View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers Fans Defamation on 2FM

fbtn
23/02/2007, 11:38 AM
Anyone else hear that spacer Alan Hunter on the Gerry Ryan Show?

He reckons that supporters of Shamrock Rovers have been on the airwaves saying they will cause trouble tomorrow during the rugby. Couldn't really get what the hell he was on about he was talking that much ****e but something to do with Republican Sinn Féin are holding a protest tomorrow outside Croke Park and supporters of Shamrock Rovers Football Club have been on radio shows saying there are going to cause trouble.

Wait for onslaught from the Rovers lads. Really bad piece with no one on from RSF or Rovers.

I would sue and get rid of this k.n.o.b for once and for all.

23/02/2007, 11:41 AM
Sounds like the usual pathetic RTE attempt to get listeners.

If you feel strongly then send complaint. They have to reply.

Making a Complaint to RTÉ

RTÉ exists to provide quality public service programmes on radio and television. The public pays a licence fee to receive these services. The standards we set for ourselves can be found in our Programme-makers' Guidelines.

If members of the public are of the opinion that a programme or a segment of a programme has breached the Guidelines they are entitled to express their views and complain either in writing or by e-mail.

Initially the complaint should be addressed directly to the programme or the relevant department if known (e.g. News and Current Affairs, Radio etc.). If the department is not known please contact RTÉ Information Office for assistance. Complaints by email should be emailed directly to the programme's email address or to complaints@rte.ie.

RTÉ is committed to responding to all reasonable communications concerning programme content. It is RTÉ's policy that all complaints should receive meaningful replies which attempt to address issues raised in complaints.

khoop
23/02/2007, 11:46 AM
Who does he think he is - Mick McCaffrey? That story is ENTIRELY made up. The game has hardly been mentioned on the Ultras forum - nobody could give a feck about it. Anyway - real Rovers fans certainly won't be inside GAA bigot HQ.

charliesboots
23/02/2007, 11:53 AM
Who does he think he is Mick McCaffrey - that story is ENTIRELY made up. The game has hardly been mentioned on the Ultras forum - nobody could give a feck about it. Anyway - real Rovers fans certainly won't be inside GAA bigot HQ.

Try get a recording of the show and identiy exactly where he may have defamed the club and its supporters.

Send a complaint to RTE through your solicitor (I'm sure there's one or two in the 400 club) and send a letter to Alan Hunter and RTE asking them to retract the comments and apologise.

If they do not tell them you will begin proceedings without further notice.

hoops1
23/02/2007, 12:09 PM
Could one of our experts please give us a link to the show.

23/02/2007, 12:11 PM
Sounds like a great opportunity to silence Alan "self appointed voice of Irish football" Hunter once and for all.

fbtn
23/02/2007, 12:15 PM
He was asked who had been saying that they would cause trouble. He first of all said, a soccer club that is known for fans causing trouble. When Gerry Ryan pushed him to say who, he said Shamrock Rovers.

Unless he provides proof of where and when Rovers fans said this, he should be sued. He phoned in near the end of the show so there was no time for anyone from RSF or Rovers to respond.

Irresponsible by RTE to give this nutter air time but he also mentioned he had been on the Nolan Show on BBC this morning as well. God knows what crap he was coming out with there.

cheifo
23/02/2007, 12:15 PM
I said this on the Ireland forum but SR should not let this go.As if Rovers fans care about the feelings of GAA fans after the whole Thomas Davis affair.As FBTN said it is defamation, full stop.

23/02/2007, 12:19 PM
Could one of our experts please give us a link to the show.

See the members section on our forum.

http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3

23/02/2007, 12:19 PM
If you go onto the Rte site and navigate to the 2fm page you can download each days show from the archive. You need Real Player to listen, I'm in work now so not sure if its todays show or last weeks that's there.

tippex
23/02/2007, 12:31 PM
Today's show isnt up yet.

It's about time that someone was on to shut this **** up once and for all.

Guys has anyone contacted the fai about this supposed supporters group to see if they are recognised etc? I know it might be a bit wishful thinking to expect a sensible answer out of the clowns but you just never know....

Vitruvian Man
23/02/2007, 12:50 PM
Typical Rovers. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

PS
Only joking.

23/02/2007, 12:51 PM
Alan Hunter - is that the one and only member of the self styled Irish Football Supporters club, or whatever he calls it? He's been quiet for a bit. Don't remember him ever suggesting that he'd heard of teh League of Ireland before.

23/02/2007, 12:57 PM
He's been quiet for a bit.
He's been on Declan Carthy's newstalk show a couple of times in recent months - late night live is it? He was talking crap about hospital overcrowding the night I heard him, thought he might be working from a different mailing list.

eamo1
23/02/2007, 1:15 PM
this morning.he didnt mention anything specific,ryan kept trying to get details out of him but he didnt know any(surprise surprise) and did alot of stammering and "eh" and "um" so it def sounded like he was making it up as he went along.
rovers fans should definatly look into this and not let this guy get away with it or else he will just keep doing it.he claimed aswell rovers fans were involved in those riots in o.connell street last year with rep sinn fein.poor and lazy stuff by RTE again.

fbtn
23/02/2007, 1:25 PM
Also called them 'gougers' at one stage.

At least he got that much right ;)

blackholesun
23/02/2007, 1:40 PM
I emailed grs@rte.ie, complaints@rte.ie, CCed SRFC & FAI

bhs

-------------------------
Dear Sir / Madam

As a Shamrock Rovers supporter, member and club volunteer I was disgusted to hear that Alan Hunter was allowed to blacken the name of SRFC on the Gerry Ryan show this morning.

Alan Hunter is a publicity seeking, self appointed idiot with no credentials to comment on any matters relating to soccer in Ireland.

I think it's a disgrace the way he is wheeled out by RTE every few months whenever any issue relating to soccer is topical.

As a Rovers member I will be contacting the club trustess the urge them to persue this matter legally in the interests of protecting the name of the club from future such attacks from Mr Hunter.

Also I think that the FAI should have long ago taken action to highlight the fact that Hunter and the ficticious organisation he claims the represent have no credability.

regards

hoops1
23/02/2007, 1:41 PM
Good man

cheifo
23/02/2007, 1:48 PM
Perfect BHS.

Irish Fan
23/02/2007, 1:51 PM
I just complained i urge you all to complain aswell for the good of the league this is the last thing we need before the new season.

I am writing to you with regards to the ridiculous allegations made against Shamrock Rovers Football Club on today's Gerry Ryan show on 2fm. After all the hard work we put into the club people like you morons drag the name of our good club threw the mud time and time again with no actual evidence. It’s a disgrace that you let an unstable man on the air like Alan Hunter in the first place but you then continued to let him rant and rave about how the fans of Shamrock Rovers will be protesting against the match in Croke Park tomorrow. It is not the first time either that we have been victimized by your radio station 2FM. This is the usual pathetic, lazy and fact less broadcasting I have come to expect from you lot at this stage. I now warn you with the threat of legal action to retract the comments and apologise to Shamrock Rovers FC live on air. This topic is now being discussed at length in football forums across the country we have received a lot of support on this issue already and that support is still growing in numbers who are also in fury with these disgraceful accusations made on the Gerry Ryan show this morning. If I do not hear a reply from you I will begin proceedings without further notice.

Regards
David Ahern

23/02/2007, 1:54 PM
So it was a discussion about the GAA, IRFU and Republican Sinn Fein and they put Alan Hunter on the air to make stuff up about Shams:confused:

A new low for RTE! Even worse news for Shamrock, as a new club to the Premier Division the last thing they need is to get into a war with the largest supporter's group in the country.:D

23/02/2007, 1:56 PM
Lads, Rovers have already gone legal on this and it's the only way we might get satisfaction.

There is something we can all do as listeners - make a complaint to the Broadcasting Complaints Commission. Unlike the papers, broadcasters are accountable.

As Irish football fans, Hunter is misrepresenting himself as some kind of voice for us. We all know that's rubbish and RTÉ need to be told as much officially. Tell the BCC - http://www.bcc.ie/how_to_complaint/index.html

23/02/2007, 2:03 PM
It makes you wonder though If a nutter like Hunter and his pseudo supporters assoc. can get this much attention from RTE then what the hell were the NLSA during their short lived existance. Surely had they approached RTE in the way Hunter does they too would have been given Airtime to make legitimate points and be as they stated at the outset the voice of Irish Football Fans

23/02/2007, 2:18 PM
RTE Audience Council (http://www.rte.ie/about/audiencecouncil.html)

RTE: Purpose

The public interest tests that RTÉ sets for itself include:

- Fairness
- Accuracy
- Impartiality
- Objectivity
- Independence from vested interests and freedom from political control or influence
- High quality schedules available to all (i.e. free to air)
- A significant proportion of programming originating in Ireland
- Schedules that include programming for minority groups and interests
- Schedules that respect the views of the audience and enhance their cultural expectations
- Programming that recognises regional interests and cultural diversity
- Programming that encourages understanding and tolerance
- Programming that is imaginative and original.

All of these tests are in the interest of the audience, and are open to comment and feedback by the audience; the Audience Council facilitates this communication and these topics form the basic agenda for each Council meeting.

Are RTE meeting their self described purpose?

23/02/2007, 2:20 PM
the first three letter read as FAI.........you just know you're in trouble even before you begin with that lot so....:D

23/02/2007, 2:21 PM
You should read the NUJ charter. Very lofty standards they set themselves very rarely adhered to.

Jamjar
23/02/2007, 2:25 PM
So now I'm really confused...am I meant to riot tomorrow or what ?

23/02/2007, 2:25 PM
You should read the NUJ charter. Very lofty standards they set themselves very rarely adhered to.
A bit like Bohs of late... :(

23/02/2007, 2:29 PM
So now I'm really confused...am I meant to riot tomorrow or what ?

IF IN DOUBT.... RIOT....YOU KNOW THE DRILL

23/02/2007, 2:30 PM
Is RTE legally responsible for whatever guff their callers come out with, unless they offer the aggrieved party a reply or something like that. Didn't they have to cough up some cash to Martin Cullen and Monica Leech for comments made on Liveline? I doubt Hunter has much cash to pay out on claims against him - he looks like the type who'd eat his own shoes.

23/02/2007, 2:35 PM
RTE are well aware and have been reminded on many occasions who Alan Hunter really is and that he only represents himself.

They continue to ignore th etruth and pretend he speaks for Irish football fans.

I hope Shamrock Rovers FC sue them for a serious amount of money.

Frankfurt Hoop
23/02/2007, 2:43 PM
TBH, it's more likely at the moment that Rovers fans would organise a counter demonstration protesting that the Brits only plugged 14 Muldoons.http://foot.ie/images/smilies/eek.gif

23/02/2007, 2:53 PM
RTE are well aware and have been reminded on many occasions who Alan Hunter really is and that he only represents himself.

They continue to ignore th etruth and pretend he speaks for Irish football fans.

I hope Shamrock Rovers FC sue them for a serious amount of money.

Unfortunately true.

They have this gombeen on speed dial simply because he is controversial.

They even interviewed him on tv when Bertie was in trouble with Paddy the Plasterer ffs!

Interviewing normal fans or any fans group is not on their agenda.

We have a great case IMO.

23/02/2007, 3:48 PM

Must........resist.......union........joke.... :o :(

23/02/2007, 4:39 PM
I doubt Hunter has much cash to pay out on claims against him - he looks like the type who'd eat his own shoes.

Yes .... yes he does !! :D :p

23/02/2007, 4:42 PM
Must........resist.......union........joke.... :o :(

No Pete, go for it. Its no less than I expected. ;)

23/02/2007, 4:43 PM
Rovers really really have an opportunity here to show this guy up for what he really is, an idiot.

And they have a chance to sort out RTE aswell.

You have to take it ....... we wont get a chance like this again. People ..... complain, its your right to do so as it effects the whole league.

Two birds, one stone and the odds are savage, do it .... do it now !!

Could the NLSA serve a purpose here or will they be bested by Alan Hunter, the opposition??

23/02/2007, 4:46 PM
Could the NLSA serve a purpose here or will they be bested by Alan Hunter, the opposition??

Did you mean to ask "could the NLSA serve a purpose.?"

I think they about as representive as Hunters ficticious organisation.

23/02/2007, 5:26 PM
Two birds, one stone and the odds are savage, do it .... do it now !!
I'm not sure how you make that out. I too long for the day when this imbecile slips up and gets banished from the airwaves, but this isn't it.

I know paper tiger threats of litigation which subside once they've served their purpose are the stock-in-trade of Shamrock's PR operation, but I'm at a loss as to how even the most painstakingly honed victim complex perceives a genuine opportunity for redress here, assuming the statement reported in the original post was a faithful account of what Hunter said. No named or directly implicated individual has been libelled or defamed. A reference was made to comments attributed to "supporters" (a meaningless term for legal purposes; if he'd said members there might, MIGHT, possibly be grounds for action) of a particular club.

In order to disprove this allegation, it would be necessary to demonstrate (by recourse to recordings of every broadcast relating to this topic within the timeframe mentioned) that no such comments had been made by persons identifying themselves as supporters of Shamrock Rovers, or that any such persons were not also supporters of Shamrock Rovers. Even then, it's doubtful whether Shamrock Rovers as an entity could be deemed to have suffered defamation.

23/02/2007, 5:51 PM
No need for Rovers to worry about this evening as I'm sure Aberdeen/Bohs fans could be making headlines in tomorrow's rags.

23/02/2007, 5:52 PM
No need for Rovers to worry about this evening as I'm sure Aberdeen/Bohs fans could be making headlines in tomorrow's rags.

What are you insinuating?

HulaHoop
23/02/2007, 6:01 PM
A reference was made to comments attributed to "supporters" (a meaningless term for legal purposes; if he'd said members there might, MIGHT, possibly be grounds for action) of a particular club.

Ignoring the rest of your usual crap, just to clarify he said "members of a soccer club" which when Ryan asked him which soccer club he said "Shamrock Rovers"

23/02/2007, 6:17 PM
What are you insinuating?

Well what do you think? considering both sets of hoolies ain't angels! Anyway, I didn't say will, I said could. And there's a reason why I'm sure there'll be a sizable security presence.

HulaHoop
23/02/2007, 6:43 PM
Well what do you think? considering both sets of hoolies ain't angels! Anyway, I didn't say will, I said could. And there's a reason why I'm sure there'll be a sizable security presence.

Early reports indicating you were spot on in your predictions :(

hoopy
23/02/2007, 6:44 PM
Trouble at Doyles corner apparantely, probably the usual kids

23/02/2007, 6:50 PM
Maybe Hunter was confused with those hooped Celtic supporters from the O'Connell St riots?

:o

23/02/2007, 6:56 PM
Early reports indicating you were spot on in your predictions :(

Well when I posted that I had received a message that it had kick off in the Broadstone (:confused: ) area of Phibsborough.

23/02/2007, 6:57 PM
Well when I posted that I had received a message that it had kick off in the Broadstone (:confused: ) area of Phibsborough.

Will have a drive through later so I can sell some pictures to the Herald.

:cool:

tippex
23/02/2007, 7:14 PM
ok back on topic. just listened to the show http://www.rte.ie/2fm/ryanshow/rams/2007/23feb.smil

Hunter comes on about 1:15 into the show. and at about 1:24 he states that elements of a certain soccer club (unruly members) are involved.
Gerry pushes him and then he states it's rovers and Gerry states members of shamrock rovers supporters club.

Much as I dislike the idiot hunter I think Gerry Ryan needs to be taken to task on this as he says members of the supporters club.

I'll be amazed if nothing gets done about this.

Louth4sam
23/02/2007, 8:08 PM

I heard a rumour myself that known hooligans where travelling over and said hooligans are banned from a lot of grounds in the UK