View Full Version : 100 eircom League things we didn't know at the start of 2006

Pages : 1 [2] 3

02/01/2007, 9:48 PM
Some of us knew that...

55. That Cork City would end the year in turmoil

02/01/2007, 10:12 PM
56. That the phrase 'ridden rock solid by Dublin' would become a staple of the Irish football lexicon.

57. That while some men say it with flowers, Dundalk supporting men say it with gasoline.

Aaron
02/01/2007, 10:19 PM
58. That Tony Gorman would become Derry assistant manager

59. That Paul Hegarty would become Finn Harps manager

02/01/2007, 10:43 PM
we're actually on number 63

63. The phrase "Ridden Rock Solid" would find it's way into our everyday voacbulary

02/01/2007, 11:18 PM
61. Paul Osam and Pat Scully would make a great comedy duo on EL Weekly.

Dyl10
03/01/2007, 12:57 AM
65. What a scorer of great goals Kevin Deery is:ball:

03/01/2007, 9:33 AM
66. That George O'Callaghan had an international reputation to protect

Stato
03/01/2007, 10:11 AM
67. That St Pats would get to the FAI cup final and come within 4 minutes of winning it.

Stato
03/01/2007, 10:13 AM
68. That Derry City can't afford to get their fax machine fixed and have difficulty receiving emails from the League about suspensions.

diamond
03/01/2007, 2:29 PM
69. that drogheda would beat Linfield in Windsor Park:D
70. that drogheda would be all ireland champions (weeks after winning our first major trophy)
71. that drogheda colours would be hung on flagpost in main square in Norway and make their national news

03/01/2007, 2:53 PM
72. That Drogheda fans would play "STALKER" in Finland. ;)

Your secrets are out lads, be AFRAID!!! :D

03/01/2007, 2:57 PM
with many of the same Cypriots appearing for both Cypriot teams.

could you tell me how many? I counted none, could be wrong though.

BrayUnknowns
03/01/2007, 3:12 PM
50. That Kildare County would have one of the best Under 21 sides in the country!!

They don't really.........

Bray, UCD, Shamrock Rovers, Cork, Derry, Drogheda, St. Pats are all far superior teams.

BrayUnknowns
03/01/2007, 3:13 PM
73. That We would have 3 managers within the space of 5 months

03/01/2007, 4:40 PM
They don't really.........

Bray, UCD, Shamrock Rovers, Cork, Derry, Drogheda, St. Pats are all far superior teams.
How could you leave out Salthill!!!???

03/01/2007, 4:47 PM
and rovers?

03/01/2007, 8:01 PM
74. That football clubs don't generate gate receipts in the off-season (courtesy Mr O. Byrne)

Aaron
03/01/2007, 8:06 PM
75. That Derry would take 3000 fans to a european away game

03/01/2007, 8:34 PM
Some of us knew that...

55. That Cork City would end the year in turmoil

66. That George O'Callaghan had an international reputation to protect

Fair play Dodge, you're the only Cork City fan putting us on the map ;)

04/01/2007, 6:58 AM
76. That Cork City were being ridden rock solid by Dublin
77. That only Dubliners would mention Cork City on this list

05/01/2007, 3:00 AM
78. That Dundalk would set First Division on fire.
79. That Dundalk would set their Stewards on fire.
80. That in Wexford, it's not just the priests who look forward to seeing youths straining and sweating.

05/01/2007, 7:42 AM
76. That Cork City were being ridden rock solid by DublinI'm sorry but even though we haven't harped on about it, this has been known for years.
Trust Rico to let the cat out of the bag.:rolleyes:

05/01/2007, 4:11 PM
81. that Longford Town did not print the last few matches programmes due to financial difficulty.(printers).:(

05/01/2007, 4:51 PM
82. That "not having a printer" would be a synonym for "being broke" - Shels, Cork and Longford...

Celdrog
05/01/2007, 6:28 PM
83. That European away trips could be such good craic.

Well maybe some of you knew this but we certainly didn't:D

84. That a pint cost €8 in Norway and that's away from Oslo

05/01/2007, 7:42 PM
85. that thieves in bray were so stupid to steal a jacket from a bus and miss the mp3 player beside it.

05/01/2007, 7:44 PM
86.That some Limerick fans hated GUFC more than they loved Limerick.

05/01/2007, 7:52 PM
87. That Galway fans still wouldn't get it.

05/01/2007, 8:19 PM
88. That someone would actually be denied a license. Not the the club that went bust or the club that faced three winding up orders but another one

05/01/2007, 8:27 PM

Why Conor it was never GUFC that I hated, it was you and your like who supported Galway's method of winning promotion without actually winning a damn thing, anyway as Pineapple Stu said in point 87.....

EDIT: Although I do hate GUFC with a passion :D ;)

05/01/2007, 8:34 PM

well now you cant love something that nolonger exists:p

05/01/2007, 10:42 PM
89. that so many muppets would take Conor H seriously !

06/01/2007, 3:44 PM
90. That having an ex club official ( J. Byrne) in Merrion Square could get your team promoted when you only finish 3rd in the First Division ( Galway United)

91. That not even having ex-club officials on the selection committee could keep you or get you into in the Premier Division ( Dundalk and Waterford United)

06/01/2007, 4:41 PM
90. That having an ex club official ( J. Byrne) in Merrion Square could get your team promoted when you only finish 3rd in the First Division ( Galway United)

91. That not even having ex-club officials on the selection committee could keep you or get you into in the Premier Division ( Dundalk and Waterford United)

:o

Point number 90 is actually embarassing if you know anything about GUFC and Byrne.It also shows your complete ignorance of the selection process.

06/01/2007, 9:22 PM
Also its not fair to leave out Mr. Naughton (vice-chairman of the league, or something?), another GUFC supporter !!! :D

monkey magic
07/01/2007, 7:53 PM
92. that shelborne could collapse that quickly (well i didnt think so anyways)

Paddyfield
07/01/2007, 8:29 PM
93. That we are going back to calling it the League Of Ireland

[bring it on, I say]

08/01/2007, 12:05 PM
89. that so many muppets would take Conor H seriously !

Although I can't speak for every muppet on here, I can assure you the Limerick branch certainly doesn't take ConorH and his views seriously. Rather, we think of him as a sort of internet pet, albeit a rather hard to train one

94. Stephen Kenny would make the worst decision since "When Seery met Roddy"

08/01/2007, 12:08 PM
95. That Shels fans would start to smell the coffee.

08/01/2007, 12:36 PM
94. Stephen Kenny would make the worst decision since "When Seery met Roddy"

He didn't do too bad at the weekend.

08/01/2007, 12:52 PM
He didn't do too bad at the weekend.

Wow Dunfermline gamely hung on to record a victory against the worst Rangers side in 1,690 years

Remind me how they're doing in the SPL again :confused:

08/01/2007, 1:14 PM
Wow Dunfermline gamely hung on to record a victory against the worst Rangers side in 1,690 years

Remind me how they're doing in the SPL again :confused:

check the scores since he joined

gradual improvement....they were always gonna get something out of teh rangers game....no shock to me

08/01/2007, 1:40 PM
check the scores since he joined

gradual improvement....they were always gonna get something out of teh rangers game....no shock to me

Nothing shocks me with Rangers anymore, absolute shambles

Agreed about the gradual improvement. They're still as doomed as doomed could be though.......

galwayhoop
08/01/2007, 1:47 PM
96. that limerick fc fans, having no eL club to support themselves, would be reduced to visiting foot.ie to try and poke fun at existing eL clubs.

08/01/2007, 1:56 PM
96. that limerick fc fans, having no eL club to support themselves, would be reduced to visiting foot.ie to try and poke fun at existing eL clubs.

As you can probably gather from the post count I was poking fun at el clubs on here long before Limerick F.C went into hibernation (Watch this space re a new club BTW since you all seem so interested). Infact now that I think of it I didn't even poke fun at an existing el club in this thread so why am I defending myself :confused: :p

08/01/2007, 2:00 PM

Stating that Galway didn't win promotion on the pitch isn't poking fun, just stating facts, can I help it if Conor and the rest get their noses put out of joint by this? ;)

08/01/2007, 2:07 PM
lads why are ye even in the eL section - are ye not reclassified in the intermetiate or junior section yet. have they removed the limerick crests from the eL avatar section???

Oh he got us there, why are we on a public forum anyway? Sure our club may or may not be in the Eircom League next year, we should go away until that is resolved and not post anymore. God help us if LFC are gone, Dahamsta boots each and every Limerick fan out of this public forum and we're not allowed upset precious Galway anymore :rolleyes:

galwayhoop
08/01/2007, 2:24 PM
i have personally never been upset by any LFC supporters however i do notice that there seems to be a fair amount of prodding on the GUFC threads from LFC supporters.

i just find it funny that having been excluded from the new LOI that yer main source of entertainment on this forum appears to be gained on the GUFC pages!!

Student Mullet
08/01/2007, 2:29 PM
lads why are ye even in the eL section - are ye not reclassified in the intermetiate or junior section yet. have they removed the limerick crests from the eL avatar section???I think you're confused. The eL ceased to exist last November. Wheather or not Limerick get invited into any new league which may happen to be formed is a seperate issue.

galwayhoop
08/01/2007, 2:46 PM
while it is still called the eL on fai reports and website and untill the new name is announced i will continue to call it the eL. if the new name has been announced i will stand corrected and begin to call it that. however if the new name is 'the eircom League of Ireland' i will, for speed of typing continue to call it eL on this forum. i believe i am not confused