View Full Version : Supporters Club Thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Monkfish
14/03/2007, 4:38 PM
If this isn't on I'll be behind the goals at the Clubhouse End :ball:

Behind the dugouts! at least theres a few steps to broaden our viewing angles + god help heff if he gets subbed! (im all for the shed, however the schooligan invasion will have to be quashed first)

14/03/2007, 4:40 PM
Behind the dugouts! at least theres a few steps to broaden our viewing angles + god help heff if he gets subbed! (im all for the shed, however the schooligan invasion will have to be quashed first)

I'm not standing behind the dugouts never did

You of course are more than welcome to. :)

Monkfish
14/03/2007, 4:44 PM
I'm not standing behind the dugouts never did

You of course are more than welcome to. :)

If god save the queen can get played at croke park then surly you can make this one sacrafice?!, besides, behind that goal is rubbish.

14/03/2007, 4:48 PM
If god save the queen can get played at croke park then surly you can make this one sacrafice?!, besides, behind that goal is rubbish.

Nope.

I was there for THAT Brian Donnelan goal and by Christ if I can't have my Shed I'll be there again :p

Besides if tis athmosphere you wan't what little you could make would have to be behind that goals

Monkfish
14/03/2007, 4:56 PM
Think back to the real shed in hogan park, walk down to the bottom step, put a big goal post with nets in your way, result? **** viewing position!

14/03/2007, 5:00 PM
Think back to the real shed in hogan park, walk down to the bottom step, put a big goal post with nets in your way, result? **** viewing position!

No one asking you to stand behind the net man :)

Besides when have I ever been in a state where I care about the view?? :p

Monkfish
14/03/2007, 5:05 PM
No one asking you to stand behind the net man :)

Besides when have I ever been in a state where I care about the view?? :p

True and true, whats needed here is a compramise, still house for 3?!!

14/03/2007, 5:21 PM
True and true, whats needed here is a compramise, still house for 3?!!

Could make 4 if someone sponsors me :p

4tothefloor
14/03/2007, 7:11 PM

I'd second that, purely on the basis that I'm not a fan of watching games from behind the goals, can't read the game properly. Most of the lads were over there for the Bray game anyway and it was also the favoured spot last time at Jackman so I'd say that'll be the spot....

Monkfish
14/03/2007, 9:58 PM
I'd second that, purely on the basis that I'm not a fan of watching games from behind the goals, can't read the game properly. Most of the lads were over there for the Bray game anyway and it was also the favoured spot last time at Jackman so I'd say that'll be the spot....

Couldnt agree more, unite the clans LTID! Il sponser you for a fizzy pop or 2.

Needtoknow
14/03/2007, 10:45 PM
Ok behind the dugouts then, this is only for the first 2 home games isn't it! It's hard if any of us bring a paying adult to the game we have to tell them they can't go into the stand. Hope it doesn't rain! :ball:

15/03/2007, 7:47 AM
That's grand with ye all behind the dugouts I can stand behind the goals and just ring someone anytime I want to know what's going on at the far side :p

young boy
15/03/2007, 8:37 AM
y dont the supporters club meet behind whichever goals Athlone are in and sing and wreck the keepers head. then switch ends at half time. im sure it will b an advantage to the limerick team and will provide good entertainment also:D

15/03/2007, 8:39 AM
y dont the supporters club meet behind whichever goals Athlone are in and sing and wreck the keepers head. then switch ends at half time. im sure it will b an advantage to the limerick team and will provide good entertainment also:D

See, He get's it :p

Needtoknow
15/03/2007, 4:21 PM
Any supporter wishing to give a hand cleaning up Jackman park, could you please go down there between 6 & 8 tonight. Thanks

PS: Bring a brush if you can.

4tothefloor
15/03/2007, 11:39 PM
Because some of us are more interested in actually watching the game :D

redron
15/03/2007, 11:55 PM
Is the Supporters' Club table sorted?
Who's going to man it? A roster to take turns, maybe?
What about a few people to go around the ground asking people to join, who may not have got the chance on their way in (due to the huge queues at the table, of course)?
I'm not available for any of this, as I'll be on steward duty.

16/03/2007, 7:54 AM
Because some of us are more interested in actually watching the game :D

PAH :p

Needtoknow
22/03/2007, 3:24 PM
SC meeting up in The Still house from 6 tomorrow night. All Welcome.

SC membership forms/Fanzine available on the night in the Still House & at SC table at Jackman Park entrance.:ball:

Needtoknow
23/03/2007, 3:14 PM
SC meeting up in The Still house from 6 tomorrow night. All Welcome.

SC membership forms/Fanzine available on the night in the Still House & at SC table at Jackman Park entrance.:ball:

See you all shortly. Hope there will be enough room in the Still! :D

Needtoknow
23/03/2007, 11:38 PM
If you want to join the supporters club PM me your details here, we will arrange to meet you to sign you up or you can pay getting on the bus on Sunday April 1st! First come first served!

Strictly only SC members!
Membership details!
Adult : 20 euro
Student/OAP: 10 euro (In date ID only)
U18 : 10 euro (In date ID only)
U16 : 10 euro (In date ID only)(Only with Adult supervision)
U12 : 5 euro (In date ID only)(Only with Adult supervision)

Details will be passed on to all SC members & those who contact us this week & on www.limerick37fc.ie SC page.

Limerick 37 needs your support sign up now!

No drinking or smoking on SC buses & anyone that brings SC name into disrepute will not be coming again!:ball:

Old keeper
27/03/2007, 6:15 PM
Hi
After a walk around the ground last Friday evening there were not that many families in the stand so we will move the family area and allow LOUD supporters to pick a nice area in the stand. but lets try to keep the loudness clean

27/03/2007, 6:30 PM
so we will move the family area and allow LOUD supporters to pick a nice area in the stand. but lets try to keep the loudness clean

Ah football match Ger

Places where the poor darlings ears might not be corrupted would include the cinema or McDonalds

My Dad started bringing me to games when I was seven I turned out alright :D

4tothefloor
27/03/2007, 7:43 PM
Fair enough about a section for families, but you can't be telling fans what they can and cannot chant. That's ridiculous, and the whole point of family areas anyway is to keep the kids in areas where they do not hear obsceneties. Not that it matters a jot......

thelimerick
27/03/2007, 10:40 PM
In fairness lads, some of the stuff thats been roared out at matches through the years has been fairly brutal. Granted most of it has been hiarious, but if I had a kid the last place I'd want to bring him/her would be right beside the lads caling the keeper a c**t and tellin us what his wife was doin last night.
Thats grand for us lot but families should be welcome in jackman park to support Limerick 37. It's just about havin a bit of respect and cop on.
Otherwise the general public will stay clear of the place and we'll never grow as a club.

Monkfish
27/03/2007, 10:42 PM
As of now the info is as follows:
50 seater bus leaving from the bus stop outside Nestors bar (o'connell st) at 11 o clock sharp. (first come first served) Sunday 1st April. Paid up members ONLY! You can join on the morning.
No u16s without adult. No alcohol/smoking on the bus. Alcohol/food breaks before and after game. (if you hold us up you get left behind) ANYONE ACTING THE SCUMBAG WILL NOT TRAVEL AGAIN!

Any Q's or new info please post.

27/03/2007, 10:46 PM
In fairness lads, some of the stuff thats been roared out at matches through the years has been fairly brutal. Granted most of it has been hiarious, but if I had a kid the last place I'd want to bring him/her would be right beside the lads caling the keeper a c**t and tellin us what his wife was doin last night.
Thats grand for us lot but families should be welcome in jackman park to support Limerick 37. It's just about havin a bit of respect and cop on.
Otherwise the general public will stay clear of the place and we'll never grow as a club.

That line of thought may go down well in Thomond Park, but honestly this is football, anyone bringing their families there know what football and football crowds are like. We're gonna be abusive to the opposition players, whether it hurts the kid's ears or not. If we had a designated area that the people who want to chant could meet up at the ground then the families would soon get to know to stay away from that area, as it is we're broken up all over the ground so there's going to be abusive language wherever you go

Old keeper
27/03/2007, 10:53 PM
That line of thought may go down well in Thomond Park, but honestly this is football, anyone bringing their families there know what football and football crowds are like. We're gonna be abusive to the opposition players, whether it hurts the kid's ears or not. If we had a designated area that the people who want to chant could meet up at the ground then the families would soon get to know to stay away from that area, as it is we're broken up all over the ground so there's going to be abusive language wherever you go

Hi Jebus
That's a good point but we really do need to improve attendances and if the athmosphere is one of foul and abusive chants a lot of people will not come back. I hope we can all find middle ground on this one

27/03/2007, 10:57 PM
Hi Jebus
That's a good point but we really do need to improve attendances and if the athmosphere is one of foul and abusive chants a lot of people will not come back. I hope we can all find middle ground on this one

Guys there are already is a middle ground, we're not horribly abusive to opposition players in regards to their personal lives (unless they are ex-Limerick who have burnt all their bridges with us), mostly its about what clubs they've played for, or mistakes they've made during the game. This will always happen at football games, and given the choice between us singing and insulting opposition players, or a ground with no atmosphere, I'd like the think the singing, insulting one would draw back more people than the latter option

Monkfish
27/03/2007, 10:59 PM
Ah football match Ger

Places where the poor darlings ears might not be corrupted would include the cinema or McDonalds

My Dad started bringing me to games when I was seven I turned out alright :D

Eh?!!!!!!!

30/03/2007, 8:01 AM

Seriously cop on to yourself man

It's a football ground. May I suggest the Magners League for the wonderful warm fuzzy feeling for you and the kiddies. There'll even be loads of room what with it not being the Heiniken.

The way someof the poster on here go on you'd swear the ground was packed to the rafters with acid tongue wielding neo-Nazi skinheads :rolleyes:

It's our club, our ground, we shall say what we like

It's just about havin a bit of respect and cop on.

I think tis yourself needs to have a bit of respect and a large dose of cop on saying things like that to the bread and butter fans :rolleyes:

Some patronising $hits on here sometimes

30/03/2007, 8:03 AM
That's a good point but we really do need to improve attendances and if the athmosphere is one of foul and abusive chants a lot of people will not come back.

And is that how you would describe the over-riding athmosphere at Limerick games you've been at?? :rolleyes:

Because I'm sure you've been to 100s Ger........

I hope we can all find middle ground on this one

Well we're standing in the Shed. You can put the easily offended wherever you please

leather
30/03/2007, 8:36 AM
Agree with Old Keeper about chanting crap.. Just because it is done by morons at other clubs it does not make it right... cop yourself on ltid...
point of fact.... It is not your ground.....

30/03/2007, 8:51 AM
cop yourself on ltid...
point of fact.... It is not your ground.....

Oh dear they're everywhere :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Anybody who complains about the language at a football game seriously needs to go away and get a life.

Nice to see the confraternity spirit is alive and well in Limerick :rolleyes:

leather
30/03/2007, 9:07 AM
the only body who needs to get a life is yourself...anybody who thinks that to enjoy and participate in sport, you need to shout abusive and sad crap at people, needs help. peoples actions define what type of people that they are. What a good example to give to the kids ,the future of whatever sport you would support.

Monkfish
30/03/2007, 9:15 AM
Any chance we can reclaim this thread for the purpose it was intended for? im gonna set up an 'infighting' thread so you can argue on that.

30/03/2007, 9:50 AM
the only body who needs to get a life is yourself...anybody who thinks that to enjoy and participate in sport, you need to shout abusive and sad crap at people, needs help. peoples actions define what type of people that they are. What a good example to give to the kids ,the future of whatever sport you would support.

Oh Please, spare me the patronising ****, even on my worst day etc, etc :rolleyes:

The point I'm makin (I'll type this slowly so you can try and grasp it) is as follows:

The..........athmosphere..........at.............. games................in..............theJacks..... ........is.................bad............enough.. ...............as.............is............withou t...............the..................God.......... ..........squad...........coming............on.... .........here....................... and............. telling ................people................. what.................. they............ can .................and............ can't........... say......... Football....... is....... a........... working........ class........ game,....... occasionaly......... there........ will.......... be......... some ........coarse...... language........ By .....and.... large........ it'.....s .......not....... at....... all.... bad...... Anybody......... who........ complians...... about..... the........ occasional...... swear....... word .........or......... rude........ chant...... needs........ to...... get........ a........ life....... big....... time....... I........ stand .......over....... that....... and......... I'm....... certain......... I'm........ in........ the ........majority....... too........

Oldkeeper: Telling people where they can and can't stand and what they can and can't say is ludicrous, is only going to bring you bad will and smacks of mini-Hitlerism of the worst kind. By and large we're good people who are passionate about our club.

If you want to set up your own little fiefdom in the Jacks just say so and we wont go to home games

Also would appreciate if you had a problem you would at least come out and say it straight ;)

leather
30/03/2007, 9:56 AM
And People Wonder Why Senior Football In Lims Was Dying ....

Roadend
30/03/2007, 10:00 AM
For god sake :rolleyes:
I think its obvious what oldkeeper is on about. They are trying to attract families, i.e. make MORE money for L37. He believes that if families with young children are stood beside chants that involve cursing(Not that this is wrong or anything) that they may well not come back again. You have a go at him then for trying to get more people to games just because it means you can't stand under a piece of corrugated metal for 90 minutes.

30/03/2007, 10:02 AM
And People Wonder Why Senior Football In Lims Was Dying ....

Brilliant reply there :rolleyes:

I think you'll find it had as much (maybe even more!!!) to do with a succession of dodgy owners than people like myself who give or take a few haven't missed a home game in 14 years

30/03/2007, 10:05 AM
He believes that if families with young children are stood beside chants that involve cursing(Not that this is wrong or anything) that they may well not come back again.

Nobodys tying them up

Big huge ground there

The way people go on you'd swear there was several 100 who go to our games purely to curse, rape and pillage

30/03/2007, 10:06 AM
Any chance we can reclaim this thread for the purpose it was intended for?

It's far too late :eek: :D

Roadend
30/03/2007, 10:16 AM
Nobodys tying them up
The way people go on you'd swear there was several 100 who go to our games purely to curse, rape and pillage

Its all about perception really, I see it as OK trying to bring in the numbers in a way he believes this is possible, you see it as the SC being censored and victimised.

30/03/2007, 10:19 AM
Its all about perception really, I see it as OK trying to bring in the numbers in a way he believes this is possible, you see it as the SC being censored and victimised.

By all means do (a)

But don't do it while also doing (b)

Roadend
30/03/2007, 10:28 AM
You won't find any disagreements with anyone. Nobody wants the SC to tone down or stop the chants, OK is merely trying to get across the fact that parents won't want children exposed to cursing etc and it may well mean they won't return if they are exposed to it. Its about reaching a balance between the two for him.

leather
30/03/2007, 10:29 AM
Question fro LTID, if you had kids or maybe a girlfriend and wanted to bring them to see an E/L matc, Would you like to have a moron behind you shouting abusive and foul language at the playing area. Wouldn't it be fun trying to explain some of the terms to the kids... oh sorry , in your perfect world neither would be at the match or if they were they would be in their own little enclosure.. maybe you would like to see us go the way of our uk friends and have kids shouting abusive and vile crap from a young age...
you must be fair stupid enough to support a team even though you know that it is owned and run by corrupt people. by supporting the club you are suppoorting THEM, thus continuing their reign.

leather
30/03/2007, 10:30 AM
Roadend,, just saw your post...

spot on, even though it will probably fall on deaf ears...

LFC in Exile
30/03/2007, 11:10 AM
This seems to be an argument about nothing.

I think a family area is a great idea. I also think an Ultras area is a great idea. It is better for chanting fans to locate together to feed off each other, when they are spread around the ground there is no chanting and very little atmosphere.

I've stood in teh shed with a lot of the 'hard core' posters on here. Some of the chants and abuse hurled at opposition (and sometimes our own) players i haven't agreed with. If I did bring my nephew or another kid to the ground I would not stand with the 'hard core' support if there was a lot of abuse and/or swearing. It would be good to have another area of the ground where supporters with kids could stand together. I think it's impossible to avoid swearing completely at a football match (at any level) - but there are degrees.

The problem is the lack of covered facilities. In time thsi problem will be gone and we can, like most clubs in the eL, have a dedicated, covered family enclosure. Until then I don't think it is unreasonable for the club to designate a section of the stand as a family enclosure. The future of the club is kids being brought and becoming die-hard fans later.

Voice of Reason
30/03/2007, 11:36 AM
I'll try and lighten the mood with a little story.

A couple of years back I brought a friend and his kids to Aston Villa.

We were in the North Stand (family area).

Well, duly, late in the game the Holte End started a chant of 'The referee's a ******'.

Nastaha asked me what they were saying - All I could come up with was 'The referees a Willy Wonka'.

Maybe we could use that as a chant at Jackman.

Any other sanitised versions of classic chants out there?!!

Cheers.

30/03/2007, 3:04 PM
Question fro LTID, if you had kids or maybe a girlfriend and wanted to bring them to see an E/L matc, Would you like to have a moron behind you shouting abusive and foul language at the playing area. Wouldn't it be fun trying to explain some of the terms to the kids...

Suffer the little children :rolleyes:

It's only a little bit of cursing, I reckon they'd get over it

oh sorry , in your perfect world neither would be at the match or if they were they would be in their own little enclosure..

Ya when the ground is developed (any word on our new stand??) they should have their own enclosure

maybe you would like to see us go the way of our uk friends and have kids shouting abusive and vile crap from a young age...

WTF?? :confused:

you must be fair stupid enough to support a team even though you know that it is owned and run by corrupt people. by supporting the club you are suppoorting THEM, thus continuing their reign

Absolute garbage of the highest degree, so stupid I'm not even going to try and explain myself