View Full Version : Joseph Lapira
ofjames
23/07/2007, 5:28 PM
hope he signs for rangers just to pis s off any of the dumbo's who would thing that's a big deal.
rangers are one of the biggest clubs in britain and over the past decade or so, have a history of giving lots of young players first team opportunities. All the best to him
youngirish
23/07/2007, 5:34 PM
Yes what an idiot going for a trial with a European club like that :rolleyes: If he goes to Rangers and is a success there then good luck to him I say
I agree. A right Yank Plastic Paddy plonker. Any spoon can get a cap these days.
Why is he a plonker?
livehead1
23/07/2007, 6:10 PM
Its not so long ago their chairman was caught on camera singing anti-catholic songs and they were bringing out orange kits.
lets not forget that before we get all unbiased on the subject!
RiffRaff
23/07/2007, 6:14 PM
No doubt if he had got a trial at Celtic, this thread would be taking a much different tone....
23/07/2007, 6:14 PM
I will feckin love it if he signs for Rangers ...long overdue that one of ours signed for them just to annoy the knuckle-dragger element in our support who'll boo one of their own to express their own uber-gaelism. :D
I'm sure it'll go down a treat all over Glasgow too. Best of luck Joe -you durty soap-dodger-hun-c***!! :eek:
I'm kidding, I'm kidding ...seriously -hope he signs for them and does well ...a winner against Celtic in a cup final would be sweet too. Hee hee!!!
carloz
23/07/2007, 6:18 PM
Fair dues to him if a move to Rangers materialised. It would be fantastic news for the guy and could be good news for Ireland in the future.
Its not so long ago their chairman was caught on camera singing anti-catholic songs and they were bringing out orange kits.
We wore an orange kit before....does that make us anti Catholic. And so what if their chairman was singing anti Catholic songs, its not like members of celtic havent done similar anti Protestant songs. Lapira is just trying to make the most of his career and religion has absolutly nothing to do with it. People that give out because its Rangers are just small minded bigots that were most likely in the middle of the Love Ulster riots
ofjames
23/07/2007, 6:27 PM
here here to what carloz said
"Its not so long ago their chairman was caught on camera singing anti-catholic songs and they were bringing out orange kits.
lets not forget that before we get all unbiased on the subject!"
Livehead ur a retard
23/07/2007, 6:32 PM
You use the term like it's an insult. :confused: :rolleyes:
And so what if their chairman was singing anti Catholic songs, its not like members of celtic havent done similar anti Protestant songs.
Would you care to name any of these anti-Protestant songs sung by Celtic members then? I look forward to reading the no-doubt extensive list you have ready for the occasion. Or maybe not, because what you say is a total untruth and tantamount to slander.
For the record, it was Donald Findlay, RFC's vice-chair, who publicly sung of being "up to our knees in Fenian blood". Is your reaction to this still "so what" then?
:ball: PP
lets not forget that before we get all unbiased on the subject!
So? Is the lad even Catholic :rolleyes:
youngirish
23/07/2007, 6:35 PM
"Its not so long ago their chairman was caught on camera singing anti-catholic songs and they were bringing out orange kits.
Livehead ur a retard
I personally don't care if he plays for Rangers or not. He's not Irish anyway and he's cr*p so who cares? He probably thinks Dublin is the capital of Massachusetts.
And for all the usual members of the PC everything is fab brigade out there Rangers as a club hate you and everything you stand for. They would ethnically cleanse you, your entire family and all your friends (if you have any) given half a chance.
Torn-Ado
23/07/2007, 6:49 PM
So? Is the lad even Catholic :rolleyes:
Not one mention of Shelbournes match against Rangers in 1998 been moved to Tranmere because of Rangers fans yet numerous mentions of Love Ulster parades.
No mention of Rangers anti Catholic signing policy and sectarian vice chairman. No mention of Rangers keeper wearing a black armband in memory of a loyalist murderer. No mention of tricolours been burned in Ibrox in the eighties. No mention of Irish players like Roy keane and John O Shea been booed in Ibrox because they were Irish...
But the Celtic fans. They are real mean.
I for one couldn't give a toss who Lapira plays for because as far I'm concerned, he isn't an international class player who will never make it. But to see some people in here spout their anti Celtic views while ignoring the fact that Rangers FC actually have an anti Irish agenda is laughable.
ofjames
23/07/2007, 7:40 PM
"And for all the usual members of the PC everything is fab brigade out there Rangers as a club hate you and everything you stand for. They would ethnically cleanse you, your entire family and all your friends (if you have any) given half a chance." by young irish
that is simply the most ridiculous statement i have ever heard. i wont even ask what your reasoning is behind it
As for tornado's points,
celtic have had broadly the same problems with sectarianism amongst their support as rangers have. hence the continuing initiatives by both clubs and the scottish executive to root it out. the argument that celtic fans dont engage in violence with rangers fans, dont/have never burned union jacks, dont sing rebel and sectarian songs doesnt cut the ice im afraid. Both pretty much as bad as each other.
Also, rangers put a halt to that signing policy long ago, and have since had a catholic captain in Lorenzo Amorouso and a catholic manager in Paul le Guen. They obviously no longer have an anti-irish policy either if they've offered an irish international a trial. Alan maybury was on trial with them before he signed terms at leeds as well.
As for the booing, irish fans have booed players from holland, denmark etc who played for rangers, even though they were very unlikely to know any of the political history. So i dont see how we can claim any moral highground on that issue
That vice chairman got the sack as soon as the video came out, he's a moron.
Andy Goram was a schitzophrenic. Who gives a crap what he did?
23/07/2007, 7:45 PM
I prefer the spurious story linking him with a move to UCD to play in our U-21 team. He'd have a better chance of winning the league too.;)
dr_peepee
23/07/2007, 8:10 PM
Bound to happen at some stage... Good luck to him!!
23/07/2007, 8:25 PM
I personally don't care if he plays for Rangers or not. He's not Irish anyway and he's cr*p so who cares? He probably thinks Dublin is the capital of Massachusetts.
And for all the usual members of the PC everything is fab brigade out there Rangers as a club hate you and everything you stand for. They would ethnically cleanse you, your entire family and all your friends (if you have any) given half a chance.
I can't decide if you're really intelligent, and on the wind up or just plain stupid.
23/07/2007, 9:32 PM
I will feckin love it if he signs for Rangers ...long overdue that one of ours signed for them just to annoy the knuckle-dragger element in our support who'll boo one of their own to express their own uber-gaelism. :D
I'm sure it'll go down a treat all over Glasgow too. Best of luck Joe -you durty soap-dodger-hun-c***!! :eek:
The general consensus amongst Celtic fans is they'd love it to happen.
I noticed this post on a Celtic forum though:
He's absolutely Garbage. I know a few lads who have played with and against him and they've all given the same report
Of course 99.99% of the time you would just ignore a post like that but the guy who posted it definitely does know members of the Ireland squad. This is the same guy (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=651460&postcount=45).
24/07/2007, 12:08 AM
This is the evening times report on it: http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/display.var.1565835.0.0.php
gilberto_eire
24/07/2007, 12:35 AM
Haha
"That is UCSB's 419th foul of the season. 57 yellow cards and 10 ejections"
You gota love the yanks:D
:Dlol just watched it there...why do they have to be the only country to change the analysis of the game ''a physical side''.... ''statistics''...(they love there stats!)
''and just like that its 1 to zero''.....? wtf its one-nil not zero:D
looks its only a team and who here would say they'd rather stay in america then play for a big club??... if i had a choice for rangers or some mickry mouse club id join its a stepping stone!!
24/07/2007, 1:05 AM
The general consensus amongst Celtic fans is they'd love it to happen.
I noticed this post on a Celtic forum though:
"He's absolutely Garbage. I know a few lads who have played with and against him and they've all given the same report"
Sounds like youngirish :)
What would you expect on a celtic board,
best wishes Joe, hope you make it.
In general.
The US u20 squad looked very good at the WC, trashed Poland 6-1 and beat Brazil handy enough. There's even a few college boys on the squad. Time to have a revision about the crap US soccer kids.
Bald Student
24/07/2007, 1:18 AM
In general.
The US u20 squad looked very good at the WC, trashed Poland 6-1 and beat Brazil handy enough. There's even a few college boys on the squad. Time to have a revision about the crap US soccer kids.There's nothing particularly surprising about students making the underage international teams. UCDD would typically have a few players at that level as well.
livehead1
24/07/2007, 6:57 AM
Livehead ur a retard
Lets not get personal, why's that?
with regard to the orange shirt, other teams have indeed worn Orange shirts, yet they weren't banned, which Rangers kit was, so i stand by my argument.
Billsthoughts
24/07/2007, 7:07 AM
Have to say that isnt my experience at all. Do you actually know any Rangers fans? Because your description is like it comes from some "bizarro world" Punch magazine. The majority support Rangers cause they are their hometown club. If only some of the rabid Irish nationalists on this forum would do the same.
24/07/2007, 7:12 AM
Lets not get personal, why's that?
with regard to the orange shirt, other teams have indeed worn Orange shirts, yet they weren't banned, which Rangers kit was, so i stand by my argument.
A certain national team wore an orange kit too in Skopje in 1997.
eelmonster
24/07/2007, 8:26 AM
I can't decide if you're really intelligent, and on the wind up or just plain stupid.
I think it's fairly obvious. He's an idiot. The negative comments regarding this young Irishman's possible move to Rangers here are an embarrassment and quite sickening really. Exactly the same stance which biggotted sections of Northern Ireland's 'supporters' took when Lennon signed for Celtic. Best of luck to Lapira.
youngirish
24/07/2007, 9:05 AM
Sounds like youngirish :)
What would you expect on a celtic board,
best wishes Joe, hope you make it.
In general.
The US u20 squad looked very good at the WC, trashed Poland 6-1 and beat Brazil handy enough. There's even a few college boys on the squad. Time to have a revision about the crap US soccer kids.
Sounds more like Stephen Hunt to me considering he knew the team for one of the previous games before it was announced. Yous are all traitors to the cause btw particularly you new guy with the previous post just before mine who's name I can't be bothered to look up as I'm typing this.
24/07/2007, 9:49 AM
Would you stop with the rubbish and get on topic.
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/display.var.1567307.0.us_ace_sticks_to_his_studies .php
JOSEPH LAPIRA today revealed he couldn't sign for Rangers until January - even if Walter Smith wants to hand him his first pro deal.
The 20-year-old Irish-American striker, US College Player of the Year last season, arrived yesterday at Murray Park for a week's training.
He promptly injured his calf and was back today for treatment.
advertisement
Lapira, capped by Republic of Ireland boss Steve Staunton last May against Ecuador as an amateur, will finish a business management degree at Notre Dame before concentrating on his football career.
He said: "I was offered the chance to train with Rangers and jumped at it. I hurt my calf, so I'm not sure how much they will be able to assess me.
"It doesn't matter too much, though, because I was always going to go back home until the end of the year to finish my studies.
"There is no point going this far and not finishing my studies. In saying that, I would like to play in Europe and it was great yesterday.
"I was maybe going to go to Aberdeen, but I am delighted to come to Rangers and see what happens. I have an EU passport through dual nationality, so I might as well use that to get me into European football."
Smith says Lapira has come here highly recommended, and it's likely an arrangement will be made for him to return early in the New Year.
Smith said: "The lad picked up an injury yesterday, and there will be no quick decision. You have to remember he is still an amateur, but we would like to have a longer look at him."
RogerMilla
24/07/2007, 10:38 AM
"He promptly injured his calf and was back today for treatment."
20 quid says he fails the rangers medical , signs for celtic , puts on 3 stone , scores in every old firm game and becomes the new john hartson .
Best of luck to him , about time an irish ( a citizen of Ireland , i mean) fella played for rangers.
and i will deffo boo him every kick of the ball in a blue jersey!!
24/07/2007, 11:36 AM
The majority support Rangers cause they are their hometown club.
Can you back that up? They have many fans in Northern Ireland, North America and Australia as well as fans from all over Scotland of whom they are not their local club.
Billsthoughts
24/07/2007, 12:09 PM
Can you back that up? They have many fans in Northern Ireland, North America and Australia as well as fans from all over Scotland of whom they are not their local club.
:rolleyes: typical student read about everything - experienced nothing...
Royal rover
24/07/2007, 1:34 PM
as a celtic season ticket holder i say far play to him, times have moved on, if paisley and mcguiness can share the assembly well anything is possible, if it was a choice between Rangers and New England in the MSL i know who i would pick - for him it would be great for his career and it's not if he's 100% irish so F**K it
RogerMilla
24/07/2007, 1:35 PM
for him it would be great for his career and it's not if he's 100% irish so F**K it
course he's 100% irish , sure he has even played for Ireland ! :p
citizenerased
24/07/2007, 1:42 PM
Not one mention of Shelbournes match against Rangers in 1998 been moved to Tranmere because of Rangers fans yet numerous mentions of Love Ulster parades.
No mention of Rangers anti Catholic signing policy and sectarian vice chairman. No mention of Rangers keeper wearing a black armband in memory of a loyalist murderer. No mention of tricolours been burned in Ibrox in the eighties. No mention of Irish players like Roy keane and John O Shea been booed in Ibrox because they were Irish...
I for one couldn't give a toss who Lapira plays for because as far I'm concerned, he isn't an international class player who will never make it. But to see some people in here spout their anti Celtic views while ignoring the fact that Rangers FC actually have an anti Irish agenda is laughable.
`
well said you took the words right out of my mind..
Mayo_Bhoy
24/07/2007, 1:43 PM
dont sing rebel and sectarian songs doesnt cut the ice im afraid. Both pretty much as bad as each other.
Of course rebel songs are sung by many in the Celtic support, but please give an example of sectarian singing?? I wait with bated breath.:rolleyes:
Billsthoughts
24/07/2007, 2:08 PM
"And for all the usual members of the PC everything is fab brigade out there Rangers as a club hate you and everything you stand for. They would ethnically cleanse you, your entire family and all your friends (if you have any) given half a chance." by young irish
that is simply the most ridiculous statement i have ever heard. i wont even ask what your reasoning is behind it
As for tornado's points,
celtic have had broadly the same problems with sectarianism amongst their support as rangers have. hence the continuing initiatives by both clubs and the scottish executive to root it out. the argument that celtic fans dont engage in violence with rangers fans, dont/have never burned union jacks, dont sing rebel and sectarian songs doesnt cut the ice im afraid. Both pretty much as bad as each other.
Also, rangers put a halt to that signing policy long ago, and have since had a catholic captain in Lorenzo Amorouso and a catholic manager in Paul le Guen. They obviously no longer have an anti-irish policy either if they've offered an irish international a trial. Alan maybury was on trial with them before he signed terms at leeds as well.
As for the booing, irish fans have booed players from holland, denmark etc who played for rangers, even though they were very unlikely to know any of the political history. So i dont see how we can claim any moral highground on that issue
That vice chairman got the sack as soon as the video came out, he's a moron.
Andy Goram was a schitzophrenic. Who gives a crap what he did?
Doesnt all of the above answer your questions?
And I had a look thru the thread and I didnt see any anti celtic stuff.
unless of course you think that not hating rangers is anti celtic?
timmy mallet
24/07/2007, 3:02 PM
signs for celtic , puts on 3 stone , scores in every old firm game
The new Paul Byrne, surely...
Hibs4Ever
24/07/2007, 3:03 PM
No mention of Celtic fans booing Ivan Sproule at every single Hibs - Celtic game (even when he was just warming up) because he's a Rangers supporting Northern Ireland protestant
RogerMilla
24/07/2007, 3:05 PM
No mention of Celtic fans booing Ivan Sproule at every single Hibs - Celtic game (even when he was just warming up) because he's a Rangers supporting Northern Ireland protestant
thats a strange one , he should be cheered to the rafters , he always scores against rangers!!
24/07/2007, 3:07 PM
Of course rebel songs are sung by many in the Celtic support, but please give an example of sectarian singing?? I wait with bated breath.:rolleyes:
I suppose if you don't consider any "rebel" songs sectarian then you've rationalised away the possibility of anything sectarian coming out of that quarter.
But the hate filled bileous muck pumped out by the likes of the Wolfe Tones -(who I'm glad to note Celtic FC have barred from official Celtic functions ) that too many out there consider to be happy-go-lucky innocent "rebel" songs are every bit as vile as their loyalist equivalent.
Torn-Ado
24/07/2007, 3:24 PM
Sproule gets booed because he is a filthy player who is always causing trouble during old firm games. Much the same as Neil lennon getting booed everywhere he went in Scotland. Not because he is a protestant from Northern Ireland as you hoped.
Hibs4Ever
24/07/2007, 3:27 PM
Sproule gets booed because he is a filthy player who is always causing trouble during old firm games. Much the same as Neil lennon getting booed everywhere he went in Scotland. Not because he is a protestant from Northern Ireland as you hoped.
Yeah yeah, you keep convincing yourself of that
Good man :rolleyes:
Torn-Ado
24/07/2007, 3:30 PM
Yeah yeah, you keep convincing yourself of that
Good man :rolleyes:
Its true. He gets booed at Ibrox as well for the same reasons. He is one filthy player.
Hibs4Ever
24/07/2007, 3:36 PM
Its true. He gets booed at Ibrox as well for the same reasons. He is one filthy player.
I've only heard him booed once at Ibrox, after he scored a hat trick against the club he grew up supporting it p!ssed off the Rangers fans. How do you know about booing at a Hibs - Rangers match anyway ;)
Celtic fans boo him because of the reasons I stated. FACT
billydoneit
24/07/2007, 3:56 PM
Hello all, my first post on this forum, I have been an interested reader for a couple of years tho'.......:) For what it's worth I say the best of luck to the guy, hopefully this represents another step forward towards normality and away from the bigotry that cost the lives of c2000 people on this island. It's hard to judge ability based on his few minutes in the green but if he turns out to have what it takes I for one will welcome his contribution regardless of the club he plays for. The politics of hatred do not belong in any sport.
billydoneit
Torn-Ado
24/07/2007, 3:58 PM
Doesnt all of the above answer your questions?
And I had a look thru the thread and I didnt see any anti celtic stuff.
unless of course you think that not hating rangers is anti celtic?
Not all my points. What about the Shelbourne game been moved to Liverpool because of their fans. When the Shels chairman had to hide his crest on his jacket when in among their fans. Or the trouble they caused when they played Bohemians in the 80's.
As for comparing the songs been sung, it was Celtic who banned any sectarian songs from their stadium. If (big if) Lapira ever plays for Rangers, anti Irish songs will still be sung as loud and proud as possible in Ibrox. He could well be hit too, with a potatoes thrown from the crowd, in attempt to mock the Irish famine. (This happened after Celtic fans threw beach balls to slag Rangers fans about their final in Seville). As for Donald Findlay being a moron and Andy Goram a schizophrenic as excuses. That doesn't cut it with me. These two held high positions in the club and openly expressed their vile views regardless of their downfalls.
Just so you know, I couldn't care less if Lapira plays for rangers. He is a professional footballer (I'll rephrase that), he is a footballer, therefore it is his prerogative to join clubs and play football for whatever he is worth. I am not a Republican or Sinn feiner etc, I am not saying all Rangers fans are scum and bigots. I have many friends over here who support the gers but I dislike their club immensely. In some of the threads here, a lot of talk was regarding Celtic when Rangers problems was bypassed. Thats basically my point.
ofjames
24/07/2007, 4:02 PM
http://scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/sport.cfm?id=684352006
IRA chants embarrass Celtic chief
ANDREW SMITH
CELTIC chief executive Peter Lawwell has admitted to being "embarrassed" by pro-IRA chanting from the club's supporters at Tynecastle last week and has insisted that moves will be stepped up in a bid to eradicate "a narrow problem".
Conceding that such offensive songs were more in evidence last week than at any other away fixture this season, he nonetheless believes the issue must be separated from recent concerns over sectarianism.
"We have made great strides at Celtic Park and anyone who comes here will not leave with the view that sectarian singing is prevalent," he said. "You will always have some idiots but at Celtic Park it has reached a margin for error that is difficult to wipe out. The problem is 99% resolved at our home games.
"The issue we have is the away support and songs sung in support of the Provisional IRA. These are unacceptable and offensive and last Sunday was embarrassing. They are not overtly sectarian songs, they are political songs that have no place at football. We will be addressing that.
"One of the reasons the away support is still an issue is that it is not within our jurisdiction. You need the local police forces and the local stewarding to identify and then police or eject supporters, or identify to us those that are creating the problem.
"We have ideas about how we can co-operate better with the local authorities that we are going to take to them. I do not think it is a massive problem, however."
24/07/2007, 4:05 PM
while all this discussion of booing Ivan Sproule and Neil Lennon is all well and good, it had sod all to do with Joe Lapira on trial at Rangers.
Get back on topic
Billsthoughts
24/07/2007, 4:15 PM
Not all my points. What about the Shelbourne game been moved to Liverpool because of their fans. When the Shels chairman had to hide his crest on his jacket when in among their fans. Or the trouble they caused when they played Bohemians in the 80's.
. In some of the threads here, a lot of talk was regarding Celtic when Rangers problems was bypassed. Thats basically my point.
I can never think of that game without remembering the famous Dermott Keely qoute..."I thought at 3-0 we had a chance":D
I actually watched it in a bar in greece with a rangers and celtic supporter both from glasgow. was great craic...for about 60 mins. but as far as i remember it was moved due to concerns of potential trouble due to certain events in the north at the time.(am open to correction)
have to say i spent a lot of time in glasgow in the blue half and never came up against the same kinda negative reactions my other blue half came up against over here! a lot of stuff spouted by people who wouldnt even know an actual glaswegian rangers supporter. that would basically be my main point..
youngirish
24/07/2007, 4:18 PM
while all this discussion of booing Ivan Sproule and Neil Lennon is all well and good, it had sod all to do with Joe Lapira on trial at Rangers.
Get back on topic
He's not on trial anymore. He picked up a hamstring injury marching through Drumcree the week before last. Tripped over the top of a trailing umbrella.
24/07/2007, 4:21 PM
Lads, back on topic or I'll have to close this thread. If you want to discuss the Ivan Sproule being booed by Celtic fans, do so here:
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=28672