View Full Version : Limerick37 manager
Old keeper
28/01/2007, 7:18 PM
lads said this weeks ago an fai man told me there will be no limerick team in it this year plus theres a meeting with junior clubs wendsday night to see will they be left use jackman park lets hope he was wrong
Hi
There is a meeting on TUESDAY night to put the full proposals to all junior clubs. also any FAI man who told you there would be no team from Limerick this year is a very poor representation of an FAI man. If you PM his name we could discuss the logic behind his statement, but he most likely just wants to be hidden and spread rumours..
28/01/2007, 8:50 PM
lads said this weeks ago an fai man told me there will be no limerick team in it this year plus theres a meeting with junior clubs wendsday night to see will they be left use jackman park lets hope he was wrong
ah shur if the clubs vote no then Jackman stays as it is for the next 100 years. Id say the clubs will go for this cos they want their players to have the best facilites on offer and not whats there at the moment. But please we got to out these communists :rolleyes: pm old keeper his name and we'll have him burnt at the stake. Ye see hes a lefty and is outside the loop of our far right thinking supporters base, wait till LTID gets started on this :)
fc hammer
28/01/2007, 10:10 PM
Well said gael.
30/01/2007, 11:14 AM
Ye see hes a lefty and is outside the loop of our far right thinking supporters base, wait till LTID gets started on this :)
This Nazi-fication of my good name must stop. Anyone who knows me will tell you I'm a quiet, non-confrontational soul, toerant of all God's people regardless of colour or creed.
Besides, I'd much rather be a Nazi than......
an fai man :)
Only 1 - Seriously I suggest keeping the "scoops" to yourself, you just usually end up looking faintly ridiculous and being the kind-hearted non-facist that I am I don't like to see people looking ridiculous. Even when by some amazing coincidence you do manage to get something right (ie Robbie to Shamrock Rovers) It's nothing the dogs in the street haven't know for at least 16 years prior to you posting it on here.
No Limerick club? The FAI have bent over backwards on this one mate incase you didn't notice. Now maybe it was part of the recomendations of Genesis for them to involve the organisation in Eastern medical practises like bending over backwards, you know healthy body, healthy mind and all that. But I'd say it's far more likely that the FAI wants a team in Limerick and that if it ends up that there is no team it'll be far more likely as a result of the nonsense in the High Court today rather than "something some guy told you sometime"
Paddyfield
31/01/2007, 9:39 PM
Paul McGee is Galway United's all time leading goalscorer and also Galway United's all time worst manager. He was boss when we had our two heaviest defeats (9 - 1 in Brandywell AND 6 - 0 at home), He didn't last pi$$ing time.
I was interested to read the name of Ray O'Halloran. He was a fine player in his day. Has he any managerial experience?
31/01/2007, 10:06 PM
I was interested to read the name of Ray O'Halloran. He was a fine player in his day. Has he any managerial experience?Only at junior level. No qualifications. Not the most popular guy off the pitch amongst his team mates etc in the past. Your're right about him being a fine player though...a real class act. Would have cut it across the water skill wise, but too small for a centre half.
greenandwhite
31/01/2007, 11:44 PM
Paul McGee is Galway United's all time leading goalscorer and also Galway United's all time worst manager. He was boss when we had our two heaviest defeats (9 - 1 in Brandywell AND 6 - 0 at home), He didn't last pi$$ing time.
I was interested to read the name of Ray O'Halloran. He was a fine player in his day. Has he any managerial experience?
He may or may not be our new manager but whats your problem? dont see any limerick fans posting crap about your CEO and his criminal record why not let the group down here do their best and let whoever gets the job get on with it. I am sick and tired of gob****es knocking every thing so P**s off and if you have nothing positive to say then say nothing
Ray O Halloran has not got yhe qualifications needed nor do a lot of other people unless we want NOC back!!!!!
lim abroad
01/02/2007, 5:02 AM
didn't think he was knocking anyone myself bar mcgee's managerial record
01/02/2007, 7:53 AM
You didn't see us whinging when you hired a criminal to promote your "club", both in the on and off the field sense as it turned out
What your basically saying is Paul McGee has way more experience of this managerial lark then Tony Cousins did when he got your managers job??? He did alright too, almost got you promoted in the end :ball:
LFC in Exile
01/02/2007, 7:58 AM
Did someone forget to take their tablets? I think he was just critcising McGee's managerial record. Fair enough it seemed too.
Personally I wouldn't mind Ray O'Halloran getting a go. We've seen that coaching badges do not a manager make. More and more now coaches are appointed for training sessions while managers manage - such a structure would not be a problem IMO. I agree with all the sentiments about him as a player - except that he is too small as a centre half. He played sweeper for Limerick becaus ehe was such a good footballer - he could have played IMO as full-back very comfortably at a higher level. But we'll never know now.
I don't know enough about the junior scene in Limerick to comment on potential managers and have a first choice - but if I heard it was Razor I would not be too disappointed. In any event whoever does get will need support right from the off and he can count on mine.
01/02/2007, 8:10 AM
Did someone forget to take their tablets? I think he was just critcising McGee's managerial record. Fair enough it seemed too.
Well I obviously did
Did you not see the way I stood up to the "BIG TWO"??
Physco, I am :p
01/02/2007, 9:20 AM
We've seen that coaching badges do not a manager make. Agreed, but unfortunately coaching badges are a requirement of the job as per licence agreement....:(
LFC in Exile
01/02/2007, 9:38 AM
Agreed, but unfortunately coaching badges are a requirement of the job as per licence agreement....:(
I understood that you needed a coach with coaching badges - but does that mean you need a manager with coaching badges too.
Old keeper
01/02/2007, 11:42 AM
I understood that you needed a coach with coaching badges - but does that mean you need a manager with coaching badges too.
Yes the requirements are that managers need to have the qualifications
01/02/2007, 12:39 PM
One story on Ski - John Herrick took over as manager in Galway circa late 80's. Ski was still playing. First teamtalk was Herrick's (for those of you that remember him from the 70's as a player) usual kick everything up in the air and if you can't get the man get the ball.
He turns to ski "I want you tracking back, if the centre half moves forward you tackle him" "Boss I haven't gone into a tackle since 1972 and I'm not starting now".
MyTown
01/02/2007, 1:14 PM
Thanks to GSpain for adding a much needed touch of humour to the proceedings. Anyone who knew Ski as a player will know that he was being being very honest with his new boss. Anyone who knows him as a manager will know the posts from Galway were also pretty accurate.
But hey best of luck to Limerick. I'd be delighted to see a Treaty side in the Prem & pushing for honours it would be a shorter trip to away games (new Ennis bypass n all) and would inject a bit of mid 80s rivalry back into the proceedings.
The contributions of Green&White and LTID are just uncalled for. References to our General manager, who just happens to be quite ill at the moment, and our manager are in bad taste.
Somehow I feel a lot safer in the company of someone who did his time for a crime committed outside this jurisdiction than in the company of some of those roaming freely around your beloved City.
No offence intended. Good Luck to Limerick on the soccer front.
The contributions of Green&White and LTID are just uncalled for. References to our General manager, who just happens to be quite ill at the moment, and our manager are in bad taste.
Somehow I feel a lot safer in the company of someone who did his time for a crime committed outside this jurisdiction than in the company of some of those roaming freely around your beloved City.
No offence intended. Good Luck to Limerick on the soccer front.
Love how you claim offence at Green&White and LTID's comments and then throw a sly, uncalled for dig at Limerick City :rolleyes:
But hey best of luck to Limerick. I'd be delighted to see a Treaty side in the Prem & pushing for honours it would be a shorter trip to away games (new Ennis bypass n all) and would inject a bit of mid 80s rivalry back into the proceedings.
Oh and if you line both our club's history up against each other you'll see that we're rivals with your no mark club in geography alone :)
Paddyfield
01/02/2007, 7:56 PM
He may or may not be our new manager but whats your problem? dont see any limerick fans posting crap about your CEO and his criminal record why not let the group down here do their best and let whoever gets the job get on with it. I am sick and tired of gob****es knocking every thing so P**s off and if you have nothing positive to say then say nothing
Ray O Halloran has not got yhe qualifications needed nor do a lot of other people unless we want NOC back!!!!!
Are you replying to my post are are you talking to yourself? You don't seem to have anything positive to say so why don't you practice what you preach. I realise that one or two Galway United fans have posted vulgar comments on the Limerick forum but don't paint us all with the same brush.
Paddyfield
01/02/2007, 8:08 PM
You didn't see us whinging when you hired a criminal to promote your "club", both in the on and off the field sense as it turned out
What your basically saying is Paul McGee has way more experience of this managerial lark then Tony Cousins did when he got your managers job??? He did alright too, almost got you promoted in the end :ball:
Which criminal are you referring to? If it's Leeson, then I agree, I didn't see you whinging at his appointment. but you are whinging now! You're a little late. He's been there two years.
I don't know how you came to the conclusion that I am saying "...Paul McGee has more experience of this managerial lark than Tony Cousins did when he got the managers job...", But now that you have mentioned it, Cousins came to Galway United after being assistant to Doolin at Drogheda and U21 manager at Shamrock Rovers. McGee had no experience. In the meantime, he has publically declared an interest in managerial jobs at Sligo, Harps, Waterford, Athlone and even Galway United again but he failed. Sure maybe Limerick 37 will give him a job even though he hasn't managed a team over the age of 12 since 1989.
01/02/2007, 10:11 PM
I met Paul MaGee tonight and i would like to welcome him to the Limerick Soccer fold. Designs of kits and new crest look class and well done to all involved. Back room teams and other stuff will all be put together in the comming weeks. Pre season training to start or re start this week.
4tothefloor
01/02/2007, 11:37 PM
Paul McGee can't be any worse than Noel O'Connor, so I'm not complaining. Should he turn out to be worse, I will of course start to complain :D
the hoops
02/02/2007, 1:38 AM
I met Paul MaGee tonight and i would like to welcome him to the Limerick Soccer fold. Designs of kits and new crest look class and well done to all involved. Back room teams and other stuff will all be put together in the comming weeks. Pre season training to start or re start this week.
well done seems limerick soccer is on the up:D all ye need now is a pitch,decent players,and money and ye are up and ready :D
02/02/2007, 7:56 AM
With any new manager he has to be given a chance. He has played football at the highest level. It also depends on what type of squad we will have next season. I imagine it will be a building phase. Frankly I'm relieved we still have a team in the league.
magpies
02/02/2007, 8:07 AM
When will work take place on Jackman Park, I think it has great potential, any more news of player transfers? I know there is more important issues to address but I take a new website will? be formed
02/02/2007, 8:53 AM
well done seems limerick soccer is on the up:D all ye need now is a pitch,decent players,and money and ye are up and ready :D
Well we have the pitch and players and more to come. i cant comment on money as its not my area to do so
02/02/2007, 11:01 AM
well done seems limerick soccer is on the up:D all ye need now is a pitch
The mind boggles at what goes through the average Rovers fan mind at any given time, it really does :rolleyes:
LFC in Exile
02/02/2007, 11:49 AM
Jaysus lads, I'm starting to get optimistic and excited about next season. That is not a good sign! :)
monkey magic
02/02/2007, 11:53 AM
[QUOTE=gael353;615458] Designs of kits and new crest look class and well done to all involved. QUOTE]
any pics? best of luck to all involved, heres hoping it gets off the ground and running..
Needtoknow
02/02/2007, 12:48 PM
Sounds great. :ball:
the hoops
02/02/2007, 6:18 PM
Well we have the pitch and players and more to come. i cant comment on money as its not my area to do so
borrowed pitch plus players the two decent players ye had are gone ye have no decent ones left
Old keeper
02/02/2007, 7:12 PM
borrowed pitch plus players the two decent players ye had are gone ye have no decent ones left
We are not playing on a borrowed pitch! Anyone who has signed a Junior form at any stage has the right to feel at home in Jackman park and indeed most of the senior players would have played Junior. The new refreshing approach to soccer by all of the grades is aimed at eliminating the type of comments that you are making on a regular basis. Jackman park is set to become the spiritual home of ALL soccer in Limerick and will in the years to come be the place where every schoolboy and girl will want to play. The squad that is being assembled for Limerick 37 contains some of the best players in Limerick and in my own opinion in first division. One must remember the number of players who never reached their full potential over their careers due to poor coaching and a mercenary approach to soccer, Limerick 37 intends to halt that approach and develop each player to his full potential.
I am sorry you feel as you do and if you are from Limerick I am even more sorry as this is YOUR club along with every other soccer fan in the city and county, I hope you can find a way to feel included in the genuine efforts of all those who are trying to build a better future for all soccer in Limerick.
Thanks
the only 1
02/02/2007, 7:30 PM
We are not playing on a borrowed pitch! Anyone who has signed a Junior form at any stage has the right to feel at home in Jackman park and indeed most of the senior players would have played Junior. The new refreshing approach to soccer by all of the grades is aimed at eliminating the type of comments that you are making on a regular basis. Jackman park is set to become the spiritual home of ALL soccer in Limerick and will in the years to come be the place where every schoolboy and girl will want to play. The squad that is being assembled for Limerick 37 contains some of the best players in Limerick and in my own opinion in first division. One must remember the number of players who never reached their full potential over their careers due to poor coaching and a mercenary approach to soccer, Limerick 37 intends to halt that approach and develop each player to his full potential.
I am sorry you feel as you do and if you are from Limerick I am even more sorry as this is YOUR club along with every other soccer fan in the city and county, I hope you can find a way to feel included in the genuine efforts of all those who are trying to build a better future for all soccer in Limerick.
Thanks
in all fairness there are players with boro,pike+fairview that have been asked to leave their clubs already are you being genuine?
02/02/2007, 8:44 PM
[QUOTE=gael353;615458] Designs of kits and new crest look class and well done to all involved. QUOTE]
any pics? best of luck to all involved, heres hoping it gets off the ground and running..
Basic ground works will begin soon so its a tidy up job of the ground that will be done before seasons start. Jerseys will be (designs of) in the comming weeks as will the crest.
geezer
02/02/2007, 9:02 PM
i wish ski mcgee the best of luck. 30 years watching LOI and he was miles and away the best player i have seen. He may have matured now off the field as well. best of luck
02/02/2007, 9:11 PM
in all fairness there are players with boro,pike+fairview that have been asked to leave their clubs already are you being genuine?
Well if what you say is true then ok i see nothing wrong with it as they have been asked and i know you say to "leave" a club but its to "join" another. But the main thing here is they have been asked which means they have a choice, to stay with their clubs or to join a new one. simple as :ball:
and HOOPS will ye give it a rest. If Limerick 37 were not to go into Jackman park it would remain as it is now, undeveloped and an eyesore. Go up and take a photo of it now, and see the small changes in 5 weeks time and tell me then that Limerick Senior soccer isnt good for Jackman. And in 5 years time....
Old keeper
02/02/2007, 10:24 PM
Very Genuine
I dont know thw players you speak of but when you look at a player you have to see what the player can be not what he is. If the player cant reach his full potential that is the problem not the player.
I dont intend to get into any games about what player may or may not be better.
see's it
03/02/2007, 11:26 AM
any idea when and where training starts?
the only 1
04/02/2007, 5:05 PM
who says limerick will get in wexford have a great chance they have better finances
Old keeper
04/02/2007, 5:16 PM
who says limerick will get in wexford have a great chance they have better finances
The Limerick 37 FC finances are sound and realistic. Finance is one aspect of the license application and we have no problem with the finance aspect. I would also ask do you know how many teams are required to make up the first division? If so your comments are strange
Fairkop
04/02/2007, 5:52 PM
The Limerick 37 FC finances are sound and realistic. Finance is one aspect of the license application and we have no problem with the finance aspect. I would also ask do you know how many teams are required to make up the first division? If so your comments are strange
your are doing a brilliant job oldkeeper..but the real question is will we have heated dugouts in the jacks like our sunny southeast comrades.
04/02/2007, 6:23 PM
How do you make that out? they have a rich guy in charge. last year Limerick FC had a rich guy in charge and you didnt like that then either. Keep sniping though
the only 1
04/02/2007, 9:53 PM
How do you make that out? they have a rich guy in charge. last year Limerick FC had a rich guy in charge and you didnt like that then either. Keep sniping though
ya and i was proved right about the rich guy:D
04/02/2007, 10:16 PM
The legend that is Ski McGee:D. Hope he does well.
04/02/2007, 10:23 PM
you and you alone of course :confused: but seriously mate try and say something positive about Limerick soccer for once. This seems to be a totaly new grouping who run Limerick 37 and none of the people who ran limerick Fc are involved at any major level, myself included. So you, me everybody lets give them a chance and some help when they need it.
Fairkop
04/02/2007, 10:53 PM
you and you alone of course :confused: but seriously mate try and say something positive about Limerick soccer for once. This seems to be a totaly new grouping who run Limerick 37 and none of the people who ran limerick Fc are involved at any major level, myself included. So you, me everybody lets give them a chance and some help when they need it.
i am going to file this quote....because those who cannot remember the past are bound to repeat it.
04/02/2007, 11:22 PM
I seriously doubt that wexford will take both places no matter how much money the guy has !!!!!!:)
fc hammer
04/02/2007, 11:50 PM
You're wasting your time on here .. you'd do well as a clown.. i think Duffy's are hiring !:p
gaidin
05/02/2007, 8:50 AM
What is wrong with that? If these players are good enough for LOI and they want to give it a go, what is the problem in asking them to join Limerick?
05/02/2007, 1:57 PM
I feel really bad now................
Anyways, Ski certainly talked the talk but mention of ex Galway players is pretty frightening ;)
Also he has worked mainly with youth teams before so dare I hope for a better brand of football :eek: :ball: