View Full Version : Euro 2008 - Is there any hope?
04/08/2007, 9:14 AM
Bull**** about san marino, granted they are a small nation but we deserved the three points that was their only half attack...so let it go if that had of been any other team we would have said we deserved a win..so lets cop on with that ****..we deserved the 3 points, san marino aside they had 11 men behind the ball..we are very unkucky ala belgium 98 , turkey 00...less of the self deprecation please
...Nightclub closed at last did it?;)
San Marino set their stall out for a draw and it was up to our team of well payed, notable professionals to thrash their stall as one would reasonably expect any professional side to do when confronted with a glorified inter-pub side.
We couldn't do it. We needed nearly five ludicrous minutes of time added on which the ref got from god knows where. There's nothing self deprecating about acknowledging that the team were poor, still look brittle, still lack creativity and -most importantly -that the manager cannot manage.
Torn-Ado
04/08/2007, 9:37 AM
I probably shouldn't throw out an overused cliche but I will anyways. You make your own luck and in Irelands case this is true. Or unluck even.
People say we were unlucky to concede late goals against Macedonia, Croatia, Israel etc. If we didn't sit back and defend for our lives against these teams after scoring this might not have happened. We had the talent to bang in more against Israel and Macedonia away and if Kerr had swapped Keane with a striker against Israel at home instead of a defensive midfielder, we might not have let them back in. The gods don't usually shine on ultra defensive teams.
04/08/2007, 2:20 PM
In the 2 friendlies against very weak opposition that we have seen O'Halloran play, in parts impressive in parts well below standard, it's nonsense to suggest that a manager needs balls/courage in order to pick him over O'Shea /Finnan/Carr, who are way ahead in experience, for the two important away games against infinitly better opposition.I can honestly say I didn't notice O'Halloran being below standard at any stage. Having a natural left footer at left back would bring much needed balance to that side of the pitch IMO. He's probably too inexperienced I accept but I do think he should be given time against denmark and if he's playing (not likely I'd say) for Villa he's got to be considered.
04/08/2007, 2:27 PM
It'd be a shame if Ireland gets overlooked by Sven. I was reading in today's UK Independent Sven's possible XI if all his signing targets come through. I've barely heard of any of them. Now maybe he knows what he's doing & has spent his time looking at players across Europe but it looks to me as if he's spending for the sake of spending, and he's not alone. It really does show how difficult the landscape is for young players to come through the ranks at Premiership clubs.
I suppose you could argue that it throws down a challenge to Ireland to make the place his own, but I'm not so sure.
We really need Ireland to be playing regularly and be match sharp for the upcoming games.
I read in The Times this morning that Sven hasn't seen any of his signing targets & hasn't been watching football during his "time off". His decisions were based on videos and on the word of trusted friends like that crook Pini Vashili or whatever that charlatan's name is. So this is what players like Ireland and his English peers up and down the country are up against trying to establish themselves. Makes my blood boil.
04/08/2007, 7:11 PM
What are you talking about ? That you misunderstood Sylvo on the Emelka Onwubiko thread
what are you talking about with other threads when you dont even know what you are on about yourself
you constantly argue about how rubbish Hunt is
well you were proved to be very wrong last season, im sure your threads on this would back me up
and i will be happy to see hunt have another good season, arent you?:rolleyes:
back of the net
04/08/2007, 8:23 PM
we have the talent imo to get 6 points in sept - they just have to have the attitude and no fear - the boys can do it - come on lads
back of the net
04/08/2007, 8:27 PM
i agree with billybunter - our poor away record is history - it has to change sometime - i believe we will qualify - if we get 4 points in sept then the pressure is really on the czechs - cos a week b4 we play germany in croke they have to play germany in germany - potentially a win in that game for germany could see the germans qualify in front of their home fans - depending on rslts in sept for all teams - then will the germans come to dublin having already qualified - plus the czechs have to go to cyprus - ppl lets be positive
Newryrep
05/08/2007, 12:30 PM
Israel's late equaliser in Tel Aviv a few years back in the last minute was the least they deserved.
Totally agree, i remember being more ****ed off with the fact that we sat back after Morrison put us us ahead early on.
Still 4 points in sept could make it interesting.
08/08/2007, 7:29 PM
None.
Dallasirish
09/08/2007, 2:46 AM
Our away form can not continue like it has been. If we can beat Slovakia in the first game i think the team and the fans will have an extra skip in there step headin to prague. It is going to take two massive performances to take six points from these two games and we will need a huge team (fans and players!!) performance. I can see Shay Given being the hero in prague after robbie bundles one into the net late in the first half. (must see what paddy power would give me on that!!)
The germans might do us a favor in the later stages of this group.
theworm2345
09/08/2007, 4:43 AM
Our away form can not continue like it has been. If we can beat Slovakia in the first game i think the team and the fans will have an extra skip in there step headin to prague. It is going to take two massive performances to take six points from these two games and we will need a huge team (fans and players!!) performance. I can see Shay Given being the hero in prague after robbie bundles one into the net late in the first half. (must see what paddy power would give me on that!!)
The germans might do us a favor in the later stages of this group.
Unfortunately Given is hurt again and will miss the start of the season. I'd say its likely he'll miss Denmark, hopefully he'll be back for the two Qualifiers
RogerMilla
09/08/2007, 8:36 AM
i hope shay will be ok , it's all about that first game , were we to win it then we would have what american political comentators call "the Big Mo" , Momentum!!
citizenerased
09/08/2007, 8:17 PM
plz good..would be a disaster if he wasnt, he is our best player
Totally agree, i remember being more ****ed off with the fact that we sat back after Morrison put us us ahead early on.
What made it worse is the fact that we showed we had the beating of them even after they equalised ... seconds later in injury time Duff hit the woodwork. 87 minutes defending a 1-0 lead is plain stupid and the lack of any real leaders cost us that one (and the return game too!!)
I am looking forward to seeing what England make of them in a few weeks' time ... I wouldn't be at all surprised if it ended 0-0!!
Ordinary Fan
10/08/2007, 7:58 AM
There is always hope but there is no chance of qualifying.
We have the players to deliver the results but not the manager.
Torn-Ado
10/08/2007, 11:30 AM
There is always hope but there is no chance of qualifying.
We have the players to deliver the results but not the manager.
We don't have the players. We had the same players under Kerr and they couldn't do it when it mattered.
citizenerased
10/08/2007, 12:05 PM
com on IRELAND!!!
RogerMilla
10/08/2007, 12:25 PM
com on IRELAND!!!
exactly , lets get behind the team , i think the lads and lasses who go to the next two games certainly will give them a massive support , we are unbeaten since the cyprus disaster and that is almost a year ago. finish this campaign on a high or else then we can march to merrion square and put delaneys head on a pitch fork!!
Wolfie
10/08/2007, 12:29 PM
i think the lads and lasses who go to the next two games certainly will give them a massive support
It'll be needed - those Slovaks are a partisan lot.
I was right beside them at Croker and the thought struck me that 15,000 of them could whip up quite a racket.
Dotsy
10/08/2007, 12:36 PM
I was right beside them at Croker and the thought struck me that 15,000 of them could whip up quite a racket.
Away fans always give their utmost. It is always the same with Irish fans who travel. Doesn't mean it will translate to their home matches. You only have to look at the atmosphere at some Ireland matches in LR or the Welsh match in CP to see that.
10/08/2007, 12:49 PM
not sure they'll be all that interested to be honest. they couldnt even fill their ground for the local derby against the czechs last september. the fact that we got twice our original allocation says it all really. think we'll be able to out shout them no worries. i'm going for a one nil win to us.... my luck has to change at some stage.... about 20 away games and only a win v saudi arabia to show for it!
Wolfie
10/08/2007, 1:03 PM
not sure they'll be all that interested to be honest. they couldnt even fill their ground for the local derby against the czechs last september. the fact that we got twice our original allocation says it all really. think we'll be able to out shout them no worries. i'm going for a one nil win to us.... my luck has to change at some stage.... about 20 away games and only a win v saudi arabia to show for it!
Hope you're right.
Lord let them be right!!!
citizenerased
13/08/2007, 12:17 PM
Yeah. we should be able to out-sign them alright...the atmosphere in lansdowne against the czechs was class, everyonre got behind them and it raised their game immensely,,we will have to give simlar vocals in the two upcoming matches...i cant wait....!!
'Here come the good times, da da da'
13/08/2007, 9:37 PM
Yeah. we should be able to out-sign them alright...
What are we playing them in the Deaf World Cup now too?:D
citizenerased
13/08/2007, 10:33 PM
ye little scam ya :-)
RogerMilla
20/08/2007, 11:14 AM
i hope shay will be ok , it's all about that first game , were we to win it then we would have what american political comentators call "the Big Mo" , Momentum!!
anyone know if tom humphries lurks on these pages ?? or maybe he's just a west wing fan like me ?
quote here .
"Despite the impression of Meath having what American electoral pollsters might call Big Mo and Cork having, well, Big Cussen"
Sligo Hornet
22/08/2007, 8:16 AM
After the disaster of Cyprus I looked upon the future trip to Slovakia and Czech Republic as just an opportunity to visit two new countries and have a few beers with friends.
However slight we have improved and now, whatever the doom and gloom merchants:mad say, have " a chance" of qualifying.
So come on everyone get stuck in with the rest of the positive thinkers....after all you'll be no worse off if things don't pan out in Bratislava and Prague!:)
22/08/2007, 8:35 AM
im with wolfie, if he says we are going to qualify then we are. :D
Financially, no, Emotionally yes Sligo. Its up to you now hornet, if you sing loud enough it will make all the difference :)
22/08/2007, 9:09 AM
Just like after the Slovakia game, Kevin Doyle still seems to think 2 draws in September might be enough. I hope Stan disagrees. Almost all my posts on this thread say the same thing: bin the "draw away, win at home" mentality - we must at least try for an away win.
22/08/2007, 9:32 AM
where did doyler say this? He is from the country he should be good at maths :D
seriouslly though, how do any of them think this?! That takes it out of our own hands, I hope that kevin macdonald is good at the aul maths or else they have seen tets prediction thingamajig and realised the errors in their thinking.
22/08/2007, 10:06 AM
3 points against Slovakia and a draw against the Czechs would be ideal. I'm always overly optimistic about our chances (until the final 5 minutes of a game) but I think 4 points is feasible.
youngirish
22/08/2007, 10:06 AM
We don't have a chance of qualifying if we don't take at least 4 points in the next two away games whatever Doyle believes. I personally think that even 4 points will only be enough if we beat the Czechs and draw with the Slovaks. If the Czechs draw with us when you look at the remaining fixtures in reality it looks like we will be relying on one of the poorer teams to do us a big favour. Very hit and miss.
22/08/2007, 10:09 AM
6 points it is then!!!
youngirish
22/08/2007, 10:11 AM
6 points it is then!!!
Not necessarily if we beat the Czechs and draw with the Slovaks we should qualify (at least it's in our hands).
Wolfie
22/08/2007, 10:15 AM
im with wolfie, if he says we are going to qualify then we are. :D
Where did I say we'd qualify?
22/08/2007, 10:41 AM
Where did I say we'd qualify?
You didn't, i was awaiting to see what you think will happen. Hence the use of the word "if" ;)
Wolfie
22/08/2007, 10:58 AM
You didn't, i was awaiting to see what you think will happen. Hence the use of the word "if" ;)
Unfortunately my insightful contributions to this forum don't stretch to a God like ability to alter the future. But I'm working on it. :rolleyes:
Bungle
22/08/2007, 11:03 AM
Four points will only be good enough if we beat the Czechs. Really think we're going to need to beat the Germans also. Their manager was saying that they've alot of injuries for their game against England due to the ferocity of the Bundesliga. Hopefully it will affect the Slovaks and the Czechs over the coming weeks as well!
kingeric
22/08/2007, 11:07 AM
Personaly, I think we have no hope of qualifying.
Czechs and Slovaks will have too much for us.
Hopefully the young lads will get some valuable experience from it. I expect little else to be gained from these matches however.
22/08/2007, 11:07 AM
Four points will only be good enough if we beat the Czechs. Really think we're going to need to beat the Germans also. Their manager was saying that they've alot of injuries for their game against England due to the ferocity of the Bundesliga. Hopefully it will affect the Slovaks and the Czechs over the coming weeks as well!
I agree with this, but the problem is that we play slovakia first and if we drew against them then i cant see us beating the czechs, whereas if we beat the slovaks that moment would more than probably be used to help us get a draw in czech as the team thinking 4 points is mission accomplished, so its a tricky one either way.
Supreme feet
22/08/2007, 11:09 AM
We couldn't be playing the Czechs at a better time. By all accounts they're moving into a difficult transition, with players like Nedved, Poborsky, Galasek, Koller and Bolf either retiring or fading away. Dunne and McShane shouldn't have anything to fear from Milan Baros. However, I would question if our players have the confidence and belief that they can do it. That should come from the manager. :(
Bungle
22/08/2007, 11:15 AM
I guarantee that we will be terrific in one game and atrocious in another.
probably, a frustrating and boring 0-0 in Bratislava with no creativity followed by a terrific fighting Irish performance in a 2-2 in Prague, where we are robbed of victory by an offside Rosicky goal in the dying minutes. Doyle and Ireland will score the goals.
Afterwards, Stokesie will join the Czech team for the after-game festivities in the top stripclubs in Prague!!
Sligo Hornet
22/08/2007, 11:19 AM
I guarantee that we will be terrific in one game and atrocious in another.
probably, a frustrating and boring 0-0 in Bratislava with no creativity followed by a terrific fighting Irish performance in a 2-2 in Prague, where we are robbed of victory by an offside Rosicky goal in the dying minutes. Doyle and Ireland will score the goals.
Afterwards, Stokesie will join the Czech team for the after-game festivities in the top stripclubs in Prague!!
Bloody hell Bungle......even Zippy and George would have to be impressed by your level of foresight!:D
Bungle
22/08/2007, 11:23 AM
We couldn't be playing the Czechs at a better time. By all accounts they're moving into a difficult transition, with players like Nedved, Poborsky, Galasek, Koller and Bolf either retiring or fading away. Dunne and McShane shouldn't have anything to fear from Milan Baros. However, I would question if our players have the confidence and belief that they can do it. That should come from the manager. :(
Agree completely. I believe that we are a better team on paper than them. However, I don't know if the players believe that. Our team is made up in core areas of very good premiership players such as Given, Finnan, Dunne, Ireland, Carsley???, Hunt and Doyle. In contrast their team is in decline.
Watched the Ireland v Slovakia game with a German friend and he coudn't get over seeing us celebrate our victory. He said that alot of the Irish team are highly rated over there, while many of the Slovak players would be viewed as second tier. He suggested that we need to raise our expectations just a little!!
Bungle
22/08/2007, 11:25 AM
Bloody hell Bungle......even Zippy and George would have to be impressed by your level of foresight!:D
:) Well I think the Stokesie prediction is a nailed on certainty given what I've been hearing about him lately!:)
22/08/2007, 1:51 PM
Of course we can still qualify with 2 draws in the next 2 games. If we won our 3 games after that (3 easier games imho) then we'd be on 24 points. The Czechs still have to play Germany away.
Of course at least 4 points should be the aim though. Someone said 4 points would only be enough if we beat the Czechs. Seriously??? A win against Slovakia and a draw against the Czechs and I'll be over the moon.
Bungle
22/08/2007, 1:52 PM
Probably not. Still the Cyprus game says more about the attitude of the players than it does their talent.
22/08/2007, 3:21 PM
ya and EB you were over the moon with most of Brian kerrs results last year and look what happened.
You kept saying how we are still in it and holding out for the last result. The way we play we need to win these games, and worry about those ones afterwards as we can never win a game when we really really need to win it.
22/08/2007, 9:39 PM
Saw the last 30 mins of Eng vs Germany. OK, both teams missing a few, but we'd have little to fear if that same German XI came to Croker. They couldn't retain the ball at all and England without impressing should have scored a hatful while I was watching.
Ballack, Frings, Klose etc were all out though.
23/08/2007, 2:00 AM
While 2 points may be enough to qualify we can't go out to Czech Republic/Slovakia and set that as an acceptable target. We would be relying on the Czechs not to win in Cyprus and us getting three points in Wales. We need to be aiming for four at the very least, if not six now that confidence is high.