View Full Version : Dublin Supporters Club bus to Galway match
Jeebus
26/02/2007, 1:29 PM
The Dublin Supporters Club are planning on running a bus to Galway for the first game of the season next Friday 9th March.
Anyone based in or around the capital thats interested in travelling please PM me or contact either:
Niall @ 086 8488824
Colin @ 087 6530063
Griff @ 087 9234158
The plan would be to leave the city centre at 2/2.30pm. Cost per person will depend on the numbers travelling.
A decision will have to be made by this weekend on whether to go ahead and book the bus so anybody that is interested on travelling can they please let us know as soon as possible.
(Mods: Sticky please)
28/02/2007, 4:06 PM
Jesus Rogue if you are that mad for a pint bring a few cans with ya!
28/02/2007, 4:36 PM
? Can any of the Sligo buses heading to a pub in Galway before the buses ?
sorry i dont get ya?
details of the trust bus will be up friday...want to know the story with the tickets first!
Fear Manach
28/02/2007, 4:40 PM
Should be on for that if there is still room. Will PM you.
DonalE
28/02/2007, 7:00 PM
:o i dont understand it is perfect english WR :D
What i meant to say is are you going to hit any pub before hand lads ? What is the nearest one to the ground ?
Wildrover is no longer drinking before Sligo Rovers matches, he told me himself :D
28/02/2007, 7:08 PM
:o i dont understand it is perfect english WR :D
What i meant to say is are you going to hit any pub before hand lads ? What is the nearest one to the ground ?
GUST in accordance with Foxs Bar are organising sandwhiches etc from 5pm on.This is where most away fans come before the match,It's at the bottom of Eyre Square.All the nearest pubs to the ground are in the Square.
Sligo fans will be treated to Foxs finest air sandwhiches.
28/02/2007, 9:15 PM
GUST in accordance with Foxs Bar are organising sandwhiches etc from 5pm on.This is where most away fans come before the match,It's at the bottom of Eyre Square.All the nearest pubs to the ground are in the Square.
Sligo fans will be treated to Foxs finest air sandwhiches.That pub isn't really near the ground though is it?:confused:.
28/02/2007, 9:23 PM
kate's(or whatever it's called now) beside the galway shopping centre & the menlo park hotel are the 2 nearest bars. both are bout 10 mins away.
01/03/2007, 7:47 AM
kate's(or whatever it's called now) beside the galway shopping centre & the menlo park hotel are the 2 nearest bars. both are bout 10 mins away.
If you go to Kates you mightn't come back out.There's a reason i didn't mention it.;)
Jeebus
01/03/2007, 10:48 AM
If you go to Kates you mightn't come back out.There's a reason i didn't mention it.;)
I've drank in it a few times before games and never had a problem.
GloryNights
01/03/2007, 12:56 PM
Conor H, "All the nearest pubs to the ground are in the Square"
The pubs mentioned are definately closer and any of the pubs in woodquay are probably closer aswell. Eyre square is probably the furthest away you could be.
01/03/2007, 7:05 PM
kates has had 2 stabbings in the past year.
If you wan't to go there fair enough.
Woodquay is about 2 minutes from Eyre Square.........also what pubs do ya want to go to in Woodquay?
I'm aware of the closet locations to Terryland.....i've lived here all my life.
The Eyre Square is a 3 minute drive from Terryland.Woodquay is 2 minutes and 40 seconds.Take your pick.
dublinred
02/03/2007, 8:09 AM
Any seats left?
GloryNights
02/03/2007, 9:30 AM
kates has had 2 stabbings in the past year.
If you wan't to go there fair enough.
Woodquay is about 2 minutes from Eyre Square.........also what pubs do ya want to go to in Woodquay?
I'm aware of the closet locations to Terryland.....i've lived here all my life.
The Eyre Square is a 3 minute drive from Terryland.Woodquay is 2 minutes and 40 seconds.Take your pick.
Well done, I lived there for four years, i'm sure I know that area equally well since it doesn't generally take any longer than that to get to know the place.
Fair enough Kates is a bit of a dive but Foxes isn't anything special either. If you were gonna go as FAR as Eyre Square you may aswell go somewhere decent and preferably up the top end as, you are probably aware and having lived there all your live and having such great and intimate knowledge of the place, they are closer to Terryland aswell. Nothing wrong with Menlo Park Hotel either. Bar903 would be good.
Jeebus
02/03/2007, 1:09 PM
Any seats left?
We have 8 confirmed at the present so it looks like we will be running the bus. Still waiting on 1 or 2 to get back to me.
Think it will be a 14 seater bus so if you are looking for a seat PM me!
kates is now known as "the centre bar" and the last time I was down there (last week) the place was locked up after more trouble. New owner took over last year and everybody and anybody drinks there now, enter at your own risk.
I'll be in the menlo myself, with a few others if any of ye want to meet up there. its about a 5 minute walk from terryland and the closest bar to the grounds.
EDIT: It also has a large car park, perfect for the buses as I can see the dyke road being closed from 7pm onwards.
04/03/2007, 12:43 PM
the dyke road....plenty of women so i guess?
Patrick Dunne
04/03/2007, 4:06 PM
Kates/Centre Bar is closed for the past two weeks.
GUST have always invited supporters of away teams to Foxs. Finger food will be provided and there will be a great atmosphere.
I hope to see you there, before and afterwards.
04/03/2007, 4:14 PM
I'll be in the menlo myself, with a few others if any of ye want to meet up there. its about a 5 minute walk from terryland and the closest bar to the grounds.
EDIT: It also has a large car park, perfect for the buses as I can see the dyke road being closed from 7pm onwards.
we'll be here...we'll bring our own pub:p
ya, they hang out down at the theatre which is called " The Black Box" I kid you not !!!!!!:eek: :D
04/03/2007, 9:41 PM
is that a term just given to the road or is it the actual name?
thats what the road has always been called
04/03/2007, 10:07 PM
only in galway!
04/03/2007, 11:42 PM
The black box on the Dyke road...tis priceless.
macnas were having a good laugh alright when they were naming the place !!! :D
Jeebus
05/03/2007, 8:44 PM
The Dublin Supporters Club bus will be leaving from the quays at Tara Street Dart Station on Friday at 2pm. There will be a pick up at the Spa Hotel in Lucan at 2.30pm.
There are still a limited number of seats available so if anyone is interested in travelling please PM me or phone 086-8488824.
I also hope to have match tickets organised for those travelling on the bus.
Paddyfield
06/03/2007, 10:02 PM
LOL. I kid you not when I tell you that there is a theatre on Dyke Road, It's called The Black Box. You just couldn't make sh!t like that up.
Anyway, as Terry said, the Menlo Park is a the nearest to Terryland and it's a decent place and you can get some decent grub there too.
But of you want a bit if pre-match banter with genuine football fans, go to Foxes in Eyre Square. They provide cocktail sausages and sambos for all football fans and the craic is good. Last year, scores od Shamrock Rovers fans joined Galway United fans AFTER we beat them and the craic was mighty.
07/03/2007, 10:13 AM
LOL. I kid you not when I tell you that there is a theatre on Dyke Road, It's called The Black Box. You just couldn't make sh!t like that up.
Anyway, as Terry said, the Menlo Park is a the nearest to Terryland and it's a decent place and you can get some decent grub there too.
But of you want a bit if pre-match banter with genuine football fans, go to Foxes in Eyre Square. They provide cocktail sausages and sambos for all football fans and the craic is good. Last year, scores od Shamrock Rovers fans joined Galway United fans AFTER we beat them and the craic was mighty.
fierce mighty??
Parking cant be guarenteed in Terryland after 7pm lads so if your running late the Menlo Park is the best bet.There will be strict segregation with Sligo Fans getting Blocks F&G ,Seperate Toilets and Food also at that ens.
There will be security checks on the way in Alcohol,Flares and Smoke Bombs will be confiscated. Enjoy the night and may the best team win.
07/03/2007, 10:13 PM
Parking cant be guarenteed in Terryland after 7pm lads so if your running late the Menlo Park is the best bet.There will be strict segregation with Sligo Fans getting Blocks F&G ,Seperate Toilets and Food also at that ens.
There will be security checks on the way in Alcohol,Flares and Smoke Bombs will be confiscated. Enjoy the night and may the best team win.Yer repeating yerself again!:p
08/03/2007, 7:36 AM
they're awful exited, thats all! lol
08/03/2007, 5:48 PM
they're awful exited, thats all! lol
No it's just gufct likes to show who's "boss":p
Darco Ooragnak
10/03/2007, 2:22 AM
No it's just gufct likes to show who's "boss":p
....you certainly showed that on Friday....cheers.
10/03/2007, 10:52 AM
such w*****s throwin him out, wont name him but ffs he was doin no harm whatsoever
bomber82290
10/03/2007, 3:21 PM
Who got thrown out
10/03/2007, 3:51 PM
such w*****s throwin him out, wont name him but ffs he was doin no harm whatsoever
he's a football hooligan and he deserved to be thrown out ;)
DonalE
10/03/2007, 4:35 PM
he's a football hooligan and he deserved to be thrown out ;)
Definitely, and the same should go for whoever lit that flare in Bray. Ruins it for the real fans.
10/03/2007, 5:42 PM
are ye takin the p**s?