View Full Version : Euro 2008 - Is there any hope?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

Ordinary Fan
27/08/2007, 3:19 PM
It is funny half-way thrrough the qualifiers how perspective of a group can change. At the start of this campaign we were in a really hard group andit was going to be a dog-fight for 3rd place between ourselves, Wales and Slovakia.
Now it has turned out to be not so difficult and we should have no problem winning 3 away matches in a row:confused:

All players fit, Stans team will be:

Name Age
Given 31
O'Shea 25
McShane 21
Dunne 28
Finnan 30
Ireland/McGeady 20/21
Carsley 32
Kilbane 30
Reid 25
Keane 28
Doyle 21

(I have tried to understate ages where I have some doubt)

Will you all stop talking about a young team, it is an experienced team with a couple of young players. More than half of these players will not play in another set of European qualifiers!

Most of this team flopped in Switzerland, Isreal, Germany, yprus and San Marino.
But they will win in Slovakia and then beat the Czechs?

If we get three points we eill do well but I suspect that it will be a draw against Slovakia and well beaten by the Czechs.

Come on Ireland!

citizenerased
27/08/2007, 6:43 PM
fuuucck the other games, we shouldnt be afraid of anyone...BELIEVE

27/08/2007, 8:06 PM
Anyone remember the last time we won a friendly in emphatic manner away from home? 3-0 away to Finland. Barrett & Healy both scored. Just months after WC02 I thought we we going to achieve great things. Look what happened next, both to the team and to those two. Jim Goodwin played a bit that day.

(I still think the next few years could have been very different if Duff hadn't got injured early in Moscow or if Harte (?) hadn't hit the bar early in that game!)

We shouldn't be getting carried away but at the same time these are only football games coming up. It's not a full on battle where the best equipped army always wins. I've seen thousands of football games and have seen less fancied and some downright poor teams win away from home on many occasions. The only problem is that it's never been us, but there's no reason at all why it shouldn't. Give it a go - just like Amsterdam 2000 for example - and see what happens.

Wolfie
28/08/2007, 8:11 AM
Anyone remember the last time we won a friendly in emphatic manner away from home? 3-0 away to Finland. Barrett & Healy both scored. Just months after WC02 I thought we we going to achieve great things. Look what happened next, both to the team and to those two. Jim Goodwin played a bit that day.

(I still think the next few years could have been very different if Duff hadn't got injured early in Moscow or if Harte (?) hadn't hit the bar early in that game!)

We shouldn't be getting carried away but at the same time these are only football games coming up. It's not a full on battle where the best equipped army always wins. I've seen thousands of football games and have seen less fancied and some downright poor teams win away from home on many occasions. The only problem is that it's never been us, but there's no reason at all why it shouldn't. Give it a go - just like Amsterdam 2000 for example - and see what happens.

It can't be overtstated enough that we'll need to contain the Slovaks / Czechs early on and don't be unlucky enough to concede an early goal. Going a goal down would make it a particularly difficult task to claw two back.

We'll also need to be clinical enough to take the chances that hopefully come our way during the game - I'd hate for us to be having a dreaded "if only.............." debate after the game.

Come on Ireland - its now or never in this group.

28/08/2007, 9:39 AM
Going a goal down would make it a particularly difficult task to claw two back.
Off topic, when was the last time we won a competitive game after going behind?
I can't recall it happening under Kerr, although we came from behind to draw against Australia and Turkey in friendlies, under Stan we've only come back to draw against Ecuador, every other game we've gone behind in (Chile, Holland, Germany, Cyprus) we've gone on to lose.
I can't remember it happening under Mick, and the last game I remember coming from behind to win under Jack was away to Albania in the World Cup 1994 qualifiers!

28/08/2007, 9:47 AM
Andorra 3-1?

28/08/2007, 9:49 AM
We'll also need to be clinical enough to take the chances that hopefully come our way during the game - I'd hate for us to be having a dreaded "if only.............." debate after the game.

Come on Ireland - its now or never in this group.

We have them anyhow, every bloody qualifying group we end up saying if only, but usualy in relation to a stupid result rather than chances in a game. But its always hte same and its fierce annoying and depressing.

Ya - it is now or never!!!

28/08/2007, 10:02 AM
If we’re composed enough I see no reason why going a goal down should be a problem. I’ve often said that I admire the likes of Sweden & Denmark who regularly, but don’t always, qualify for tournaments and largely on the back of just going away and competing in a simple game of football. None of this cagey “draw away” nonsense.

I remember in Euro 2004 when England needed to beat (or draw with?) Croatia to go through. I wanted Croatia to go through and I recall thinking when they scored early it was probably the worst thing for them. Why? Because England can’t play careful, cagey football but if they’re forced to give it a go they usually have goals in them and are more dangerous.

If we go a goal behind and we keep our nerve, we’ve still every chance of getting a win.

livehead1
28/08/2007, 10:03 AM
If we go a goal behind and we keep our nerve, we’ve still every chance of getting a win. I really liked when we scored in Denmark we kept having a go and got another.

I have a very suspicious feeling that will not happen in a competitive game

28/08/2007, 10:06 AM
As you were typing that I deleted that part from my post!

livehead1
28/08/2007, 10:08 AM
Well you know what they say about great minds.

28/08/2007, 10:17 AM
ya fools seldom differ.

28/08/2007, 2:32 PM
can you convert from Betamax to DVD. I would love a copy of that. I remember watching it also. We played Israel the night before and won 5 nil I think. David Kelly hatrick. Who was on the panel then. Was Giles, I kinda remember a crap studio like it was a hall in RTE with facke bushes in the background.

I'll see what I can do. I have a load of old games and family videos on betamax and have been thinking about getting them transferred.

I can't remember who was on the panel but I do remember a bottle of champage being popped was it by Laughing Bill?

theworm2345
28/08/2007, 3:16 PM
I'll see what I can do. I have a load of old games and family videos on betamax and have been thinking about getting them transferred.

That would be awesome

Wolfie
28/08/2007, 3:22 PM
Watch out for one of the Scottish players being pole axed out on the wing on the lead up to that goal.

Watch for another Scottish player sticking up the two fingers at the Bulgarians while celebrating the goal as well!!! :D

28/08/2007, 3:54 PM
Watch out for one of the Scottish players being pole axed out on the wing on the lead up to that goal.

God, yes, it was unbelievable how the ref even played advantage. It's about 18 years since I've seen the goal.

ParkLife
28/08/2007, 3:57 PM
Hi,
just looking at the fixture v Germany in October on the FAI website.It has the game down for Saturday with kick off at 7.45PM, I thought it was a 3PM kick off?

Ordinary Fan
28/08/2007, 11:28 PM
KO changed for German TV

macdermesser
29/08/2007, 7:27 AM
My suggestion is that the team wear Gartan clay in their boots .. seemed to help in Stuttgart in 1988 :-)

http://www.museum.ie/news/details_news.asp?sPressType=1&newsid=211

29/08/2007, 7:50 AM

I can't remember who was on the panel but I do remember a bottle of champage being popped was it by Laughing Bill?

If your betamax player has the red & White (audio) and Yellow (video) out, or has any kind of adapter that'll hook to those -then all you need is a DAZZLE (video to USB) media converter. They're about 60-70 bucks in the argos catalogue. Might even be cheaper in PC world or similar.

Transfers tapes to AVI or whatever format like and you can burn them to DVD thereafter.

29/08/2007, 11:39 AM
If I remember correctly, Owls infamous Betamax player was the subject of its own thread once upon a time, it's banjaxed.

29/08/2007, 2:12 PM
Staunton: Let’s snap out of away daze

By Liam Mackey

STEVE STAUNTON believes that Ireland must overcome an historical away phobia if they are to get the results they crave in the upcoming Euro 2008 qualifiers in Bratislava and Prague.

Boosted by last week’s emphatic win in Denmark, the Irish manager now wants to see his side bring a similarly positive attitude to the crucial games against Slovakia and the Czech Republic.

Speaking at the squad announcement in Dublin yesterday, Staunton said: “Over the last 20 or even 30 years we haven’t really been adventurous or positive enough away from home to go and win games.

“In a hostile atmosphere, players do sometimes sit back without even knowing it, so I’m trying to change their mindset. Away from home you’re always a bit cautious and wary but that doesn’t mean you can’t close people down or support other players who are doing that. That’s a given in my book.”

Staunton’s thoughts have clearly been coloured by the nervy first 20 minutes in Aarhus before Ireland imposed themselves on the Danes. And he believes that the Irish simply cannot afford a similarly slow start against Slovakia and the Czech Republic.

“It was good to score some goals, good to win away from home and good to keep a clean sheet,” said Staunton. “But I am not getting carried away because I thought the first 15 or 20 minutes we were very fortunate. There was some good defending and some good goalkeeping but there was some lazy close-down play. It wasn’t what I’d expect. And I think if we had that same performance for the first 15 or 20 minutes in Bratislava or against the Czech Republic, we will get punished.”

Staunton is also conscious of a lesson from history.

“If you remember back after the World Cup (in 2002), we went to Finland and trounced them. And then we went to Russia and looked a bit of a pub team. So I don’t want that to happen. If anybody thinks they are going to Bratislava and will have it easy, they are mistaken, because the Slovaks are a very good side. We saw what they are about in Dublin, but they have also added a couple more young players who have added to their game.”

As expected, Stephen Carr is ruled out of the new squad with the hamstring injury he picked up with Newcastle on Sunday. But the silver lining to this particular cloud is that Staunton has never had more strength in depth since taking the Irish job.

“I’m hoping that there will be 14 disappointed people plus another 100 players that haven’t been included in the squad,” he said. “And that’s what’s happening. Players are desperate to be part of the squad. We have created a special atmosphere. They have all had a taste of it at some stage and they are all desperate to be a part of it. But there are only 11 who can play and that will be the 11 that I think can go out and do the best job for Ireland.”

Asked whether that first 11 could accommodate both the inventive skills of both Stephen Ireland and Andy Reid, Staunton responded with mock amazement: “What? Two players who can play and pass? That’s what I’m looking for. I’m looking for competition. When you are looking at midfield there is healthy competition there. I thought Darren Potter was excellent in Denmark. Darron Gibson came on at half-time for his first senior outing and I thought he looked so comfortable. And you’ve got the likes of Jonathan Douglas coming back, and Lee Carsley is there. So there are a lot of combinations — a lot of different types of players — and we will be looking at what’s best for Ireland and trying to win the games.”

Staunton was particularly effusive in his praise for Richard Dunne.

“Over the last 12 months he has matured and taken on responsibility,” he said. “He had waited for others whereas now he’s stepped up to the plate. Richard and John O’Shea were outstanding in Aarhus — both imposing figures, both big lads and they’re starting to use that to great effect. It was a pleasure for me to play with Richard, you always knew what he could do and what he would do. He’s getting better with his distribution as well so that’s going to be a big help. But as a defender he’s as good as anybody.”

Staunton says he has no doubt that Shay Given, on the way back from a groin injury, will be fit to play in the qualifiers — even if he fails to play in Newcastle’s next match.

“No player has to play any game,” he said. “If a player is injured we can call them in and assess their fitness under UEFA rules. So there is no problem with Shay. He was on the bench on Sunday, so I presume if (Steve) Harper had been injured during the game, Shay would have gone on.”

Staunton confirmed that Bobby Robson, who is still receiving treatment following his latest bout with cancer, won’t be travelling. He also revealed that Ireland will play another B international, this time away to Scotland, after Ireland’s final qualifier, against Wales, in November.

Finally, after what had been an emotional week for the Irish manager, Staunton still found it too difficult yesterday to take questions about the passing of his father, Tom, but he did mention the value of the support he had received from within the Irish football.

“It has helped me greatly,” he said.

29/08/2007, 2:19 PM
Am I the only one who has noticed that his verbal communication has come on leaps and bounds, he comes across as quite knowledgeable and astute and quite articulate in teh last few interviews I have read, plus his grammar has improved and old football cliches are used less and less when answering questions. This is definitely a sign of a confident manager. Good to see, lets hope it shows when its really needed.

29/08/2007, 2:28 PM
I think Stutts is referring in particular to the Finland friendly.
As if we might not have noticed that bit in Stan's interview, he had to blow his own trumpet to make sure:)

29/08/2007, 2:33 PM
Nah, not just that, but the fact that we should go out and have a go at these teams and also that the Denmark game wasn't without some obvious negatives. Also, the Reid vs Ireland debate and so on.

What bugs me is that it's always Liam Mackey who reports the more interesting quotes from what I presume is the same press conference as the Indo and the Times attend. I like the new guy at the Indo by the way but the Times reports on "the Republic" these days like it's a chore, not something that anyone would actually be interested in reading.

OK, the Finland bit was a bit self-congratulatory alright :)

29/08/2007, 3:43 PM
Am I the only one who has noticed that his verbal communication has come on leaps and bounds, he comes across as quite knowledgeable and astute and quite articulate in teh last few interviews I have read, plus his grammar has improved and old football cliches are used less and less when answering questions. This is definitely a sign of a confident manager. Good to see, lets hope it shows when its really needed.
No I've noticed to, huge difference from when he took over. I think he has improved as he has gained experience.

29/08/2007, 3:45 PM
Confident manger is when he comes out and is critical of a four nil win. He has lost the run ofr himself !!!!!!

Calcio Jack
29/08/2007, 3:49 PM

Guess you could say he's moved from being a blathering idiot to being an idiot... take more than a few days with the likes of Terry prone to improve him... he's still a useless coach/manager

carloz
01/09/2007, 9:01 AM
I feel he is finally starting to say the right things and actually conduct himself well as a manager. He spoke well about the Denmark game, at the end of the day they could have been 2-0 up after 15 mins and could have won the game 5-4. Plus we gained no points there so he was right not to go overboard. His comments about Stokes were right too, he needs to start getting in the papers for the right reasons, and prove himself as a Premiership manager. His comments about McGeady were spot on too, he said that he really needs to improve the level of consistency in his game. Im actually finiding myself having a little bit more confindence in Stan and depending on his team selection for the double header, im feeling a little sense of confidence

livehead1
01/09/2007, 11:00 AM
hmTZrLp49zg

Hilarious :D

Noelys Guitar
01/09/2007, 11:20 AM
I hope we stay injury free today. Almost full squad for the 2 games and we can have a real go.

Wolfie
15/10/2007, 1:10 PM
I wish to fomally confirm that all hope is long gone:rolleyes: :D

carloz
15/10/2007, 2:46 PM
I wish to fomally confirm that all hope is long gone
I think they were gone when our 'world class management team' decided in Nicosia that somehow Stephen Ireland and Kevin Kilbane would be able to control central midfield

15/10/2007, 2:51 PM
I wish to fomally confirm that all hope is long gone:rolleyes: :D

good man wolfie, thats about the only thing that has cheered me up today.

Torn-Ado
15/10/2007, 3:01 PM
I want to be the first to say.....

Can someone please LOCK this thread.

16/10/2007, 2:08 PM
...and somewhere in the silent distance -a dog barked.

ar-ar ...ar-ar