View Full Version : Which seats in Croker

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

22/01/2007, 5:35 PM
an open terrace, known as Hill 16, at croke park. the only bit of the ground which is uncovered, and exposed to the elements

If only that was true! :eek:

Someone needs to give these lads a crash course in 20th Century Irish history, with particular reference to Kevin Heffernan and the 1970s, so they can understand the significance of this crap area before they moan about it. :D

WexDec
26/01/2007, 10:48 PM
Yeah was thinking that when we're hoping the calculated risk (of view vs shelter and price) to go for lower tier tickets lands us in the double lettered rows half way up and back from that i.e. covered if it rains !

WexDec
26/01/2007, 11:12 PM
seriouslly F' them, an irish international is still cheaper than your average premiership match. we aint going to see the best 11 from the principilaty of wales premier division.

They're a bit spoilt with their own stadium as they take a European approach of lowering prices for different sections and matches depending on view and demand. Family tickets for their Cyprus match are £10 adult and £5 child like. The big difference is that we don't do that as the demand for tickets is so high and also matches are grouped so can't be choosy about Cyprus if ends up as having no competitive meaning. Their FA wouldn't vary prices either if they had a similar demand. I bet they wouldn't like that point though ! :rolleyes:

They also plainly miss the significance of Croker to Irish culture particularly in relation to football and rugby. If they did they might appreciate the historical event a bit more and particularly the very terrace where they're situated. I know lads who moan about being in a good stand seat as they'd have preferred to be on the Hill, where its at and not just for Dubs either.

But its true 34 quid would be a reasonably priced ticket for a non-London Premiership match although there's downward pressure on those now too with fans kicking up at Bolton, Wigan, Man City and Boro with some results at that.

WexDec
26/01/2007, 11:19 PM
A 6k allocation is brilliant by any standards too. I think they will sell out as the Welsh love coming over to Dublin on the p1ss, obviously usually for a rugby match though for which tickets are notoriously hard to obtain. Jesus they even head over on the Rosslare ferry in large numbers (in both senses of the word) and just go on the p1ss in Wexford watching the match in the pub. This will be a rare chance to do the trip with a ticket in hand and strong exchange rate to boot.

NI only gave them 1k and they're £25, not that much cheaper. The pitch will be no further away from them then for the Irish on the Canal End and people on the lower tier of that, and any lower tier, can get p1ssed on too. Those at the back of the upper will be much further away from the pitch then them but they'd have complained about that if they had got that section.

Truth is Croker isn't designed to segregate fans and the Hill was always the natural structural choice for worse than Irish "soccer ruffians" but foreign ones at that. Has separate entry points too. Betcha the GAA insisted on this from the off. Then again does anybody know how the IRFU are handling French and English supporters ?

casso36
26/01/2007, 11:26 PM
If Only it was the brits the first game!!! could you imagine the emotion, although when they do come whos taking out the tank??? lol Joke.

WexDec
26/01/2007, 11:37 PM
To be honest, I can't see drink being served to the "soccer ruffians" as Jerry The Saint so poetically puts it :)

Like it or not, we are stuck with the English mentaility of a non-drinking culture at football stadia, and until this country breaks away from 90% of football Irish supporting fans supporting the likes of Man Utd, Liverpool, Arsenal, Celtic and the like, this mentality is going to stay.

You can drink at Anfield mate I can't vouch for or discount the others but I would be surprised if it were unique.

Besides that there is a pro-family event argument against it, incl GAA and rugby in my mind. But you would think it would be a general event policy nothing to do with the actual sport being played.

It would be nice for the afternoon matches alright. I could see some argument against it for evening matches though, kid wise, which there should be plenty of despite the one priced tickets. Not saying there should be none myself just can see some validity for argument for evening matches.

I will drink before and after anyway but wouldn't during the match even if had the option.......more to do with missing the match while going to the p1sser than anything :D Can picture the Heineken "Love we tear us apart" ad of yer man missing the action whilst queuing for the drinks in the under stand tunnel of the stadium

WexDec
26/01/2007, 11:44 PM
If Only it was the brits the first game!!! could you imagine the emotion, although when they do come whos taking out the tank??? lol Joke.

The rematch 85 odd years later ! :eek: We've forgot to repay your tanks from last time you were here. Hey you've started it now.

Where are they putting the english rugger buggers ?

Anyway Welsh are brits !!!!!!

27/01/2007, 12:37 AM
You can drink at Anfield mate I can't vouch for or discount the others but I would be surprised if it were unique.
I've never been to Anfield but surely you'd expect to be every second person in the crowd with a pint if that was the case?

27/01/2007, 12:27 PM
Then again does anybody know how the IRFU are handling French and English supporters ?There's never been segregation for rugby matches, can't see that changing for croke park.

Docboy
27/01/2007, 5:41 PM
You can drink at the bars in the concourse under the stands at the few premier league grounds I've been to, White Hart Lane, Anfield etc but you are not allowed to bring them to your seat, hence the not seeing them on tv.

Why do you think you always see the lads heading off just before half-time. Have on occasion witnessed gamblers who go to the game then watch the results coming in on the tv's at the bar!

30/01/2007, 12:38 PM
got this from a friend who is on about rugby tickets here, i thought someone mentioned the premium levels aren't to be given to gaa people automatically:
" gave them to my Dad, he gave me the seats in Crokers which I use a lot but he was really under pressure from work to get more seats for the game for his corporate clients as my seats are in the premium level so I gave them to him "

So it sounds like its the same for the soccer matches as well?!

Bluetonic
31/01/2007, 8:51 AM
got this from a friend who is on about rugby tickets here, i thought someone mentioned the premium levels aren't to be given to gaa people automatically:
" gave them to my Dad, he gave me the seats in Crokers which I use a lot but he was really under pressure from work to get more seats for the game for his corporate clients as my seats are in the premium level so I gave them to him "

So it sounds like its the same for the soccer matches as well?!

Some of the premium tickets are for all events in the Croke Park, some are for GAA matches only. All been covered before.

WexDec
31/01/2007, 5:15 PM
There's never been segregation for rugby matches, can't see that changing for croke park.

But they'll be effectively "grouped" as in presumably the away org will be given so many tickets for whatever area and is that area the Hill ? I would assume it'll be standing on the terrace since don't need to put in seats.

WexDec
31/01/2007, 5:18 PM
You can drink at the bars in the concourse under the stands at the few premier league grounds I've been to, White Hart Lane, Anfield etc but you are not allowed to bring them to your seat, hence the not seeing them on tv.

Exactly

01/02/2007, 1:20 PM
But they'll be effectively "grouped" as in presumably the away org will be given so many tickets for whatever area and is that area the Hill?I wouldn't be sure that it would. There always seemed to be small groups of away fans all over Lansdowne. Some of that was down to clubs selling some of their allocation but there never seemed to be a large group of away fans together anywhere.

I would assume it'll be standing on the terrace since don't need to put in seats.It is standing for the rugby.

WexDec
05/02/2007, 9:19 PM
Fair enough so

michaelguineys
07/02/2007, 6:05 PM
I got 5 tickets from the FAI for the Davin Lower...Can anyone tell me where that is???

07/02/2007, 6:30 PM
I got 5 tickets from the FAI for the Davin Lower...Can anyone tell me where that is???
Behind the goal.

michaelguineys
07/02/2007, 6:33 PM
Cheers!

The Ref
07/02/2007, 9:35 PM
Given that it looks like those on the waiting list are going to able to get tickets :) can anybody recommend which of the seats on offer are the best. I think I'll go with the Lower canal stand. €70 is a bit steep for the the lower Hogan/Cusak and from what I have heard the upper levels would give you a nosebleed.

No waiting list after tonigts performance €70 should now read €7

michaelguineys
07/02/2007, 10:24 PM
I think its the FAI who should be paying us that €70 to go instead!!
In saying that though, im still going to the games, il just have to be twisted goin in to numb the pain!

soylent green
11/02/2007, 5:59 PM
I had applied for Upper Cusack/Hogan and got upper davin (canal end) instead. Not happy as I'll be miles away from the goal (especially having seen where the rugby posts were today in croke park).

reder
12/02/2007, 10:43 AM
Just speaking to people who were at the rugby yday. They sat in various locations around the ground and here is the report on the view.

Lower tier of the hogan -

Good view once, you avoid the first few rows and are not in the blocks outside the perimeter of the pitch.

Upper tier Cusack (Row h) -

Too far back from the pitch, view is poor, if you are scared of heights or have poor vision avoid it. If you are lower down (row a-f), you will probably be fine.

Davin Lower. -

First have of tier -

Stay in the pub, cannot watch a game of rugby from there. Particularly difficult to see what is happening in free play down the opposite end of the pitch.

Davin Upper -

Way too far back from the pitch, if you are scared of height or have poor vision avoid it.

Corporate level in Hogan Stand -

Excellent view of pitch - top notch, plenty of food and drink to hand.

All in all i got the impression that most of the lower tiers are fine in the main stands, the lower tier in the end is no use due to the reduced pitch size and the pitch size also takes away from the view of the upper tiers.

However, they said the noise level was excellent and should be amazing for football, the facilities in the concourse were excellent, although very pricey (what new there) and all outside the ground is well organised. More public transport for visiting fans is in order as one person suggested. Not everyone knows the way to Croke Park for the city centre.

Bluetonic
12/02/2007, 10:47 AM
Are there really a lot of people who really haven't been to Croke Park before?

12/02/2007, 12:33 PM
Are there really a lot of people who really haven't been to Croke Park before?

Yes of course. Before yesterday I'd been there twice - once in 1973 and once in 1974 but it is amazing how much sense you get once you turn 8. :D

Loads of people lost yesterday incl me.

I was at the back of the upper davin yesterday. The view was good although very far away. There are lots of steps too

Lower cusack was excellent yesterday apparently. Lower hogan is better as the sun isn't in your eyes (probably not an issue for March and October saturday games).

allow plenty of time to find your gate and get in etc.

12/02/2007, 2:00 PM
Are there really a lot of people who really haven't been to Croke Park before?I hadn't been before yesterday.

I was in the very back row in the corner to the right of the Canal End (don't remember if that's Cusack or Hogan) and the view was fine if a bit far away. Could still see what was happening without any problem though, similar to where I was in Stuttgart.

Soko
15/02/2007, 1:56 AM
Reder's post is BS. Grand view for the rugby from all spots that I heard of. Soccer will be different but it will still be a better view than Stuttgart.

Heard of loads of people looking for directions around Croke Park. Mind boggling

reder
15/02/2007, 7:31 AM
Reder's post is BS. Grand view for the rugby from all spots that I heard of. Soccer will be different but it will still be a better view than Stuttgart.

Heard of loads of people looking for directions around Croke Park. Mind boggling

Erm, well its what i was told by people. Why was it weird hearing people looking for directions around croke park? Last Sunday was the first ever rugby game there. Presume football will be the same

15/02/2007, 9:02 AM
any view can be better than mine in Stuggart. I was on the back row!!!

casso36
15/02/2007, 9:59 AM
[QUOTE=gspain;621926]Yes of course. Before yesterday I'd been there twice - once in 1973 and once in 1974 QUOTE]

Are you really that old?????:D :D

15/02/2007, 10:22 AM
What's mind-boggling about it? I'd never been there before and had never heard of the lane I had to go down to get to the stadium. Only that one of the guys I was going with knew the area, I could well have missed it.

citizenerased
15/02/2007, 12:16 PM
i think its funny how the FAI sent the letters out tuesday, and expected them to be back in by monday, forgetting that around 3000 fans went to foockin san marino to support the team, and mightnt even be back the friday...what a shower of clowns

WexDec
15/02/2007, 12:39 PM
Erm, well its what i was told by people. Why was it weird hearing people looking for directions around croke park? Last Sunday was the first ever rugby game there. Presume football will be the same

Exactly its not the most accessible place in the world. Various walking routes to it and closer to the ground they branch off different ways depending on which stand you're going to. Grand if you know from GAA matches but hardly mind boggling if you're not a GAA supporter as a lot of football and rugby fans aren't. A bit of a nightmare for away fans to be honest (a new phenonemen for Croker !)

Soko
15/02/2007, 1:21 PM
What's mind-boggling about it? I'd never been there before and had never heard of the lane I had to go down to get to the stadium. Only that one of the guys I was going with knew the area, I could well have missed it.

People didn't even know the Canal from the Cusack. Have they not even watched a game on tv? While many hold a grudge against the GAA or just don't like the sport, I still can't see why someone would never have been there before

Bluetonic
15/02/2007, 1:24 PM
For those who haven't got a clue, best to have a read of this.

http://www.fai.ie/pdf/Croke_Park_Guide.pdf

As all the approaches are colour coded people really shouldn't have a problem finding their way.

15/02/2007, 1:43 PM
While many... just don't like the sport, I still can't see why someone would never have been there beforeI don't know about you but I don't go to games I don't like. Sunday was the first time there'd been an event in Croke Park I was interested in so it was the first time I went there, simple as that. I'm sure there are plenty of GAA fans who have never been to Lansdowne Road.

15/02/2007, 1:44 PM
People didn't even know the Canal from the Cusack. Have they not even watched a game on tv? While many hold a grudge against the GAA or just don't like the sport, I still can't see why someone would never have been there before

Soko, i am with ye 110% on this. at least know the bloody area, i mean i wasnt in landsdowne till i moved to dublin but i still figured out how to get there fairly handy. there is only one road you cant walk down through on the way to any stand....its like asking me if i knew somewhere in roscommon town and then had to go and ask directions :rolleyes:

ye can see the bloody stadium from phibsborough, nevermind drumcondra!! :eek:

I will admit though if ye werent sure of the difference between the cusack and the hogan, cos on d'tele ye wouldnt be able differentiate which is which.

SuperDave
15/02/2007, 1:53 PM
i think its funny how the FAI sent the letters out tuesday, and expected them to be back in by monday, forgetting that around 3000 fans went to foockin san marino to support the team, and mightnt even be back the friday...what a shower of clowns

there were posts about this on another thread... the fai will give a grace period til the end of this week so i've been led to believe. As long as monday's postmark was on the letter, it should have been okay.

15/02/2007, 3:07 PM
Directions: Go to the Northside and look for the big stadium-shaped thing. If it's smaller than Lansdowne, you're at Dalymount or Tolka, keep walking.

15/02/2007, 3:33 PM
Directions: Go to the Northside and look for the big stadium-shaped thing. If it's smaller than Lansdowne, you're at Dalymount or Tolka, keep walking.

Jerry the Saint, quality. POTM :D :D :D

thats quality, I am in stiches. what about the ruggers though? they wouldnt k now either of those two "stadia"

WexDec
15/02/2007, 8:42 PM

Don't you mean the Davin Stand !!!!! :eek: :eek:

The FAI are calling Hill 16 the Northern Terrace and for how long was the Cusack called the "New Stand" on the ground. Maybe picking a name and sticking to it would be more helpfull than ridiculing people that have never had a reason to go to Croke Park.

Yes you can see the stadium from the Dart line even but a hell of a lot easier to get to LR from LR station than Croker from Clontarf Road or Connolly. Fact is it IS a lot less accessible for most, watching on TV isn't going to tell you anything about the terraced streets around it and its not as easy to go from one stand to another if you do take the wrong way - you tend to have to go out and back around.

I don't see why its so unbelievable that a non-GAA head wouldn't have been there or watch a match on TV (taking copious notes of which stand is which). We don't all become mad Dublin supporters for a few weeks every Summer. If everybody printed off the FAI website map I'm sure there'd be no problem sure, maybe they'll send a colour copy out with the tickets ;)

15/02/2007, 10:59 PM
I will admit though if ye werent sure of the difference between the cusack and the hogan, cos on d'tele ye wouldnt be able differentiate which is which.

Are you serious? On d'tele you can always tell which is which. Several giveaways:

- If you are watchin d'tele and The Hill is on your left, the camera is in the Hogan and you are looking directly across at the Cusack
- If you are watchin d'tele and The Hill is on your right, the camera is in the Cusack and you are looking directly across at the Hogan
- If you are watchin d'tele and the Davin (formerly known as the Canal End) is on your left, the camera is in the Cusack and you are looking directly across at the Hogan
- If you are watchin d'tele and the Davin (formerly known as the Canal End) is on your right, the camera is in the Hogan and you are looking directly across at the Cusack
- If you are watchin d'tele and you see Mary McAleese emerging from the stand, you know it is the Hogan
- If you are watchin d'tele and you see Bertie sitting with a big grin on him you know he is sitting in the Hogan

Any more clues required??? Jees, you country boys!!!! :D

Bluetonic
16/02/2007, 7:12 AM
Well they took the money off the auld CC last night.

WexDec
16/02/2007, 2:22 PM
Any more clues required??? Jees, you country boys!!!! :D

And it starts :D I think anybody on here knows which is which, I've lived on Clonliffe Road for God's sake and have been to many a match there often as a neutral (like for something non-alcoholic to do for a change on Paddy's Day). Just trying to appreciate point of view of those that have nothing to do with the sport thats all.

It is quite funny most country lads up have a particular side they approach the ground from (regardless of what stand they're in) usually dictated by whether they came via Connolly, Clontarf Road, Drumconda station, M50, Phibsborough whatever. Biggest factor has to be d'pub though. Always been prone to Quinns, McGrath's and the Big Tree myself. Probably cos I lived in the area, went to DCU, mates from Maynooth come in on the train that side as do people driving from Wexford. If came in by train into Connolly would end up drinking on Amiens Street (literally) and walking up though and when living in Clontarf obv came from that direction. I reckon Patrick McGrath's will be our pre-match pub, a nice spot. Paddy Cullen's was always the LR one and the one time we went to Jury's for spares was about the worse pints I've ever had so stick to what you know ;)

16/02/2007, 3:45 PM
what did ye study dec/ in dcu?

thanks superhoop, what side do the apprentice boys band vacate? will they be at the matches in march annoying everyone?

WexDec
16/02/2007, 5:48 PM
Computer Apps. Very weird being in Quinns on matchdays after being used to it Thursday nights ! :cool:

citizenerased
17/02/2007, 3:02 AM
In fairness, if a dub doesnt know how to get to the appropriate stand come march 24th, hang ur head in shame...

19/02/2007, 1:16 PM
wexdec thats what i did, when did ye finish?
good point citizenerased

WexDec
19/02/2007, 2:56 PM
I think there will be plenty of D4ers that won't. Always found the northside/southside thing hilarious but in some cases the ignorance in knowledge of the other side astounding. This should be a case in point and I would imagine plenty of only half tongue in cheek comments about "first time on the northside since wnt to blah as kid"....which usually ignores the northside of town.

WexDec
19/02/2007, 2:58 PM
wexdec thats what i did, when did ye finish? '97.........you've just reminded me its been a decade you b*stard !!! :rolleyes: