View Full Version : All ticket game in Terryland

Paddyfield
21/02/2007, 10:10 PM
Sligo Rovers first game in Terryland will be an all-tickets game. Tickets go on sale in Galway at the weekend.

I've no idea what the arrangments are for visiting Sligo Rovers fans?

21/02/2007, 10:17 PM
Do ya know how many tickets we getting?

21/02/2007, 10:18 PM
they'd have to be f****N awkward wouldnt they

Paddyfield
21/02/2007, 10:23 PM
Do ya know how many tickets we getting?

I've no idea. Last season, there were 2 all-ticket games. Shamrock Rovers brought about 250 fans and Dundalk brought 400 so that should give you an idea.

A big chunk of Terryland is closed off so the capacity is under 4000 until the new stand is ready in July.

21/02/2007, 10:24 PM
we'll get 500...lovely jubly...

21/02/2007, 10:40 PM
by jaysus they'll be out in force boss

22/02/2007, 9:18 AM
Sligo will get 400....possibly 500 tickets and will be allocated the 1st 2 Sections of the Ground down the Car Park end.

Operations are already underway down here to make the atmosphere electric.
Bring it on!

Midgit
22/02/2007, 11:06 AM
Where can the Rovers supporters buy them?

22/02/2007, 11:45 AM
Where can the Rovers supporters buy them?
Showgrounds i presume...

22/02/2007, 11:52 AM
400 tickets being sent to sligo as we speak. Ye will have your own entrance /Food and Toliet facilities in section F&G in terryland.Parking cant be guarenteed after 7.00pm.

22/02/2007, 12:09 PM
nicely done by galway...

we should sell all of our allocation.....it will be a fantastic occasion.

info on the bus will be posted next week

22/02/2007, 1:20 PM
lets now hope that TV3 have the cop on to send down a camera or 2 to do a proper highlight programme this year !!!!

22/02/2007, 1:24 PM
TV3 dont send cameras to matches the clubs have to hire their own cameraman who has to edit the tape and send it to TV3.

22/02/2007, 1:27 PM
we are fine this year so

Fivesilver
22/02/2007, 1:32 PM
Does this mean Sligo supporters have to get their tickets in Sligo? What about those of us who don't live in Sligo? Do we end up in with the large Galway fly-by-night contingent?

Paddyfield
22/02/2007, 5:49 PM
Does this mean Sligo supporters have to get their tickets in Sligo? What about those of us who don't live in Sligo? Do we end up in with the large Galway fly-by-night contingent?

Yes. Fly-by-night. That's us. You know us so well.

Where are you? Do you expect GUFC to sell tickets in Cork, Dundalk, Gortahawk or wherever you are? How do all-ticket game normally operate? Yes, Sligo fans must buy their tickets in Sligo.
Jeeeezzzze.

22/02/2007, 6:20 PM

you have 2 bloody weeks to get to the showgrounds to get your ticket ! If the match was an all ticket in sligo would you be still getting your ticket in terryland ? :rolleyes:

22/02/2007, 6:22 PM
you have 2 bloody weeks to get to the showgrounds to get your ticket ! If the match was an all ticket in sligo would you be still getting your ticket in terryland ? :rolleyes:

course

Fivesilver
22/02/2007, 6:54 PM
I take it that's a yes. :rolleyes:

22/02/2007, 7:06 PM
yeah! where do ye park the transits?

Patrick Dunne
23/02/2007, 7:05 PM
Tickets will be on sale from Zhivago Records and Terryland Park.
Anyone from Sligo (students, etc) living in Galway can buy tickets at these venues.

24/02/2007, 1:25 AM
do we just get them on the night?

24/02/2007, 9:06 AM
tickets are on sale soon Feo123, a lot of people think it will be a large attendance (and I have to agree with them) so it would be advisable to get them earlier, just to be safe. Remember the city side of terryland is still closed of due to the construction of the new stand so capacity is limited to around 3500-4000.

24/02/2007, 12:36 PM
is the city side where the dugouts are?

24/02/2007, 12:47 PM
is the city side where the dugouts are?

Yes.

Sligo fans in general though won't come in from the City side.Ye should probably park in the menlo if your arriving after 6 30.You won't get a space after then.

There's not a chance of getting tickets on the gate.

Fivesilver
24/02/2007, 1:44 PM
Where are you? Do you expect GUFC to sell tickets in Cork, Dundalk, Gortahawk or wherever you are? How do all-ticket game normally operate? Yes, Sligo fans must buy their tickets in Sligo.
Jeeeezzzze.

Tickets will be on sale from Zhivago Records and Terryland Park.
Anyone from Sligo (students, etc) living in Galway can buy tickets at these venues.

.... :D

28/02/2007, 10:16 AM
so does anyone know when they are on sale ??

28/02/2007, 7:08 PM
They're not on sale here yet AFAIK......think tomorrow!

Paddyfield
28/02/2007, 7:12 PM

They were sent yesterday so Rovers should've got their batch of 400 today.

28/02/2007, 7:14 PM

They were sent yesterday so Rovers should've got their batch of 400 today.

What about Sligo?:D

I'd be surprised if they took the full allocation tbh.Hope they do though!

28/02/2007, 7:16 PM
What about Sligo?:D

I'd be surprised if they took the full allocation tbh.Hope they do thouGH!

voice breaks.....:o

28/02/2007, 7:16 PM
stop callin us sligo, its annoyin.

28/02/2007, 7:18 PM
voice breaks.....:o
:p

stop callin us sligo, its annoyin.

Well du!:rolleyes:

28/02/2007, 7:26 PM
call us rovers. we're nota galeic team

28/02/2007, 7:29 PM
call us rovers. we're nota galeic team

No i'll call ye alot of things but not Rovers.

I only call one team in Ireland Rovers and it ain't ye.:)

Sure most Sligo fans call us Galway!I always refer to us as UTD as do most,if not all,GUFC fans.

28/02/2007, 7:53 PM
i know ya and understand...it is annoyin though innit?!

28/02/2007, 8:03 PM
i know ya and understand...it is annoyin though innit?!

Yuo i know!

red bellied
28/02/2007, 8:09 PM
The biggest laugh I have ever heard that Galway are Sligo Rovers rivals and I am steamed. Only once have I seen more than a couple of hundred Galway fans in the Showgrounds and that was in a cup game. I might be mistaken but I reckon Galway city (70,000) to be about nearly four times the population of Sligo town (18,000). Until I came on this site I knew of f UCK all rivalry between Rovers and Galway. Must average Rovers suppporters wont have a clue, traditionally its always being Shams.

28/02/2007, 9:06 PM
Only once have I seen more than a couple of hundred Galway fans in the Showgrounds and that was in a cup game. Until I came on this site I knew of f UCK all rivalry between Rovers and Galway. Must average Rovers suppporters wont have a clue, traditionally its always being Shams.

i've only ever seen more than about 50 galway fans in the showgrounds once. we don't or never have had any songs about galway so that would also suggest that there's no rivalry apart from the one galway fans try to create on here

28/02/2007, 9:10 PM
I've been trying to explain to Conor H about this for so long. The only rivalary we have with them is the one he and his friends created on foot.ie.

It's like talking to a brick wall though cos he never listens:D.

Patrick Dunne
28/02/2007, 9:12 PM
If you've only ever seen 50 GUFC fans in the Showgrounds, then
you haven't been supporting Sligo too long.

The last time we played you in the FAI Cup, we brought
between 750-1000.

28/02/2007, 9:18 PM
i've only ever seen more than about 50 galway fans in the showgrounds once.

If you've only ever seen 50 GUFC fans in the Showgrounds, then
you haven't been supporting Sligo too long..

you obviously haven't been reading too long

28/02/2007, 9:25 PM
in fairness there was probably 550-600 galway fans at that cup game

28/02/2007, 9:31 PM
I dont think there was to be honest because it was an all ticket game and we give them the entire stand and they did not sell out their allocation and heard the amount they sold which was around the 350 mark.

maybe ur right so 'cos i thought it was only galway fans in the blue stand that day

01/03/2007, 7:43 AM
Ye're all right.

There's absoloutely no rivalry....it's all been fabricated on foot.ie:rolleyes:

Sligoman isn't it you who has on your bebo a polll "who is are biggest rivals"?

Most people voted UTD and Harps.Sligoman had the correct answer as Rovers and Harps!:D

Needless to say 95% of people got that wrong.The way i see it is Sligoman is trying to prove to everyone on this forum that no rivalry exists.Couldn't care less really.......i know what it's like when we go up to the showgrounds.Ill also really enjoy when we beat ye next week.:)

Fivesilver
01/03/2007, 9:39 AM
I don't think we're disagreeing on this at all.
It's just one of those one-sided 'rivalries', isn't it?

Just like in Sligo, we always think of Shams as our big rivals. But since they're an older club, with more success, and, up until they left Glenmalure, could have been regarded as a big club, they didn't particularly care about us.

Same way as England v Ireland means an awful lot more to Irish people than to English.

Man United don't see City as their big rivals.

Sligo Rovers may be Galway's main rivals - they're welcome to see it that way - but Galway aren't ours. ;)

01/03/2007, 2:54 PM
Couldn't care less really.......i know what it's like when we go up to the showgrounds.

what? ye bring about 30 fans and a whistle and celebrate like ye won a cup final if ye get a point out of us. u make ur club sound pathetic by coming on here tryin to talk of some epic rivalry

Sumac
01/03/2007, 3:02 PM
Is there any Sligo fans on here that think there is a big rivalry between Utd and Sligo - If not it is possible that it is a one sided rivalry.
I always found that the best atmosphere at Terryland was when the big Dublin teams came down - I think that is true for a lot of the provincial clubs

01/03/2007, 3:36 PM
The big rivalry is one sided and only in the minds of posters on here. I wish people on both sides would stop the wind ups.

01/03/2007, 7:02 PM
The big rivalry is one sided and only in the minds of posters on here. I wish people on both sides would stop the wind ups.

Your the King of wind ups ya clown!

The posts here are irrelevant tbh.Sligo have a rivalry with barcelona.