boring year of tv3 highlights ahead!!! Maybe they should get a real Eircom League fan to present the programme?????
Mark Breen
08/03/2007, 1:24 PM
Was gutted to see they still have the rights to the Eircom League. Its a disgraceful programme and is really frustrating to watch as they usually skip the key parts in games. Another boring year of tv3 highlights ahead!!! Maybe they should get a real Eircom League fan to present the programme?????
Feck sake lad's at least there is a highlight show, may not be the best show in the world but its summit. would you prefer they did an RTE on it and forgot the league totally
I don't know if tv3 actually have rights to the league. Most of their footage is submitted by clubs. Waynes World tv at its best. :cool:
TheBoss
08/03/2007, 1:28 PM
They rarely show the First Division highlights
Tazskool
08/03/2007, 1:28 PM
Think yourself lucky for those who live over the water and get NOTHING! :P
I don't know if tv3 actually have rights to the league. Most of their footage is submitted by clubs.
EVERYBODY has rights to the league. FFS clubs can even negotiate their own tv deals for indivdual games if they don't clash with another one.
Do people not remember why TV3 start showing el weekly? They won delayed rights when Sky got the live qualifiers. They were then shafted by the government who "awarded" the live games to RTE and left TV3 still showing delayed coverage. The el was part of that package, but they obviously felt that there was no point in fostering a relationship with the FAI as the games would always be on RTE.
There is nothing stopping Setanta, RTE or any other channel showing a highlights programme but they choose not to. tv3 are the only station to ever show a regular LOI programme.
In saying that the format is all wrong. 2 minutes of clips and 5 minutes analysis is rubbish.
Eoingull
08/03/2007, 1:31 PM
It may not be perfect, but I've always enjoyed the show.
08/03/2007, 1:32 PM
It's bad enough that it's a crap show but having it on at 11.25 on Monday night is a joke. Wouldnt expect anything else from a coming together of the FAI and TV3.
And having the repeat to a late-night show...later that night:rolleyes: so that if you forget it the first time you've missed it twice by the time you wake up. Pure genius.
eircom League Weekly Formula:
Introduction
Match Report
Analyst comments on match report while footage is repeated
Repeat steps 2 and 3
Ad break
Repeat steps 2 and 3
End with 15 seconds of jokey banter.
You know, if they wanted to, they could use the late-night slot to their advantage - turn it into more of a magazine show, spotlight on different clubs/players each week, proper uncensored discussion on the issues affecting the league (would need to be done by old pros with no connection to clubs, Untouchables as far as fines are concerned), Supporter's Rant of the Week:D. Flying under the radar, well away from prime-time and pressure to play it safe, should give them the freedom to try out new things.
Of course they wouldn't dream of shaking up the tired old formula because a spectacular absence of original thought is the main feature of TV3's broadcasting history. Maybe if the someone paid ITV1 to make the show, TV3 would finally take an interest.
Actually they wouldn't even have to come up with any new ideas themselves. Even something like Brian de Salvo's radio essays on RTE would be a good start. I watched quite a bit of US sport shows last year and TV3 could learn so much from them, just in terms of the presentation of a highlights/panel discussion show.
superblues
08/03/2007, 1:38 PM
its not that bad, its a hell of a lot better than nothing at all, thats the way i look at it
Thats grand coming from a Dublin club. I think ye still got more coverage last season than we did. And i know ye were playing alot better but we had a close relegation battle with Bray for alot of the Season and didnt get a sniff!!
08/03/2007, 1:41 PM
Any chance of a group of fans doing our own show for online broadcast?
superblues
08/03/2007, 1:44 PM
And what a boring man he is too!!
Osam absolutely does know what he's talking about but you can tell that he gets bored sometimes. An Osam/Rico combination would be perfect
08/03/2007, 1:57 PM
yeah but the tiny bit of coverage we got was to show the goals now and again, apart from the cogh game when we got the 1st division trophy i cant think of a single game other than that when we had a proper highlights package put together, and even the cobh game just showed the goals and the celebrations afterwards
They showed quite a few of our game only because we made the effort in taping them. Wasnt exactly long either but better than nothing.
Still a very amateur show though.
IMO no first division games should be shown. Watch the Dutch or German highlights on Setanta for pointers in how to do a proper show TV3.
superblues
08/03/2007, 2:01 PM
I think Premier Highlights should be shown and then a round up of all the First Division goals after.
Ludricous time,no doubt.
It's a terrible show though.
A new show with proper analysis and interviews at 5pm on a Sunday evening or something along those lines would be far more beneficial for the league.
Also if Sligo and the likes would maybe move the gantry to to show the good side of the grounds it would look better aswell.
5pm on Sunday is half time on Super Sunday. Whether you like it or not, people will not switch off a PL game to watch highlights of the EL games. TV3 always have their sports programme at 11.25pm on weeknights.
padzer
08/03/2007, 2:05 PM
Its pretty poor alright but no other channel seems to be arsed putting on a show. Was there not a "fans forum" thingy on it for a while a couple of years ago? Im nearly sure there was. The repeat show used to be on at 4pm one of the days, used to catch it on my break, but to have it on at 5 in the mornin is madness. TV3 transmission ends early enough on the wkends - why not stick it on then - at least it would be on when ye get back from the pub.
neutrino
08/03/2007, 2:50 PM
Conor, we'd move the gantry if we had one in Sligo :D
your right though. would look much better being filmed from other side.
superblues
08/03/2007, 3:38 PM
Waterford should really do the same. Would look alot better to see a full stand than an empty track and tree's.
08/03/2007, 3:45 PM
Apparantly the name of the show is a misprint. Its supposed to be Eircom League Weakly
superblues
08/03/2007, 3:47 PM
Apparantly the name of the show is a misprint. Its supposed to be Eircom League Weakly
:D :D:D
It is a waste of time analysing the formula of eL weakly as its tiring & they have made no effort to improve over the years. It has the look of a show someone is forcing them to do.
Paddy Mulligan is surprisingly good analyst. Osam is a like a broke record - what odds he tips Derry again this season?
harpstilidie
08/03/2007, 5:41 PM
Its a very poor show but as people have said its all we have so its better than nothing. Its on at a joke of a time. Even if they had it on at 10 or 10.30 on the monday night it would be ok.
08/03/2007, 10:08 PM
Trevor Welch is an eL fan and the analysts are good.
Osam isn't my cup of tea which is grand but always interested in what Scully and Mulligan have to say.
It's just the production is awfult.
120 seconds of footage which means that the exact same stuff is repeated while they chat through it.
don ramo
08/03/2007, 11:16 PM
i think in genneral its a good product that needs investment and hopefully with RTE and SETANTA getting involved someone will also take a piece of this and expand on it, TG4 got good viewing figures last year so the others are hopin on the bandwagon and investing in the league so there not goin to just show one game a week if there is demand for it they will make a well produced show to expand it and make more money for themselfs,
i do agree with the first divison clubs about the lack of games, but they dont have 10 our 12 cameras spare every week to send to all the grounds, the best way for now (till the league gets a bit bigger) is to film it yourselfs and send the footage to them for the highlights,
09/03/2007, 12:05 AM
For such a late night slot it would be interesting for TV3 to rip off the Sky Sports fan show, where they would review the weekend action in the company of one fan from each Premier club.
09/03/2007, 12:21 AM
For such a late night slot it would be interesting for TV3 to rip off the Sky Sports fan show, where they would review the weekend action in the company of one fan from each Premier club.
Would be great craic could have two chairs left over and Get a Dundalk fan, A waterford fan, a Shels fan and a Galway fan to scrap over them :)
In the interests of fairness both the Dundalk and Shels fan should have one hand tied behind their back
09/03/2007, 6:27 AM
The point made about TG4 is well made. Back in the 1990's they used to do a show called Sportiris and Charlie McGeever and Aidan Fitzmaurice previewed the following weekends games in Irish, despite having NO footage. But it was still worth a listen.
There is a German Programme called RAN on SAT 1.... I think.... some posters in Cork may have seen it cause Chorus/Cork Multichannel have carried the station for years. I have seen it when I have overnighted on a Saturday before away game in the Cross of a Sunday... ah the good old days... anyway.
The format of RAN is this they have supporters in the studio, in their club shirts. And they are occasionally asked their opinion. The presenters
They interview managers just after the games have finished and show the goals just after the games( admittedly) this goes out on match day. However EL weekly could adopt the format having fans in the studio and feature, more highlights from each game more interviews with players and managers.
I think even Sunday night around 8 would be a good time for this show to go out.And the show should be at least 45 minutes long but preferably an hour. TV 3 could put a Sports Tonight out on Monday nights instead which could show Setanta Cup highlights as well as the usual package of news items from other sports.
09/03/2007, 2:09 PM
I'll try upload the majority of eLW during the season! ;) :ball:
09/03/2007, 2:20 PM
I take it the FAI are going all out to market the new league.
Play the majority of the weekend's games on a weeknight.
Have live tv games clashing with the rest of the matches on said night, i.e. automatically the potential viewing figures in half.
Allow a partner broadcaster to have highlights shows of the weekend's games on a weeknight, on at an time when half of the audience are in bed.
The great "We care about Irish football" organisation. :rolleyes: Marketing the domestic game, like appointing Irish football managers, is not something that they take much time over.
09/03/2007, 3:58 PM
Anyone see Sports Tonight last night? Did a nice little montage of last season. Showed some great goals and the cup presentations. Though it was nicely done.
11/03/2007, 12:27 PM
Anyone see Sports Tonight last night? Did a nice little montage of last season. Showed some great goals and the cup presentations. Though it was nicely done.
when I was at the launch of the eircom league they showed the clips from the past season on the dvd presentation. Seen from reading the papers on Friday that Pat Scully wont be doin eircom league weekly this year as he reckons there is a clear conflict of interest. I would like to see more of Paddy Mulligan doing it as he is the " Eamon Dunphy" of the Eircom league, top notch anayslist.
I would like to see more of Paddy Mulligan doing it as he is the " Eamon Dunphy" of the Eircom league, top notch anayslist.
Eamon Dunphy, top notch?
Burny89
11/03/2007, 5:04 PM
that same thought came to my head too. Comical, yes. Top notch, i ain't so sure. But hey lets not get off topic
Raheny Red, your uploads will be much apprecited
BohsFans
11/03/2007, 5:47 PM
What games will we see this week?
Bohemians - Drogheda United YES
Derry City - Bray Wanderers ??
Galway United - Sligo Rovers YES
U.C.D. - Shamrock Rovers ??
Waterford United - Cork City ??
Longford Town - St. Patrick's Athl HIGHLY UNLIKELY
1st
Dundalk - Finn Harps YES
Cobh Ramblers - Limerick 37 ??
Monaghan United - Wexford Youths ??
Shelbourne - Kildare County NO
Athlone Town - Kilkenny City ??
Tis-smeee
11/03/2007, 5:54 PM
Why dont they invite a different manager on each week?
Good idea alright...that way every manager would be fined and it would even out rather than one manager having to remortgage his house
11/03/2007, 5:57 PM
Galway United - Sligo Rovers ??Was a camera there anyway so I'd expect so.
11/03/2007, 6:30 PM
Nothing at the Kildare game!
I would also like Paddy Mulligan to be given a permanent slot. Doesn't usually beat about the bush unlike the other dreary characters they have on. Alternatively they should just get Patsy McGowan. ;)
Tazskool
11/03/2007, 7:01 PM
Is there streaming of this program on any official tv site? I'd like to see it as I am in England
Longford Town - St. Patrick's Athl ??
Filmed by the Pats crew. Unlikely to be on TV3. Highlights on our website later in the week
11/03/2007, 9:13 PM
I personally think Tom the Gom should replace Scully. He wont sit there and listen to Osam repeating himself week in, week out:D.
11/03/2007, 9:20 PM
Chorus Sports have finished up so they wont be providing footage of City games anymore. I dont know if we have something else sorted out.
11/03/2007, 9:24 PM
What time is this on tomorrow night?
Darco Ooragnak
11/03/2007, 9:27 PM
23:25
Roddy Collins will probably be on:rolleyes: