View Full Version : Shamrock Rovers, Sunderland and Niall Quinn

Pages : 1 [2]

13/02/2007, 1:20 PM
ny hoop not jealous in the slightest just making the point if the person on an average industrial wage,or as you say a student,can afoord to pay in to the 400 club why coudnt quinn have gone the extra mile.ive no issue with ye using sunderland for training but its my personal opinion that its not the free meal ticket it appears.

then again having an opinion about the great niall seems dangerous if its not consistant with everyone else

And you're entitled to your opinion even though it is inaccurate. I've no doubt he could have gone the extra mile but that's his business.

13/02/2007, 1:42 PM
Hee Hee. Clubs biggest fan:D

Well he is 6ft 3 at least

MyTown
13/02/2007, 3:11 PM
Sunderland are due in Galway for the Galway Races and a friendly. You'll all be welcome....August 1st....book it now...........They could be a Premiership team by then - although I doubt it

Jaime
13/02/2007, 3:23 PM
Will Stead go for the Plate or the Hurdle

Stead off Sheffield United? :confused:

13/02/2007, 3:31 PM
Nick Leeson is really doing the business now.

Roy Keane to bring Sunderland to Galway while Tony Cousins strengthens his squad Tuesday, 13 February 2007
Roy Keane's Sunderland will be coming to Galway this summer to take on Galway United in a glamour friendly at Terryland Park.
The game which takes place on Wednesday of Race Week is sure to be a sell out as Sunderland, who could be a Premiership side by then, take to the field at Terryland. Kick off is at 7.45pm on the 1st of August and more information will become available on the club website as the date approaches.

Meanwhile Sunderland, headed up by CEO Niall Quinn, are to host a group of Galway United fans at the Stadium of Light in the next few months.

It was intended for the Galway United group to travel over for this weekend's clash with Southend, but that has now been put back to April when Sunderland will host Mick McCarthy's Wolves.

On the transfer front, Derek Glynn has put pen to paper as manager Tony Cousins puts the finishing touches to his squad for United's return to the Premier Division.

The striker, who turns 24 in May, caught the attention of Cousins with impressive performances with the Mayo League along with scoring with ease for his hometown Claremorris FC.

Midfielder Shane Tracy will also be a Galway United player from the 19th of February. A skilful left-footed winger, Tracy played reserve team football at Arsenal last season, making eight appearances for the Gunners.

Tracy has been with Arsenal since he was 15 and impressed Liam Brady when playing for Wembley Rovers in Limerick. The 18 year old also featured in Galway United's 2-0 win against the Kildare Oscar Traynor team

13/02/2007, 3:40 PM
Sunderland are due in Galway for the Galway Races and a friendly.

You better watch that they don't pilfer your squad while they're here. :rolleyes:

13/02/2007, 4:28 PM
You better watch that they don't pilfer your squad while they're here. :rolleyes:

Or you could just let them too :rolleyes:

13/02/2007, 4:51 PM
POTM, excellent point.

It's not even in English FFS. :rolleyes:

13/02/2007, 5:58 PM
It's not even in English FFS. :rolleyes:

Great come back :rolleyes:

13/02/2007, 6:05 PM
Talk about Much ado about nothing...

OK.

Much Ado About Nothing is a comedy written by William Shakespeare in the late 1590s. Although the main thrust is obviously comic, there are darker concerns dealt with also, and it ends up with a bunch of marriages. It shares some elements with Romeo and Juliet and other darker Shakespearean works.

How's that?

Billy Lord
13/02/2007, 7:48 PM
Of course an opinion can be inaccurate! If I said it's my opinion that the world is flat, I would be inaccurate. You don't know what you're talking about.

13/02/2007, 8:15 PM
And what is this opinion that you've formed based on? (As opposed to ours)

Buller
13/02/2007, 8:21 PM
As a wise coloured individual once said; "Cant we all just get along?!"

13/02/2007, 8:24 PM

Screw that! Bickering and division is the Irish way.

13/02/2007, 8:25 PM

And another individual once said - "Ein Volk, Ein Reich, und eine Disko"

13/02/2007, 8:29 PM
well call me suspicious but giving the recent departure of some players to england the fact to teams are invited over seems to me thats it is a glorified trial and not a free meal ticket so to speak.maybe im been to cynical but i dont accept these type of things at face value

Exactly .... why all of a sudden is an English club giving eL clubs a hand out like this? I have been supporting eL along time and i have never been given any reason to believe that they would help us out. I have never witnessed an eL come off better with an English club involved. Get bitten once fair enough, get bittne twice, then maybe but when you are toren to shreds from the dog you stay the fawk away from him.

Why is in now any different because its Rover, Galway or Pats? Out of all the clubs i'm more suprised by Pats thinking they would be a bit clued in to some degree. Galway probably think its Christmas, and Rovers have a history of not learning.

Leicester were meant to have us kings of Europe after the link up with City, and we obviously are still waiting. It was too good to be true, they were doing it for the good of the game. It was a gesture of good will. It was a gift horse, dont look it in the mouth.

Rovers fans cant see for all the lights and shiny things, fair enough but we'll all be here to say we told you so when your flat on your face again.

Vitruvian Man
13/02/2007, 8:52 PM
Jesus lads, is this a slow news day or what.

Shamrocks pull a few strings, get themselves a glamour friendly/team bonding junket together for their squad. Well done to them, more power etc.

Their players are stll reletive unknowns in the Irish game. I know the hooped huns like to talk their players up but who'se getting taken in here.

Sunderland can have any player they want from the Eircom League for what is a pittance in English League terms - the clubs are too poor to say no and the players would probably swim over the Irish Sea if they had to in order to get top flight (ish) football in England.

If Sunderland had some nefarious plan to steal Irish players then would they not ask over a team from the top of the higher division rather than a team from the top of the lower division.

Either you are wumming, and I have been taken in, so fair play to you - or you're off your rocker.

hoopy
13/02/2007, 8:55 PM
Jesus lads, is this a slow news day or what.

Shamrocks pull a few strings, get themselves a glamour friendly/team bonding junket together for their squad. Well done to them, more power etc.

Their players are stll reletive unknowns in the Irish game. I know the hooped huns like to talk their players up but who'se getting taken in here.

Sunderland can have any player they want from the Eircom League for what is a pittance in English League terms - the clubs are too poor to say no and the players would probably swim over the Irish Sea if they had to in order to get top flight (ish) football in England.

If Sunderland had some nefarious plan to steal Irish players then would they not ask over a team from the top of the higher division rather than a team from the top of the lower division.

Either you are wumming, and I have been taken in, so fair play to you - or you're off your rocker.

Even a Bohs fan can see it for what it is;)

khoop
13/02/2007, 9:24 PM
Rovers fans cant see for all the lights and shiny things

Yeah, that must be it. Thanks for the help. Yawn.

Dr.Nightdub
13/02/2007, 10:00 PM
Out of all the clubs i'm more suprised by Pats thinking they would be a bit clued in to some degree.

Our lot are flying over on Wednesday morning, playing Sunderland that afternoon, flying home that night. Ninety minutes of a pre-season friendly will really give Sunderland a good idea of who they want to poach off us. :rolleyes:

13/02/2007, 10:12 PM
Our lot are flying over on Wednesday morning, playing Sunderland that afternoon, flying home that night. Ninety minutes of a pre-season friendly will really give Sunderland a good idea of who they want to poach off us. :rolleyes:

Reading only needed eight minutes to poach Shane Long.

Lads i'll agree i sound fairly alarmist here, but i'd definitely wouldn't be jumping in with two feet. Fact of the matter is you'd have to question why Sunderland are doing this and it would be madness not to. If Quinn is being so supportive then why didn't he invest in the club first day when Rovers were nearly a memory? And dont wheel out the "green giant" sure why wouldn't he, he's Irish lark. And €40 is not an investment on his part. Its a joke.

13/02/2007, 10:14 PM
Why is in now any different because its Rover, Galway or Pats? Out of all the clubs i'm more suprised by Pats thinking they would be a bit clued in to some degree

Not for one second do I think any of our players will end up at Sunderland BUT we're in dire financial straights and if they wanna pay €200k for any of our players I'd snap the hands of them. All well & good having intentions of succesful sides but pragmatism has to come into it when we're talking LOI side. If Sunderland offer us a million I'd sell the whole fecking squad to them...

As it is Its just a friendly. Fair play to ROvers for organising some quality training facilities. Pats/Drogs/Bohs organised it in Spain, ROvers did it in Sunderland. In the past Curtis Fleming organised it so that Pats would use Middlesbrough and even Darlington's facilities. No big deal...

13/02/2007, 11:11 PM
So - how many Drogheda players are Zenit St Petersburg going to sign then?

Dr.Nightdub
13/02/2007, 11:23 PM
About the same number that FK Shinnik Yaroslavl signed off us last year. Or that Leicester, West Ham, Sunderland, Kilmarnock, Huddersfield, etc signed off us after we played friendlies against them in the years before the switch to summer soccer.

swano
14/02/2007, 4:04 AM
Exactly .... why all of a sudden is an English club giving eL clubs a hand out like this? I have been supporting eL along time and i have never been given any reason to believe that they would help us out. I have never witnessed an eL come off better with an English club involved. Get bitten once fair enough, get bittne twice, then maybe but when you are toren to shreds from the dog you stay the fawk away from him.

Why is in now any different because its Rover, Galway or Pats? Out of all the clubs i'm more suprised by Pats thinking they would be a bit clued in to some degree. Galway probably think its Christmas, and Rovers have a history of not learning.

Leicester were meant to have us kings of Europe after the link up with City, and we obviously are still waiting. It was too good to be true, they were doing it for the good of the game. It was a gesture of good will. It was a gift horse, dont look it in the mouth.

Rovers fans cant see for all the lights and shiny things, fair enough but we'll all be here to say we told you so when your flat on your face again.

What a load of rubbish. Just because you got shafted on the Doyle and Long deals doesn't mean other clubs will make the same mistakes.

So Quinn gives us 40 quid a month, more of a publicity stunt than anything iif you ask me. On the back of it we get to go over and use excellent training facilities for free!

As for the falling flat on our face bit, thats just utter ****e. We turned down any player who asked for wages we didn't feel were within our budget and have largely the same squad as last year with just a few low profile additions.

Your bitterness over losing your big assets for peanuts is completely clouding your judgement.

14/02/2007, 7:45 AM
Your bitterness over losing your big assets for peanuts is completely clouding your judgement.

Dead right i'm bitter, not clouded in the slightest, just sceptical, very sceptical. Its a rule of thumb at this stage.

DvB
14/02/2007, 8:05 AM
Rovers have a history of not learning.

On what do you base these priceless nuggets of information? Since WE the supporters took over the club where have we established a 'history of not learning' as you so eliquently put it?

Either way people here can dream up whatever conspiracies they wish, though i must admit it reads as wishful thinking on their part as opposed to a constructive thought process! An inner perhaps fear of how strong Rovers may be in the coming season??

If however someone at Sunderland decides during the course of our visit we have a player they could use, at this stage he's under contract & they can pay handsomely for his services!! If that constitutes falling flat on your face well i suppose it would be Cork that would forewarn us, afterall they have a history of to doing it with the applomb of an olympic diver with no arms!

Koh

14/02/2007, 8:09 AM
An inner perhaps fear of how strong Rovers may be in the coming season??

Are you drunk ?? :eek:

DvB
14/02/2007, 8:36 AM
Are you drunk ?? :eek:

I can assure you i am competely sober!

That comment in my post was included to question the thinking behind the questionable content of your own posts. Hence the question marks at the end of the sentence. Based on what i've read previously i'm struggling to understand why you seem to be grasping the nettle on this so tightly, unless of course the cork delusions have failed to abate in the season we were away from the premier division on 'other business'?

Koh

14/02/2007, 11:12 AM
Best thread ever! :D

14/02/2007, 1:35 PM
Date: 14/02/2007
Venue: Academy Of Light
Sunderland Reserves 1 - St Patrick's Athletic 0

Goal Scorers:

The match is currently underway at Sunderland's academy stadium. Former Ireland and Manchester United captain, Roy Keane, is one of spectators in the crowd.

Tommy Miller has opened the scoring after 27 minutes.

The St Pat's squad travelling to game is:
Ryan, Clarke, Brennan, S Quigley, C Foley, Maguire, Frost, Murphy, Fahey, Ndo, M Foley, O'Connor, Kirby, M Quigley, Rooney, O'Neill, O'Halloran, Fitzpatrick, Lynch, Ryan

Sunderland squad:
Carson, N. Wright, S. Wright, Cunningham, Hartley, Clarke, Welsh, Arnau, Richardson, Wallace, T. Miller, Murphy, Mocquet, Luscombe, McArdle, Waghorn.

Sunderland Reserves
Carson; Wright, Cunningham, Hartley, Clarke; Welsh, Arnan, Richardson, D Murphy; Wallace, T Miller

St Patrick's Athletic
B Ryan; A Murphy, C Foley, S Brennan, J Frost; R Guy, K Fahey, M Foley, A Kirby; M Rooney, G O'Neill

Officials

14/02/2007, 1:44 PM
Couple of chances so far for us
Fats went close with a free kick
Miller scored a header for them.

Playing 4-5-1 with o'neill up front on his own

6 of our players have been bought by Roy Keane so far, who's now on his fourth pint of "the Guinness"

14/02/2007, 1:49 PM
2-0 down

Miller again

word on the street is we're interested in him.

this his chance to get out of Sunderland and he's seizing it with both hands

14/02/2007, 2:13 PM
3-0...this is turning into a massacre......who would have thought it on today of all days!

green-blood
14/02/2007, 2:41 PM
this is great, more posts about Rovers squad doing shuttle runs on sunderlansds training ground and playing Durham city over the past 2 days than there are on the fate of shelbourne FC over the past 2 weeks

was it that boring in the premier without us lads...

14/02/2007, 3:59 PM
this is great, more posts about Rovers squad doing shuttle runs on sunderlansds training ground and playing Durham city over the past 2 days than there are on the fate of shelbourne FC over the past 2 weeks

was it that boring in the premier without us lads...
This thread 106 replies 3,097 views.
The Shels thread 624 replies 26,992 views.
So it would be fair to say you are wrong.

14/02/2007, 4:25 PM
3-0...this is turning into a massacre......who would have thought it on today of all days!

You're obviously throwing it in case your players impress Sunderland.

14/02/2007, 10:29 PM
is it true that only the pats management team are coming home cos everyone else was bought up by quinn?

Either or Pats dont seem like they'll be much of a threat this year anyway :D :p

Whens the Shams game ?? :D

green-blood
15/02/2007, 7:40 AM
This thread 106 replies 3,097 views.
The Shels thread 624 replies 26,992 views.
So it would be fair to say you are wrong.

and I repeat " over the past 2 weeks"

so another one who has been bored without us obviously:D

15/02/2007, 12:47 PM

Keith Fahey and Joey Ndo have not returned with the rest of the squad and were last seen disguised as women fleeing Sunderland with an all-girl band.

24/03/2007, 6:24 PM
Roy Keane admits the friendlies are only to get more Sunderland fans in Ireland (http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/~peoplesr/forums/showpost.php?p=1459047&postcount=3).

Hitman
24/03/2007, 6:49 PM
He was interviewed on RTE's medium wave coverage on Friday as well, talking about how eircom League players should do their best so they "might get a chance in England".

24/03/2007, 7:10 PM
Roy Keane admits the friendlies are only to get more Sunderland fans in Ireland (http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/~peoplesr/forums/showpost.php?p=1459047&postcount=3).

See, lads, this is the reason there's an anti-cork conspiracy! :D

sonofstan
24/03/2007, 8:01 PM
Keith Fahey and Joey Ndo have not returned with the rest of the squad and were last seen disguised as women fleeing Sunderland with an all-girl band.
:) A reference to the movie known in Cork as 'Some Like it Hot, Like'?

24/03/2007, 8:49 PM
See, lads, this is the reason there's an anti-cork conspiracy! :D

Its clearly an us and them situation, us being the eircom League and them being everyone else, in this case Sunderland, their 'friendlies' and Keano. The pecking order goes like this -> Cork City FC, eircom League, decent football, Irish international team, the rest. Look after the top ones first.