View Full Version : So how did we all get on on our travels?

Saint Tom
09/02/2007, 8:51 PM
Hi Guys,

wondering how everyone got on. Had a cracking time despitwe the performance on the pitch. got me mug in the papers with the delany out flag which is great. Bologna as a town was not great but we had great craic with the crew that was there and special mention to supasparx for doing very well with the bus. Was a mini foot.ie meet in the Cluaricane, everyone there seemed to be a member of the forum.

As for the football, things can only get better after the last two trips. Win, lose or draw we always seem to have a scream.

Babysis
09/02/2007, 8:58 PM
Great trip, had a fanstaic time. The bus went really well, and it turns out we have 77 secrect Joe dolan fans! Had 2 great nights in The Bounty in Rimini and met loads of people from the forum.

Was in 2 papers and on the news, which was funny and embarrassing.

Got massively delayed and had to fly from Milan to Dublin instead of Forli to Stansted. Got home today rather than yesterday morning, but what can you do. Less said about the game the better. Saw the pics of the flag in a good few papers - Nice one.

09/02/2007, 9:06 PM
Great trip, had a fanstaic time. The bus went really well, and it turns out we have 77 secrect Joe dolan fans! Had 2 great nights in The Bounty in Rimini and met loads of people from the forum.

Got massively delayed and had to fly from Milan to Dublin instead of Forli to Stansted. Got home today rather than yesterday morning, but what can you do. Less said about the game the better. Saw the pics of the flag in a good few papers - Nice one.

All of the above for me too :o
Great time, just slowly recovering now, but disappointing game.
The buses were great craic.
Nice to briefly see Milano on our travels.. :D

Beavis
09/02/2007, 10:38 PM
Great craic trip despite the performance. The bit of Bologna I saw I thought was lovely.Rimini was fine but less impressive and the people were friendly everywhere.

The car park was a total laugh before hand (but someone owes us 35 quid for that ball;)). I was dissapointed with the boo-ing and I heard there was some shameful abuse hurled at the team on the far side stand. Our relative footballing success over the past 2 decades (and I also think our new found economic wealth) has given us something akin to British footballing culture, where post game finger pointing is the priority.Love them when we're up, hate them when were down. Its easy to be a fan when times are good.

The Bounty was some craic after the game, some great songs been blasted out, but totally dead when we arrived down last night.

Chant of the weekend :
When Hunt was brought on to the tune of 'he's got a pinneaple on his head'/'we've got the best team in the land'

He's got Cechs he-ad on his knee

Moscow Mule
09/02/2007, 11:07 PM
Great time in Bologna and the trip to/from the match due to the great crowd. The Tuesday night in the Cluaricane was a scream and it was great to meet up with fellow foot.ie .The place was jumping by the early hours and the locals played their full part - fair play to them. Full marks to Supasparx for organising the bus.

Now finalising the Bratislava and Prague trip in September.

citizenerased
10/02/2007, 12:30 AM
In milan monday night, total dump, very quiet aswell, the two nights in rimini in the bounty was top notch, great banter, talked to a few heads off the forum also. back is still in bits (as i fell/pushed off a table in the bounty).

AidoM
10/02/2007, 7:58 AM

All of the above for me too :o
Great time, just slowly recovering now, but disappointing game.
The buses were great craic.
Nice to briefly see Milano on our travels..

In milan monday night, total dump, very quiet aswell, the two nights in rimini in the bounty was top notch, great banter, talked to a few heads off the forum also. back is still in bits (as i fell/pushed off a table in the bounty).

I'm with the girls on that as well.

I think we outed a good few foot.ie members in the Bounty and on the GT BUS and Supasparx Bologna bus. I was really proud of the flag and how it was received and the publicity it got.

Citizen if you fell off the table serves you right - you shouldn't have been up there in the first place :p (Bouncers were threatening to close it early on Tuesday when table dancing :eek: started first)

Bondvillain
10/02/2007, 10:02 AM
Francesca from the Bounty taught us how to swear in Italian last night.

It has been both entertaining AND educational.

"Get the panadol out for the lads"

supasparx
10/02/2007, 10:05 AM
Good trip, was great to meet so many of yis in one hit. Thanks to everyone who made the coach ride fun (even the closet drinkers) you know who you are.:cool:
Thought Bologna was a nice town although not alot to it. All the Italians I met were friendly folk. Delighted to swap scarves with a Bologna fan.
Onwards to a meet in Bratislava/Prague, unless I see anyone in Dublin next month.

Hibs4Ever
10/02/2007, 10:44 AM
Rimini was brilliant.

Bologna and Milan were brutal

Oh, and cr*p match too

soylent green
11/02/2007, 6:12 PM
The plan was to view Inter v Roma in Milan on Sunday and down to see Ireland get a comprehensive win against San Marino. So it didn't really work out as expected but we had a great trip all the same.

Da Vinci's last supper in Milan, Venice for 24 hours, the delights (!) of Rimini, San Marino old town, the game(!) before back to Milan and a stadium tour around the San Siro.

Superb trip.

horney
11/02/2007, 7:37 PM
ye great few days cant remember the match thank god good crack over all aidom your always with the girls

sylvo
11/02/2007, 8:56 PM
Had to spend an extra night night in Bologna due to flight being cancelled, nearly kissed the ground when got back to Dublin, great trip am still fceked.

Regards to all those I met and drank with which was many.

Bondvillain
11/02/2007, 10:15 PM
We have just been flown home from Forli by Murdock out of the A-team.

I swear to god we were upside down at one stage. Coming over the bay, odds were good on us being Dublin airports first ever 'wing first' landing. :eek:

(At this stage, I would like to point out that there is no shame in crying like a little girl.)

I am going to lie down now, and when I wake up, there will have been no match on Wednesday (ergo, no pythonesque equalizer) no 3 litre steins of Forst, no terror at 30,000 ft, and John Delaney will never be heard saying more to the Irish people than "Good Evening Ronan", in his capacity as the Lotto's new independent observer.

12/02/2007, 12:44 PM
Yeah had a great trip myself, despite the match. All the crowd in Bologna that I met were good laugh and good to put a few faces to foot.ie names etc. Also I am glad I did not lose my passport or sleep in the wrong hotel room.

12/02/2007, 2:21 PM
Great trip, the crack in the Bounty almost made up for the match, got some classic videos on my camera too, see YouTube later on. :D Loved San Marino too.

Sligo Hornet
12/02/2007, 2:26 PM
Yeah had a great trip myself, despite the match. All the crowd in Bologna that I met were good laugh and good to put a few faces to foot.ie names etc. Also I am glad I did not lose my passport or sleep in the wrong hotel room.

Agreed.....excellent trip! Tuesday night in the Cluricaune will live in the memory ( trouble is I can't remember much!:D )

Great to meet so many of the "Real Team " ( not that useless lot on the pitch ), and even found two "seemingly suitable" candidates for the title of Son-in-Law!!...........obviously not Jans Leman (also now known as "My Jacket" )

Nearly had a disaster on the way home......got to Bologna Airport only to discover I had left my bag ( containing money, credit cards & passports ) back at the hotel!:eek: ......Made it back in time though.

A very special thank you to our Bus Conductor....Supasparx!

RogerMilla
12/02/2007, 2:30 PM
was a brilliant trip right up until kick off , tuesday night in the bounty was a great night. wed night was good too but was shattered.

12/02/2007, 2:34 PM
I seem to be an exception. I stayed in San Marino itself (flew in to Rimini). Most spectacular views from the top of the mountain of the land below and could see out to the Adriatic. Absolutely breath taking. Not many other Irish fans there I think (a couple of busloads) and the place was quiet but enjoyable nonetheless. We had 3 Elvis Presleys on our bus with lime green outfits. Only the one idiot shouting at regular intervals to the Italian female courier to "get them off" :mad:

We met some day trippers to San Marino from Rimini who told us the craic was great there. For a €50.00 taxi trip each way we decided to stay where we were.

Unique and enjoyable.

Paulie
12/02/2007, 2:47 PM
I was talking to a couple of lads over there who found out the hard way that there's another San Marino that's in the alps. How I laughed.

12/02/2007, 3:30 PM
Horrible trip to be honest.

I didn't like the atmosphere in the the Irish end with some people booing the team and giving 2 fingers to them. Too much tension then with other fans telling them to support the team and the fight between 2 guys over this.

Shocking performance - probably the 2nd worst ever.

Good enough night in Rimini on the Tuesday but very quiet for an away trip. Very few fans around until the evening of the game.

Flew into Rome which was a mistake - 5 hour drive up on the Tuesday. Took almost as long to get back after the game. Huge number of trucks on the road. I remmebered the Italian motorways as being great from Italia 90 but they haven't changed since.

On the positives

San Marino was lovely. People very friendly. Their football team is awful but were worth at least a draw.

12/02/2007, 3:34 PM

I didn't like the atmosphere in the the Irish end with some people booing the team and giving 2 fingers to them. Too much tension then with other fans telling them to support the team and the fight between 2 guys over this.

Was this the side where the dugouts where or the other side of the pitch. I was on the opposite side of the dugouts.

SuperDave
12/02/2007, 3:45 PM
My first away trip. Some pretty crappy and unexpected surprises, but hugely enjoyable nonetheless.

Wouldn't rent a car again but would use trains (having had to catch one after we left the hire car back to ancona airport only to find out our flight was cancelled). Just Irish experience of train transit had put me off, but the italian ones were superb. Only flew in on wednesday morning having left the house at 4am. Wouldn't do that again either but would fly the day before. Rimini was a lot of craic.

Just a pity our flight to stansted was cancelled and we had to travel 400km from ancona to treviso (on a fast and fairly cheap train) to fly home (that, and pay €95 :eek: in the off season for a twin room. Next time I'll get travel insurance). Would definitely agree about the absolutely huge number of trucks on the autostrada as well as the crazy drivers (example: on narrow two way street with traffic coming the other way, impatient driver behind overtakes when he can obviously see nothing. another: when turning left at a junction another impatient driver completely outflanks us and turns left across in front of our car).

I'd also agree about the booing, which I felt was out of place. However, the atmosphere and singing were ten times better than you get at home games.

In short: my first away trip and a very enjoyable trip at that, despite everything that went wrong.

Sligo Hornet
12/02/2007, 3:47 PM
Was this the side where the dugouts where or the other side of the pitch. I was on the opposite side of the dugouts.

Who is this "Doug " fella....why do we want him out?.....is he Stan's "fall-guy"?:D

Mento
12/02/2007, 3:53 PM
I was right behind where the 2 eejits had a row, it was opposite the dugouts where the majority of Irish were.
One fella threw something onto the pitch after SM goal and the other lad runs 20 yards to throw a punch. A lot of hand bags after this.
Don't know which punch was worse, that one or R Keane's fists in the air after we struggled to beat the mighty San Marino.

On a brighter note, arrived in the Bounty with my mate on the Monday evening to be told by Julianno that we didn't have to pay for a thing while we were there! These reccie missions will defo be happening again.
So free food and booze till we left for Rome on the Thursday.
Great craic in the bounty and met some legends as well, some of who, literally, didn't leave their seats in the bounty from the Monday till Thursday!

12/02/2007, 6:05 PM
I was opposite the dugouts in the main body of the Irish fans. We sat in the back row almost on the halfway line.

I didn't see the row starting but it was an ugly sight.

Saint Tom
12/02/2007, 7:13 PM
personally i felt that fans after going to such an extent to follow the team have the right to boo a team that couldnt care less.

thought the atmosphere was quite strange too, but it always happens when you get disjointed places to stay bologna, rimini and san marino itself

AidoM
13/02/2007, 12:44 PM
Great craic in the bounty and met some legends as well, some of who, literally, didn't leave their seats in the bounty from the Monday till Thursday!

I did get up to go to the loo once :eek: :D

Bear Eleven
13/02/2007, 1:10 PM
Bounty was great crack.I even got a job handing out a certain (Mento) publication which by the way was excellant.Free drink for every 100 handed out.The only negative thing was those Foot.ie stickers.An awful habit of falling off.Kept banging my head off the tables everytime i bent down to pick it off the ground.

13/02/2007, 1:13 PM
yeah I found the same thing with the sickers but they were a good idea and its always good to put faces to handles.

Mento
13/02/2007, 2:56 PM
Bear, ya bleedin loved hanlding them out.
And you kept banging your head cause you were fallin all over the place drunk!
Fair play to ya!

RogerMilla
13/02/2007, 3:03 PM
mento , get yer fcking shine box

Bear Eleven
13/02/2007, 3:20 PM
Bear, ya bleedin loved hanlding them out.
And you kept banging your head cause you were fallin all over the place drunk!
Fair play to ya!

Not from the drink you were buying anyway.Glad to see you got home safe.

Mento
13/02/2007, 3:20 PM
mento , get yer fcking shine box

How do you say it in Slovakian and Czech, will have to find out!

RogerMilla
13/02/2007, 3:29 PM
you need it in welsh and slovakian for the next games !!

Mento
13/02/2007, 3:39 PM
another 2 hectic nights in rome bear, still wrecked.
ill get ya a drink in croker!

Beavis
13/02/2007, 6:54 PM

Definite tension down in our end also (section E, far side of the dougout and on your left facing the pitch). It seemed to be split between the front (who were booing, giving the fingers and singing 'what the f*ckin' hell was that') and the back (who were annoyed by their conduct). At one stage a very loud 'there's a load of f*ckin w*nkers down the front' chant came from the back and it was probably the most divided I've seen the crowd since Swiss 02(with Keano chants and booing and others reacting against them).

PaulB
14/02/2007, 9:42 AM
We stayed in San Marino, parked oursleves for 2 days in Pub Gulliette, great spot. Place itself was nice, can't say I'd go back, but great scenery etc..

Match itself at the end was a bit ugly, haven't seen an atmosphere at an Ireland match like that before, but I think it was totally understandable. People paid good money, and you expect 100% from the players, manager etc, which we did not get. As I said on a previous post, fair play to Robbie Keane, he came over at the end to applaud the fans, even though he got dogs abuse. The rest of them ran like the wind, best movement from them all night!

We are going backwards at an alarming rate..

Colie
14/02/2007, 8:18 PM
Lads if yee think that booing the team won't do them any harm I don't know what kinda fan yez are. The lads are hardly out there for a laugh. The problem is at the top. I was in a rage with the pr1cks booing. I was over in section E too & I swear I never saw so many bad fans (clearly I've decided to hold back there) at a match. I even heard that Duffers told some guy to "fuch off ye fat cnut" after he was gettin abused. Damo "play for Ireland till I drop" Duff. How could anyone do that? Youes aren't no Ireland fans. I wish yez weren't going, but I know yez are, to the away double header. If the FAI has a change at the helm by then we'll be going in the right direction but regardless we're there to supprt the team through thick or thin so if yez are the boo brigade yez aren't welcome in my opinion.

On the topside the trip was great craic. San Marino town on match night was a laugh; loadsa singin songs & that till I think it was 6am the bar stayed open till. Fair play to the barman drinkin with us & lettin us put on the music & all. Another team I wouldn't mind drawing in future qualifiers though hopefully the FAI will be a different animal by then.

citizenerased
14/02/2007, 11:35 PM
It was totally understandable people booing, it was an absolute disgrace, shambles, embarassing, you cant call people bad fans because out of passion for the team and cause get very upset and emotional, granted some was over the top and out of hand, but lets get real,,,

they deserved it and the booing was a gesture towards the current mgmt setup and how disillusioned we are as fans at the situation, its not like it was constantly during the match, it was after it and at half time. The same people giving out shiit and booing were the same people singing for nearly the whole match..

The FAI are taking the foocking cuunt out of us fans, so dont dare question anyones merits as a fan for voicing our concern at it.

What ya want people to clap them off, for an honest nights work, get real..

Keane fisting the air, what a disgrace....he embodies what is fundamentally wrong with the current irish setup...the genisis report what a foockin waste of money..

PaulB
15/02/2007, 6:42 AM
WHat are we meant to do, a round of the applause at the end of the game, well done lads, pat on the back, that's back to the dark ages again. Are we there for a day out, or to see the team do well. If its the day out, by all means give them the round of applause. If not, then the players, management, and expeically mick ****en byrne need to know that this is 100% unacceptable, a lot of fans paid a lot of money to watch that ****e, and it's just not good enough.

citizenerased
15/02/2007, 12:37 PM
I agree, it seems to me that people are more concerned about this idea of being a dictionary perfect football fan with their leprachaun suits, than more pressing issues, like the debacle that is the current irish football team. WE HAVE BEEN TAKEN FOR MUGS AND WE AINT HAPPY and we want to express this unhappiness to the perpetrators.

Beavis
15/02/2007, 1:13 PM
If you think this method of 'support' is for the good of the team in the long term, just look at the English example. As is quickly becoming the norm here, English players and managers are castigated for bad performances and weight of expectation and the fear of failure are massive adverse influences on the team. England are one of the most underachieving national sides in the world.

citizenerased
15/02/2007, 1:24 PM
what the foock are we then we have plumeted from 1st seeds for qualifying for euro 2004 to 4th seeds in 4 years...what ya want us to cheer on the lads for sub-standard performances...no one boos during the game or after every game, personally the worst irish performance of all time warrant a booing, what does? ill tell ya what theyll still be cheered on against wales...well maybe booing will work, cos unconditional contentment hasnt, we shouldnt settle for anything less than 100 % from them....people, myself included sacrifice alot to follow ireland

SuperDave
15/02/2007, 1:51 PM
Yeah, booing definitely has a time and a place. The objection seems to be that it isn't really constructive. However, sometimes people need to know their performance isn't good enough. For 90 minutes in san marino I chanted, cheered and sang. I was delighted with the winner right at the end, but that still didn't stop my disappointment with the performance on the pitch and even though I didn't vocalise my objections, those who did have my full understanding. Good Gawd, we paid a bloody fortune to go to san ma-feckin-rino and we were served a pile of steemin sh*te. We have every right to object if we feel that the current setup could do better. And the "English Example" is a bit of a fallacy. The Italians are the first to boo, riot and sack their managers when things go wrong, and they didn't not win the last world cup. Surrounded by controversy and players involvement in match fixing. It just takes a good manager to make every obstacle seem like a challenge to be overcome; a barrier on the way that makes you stronger.

PaulB
15/02/2007, 4:06 PM
If you think this method of 'support' is for the good of the team in the long term, just look at the English example. As is quickly becoming the norm here, English players and managers are castigated for bad performances and weight of expectation and the fear of failure are massive adverse influences on the team. England are one of the most underachieving national sides in the world.

Weight of expectation ? No, we're not world beaters, but I do expect us to go out against San Marino with a game plan, looking like we practised some movement/drills on the training ground. The result was not the problem, if we'd have drawn 0-0 and hit the bar 10 times, and created a glut of chances, then I'd say fair is fair , wasn't our day (ala Liechtenstein). The problem was we didn't create chances, players didn't look like they knew what the game plan was, and some of them just didn't look like they were arsed. I booed at the end of the game, not proud of it, but the players/mangement need to know that it is not acceptable..

Rant over!

Saint Tom
15/02/2007, 6:15 PM
agree with you 100% Paul B. We travel long distances to follow our team and we do so with distinction. To say that people who do this are not fans simply because they boo and disapprove of how the team performed is rubbish. We are football fans not cheerleaders.

Weight of expectation ? No, we're not world beaters, but I do expect us to go out against San Marino with a game plan, looking like we practised some movement/drills on the training ground. The result was not the problem, if we'd have drawn 0-0 and hit the bar 10 times, and created a glut of chances, then I'd say fair is fair , wasn't our day (ala Liechtenstein). The problem was we didn't create chances, players didn't look like they knew what the game plan was, and some of them just didn't look like they were arsed. I booed at the end of the game, not proud of it, but the players/mangement need to know that it is not acceptable..

Rant over!

hamburg paul
15/02/2007, 7:36 PM
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=440516&postcount=13

15/02/2007, 8:02 PM
well after having me flite cancelled (bak 2 stansted)had 2 make for Pisa (leaning tower and all)!only sum fker decides 2 throw himself in front of xpress 2 Florence (hoped it mite be dlaney)!had 3 hr wait in Bologna...finally got 2 Pisa (yes i did c lto pisa)den i flew bak 2 Hamburg (Lübeck) wit Ryanscare!if u asked me wud i do it again YESSS! Please can muppets wit stupid slogans or cartoons on der flags lose said!Regards from Hamburg St.Pauli
Either your German to English is really bad or you have feckin' glue on your fingers.:rolleyes:

Mento
15/02/2007, 8:43 PM
Lads, these players are on seriously good money, they deserve to be booed for that ****e in San Marino.
It's all very well for all of them bar 8 to travel home on private jets back to their glamerous homes.
What about the fans that are broke now after spending all that money, fooking sure they deserved to be booed.
But i will certainly be cheering them on v Wales

Another issue, the likes of keane and duff or who ever said they would retire if stan is forced out!!
Spolied *****s.
Has international football come to this? Is this what it means to play for your country; ill go if he goes - pathetic