View Full Version : Top players will quit if Staunton forced out
co. down green
11/02/2007, 9:13 PM
This was in today's indo. Always a bit wary of journalists using - "a source close to the players" & "a friend of the manager said last night" type of quotes in articles, usually means they made it up.
EXCLUSIVE
DION FANNING
SEVERAL senior Irish players, including captain Robbie Keane, are said to be prepared to quit international football if Steve Staunton loses his job next month.
Staunton will not resign and neither will he be sacked by the FAI before the games at Croke Park in March, but defeat against either Wales or Slovakia and his time as manager will be over.
But the senior players, including Keane and Damien Duff, are believed to have become increasingly disillusioned with the media reaction to every Irish performance and are annoyed by what they deem to be sensationalist coverage of the Irish team.
While all sides agree that defeat at Croke Park will cost Staunton his job, there is a feeling that the Irish job is no longer an attractive one for coaches and the FAI are believed to see few alternatives as manager if Staunton is forced to leave.
While a number of players would have quit international football if Brian Kerr had remained in charge, it seems that others will now consider their position if the campaign takes another turn for the worse over the next two matches.
Staunton has insisted again that he would not have left the job if Ireland had failed to beat San Marino. "Youse are going to have to put up with me, lads, no matter what you write," he told a group of journalists after Wednesday's game, but his time for experimentation with players and, more importantly, results is now at an end.
Staunton also insisted that his side was developing. "Of course we are, have a look at the players that are coming in and gaining experience, we have no choice, that was always going to happen, so there is progress being made."
The absence of any visible signs of this progress has left Staunton's reign on the brink, but the players, who have not performed as they should in key matches for a number of years, believe they are now under siege when they meet up with the Irish squad.
They are said to feel that this coverage is having a negative effect on the team and is in danger of turning into a situation similar to that in England where the national team was booed off last week following a home defeat to Spain.
Bobby Robson - who was hounded by the English press for eight years while he was national manager - is understood to have commented last week that he considers the Irish media to be worse.
"There's a siege mentality with the players at the moment," a source close to the players said yesterday.
"They're frightened to do anything which might make them look bad until you get to a match like the Czech game where it's win or bust."
The atmosphere in the FAI's headquarters at Merrion Square, revitalised under John Delaney, is said to darken when an international approaches and there is increasing anger at some of the coverage.
The players were particularly annoyed at the appearance of a newspaper employee dressed as Miss Piggy who showed up at training following the Cyprus games and succeeded in being photographed with some of the players.
Staunton, meanwhile, is believed to feel he is under extra pressure because of Delaney's "world-class" appointment comment, made after Kerr left the job.
While Delaney has justified this again last week by saying he promised a world-class management team, Staunton fears it has increased the pressure.
"Stan didn't say it, but it's being used as a stick to beat him with," a friend of the manager said last night.
Results are all that matter for Steve Staunton now.
11/02/2007, 9:22 PM
Fannings a first class ***** anyway we know that much.
Don Vito
11/02/2007, 9:26 PM
F**k me, now that is a shock. I didn't think we had any "top players"!
onenilgameover
11/02/2007, 9:37 PM
Man this PR spinning bullsh!t is a minefield....
Noelys Guitar
11/02/2007, 11:35 PM
I would say this was Duff speaking to Carr who passed it on to Fanning. Or else Delaney going "off the record"! Laughable spin.
12/02/2007, 12:38 AM
(Article)SEVERAL senior Irish players, including captain Robbie Keane, are said to be prepared to quit international football if Steve Staunton loses his job next month.
But the senior players, are believed to have become increasingly disillusioned with the media reaction to every Irish performance and are annoyed by what they deem to be sensationalist coverage of the Irish team.
While a number of players would have quit international football if Brian Kerr had remained in charge, it seems that others will now consider their position if the campaign takes another turn for the worse over the next two matches.
the players, who have not performed as they should in key matches for a number of years, believe they are now under siege when they meet up with the Irish squad.
They are said to feel that this coverage is having a negative effect on the team and is in danger of turning into a situation similar to that in England where the national team was booed off last week following a home defeat to Spain.
Bobby Robson - who was hounded by the English press for eight years while he was national manager - is understood to have commented last week that he considers the Irish media to be worse.
If they don't like the coverage, and want to retire, because their boss got sacked, f'em. There are many LOI players that want to play for their country, and leave the mutiny players to focus on their Ferraris, and relegation battles.
If they really, really think the Irish media are bad, then they should take a look at how other countries, where football is the be-all and end-all of sport, react to 2-5, and 0-4 defeats, and 2-1 wins in the last minute to part-timers. The Irish media are polite by comparison.
And yes, we're stuck with the clueless puppet in charge, regardless of whether we win in Croker or not, in March.
12/02/2007, 1:32 AM
I cant understand it.
IF (and that is a big if) Stan was a great manager, and was being attacked for something non-football related (affair, tax evasion etc), I can understand players wanting him to be kept, and football and "politics" to be kept separate. But he is running the team into the ground.
The media reaction, at least in terms of results, has been acceptable. I dont live in Ireland so I dont see the media day to day, but outrage and anger and a wish for change all seem acceptable based on the current situation.
theworm2345
12/02/2007, 2:18 AM
This is the problem you get when the players are friends with the manager from their playing days
Fergie's Son
12/02/2007, 2:55 AM
I have been very critical of the EL on these boards before. I am tired of some posters hijacking every thread saying how X and Y are better than Premier league players etc.
That said, if certain players want to quit then I would GLADLY support a team of EL XI because at least we would have a better coach and people who want to play for their country. I am sick of this nonsense with Delaney and Staunton.
What a joke.
The players, Staunton and Delaney can all go and **** themselves. Nobody needs their self-serving arrogance.
youngirish
12/02/2007, 8:44 AM
So we should be forced to sit and watch that underperforming drivel and be happy to pay good money for it because some players who don't give a sh*te anyway may leave if we get the much needed change we've been asking for? Good riddance Robbie Keane. Close the door on your way out. You won't be missed.
The worst Irish captain ever.
Jamjar
12/02/2007, 8:55 AM
It is becoming more apparent that our problems for the last few years are solely the players fault. They wouldn't play for Kerr and wanted him out, now they want Stan to stay...but still won't play. They can go fúck themselves. The media reaction is the way it is because they are the worst Irish football team in our history. Fans are paying good money to see these wánkers put on an Irish jersey. They should be ashamed.
dodgycanadian
12/02/2007, 9:02 AM
a bigger concern is since when do we have "Top Players"
galwayhoop
12/02/2007, 9:12 AM
what they deem to be sensationalist coverage of the Irish team
sensationalist my bóllocks. we got hammered by CYPRUS and almost drew with SAN MARINO.
if the comments are true:
fúck off robbie keane you overpaid twát. you are middle of the road. you play for spurs. you have never delievered on your early promise and you masqerade as a world class player, ditto duff (except you play for newcastle).**
they are happy with the cozy cartel that comes with your mate being 'da gaffer' - probably afraid of a new man coming in and telling them some home truths. i.e you are underperforming and have done so since 2002.
**actually this comment is true whether they made the comments or not!!
1. Delaney must go. its been pretty much downhill since his appointment. In this terrible time for Irish soccer, instead of insisting that we need positive change and trying to improve the situation, Delaney instead tries to protect himself by saying that it wasnt really his decision that bobby robson and steve staunton were chosen!! coward
2. Stan, in the post match interview never once admitted that his side were absolutely sh**e. Wake up stan and tell us the truth, your not a politician!:mad:
3. Who are the FAI trying to fool, Bobby Robson can't contribute much at this stage.:confused:
4!! It's time, an irish manager was brave enough to get rid of our older players. Kilbane has always been a donkey yet he is never left out of an irish side. Ian Harte is useless, besides his freekicks and they were even shockin against san marino.:confused:
Stan is also afraid to maybe change duff for McGeady, and one of the youngsters for keane. Neither of these players have delivered enough since the world cup. Ireland have not had a good competitive game since Spain in the world cup in my opinion. Your the manager for a reason stan, to change things the right way around when upside down.
12/02/2007, 9:56 AM
good riddance keane and Duff, over paid tossers, bring in Stokes and Hunt and Geary and Mccarthy
magicman
12/02/2007, 10:00 AM
It's time, an irish manager was brave enough to get rid of our older players. Kilbane has always been a donkey yet he is never left out of an irish side. Ian Harte is useless, besides his freekicks and they were even shockin against san marino.:confused:
I agree with your estimation of Harte but to be fair, as bad as Kilbane is, he is one of the only "senior pros" who is willing to run himself into to the ground for his country.
It was even obvious when he talked after the game about us being sh1te. I wouldnt be too quick to dump him, the man at least still cares for the team.
Larks
12/02/2007, 10:10 AM
true, magicman. He will give 100% and he does have pride in the jersey, I just question his skill levels and talent.
Sonic
12/02/2007, 10:13 AM
Top players are ya having a laugh. My fat ass would have made a better contribution last wednesday. Useless cnuts have some cheek. Get rid of the dumb boll1x and the crowd of wasters along with him!!
magicman
12/02/2007, 10:14 AM
I think everyone does, but wouldnt it be better to have somebody out there trying then having robbie keane waving his arms and crying everytime he gets shouldered?
Larks
12/02/2007, 10:22 AM
I think everyone does, but wouldnt it be better to have somebody out there trying then having robbie keane waving his arms and crying everytime he gets shouldered?
Yes but whos to say that other youngsters wont try. i think we are agreeing that some of our players think they are too good for Ireland, they are lazy, arogant and overpaid (keane). Lets bring in players that are hungry to do their country proud, not the likes of clinton morrison from england, but true irishmen.
I see your point on Kilbane and maybe there is a couplr more decent years left in him.
RogerMilla
12/02/2007, 10:31 AM
clinton morrisson also gives 100%
as far as i am concerned these lads are there to play for ireland
if stan goes then they should turn up to play for Ireland
anyone who does not , good riddance , dont let the door hurt your harris on the way out and bring in the EL players and lads from SPL and the lower divisions in England.
this leak is from a dodgy provenance though , might just be delaney spinning as an earlier poster says.
Beavis
12/02/2007, 10:35 AM
good riddance keane and Duff, over paid tossers, bring in Stokes and Hunt and Geary and Mccarthy
Says it all about the irish 'fan' these days. How anyone can criticise Duff, and to a lesser extent Keano, after years of both quality and endevour for Ireland, is beyond the realms of reason.
You were probably in the shower of a*seholes in front of us at the San Marino game who were more interested in booing and sing 'Stan out' songs than supporting the side. Ireland now has a British sporting culture where the public weight of expectation and subsequent ferocious critisism, will always accumulate in underachievement.
The current state of the media and a section of the Irish fan base makes me want to stop supporting the side, and slightly ashamed to be irish. Maybe a few barren years will be a good thing and help weed out the fair weather supporters, give others a reality check, and let us appreciate that for a country of 4 million and in a sport that is not even the countries largest, we actually do quite alright.
deadman
12/02/2007, 11:28 AM
i don't think keane or duff would ever quit
it sounds like delaney is using them for his very own kind of spin doctoring ... there's no doubt this is a delaney "leak"
he's lost all connection to reality
12/02/2007, 11:33 AM
I doubt the validity of these so called rumours but if true........ well Stokes, Long and Hunt would be more than willing to replace them. Keane can go play second fiddle to Defoe at Spurs.
These guys are professionals and should be able to take criticism. The Cyprus game was a joke and the San Marino performance was another nail in Stan's coffin. Of course I don't expect them to win the World Cup but we should be able to take apart a pub team away from home.
lofty9
12/02/2007, 11:48 AM
Oh deary me, they'll be missed :rolleyes: .They are overpaid idiots, paid for kicking a bag of air about, with absolutely no pride in their country. They only care about the colour of their money. The story is probably a wind up but we wouldn't expect much more from this lot. I have as much respect for these "Premiership footballers" as they have for their country. Whatever said about Kilbane at least he tries and he cares about playing for Ireland.
PS Beavis, I would rather support people I can relate to and have respect for, I'm not into all this worship of footballers...... Anyhow, unfortunately our nation expects to beat San Marino handsomely and at least compete with Cyprus. I don't think that is unrealistic, do you?
Condex
12/02/2007, 11:53 AM
Says it all about the irish 'fan' these days. How anyone can criticise Duff, and to a lesser extent Keano, after years of both quality and endevour for Ireland, is beyond the realms of reason.
You were probably in the shower of a*seholes in front of us at the San Marino game who were more interested in booing and sing 'Stan out' songs than supporting the side. Ireland now has a British sporting culture where the public weight of expectation and subsequent ferocious critisism, will always accumulate in underachievement.
The current state of the media and a section of the Irish fan base makes me want to stop supporting the side, and slightly ashamed to be irish. Maybe a few barren years will be a good thing and help weed out the fair weather supporters, give others a reality check, and let us appreciate that for a country of 4 million and in a sport that is not even the countries largest, we actually do quite alright.
What are you talking about...
Been following the team for over 20 years and can safely say this shower
are the biggest waste of space to have represented Ireland in that time...
The sooner they get rid of people like Robbie Keane the better, dont really
care what or who replaces him a cardboard cutout would be an improvement!!
sonofstan
12/02/2007, 12:10 PM
I'm struggling to see the downside of this - we lose Staunton AND all the overrated players who lost to Cyprus and nearly failed to beat San Marino.
as_i_say
12/02/2007, 12:24 PM
i can see the point that beavis is making however the utterly soul less perfomances against cyprus, san marino, the dutch etc would suggest there is something not right and i think it is our right to question their commitment after displays like that.
However singling out any one player (except for John o shea perhaps) is not on in my opinion. Stan made a dreadful decision to appoint keane captain-Martin jol likes to give the armband to robbie on occasion as a gratuity if he's not number one at spurs.. duff is clearly suffering from a lack of confidence and i thought he did try his best but is on a shocking run of form.
the perfomance against the czechs was admirable even though a bad attepmt at a save from henderson and rubbish header attempt by keane in the last minute cost us. So after a performance like that you'd think that the team would be re-energised when looking to the future games.
so what the hell has happened since the czech game???
Since when is John Delaney a 'source close to the players'
Cathal Dervan had something similar to this in yesterdays Star. Sounds like a load of rubbish to me. As has been said above, anyone who wants to quit the Irish team, they know where the door is (I know I've stopped being a supporter for the last year.) By the way, hilarious to read Dervans stuff now, about how sacking the manager is a knee jerk reaction, he needs time ,etc, etc. Dervan went out on a limb backing Staunton for the job (before anyone else as far as I remember) after a disgraceful campaign against Brian Kerr, and now he's stuck out there, waiting for the branch to break. Hope he ends up with a lot of bruises from the fall. Probably the worst football "journalist" in the country. (and that's a competitive race :D )
cavan_fan
12/02/2007, 1:28 PM
Yes but whos to say that other youngsters wont try. i think we are agreeing that some of our players think they are too good for Ireland, they are lazy, arogant and overpaid (keane). Lets bring in players that are hungry to do their country proud, not the likes of clinton morrison from england, but true irishmen.
I see your point on Kilbane and maybe there is a couplr more decent years left in him.
If Robbie put in half the effort of Clinton then he'd be a world beater. In reality the key cant be bothered men are O'Shea, Duff and Keane (all Irish born) not Kilbane, Carlsey or Clinton (all English born).
Cathal Dervan had something similar to this in yesterdays Star. Sounds like a load of rubbish to me. As has been said above, anyone who wants to quit the Irish team, they know where the door is (I know I've stopped being a supporter for the last year.) By the way, hilarious to read Dervans stuff now, about how sacking the manager is a knee jerk reaction, he needs time ,etc, etc. Dervan went out on a limb backing Staunton for the job (before anyone else as far as I remember) after a disgraceful campaign against Brian Kerr, and now he's stuck out there, waiting for the branch to break. Hope he ends up with a lot of bruises from the fall. Probably the worst football "journalist" in the country. (and that's a competitive race :D )
I have to admit they are a sorry bunch - but thats because Ireland is such a small place and all of them have to cultivate a cosy relationship with the likes of The Laney so they can have some sort of access to relevant information as oppossed to the spurious BS they write about 90% of the time. Nearly all the big "soccer opinion" pieces stopped short of calling for The Laneys head - they all need each other in this racket. Most like Dion Fanning et al point out The Laneys supposedly brilliant record in all other areas BAR the appointment of the national team manager - the problem is The Laney is low on specifics here and peel away the bullet point page that he has learned off by rote for relay in all media appearances and most of the problems in the game here (the glaringly obvious one being Shels are very much part of HIS making and definitely part of HIS responsibility)
He's glossed over all the actual issues with banner headline ballocks about marketing spends and increased prizemoney. Pitiful attempt in the Tribunes main piece to downplay dissent to delaney on these points as being an "eircom league" thing. As if the whole thing is somehow seperate.
Since when is John Delaney a 'source close to the players'
I must add thats just a joke & not an accusation.
(just ensuring everything legal) :o
Billsthoughts
12/02/2007, 2:21 PM
in fairness if they did retire it would just be making offiial what has been the situation for a while now. :D
delaney is running irish football into the ground
its very sad to see.
12/02/2007, 2:42 PM
Quit away, quit away in droves.
Wouldn't have been unreasonable to expect a few ashen faced retirements in the face of last wednesdays result anyway.
Won't be long looking to come back when an even workaday manager gets us within touching distance of qualifying for something.
Marked Man
12/02/2007, 3:42 PM
Until this comes from a source other than the Independent, it never happened.
endabob1
12/02/2007, 3:53 PM
"Top players will quit if Staunton forced out"
One word springs to mind, GOOD
Collyontour
12/02/2007, 3:59 PM
In terms of consistency, Given is our only top player and there's no way he'd quit. The rest of them can try to hold us to ransom all they like, although I would be surprised if the story is true.
EalingGreen
12/02/2007, 5:58 PM
James Quinn, an (English-born) footballer from "the other Ireland" once said:
"You don't retire from your country, your country retires you".
Those of you who might have seen him plying his trade in the lower reaches of English football will know that when it came to ability, he never had much to show.
But those who saw him play internationally know that no-one ever showed greater effort or commitment.
From my own observation and knowledge of some of the ROI players mentioned, I'd be surprised if they really were threatening to quit should Stan be sacked. After all, if they really cared that much for him, that loyalty would be more evident on the pitch.
Sounds like "spin", idle speculation or gross exagerration to me.
12/02/2007, 6:07 PM
There is no source to this story so its all rubbish as far as I am concerned and Fanning is a muppet who along with Devan talk ****e half the time.
12/02/2007, 7:40 PM
so you are irelands greatest supporter are you?
i follow ireland on away trips and was at the 2002 world cup, so i guess im a fairweather supporter :rolleyes:
i think im entitled to boo whoever the fcuk i want, i paid for my ticket, and dont like what i see from an irish team who are overpaid and not even trying
i donot like it when i see guys on 40/50,000 squid every week complaining about the fans reaction in beating parttimers from san marino
get a reality check, the irish team dont even bother these days, thats what ****es everybody off
12/02/2007, 9:09 PM
The players, officials, and their supporters on here, are still living in 1965, and think we should be grateful that we have a national side competing. They have a minnow mentality, believing that we only have a small pool of players, where we can't be expected to qualify for big tournaments.
The Irish public in general, no longer tolerate minnowism. We have the resources to be a player on the world stage, we just don't use them to the best of our ability.
Qwerty
12/02/2007, 11:00 PM
I think you guys are going a bit overboard, remember the squad has been under siege by the media since Saipan. I'm not surprised that some of the players would back Stan by saying these things - although unnamed sources don't carry much weight with me. I would be shocked if any player thought that the performances against Cyrus or San Marino were acceptable, if you look at the Germany and Czech game I think you can see they can play and that those games are a fairer reflection of what they're about - sure the Germany game could have had a different score line and the Czechs seemed oddly happy to settle for a draw.
Down through the years we have struggled against the minnows away from home, Charlton's team drew 0-0 with Lichenstien. We needed some very late goals against Malta and Cyprus several times and McCarthy's team struggled away to Andorra. Let's wait and see what happens against Wales and Slovakia, I'm sure we'll see better performances, if we don't then that is the time to make a change. Oh and the last 'decent' team we beat away was Scotland 20 years ago!!
Just reading the Guardian , there is an interesting interview with Steve Coppell : Coppell's analytical mind is a key feature of his management style. However, by his own admission, his first steps as a manager were not quite as refined as his methods now. 'I didn't know what I was doing for the first couple of years.'
The FAI's idea of using Robson as Stan's mentor was on paper a great idea. The English have basically taken on board the FAI's lead and done the same thing with teaming McLaren with Venables, and I think they even suggested trying to get Robson to switch to Engand. However they have been hampered by Robson's ill health. Of course Robson was largely forced on Stan so perhaps if Robson hadn't been ill it wouldn't have worked anyway and I'm not sure Stan really thinks about football, I blame his GAA background.
I'm certainly concerned about the circus that the senior side has become, but the players are still turning up, if they didn't want to play they would be crying off with fake injuries. I've no doubt that if the media barrage continues you will see players saying 'sod it, it's not worth it any more'.
Having said all that it would be nice if Stan had simply said that clearly there are problems with the team but he is working on correcting them. It would also be nice if the players came out and said we didn't follow the game plan and we failed to execute properly. ( Assuming there was a game plan ) Ian Harte was interview before the game and he said what they needed to do was to play a quick game, pass quickly and use their superior pace to stretch and move the San Marinians. Now if they knew what to do why didn't they do it?
clearskies
12/02/2007, 11:17 PM
Mr Delaney, is that you?
Noelys Guitar
12/02/2007, 11:36 PM
I would drop Duff and Keane. Wouldn't have Carr or Harte anywhere near the squad. Play Hunt, Long, Stokes, Quinn. Keep Carsley in.
Noelys Guitar
12/02/2007, 11:46 PM
so you are irelands greatest supporter are you?
i follow ireland on away trips and was at the 2002 world cup, so i guess im a fairweather supporter :rolleyes:
i think im entitled to boo whoever the fcuk i want, i paid for my ticket, and dont like what i see from an irish team who are overpaid and not even trying
i donot like it when i see guys on 40/50,000 squid every week complaining about the fans reaction in beating parttimers from san marino
get a reality check, the irish team dont even bother these days, thats what ****es everybody off
Giles used to play Givens when he was well past his sell by date. But then he didn't really have any other options. We have the Reading trio. The Sheffield united trio. Stokes, Connolly is back scoring. Drop Duff and drop Keane. They are 2 senior players who should be doing a hell of a lot more on and off the pitch than seems the case.
Billsthoughts
12/02/2007, 11:52 PM
I dont think its a case of dropping players and all will be well. we just need to have a manager who can properly organise his team. I think people are just taking out their frustration on Keane and duff. two players that are going thru a bad spell in terms of form. what I would like to see is no automatic starters. everyone should have to fight for their place. regardless of what they have done in the past.
theworm2345
13/02/2007, 5:01 AM
4!! It's time, an irish manager was brave enough to get rid of our older players. Kilbane has always been a donkey yet he is never left out of an irish side. Ian Harte is useless, besides his freekicks and they were even shockin against san marino.:confused:
Without Kilbane we have 4 point this campaign and dont even have a hope of qualifying (there is still the faintest glimmer)
Harte had played 2 matches before he came back from something like 1 year and a half of injury. McShane maybe should've started but Harte has still always been top class (unless one is holding grudges against the latter two because both missed penalties against Spain)