View Full Version : A Rant!

Pages : 1 [2] 3

05/03/2007, 12:31 PM
Richmond Park & Tolka look so much better on tv than live.
Dalymount is poor overall but the stand is comfortable live.
Turners Cross is better live than on tv as unfortunately the small stand is opposite the tv cameras.
United Park while poor is probably better live than on tv.

Its been said many times before but Irish sport has no history of support over a season. GAA Championship & Rugby provinicial games are not that plentiful. Maybe Football (soccer) is just the most popular sport in the country due to saturation tv coverage?

CharlesThompson
05/03/2007, 1:09 PM
Richmond Park & Tolka look so much better on tv than live.
Dalymount is poor overall but the stand is comfortable live.
Turners Cross is better live than on tv as unfortunately the small stand is opposite the tv cameras.
United Park while poor is probably better live than on tv.

Its been said many times before but Irish sport has no history of support over a season. GAA Championship & Rugby provinicial games are not that plentiful. Maybe Football (soccer) is just the most popular sport in the country due to saturation tv coverage?

Pete, what's to stop Cork City from putting up a TV gantry behind the small stand we normally see on TV and have it facing the main stand for live matches at Turners Cross. With both ends now fully seated I think it would look great for the TV viewer and present a positive image to Corkonians who normally do not attend the Cross for matches?

05/03/2007, 1:29 PM

Thought it looked fantastic the night ye beat Derry to win the league though.

05/03/2007, 1:32 PM
Thought it looked fantastic the night ye beat Derry to win the league though.

Would have looked a lot better had it been facing the Donie Forde. DUnno what the story is with why its set up as it is though

05/03/2007, 1:42 PM
Would have looked a lot better had it been facing the Donie Forde. DUnno what the story is with why its set up as it is though

Wasn't there something about not being able to have a gantry on the "small stand" side because you wouldn't be able to get planning permission with the houses backing onto it??

05/03/2007, 1:45 PM
Wasn't there something about not being able to have a gantry on the "small stand" side because you wouldn't be able to get planning permission with the houses backing onto it??

Could be. Honestly don't know but that does make sense

05/03/2007, 1:46 PM
What I don't get is how Irish peopkle who have nevered lived in Britain or contributed to a British club can actually feel an affinity to it. The use of "we" and "us" when talking about Man Utd or Liverpool is very odd.

I think its actually more of a group mentality thing and identifying with peers more than an anti eircom league thing.

Nail on the head there. It is the sheep mentality. Why do the majority of barstoolers "support" liverpool? Because everyone else does.

Facilities would be the main reason followed by the lack of a decent tv show.

Turners Cross is now the best ground in the league and others should follow suit.

Having a Wayne's World type show on at midnight showing only some of the premier games is laughable in this day and age. I've said it before but it wont matter if you show 200 games live if there is no proper highlights programme at a proper hour weekly. Also the fact that 3 clubs in the premier do not even have a gantry for cameras shows how far we have to go. Having highlights of a game being done by some guy with a handicam in with the fans is amateur hour stuff.

An example here is the Dutch or German football on Setanta. It's a one hour show shown in the evening featuring ALL of the games.

Stupid decisions like playing on thursday nights doesnt help either.

Sumac
05/03/2007, 2:02 PM
A lot of people (including me) support an English club because that is what you are exposed to when you are younger (On TV, in the paper, magazines etc). Luckily for me my father brought me to Galway United games when I was younger so I developed a love for them (And his first love is the GAA)
Because of the wall to wall coverage of the English Premiership most youngsetrs will develop a bond one of teh English clubs. At that age it doesn't make a difference whether the team is 5 miles or 500 miles down the road.
However the trick is to get these kids to EL games at least once and many will be fascinated by live football -
Also newcomers at EL games should always be felt welcome - People often slag supporters that only start going when a team is successful - Remember, you want these people to come back
Any, thats my rant over

05/03/2007, 2:05 PM
People often slag supporters that only start going when a team is successful - Remember, you want these people to come back

Explains why Galway never get any new supporters anyway, the words successful and Galway never seem to meet in the same sentence, well unless your talking about buisness matters anyway :D

charliesboots
05/03/2007, 2:09 PM
Because of the wall to wall coverage of the English Premiership most youngsetrs will develop a bond one of teh English clubs. At that age it doesn't make a difference whether the team is 5 miles or 500 miles down the road.

What's the excuse when they start thinking for themselves?

I was a Man United fan until I was about 13 or 14 and then actually realised that Manchester United didn't actually give a **** about me, that I couldn't contribute to them in any meaningful way and that there isn't really a reason to support a club in a different country who I could identify with in no way other than they were on tv every week.

However the trick is to get these kids to EL games at least once and many will be fascinated by live football -
Also newcomers at EL games should always be felt welcome - People often slag supporters that only start going when a team is successful - Remember, you want these people to come back

Agree 100% with this.

05/03/2007, 2:19 PM
Ok, lets look at it this way.........

When a person decides to go to an eL game, to give it a shot, because they saw highlights on TV and it actually looked ok, or whatever reason............

What will make that person want to come back?

05/03/2007, 2:29 PM

When a person decides to go to an eL game, to give it a shot, because they saw highlights on TV and it actually looked ok, or whatever reason............

Well personally I started going to City games nearly 3 years ago now. Had always loved football but honestly barely even knew City existed.

Got dragged to the first game(vs Malmo in the intertoto). Had no expectations.

The ground was full, the atmosphere was brilliant and the football was good. I loved it and have been hooked ever since. The passion, the highs and lows you just cant beat it.

Saying all that if my first game had been against Longford on a wet dreary night i dunno if i'd have come back. But once I was hooked it kills me to miss any game now.

reder
05/03/2007, 2:33 PM
For the first time ever I got in a verbal arguement with an irish lfc fan on sat. As each game passes by they are starting to get on my nerves more and more. I think the EL is better off without people like these!!!!

The whole day was just a disaster. On the flight over, there was me a genuine fan (born and bred scouser), an elderly dub who is also a season ticket holder who has been since the late 70's (never misses a home game and knows more about lfc than me) and about 50-60 morons travelling on a package deal which cost €445 per person. For that money, they got same day return flights, a restricted view match ticket in the anny lower and a coach up and back to anfield from the airport (obviously the train is beneath them!!).

Anyway I took my seat on the flight beside mr. and mrs twenty something engaged (typical snobby pair of twits) and struck up a conversation. I started asking them about the game. It turns out this is their first game and their first ever trip to Anfield. He himself is a Liverpool "fan" but his otherhalf payed €445 " to go and see what its like". Anyway the conversation ebbed and flowed and it was pretty clear that this guy knew nothing about lfc but then the conversation switched to Tuesday night. I was asked if i was going, to which i replied that i was. They then asked me how i got my ticket and i replied that i attended the qualifier and all the group games so i got mine from the club.

Then it started. It turns out that mr and mrs clown had also booked a trip to the game on tues with same company for €550 but alas due to the fact that the tickets are impossible to get it was cancelled.:D :D

He then said that he felt that it was very unfair that their trip was cancelled as they had payed a lot of money. He then proceeded to tell me that the club should make tickets available for people like them. As the conversation went on it became VERY clear that he expected people like me to be left without a ticket (cos we get to see the team every week) to allow people like him to get to the games like that. I got off the plane walked along beside him and gave him what for in a very controlled manner. The cheek of some people!

The only programme I actually watch on tv is eircom league weekly on tv3. Never even knew TG4 show EL games, although it would be hard watching the EL on that channel as I only have limited irish.

Sumac
05/03/2007, 2:33 PM

Some people will be taken in by the atmosphere, some by the quality of football, some by the few pints before and after and a bit of banter
And some won't enjoy it and never come back - But thats the same with football everywhere

michaelguineys
05/03/2007, 2:42 PM
Got dragged to the first game(vs Malmo in the intertoto). Had no expectations.

The ground was full, the atmosphere was brilliant and the football was good. I loved it and have been hooked ever since. The passion, the highs and lows you just cant beat it.

Saying all that if my first game had been against Longford on a wet dreary night i dunno if i'd have come back. But once I was hooked it kills me to miss any game now.

The ground was far from full v Malmo.
Was only 2 or 3000 at that game.
They all came out of the woodwork then for the Njimegen game

05/03/2007, 2:45 PM
on a ground level lads if you can get people to go to home games they will be taken in by it. When I started going the main reason was for the laugh we had at the games, wanted Limerick to win, but it didn't affect me much either way. Thats the base point with all new fans, if they have fun at the matches they will keep on coming and will develop a bond with the club quickly and become 'proper' fans.

As for EL coverage on TV, well the grounds do need to be improved, but if RTE/TV3/TG4 are serious about their EL coverage then they will have to pump more money into production costs, because at the present standard (especially with TG4) they could show a game from Croke Park and it would still look like an interpub game

05/03/2007, 3:02 PM
[QUOTE=reder;636271]For the first time ever I got in a verbal arguement with an irish lfc fan on sat. As each game passes by they are starting to get on my nerves more and more. I think the EL is better off without people like these!!!!

The whole day was just a disaster. On the flight over, there was me a genuine fan (born and bred scouser), an elderly dub who is also a season ticket holder who has been since the late 70's (never misses a home game and knows more about lfc than me) and about 50-60 morons travelling on a package deal which cost €445 per person. For that money, they got same day return flights, a restricted view match ticket in the anny lower and a coach up and back to anfield from the airport (obviously the train is beneath them!!).

€445 for a day trip??? Holy sh1t. These barstoolers are more brain dead than I thought. Must get into the package deal business:D

Does the elderly Dub go to any games in his own country?:rolleyes:

Calcio Jack
05/03/2007, 3:30 PM
Only last Thursday was in the pub after my weekly 6 a side game...usual stuff listening to the rst of the guys going on about whether their team would win at Anfield.... as usual my only contribution was to say how much I'm looking forward to the ko of real football (next Friday)... that sort of comment always gets to the rest of them because I know that they know I am a member of the Rovers 400 c etc and have a lifelong affinity to a local club...so in many ways I kind of embarass their cosy Man U illogiical worshiping as I talk about in a real meaningful way opf how we (Rovers) have come back from the dead and how great it is to be part of a real community of fans ..... one of the guys summed it up (and I've been friends with him for ocver 30 years) when he asked in a smart as manner "..have you not got Rovers out of your system yet.." and I replied "...what so I can get a replica Sunderland shirt like you wore tonight.."

Red&White
05/03/2007, 3:47 PM
As for bullying people into going to games thats not what I do. Its more a case of you talking to people and when they see how excited and ethusiastic you are about your club and the eL they mite start to get interested too. For example I have been tryin to convince a mate of mine for years to come to games. He is a massive Man Utd fan and every season I ask him will he come out to the Mons sometime. He always says no. Last nite he said he will come out to the first game and see what its all about and he has committed to coming on one of our infamous ROADTRIPS. It may have taken me 5 seasons but eventually he is giving in!

so basically, just show them how much you love it, your passion will eventually ignite their curiousity!

You said it. We have to play to out strengths and as people have been saying in this thread time and time again one of those is the strong sense of community, the feeling that it's "your" club, the fact that your support means something and stuff like that. That youtube video that did the rounds last week (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vzqGB4WLkY) was a bit cringey but that's what it's about.

I live with a French PSG fan, and two English West Ham and Chesea fans and all of them have been to see Derry play, know when the fixtures are on and know the team. Another friend from London who's in Spain for a year is wowing all the Irish out there with his indepth knowledge of the team and latest news. It's by constantly talking about your love for the team that makes them stop wondering when you're going to support a 'real' team, and makes them see what it means to you. They know I mean it when I say that I'm looking forward to this weeks football- Champions League on Tues and Wed as should be exciting and worth watching, but they're the warm ups for the real deal on Friday night, which I'm far more excited about. They loved the cup fibal last year.

The most annoying and embarressing thing is the facilities though. Last year I spend ages persueding a friend to come on a Friday night to Richmond Park (I'd never been before) and to this day I still cringe when I think about what he must have thought about sitting in that 'stadium' with what looked like two overgrown junkyards at either end and a decrepit stand opposite (no offence to Pats fans, its just an example, Brandywell isn't much better). The people in charge of the league, and the clubs themselves have got to realise that SPECTATORS ARE CUSTOMERS, paying for a product in the same way you pay to see a film for example. I know it's not something that can be fixed overnight, and I know some clubs are taking steps, but for me it should be priority number one for everyone involved in the league for he next year or two.

05/03/2007, 5:15 PM
The most annoying and embarressing thing is the facilities though. Last year I spend ages persueding a friend to come on a Friday night to Richmond Park (I'd never been before) and to this day I still cringe when I think about what he must have thought about sitting in that 'stadium' with what looked like two overgrown junkyards at either end and a decrepit stand opposite (no offence to Pats fans, its just an example, Brandywell isn't much better). The people in charge of the league, and the clubs themselves have got to realise that SPECTATORS ARE CUSTOMERS, paying for a product in the same way you pay to see a film for example. I know it's not something that can be fixed overnight, and I know some clubs are taking steps, but for me it should be priority number one for everyone involved in the league for he next year or two.

It's even worse than that Red & White, there's only one stand in Richmond. the rest is just terracing :p

I take your point though. Richmond could be a lovely neat little ground, but it need serious work. At the Portadown game last week the place had been given a bit of a cosmetic facelift (new paint job etc) but it's not nearly enough. I have some sympathy with the clubs though. It's hard to keep a competitive team on the pitch (which fans demand, whether they admit it or not) and put major money into upgrading facilities at the same time. The key to me is grant aid. As an example, Pats were awarded a grant of around £1m to build a stand at the Inchicore end, but weren't given the money, as they had to find about 25% of the amount themselves. I think this is most unfair. Pats eventually had to use the money for upgrading required to gain the licence last year as far as I know. I'd love to know the figures of what grants clubs have got over the years in comparision to the various GAA grounds. And I know that the GAA have raised a lot of money themselves,but remember, they don't have to pay their players.

05/03/2007, 5:25 PM
Passion and excitement are contagious. Keep plugging away and if everyone on here is able to convince one or 2 people to come to some games this season, we are turning things around.

05/03/2007, 5:26 PM
Passion and excitement are contagious.

So is the clap but try to give that to anyone and they'll run like hell.

passerrby
05/03/2007, 5:31 PM
I can remember been lifted over the turnstiles, boveril at half time,the long walk to a bus stop miles away, terrible pitches, no ground safety, soaking wet toilet floors with no bulbs bloodly hell last season was terrible

05/03/2007, 5:33 PM
No room for tv gantry on the "small side" of Turners Cross. That stand is not very deep. The gantry used for tv cameras is quiet large & doubles as a tv studio so no need for tv companies to setup their own.

I think Richmond park could be improved similar to Turners Cross with small amount of funding. I think sometime eL clubs wait too long to build grand stands when covered seating would boost attendances a bit.

Dalymount is the only ground that is welcoming in Dublin (we are allowed access to the main stand) so while it may not be pretty to look at is still comfortable.

05/03/2007, 5:42 PM
So is the clap but try to give that to anyone and they'll run like hell.

And I get accused of smut!!! :eek:

reder
05/03/2007, 5:56 PM
[QUOTE=NY Hoop;636317

€445 for a day trip??? Holy sh1t. These barstoolers are more brain dead than I thought. Must get into the package deal business:D

Does the elderly Dub go to any games in his own country?:rolleyes:

KOH[/QUOTE]

He actually went to rovers games for many years but when the club started ground sharing etc he stopped going. Also he is elderly now and tries to avoid situations where there could be trouble. He never attends the the derby (everton games) and leaves the city immediately after games like saturday to avoid hassle.

don ramo
05/03/2007, 6:48 PM
I take your point though. Richmond could be a lovely neat little ground, but it need serious work. At the Portadown game last week the place had been given a bit of a cosmetic facelift (new paint job etc) but it's not nearly enough. I have some sympathy with the clubs though. It's hard to keep a competitive team on the pitch (which fans demand, whether they admit it or not) and put major money into upgrading facilities at the same time. The key to me is grant aid. As an example, Pats were awarded a grant of around £1m to build a stand at the Inchicore end, but weren't given the money, as they had to find about 25% of the amount themselves. I think this is most unfair. Pats eventually had to use the money for upgrading required to gain the licence last year as far as I know. I'd love to know the figures of what grants clubs have got over the years in comparision to the various GAA grounds. And I know that the GAA have raised a lot of money themselves,but remember, they don't have to pay their players.

grants are a dodgy area if you get one it will only be between 70 and 80%, and you must get the rest yourself which to me seems fair, we had to do it to get our grant for our new stand, and will have to do it again for the other stand we plan on building next year, and hopefully another one the year after which is suppose to cost E1,000,000 plus, but there is only so much available and the clubs who are willing to put into it will be rewarded with nearly 80% of the funding to imporve there ground, the GAA clubs were the same but it was a lot easier for them not havin wage to pay, but you cant have one rule for one lot and another for us, we have been rewarded for our new stand with a premier licence and a suplliment for our promotion officer which will hopefully improve the image of the club, and it will pay for itslef in the long run, if not we just have to rely on good old fundraising, 3-4 years of debt is worth it in the long run really, i think anyway

05/03/2007, 7:30 PM
I'd love to know the figures of what grants clubs have got over the years in comparision to the various GAA grounds. And I know that the GAA have raised a lot of money themselves,but remember, they don't have to pay their players.
It's all in the public domain.
As they say, do the maths. http://193.178.1.186/grants_funding/sports_capital_review.html
My home town village GAA club has received about €330,000 to build facilities costing around €2.5m. The balance is raised by members and generating income with the facility (including a small sideline in renting out one of the allweather pitches to the soccer club)

05/03/2007, 9:08 PM
It just doesn't make any sense to me. There's nothing wrong with travelling to see a match or a foreign side (hell, I've got 3 trips booked for Bohs matches this season), but what really really annoys me is that so many Irish fans can be so snobbish about their domestic product yet they'll happily spend time and money travelling to see something that's arguably inferior..

Think you said what I was trying to a lot better!

06/03/2007, 11:52 AM
I was a Man United fan until I was about 13 or 14 and then actually realised that Manchester United didn't actually give a **** about me, that I couldn't contribute to them in any meaningful way and that there isn't really a reason to support a club in a different country who I could identify with in no way other than they were on tv every week.

The very same thing happen to me when I was 13.

06/03/2007, 12:07 PM
Anyway i am now heading to my first match on friday to see galway united so i am one that got converted anyway!

Galway United :eek: :o

And you were doing so well :D

betty swollox
06/03/2007, 12:26 PM
I really hope fridays match in terryland is a decent game regardless of who wins.theres an unusual amount of "first-timers" i've spoke to goin and even round NUIG theres a lot of ppl interested(although half of them would be sligo lads up here),
On the other hand it'll prob be 0-0 in the ****in rain and most of them can retire back to the barstools safe in the knowledge that "they gave it a chance"

06/03/2007, 1:48 PM
Anyway i am now heading to my first match on friday to see galway united so i am one that got converted anyway!:o

Get back to us after you have actually seen the game and decided if you will go back!!

How, when, and most importantly, why, did you become interested in Irish club football? Answers from people like yourself might provide some clues as to how best attract new fans.

padzer
06/03/2007, 2:13 PM
I started going to Bohs games in the 02/03 season, dont know why i went, tolka was nearer but just went to dalyer, plus they were playing some good stuff at the time and went on to win the league that season.

I dont get to all the games but i go to as many as i can and have been to a lot of away games (im living on the southside now). None of my mates could be bothered with it tho, which is sh!tty as there isnt anyone to have a bit of banter with. I reckon i might be able to get one of the lads to go this season, he goes to all the ireland games and dublin gah games and i think once the good weather kicks in live footie on a friday night could be an option.

06/03/2007, 2:28 PM
The ground was far from full v Malmo.
Was only 2 or 3000 at that game.
They all came out of the woodwork then for the Njimegen game

Strange....the memory I have of it is being nearly full....maybe it was just the shed.

06/03/2007, 5:40 PM
Anyway i am now heading to my first match on friday to see galway united so i am one that got converted anyway!:o

Welcome to our world! Hope you enjoy your stay and become an eL fan for the rest of your days.

06/03/2007, 5:46 PM
I don't think there is widespread support for the LOI within the FAI structures.

For instance there are loads people at International games who are GAA people i.e. GAA is their first sport & after that premiership football. They have zero interest in the LOI & never will have any interest. The other question is where do they get tickets?

Ceirtlis
06/03/2007, 5:52 PM
I really hope fridays match in terryland is a decent game regardless of who wins.theres an unusual amount of "first-timers" i've spoke to goin and even round NUIG theres a lot of ppl interested(although half of them would be sligo lads up here),
On the other hand it'll prob be 0-0 in the ****in rain and most of them can retire back to the barstools safe in the knowledge that "they gave it a chance"

Terryland was full for the 2 big games against Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk towards the end of last season and they were good games, but the crowd was back down to about 1000 against Cobh for the next home match. The fact of the matter is GUFC's crowd depends on how the team are doing its very much boom and bust ranging from huge crowds up in crowley park about 10 years ago when we were doing really well, to a low of something like 100 in the premier the last time we were relegated. I never get to excited when i see big crowds to be honest because it never seems to last.

oriel
06/03/2007, 9:56 PM
I`ve just seen this topic so apologies if this point has been made previously.

What really gets my blood boiling is the idiots wearing man u/lpool etc shirts down the pub one week then cheering on spain when they beat england on the wed night

And to cap it all off, just tune into today fm after 5 on a saturday and listen, just listen to the cringo stuff coming from 'passionate' fans of blackburn, west ham, sheff utd + charlton ALL with thick irish accents....................

they ought to be ashamed of themselves

06/03/2007, 10:09 PM
Hey this might show the league has potential.

I follow gaelic football, soccer and ruby...love all three of them and while i was younger supported man utd and tottenham in england but what i always found that i never got the enjoyment from supporting them that i got from supporting the national teams and my county mayo-it never came close!!

What i find about the premiership is that it is vastly over hyped,things like "super sundays" on sky but once you see through the hype its not all that good. Found that i could not identify with the teams, annoys me now to hear people get so worked up about a teams like liverpool and man utd and reffering them as we and us.

Jesus christ, you final start going to EL and end up possibly supporting Buisness Proposition FC. Ask the lads in Terryland to show you their promotion trophy from last year:rolleyes:

06/03/2007, 10:10 PM
I`ve just seen this topic so apologies if this point has been made previously.

What really gets my blood boiling is the idiots wearing man u/lpool etc shirts down the pub one week then cheering on spain when they beat england on the wed night

And to cap it all off, just tune into today fm after 5 on a saturday and listen, just listen to the cringo stuff coming from 'passionate' fans of blackburn, west ham, sheff utd + charlton ALL with thick irish accents....................

they ought to be ashamed of themselves

Oddly enough I know 4 Blackburn fans, that has nothing to do with this thread but it's odd all the same

06/03/2007, 10:13 PM
Jesus christ, you final start going to EL and end up possibly supporting Buisness Proposition FC. Ask the lads in Terryland to show you their promotion trophy from last year:rolleyes:

Their Trophy Cabinet is the cleanest and sturdiest in the league

FACT :p

06/03/2007, 10:14 PM
Their Trophy Cabinet is the cleanest and sturdiest in the league

FACT :p

Probably what got them that final nod of approval for promotion :D

Gaillimh Al
06/03/2007, 10:20 PM
The comedy duo strike again.:)

06/03/2007, 10:23 PM
Probably what got them that final nod of approval for promotion

Twas carried shoulder high at the promotion party

Which must have been quite painful now that I think of it :)

Let's review the state of play in the Premier division with just two days to the kick off:

Longford Town: Ground falling down around them, whispers of money trouble

Sligo Rovers: Currently making the Limerick circus look like one old man with his pants down dancing for food

Shamrock Rovers: Still Homeless (Not a dig Rovers fans, just part of the general malaise in the league)

Cork City: Have They signed those two lads or what??

Shelbourne: Ooooops

Dundalk: Oh Dear

Yes folks it's a bright new era we embark upon :ball:

There's my rant over for now :)

06/03/2007, 10:24 PM
The comedy duo strike again.:)

Fairplay ;)

06/03/2007, 10:28 PM
Bar the persistent tiresome digs at UTD what do yourself and Jebus actually do for Limerick 37?

06/03/2007, 10:30 PM

The Sligo contingent in NUIG are all GAA boys.Haven't seen one Sligo Rovers jacket etc all year.

06/03/2007, 10:32 PM
The Sligo contingent in NUIG are all GAA boys.Haven't seen one Sligo Rovers jacket etc all year.So because you have never seen a Rovers jacket there, that means their all GAA boys?:confused:

06/03/2007, 10:35 PM
Bar the persistent tiresome digs at UTD what do yourself and Jebus actually do for Limerick 37?

Well jebus is currently editing our fanzine for the Supporters Club

Personally I am secretary of said SC (I kid you not Conor) and am in the middle of writng a fcukin excruciating article for the programme

I will also be involved in the organisation of Away travel this year and during the week I shall be heading up to the ground to give it a lick of paint in time for the new season

If you would like to be kept informed of myself and jebus' on-going work within the SC just PM me or better yet if you'd like to join in a show of solidarity membership to you is just €10 Conor