View Full Version : Joseph Lapira
Well Lapira has an Irish parent. Apparently according to Bobby Clark ex-Aberdeen goalie and his coach at Notre Dame, interviewed on Newstalk106 last night, a lot of US born soccer players at College level who have reasonable ability want to ply their trade in Europe. As US citizens they need to have played in 80% of their country's senior internationals in the previous year before they can get a work permit to play in Europe
That’s the situation in England but its definitely not the case everywhere (Ireland or Belgium for example). The other way they can get a Work Permit to play in England is if they've played 2 years in an EU country (I think its 2 it could be 3)
I love the way people are saying he's a great prospect with absolutely nobody having seen the lad. BTW Brian Byrne wasn't a stand out player when he was with Kildare. If he gets to play, that will be an even bigger disgrace
saw Brian Byrne playing club football at UCSB once, their team is made up entirely of Paddy's, Africans and Mexicans. Byrne's kinda small, right winger, Eircom league standard i reckon.
also Lapira hasnt got his passport in time, so he wont play.
23/05/2007, 10:28 AM
saw Brian Byrne playing club football at UCSB once, their team is made up entirely of Paddy's, Africans and Mexicans. Byrne's kinda small, right winger, Eircom league standard i reckon.
He wasn't premier division standard when he was here...
Metrostars
23/05/2007, 12:33 PM
He cant be all that bad if he won ther Hermann trophy for best college player last year. The likes of Brad Friedel and Claudio Reyna have won that in the past.
Four Eyes
23/05/2007, 1:02 PM
Just checked out the website there for the past winners of the Mac Hermann trophy. Fair play to him getting the award but apart from Friedal, Reyna and Lalas, has anyone heard of anyone else? Researched a few of them to see how their careers are going or went and the majority are playing in the MLS and a few of them went abroad. One fella notably to a second division Swedish team.
This is a downright farce. A college kid who hasnt kicked a football for 2 months may get his debut for Ireland.
i've heard it all now. We're a laughing stock.
23/05/2007, 1:40 PM
Said in the sun if he plays , He will be the first amateur to play for us for 44 years ,
Paddy Garcia
23/05/2007, 4:41 PM
Said in the sun if he plays , He will be the first amateur to play for us for 44 years ,
The sun must have missed the Dutch, San Marino and Cyprus games.
The Legend
23/05/2007, 9:46 PM
Thats why I love Stan, a record breaker! :D
Kivlehan
24/05/2007, 4:11 AM
I was at the Ecuador match and my impression of Lapira's few minutes on the pitch was that he is a very speedy player who deserves another look. Really he didn't have much of an opportunity in the short time he was out there, but I got the sense that if he'd played longer he would have created some interesting chances with his speed. I though Keogh and Long were a waste and I'd rather have seen more time from Lapira and less from them.
I hope he gets another look in the Bolivia match.
You have to question why a clubless unknown amateur gets an International cap. There wouldnt be any well known pimps hanging around the squad would there?
Torn-Ado
24/05/2007, 11:26 AM
Look at the state of the fella.
He's like one of he dukes of hazard ffs
http://www.mac-hermann-trophy.org/Banquet07/banquet10.jpg
SaucyJack
24/05/2007, 12:20 PM
look's like a 70's porn star.
gilberto_eire
24/05/2007, 12:23 PM
This is a downright farce. A college kid who hasnt kicked a football for 2 months may get his debut for Ireland.
i've heard it all now. We're a laughing stock.
its only a mickey mouse cup and sure if we dont play him now then he'll play for the US as he wont get another look in for us for a few yrs!!.......wait till ya see in 2yrs he'll be playing in europe!!
youngirish
24/05/2007, 1:14 PM
its only a mickey mouse cup and sure if we dont play him now then he'll play for the US as he wont get another look in for us for a few yrs!!.......wait till ya see in 2yrs he'll be playing in europe!!
Yeah for Athlone Town.
ken foree
24/05/2007, 1:37 PM
ha, i'd rather that ironic 'do than the boyband frosted locks of many of today's footballers
youngirish
24/05/2007, 1:43 PM
Here's a few more:
http://images.google.co.uk/images?q=justin+lee+collins+pics&hl=en&um=1&sa=X&oi=images&ct=title
24/05/2007, 1:48 PM
Here's a few more:
http://images.google.co.uk/images?q=justin+lee+collins+pics&hl=en&um=1&sa=X&oi=images&ct=title
Lapira will be organising the trip to Bratislava and Prague as part of an E4 special - 'Bring Back the Irish Team'.
Metrostars
24/05/2007, 2:02 PM
At the game last night we were calling him Jesus. "ahh jesus shoot" "score for christ's sake" "jesus save us"
24/05/2007, 2:07 PM
I was at the Ecuador match and my impression of Lapira's few minutes on the pitch was that he is a very speedy player who deserves another look.
Another Alan O'Brien so.
And you're making this assumption on the basis of what exactly?
Torn-Ado
24/05/2007, 2:08 PM
People have to understand that moustaches are not cool.
gilberto_eire
24/05/2007, 2:54 PM
Another Alan O'Brien so.
And you're making this assumption on the basis of what exactly?
well ive been reading about him(obviously no avenue to watch hime) and he's highly rated, whos been scoring goals for fun!!
Highly rated by who. Please provide links if they're online
youngirish
24/05/2007, 2:58 PM
Highly rated by who. Please provide links if they're online
The Friday night project gets decent ratings in fairness for a channel 4 show on a weekend night.
24/05/2007, 3:01 PM
It's embarressing for us to be capping guys like this. Plain and simple. Stan showing yet again that he is so so so out of his depth.
He has only been capped because we were over there, how fcukin unproffesional is that!? IMO it demeans the value of having an international cap.
24/05/2007, 3:08 PM
Agreed.
as_i_say
24/05/2007, 3:15 PM
again i'd say means nothing. so what if he got a cap. he'll most likely never get another one.
john macken, paul butler, goodman. no big deal.
24/05/2007, 3:18 PM
He is the Dawg, the Big Bad Dawg...BOUNTY HUNTER! (http://graphics.fansonly.com/photos/schools/nd/sports/m-soccer/auto_action/797110.jpeg)
Go with Christ, brah.
24/05/2007, 3:58 PM
It's embarressing for us to be capping guys like this. Plain and simple. Stan showing yet again that he is so so so out of his depth.
That first cap aside, which nobody knows if it's a waste or not, Stan did very well last night and didn't look out of his depth.
24/05/2007, 4:08 PM
probably yeah...ive played over there myself and the big D1 schools, such as Notre Dame , Clemson, UC etc have some excellent players
For what it's worth, there's a World Collegiate tournament (or was anyway), which would give you an idea as to how the various set-ups compare. UCD entered once, in 1985, and won the whole thing. We've also had three of our players (Brian Shortall, James Timmons and Hugh Davey) go to the US collegiate system in recent years, and we've signed Shane McFaul from another (Virginia Tech) and Seán Finn has played MLS B, I think. You've quoted some (relatively) good players, and I'm not going to argue that they're eL standard or less, but from what little experience I have, I can't see how the American college set-up would be significantly better than what we have here.
I see actually on Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Lapira) that Lapira's uncle works in the FAI! Let the conspiracy theories begin! Ironically, the last Irish player to play while not fully-pro was the late Willie Browne, a former UCD (and Bohs) stalwart.
24/05/2007, 4:12 PM
Not arsed to read the whole thread. I just want to know is this fella one of the Lapiras of the Lane, or is he anything to the Lapiras from Kilbeg?
24/05/2007, 4:18 PM
He's one of the Merrion Square Lapiras.
24/05/2007, 4:31 PM
Here he is going on about some cup (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6n5ID4w20LI&NR=1)
that he doesn't want. Jesus, what a weirdo.
Metrostars
24/05/2007, 5:07 PM
Besides his few minutes last night noone has seen him play so we dont have any real idea how good he is. Let's see if he goes to some club in Europe or joins MLS next year before making assumptions.
Metrostars
24/05/2007, 7:15 PM
Ronnie O'Brien (Toronto), Bryan Byrne (New England), Michael Parkhurst (New England) and Joe Lapira (Notre Dame) were all invited to train with the squad.
I think this puts to bed any ideas about Parkhurst playing for Ireland (called up for US in the Concacaf Gold Cup):
GOALKEEPERS (3) – Brad Guzan (Chivas USA), Tim Howard (Everton FC), Kasey Keller (Borussia Moenchengladbach)
DEFENDERS (8) –Carlos Bocanegra (Fulham FC), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Jay DeMerit (Watford FC), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew), Oguchi Onyewu (Standard de Liege), Michael Parkhurst (New England Revolution), Frank Simek (Sheffield Wednesday), Jonathan Spector (West Ham United)
MIDFIELDERS (8) – DaMarcus Beasley (PSV Eindhoven), Michael Bradley (SC Heerenveen), Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo), Clint Dempsey (Fulham FC), Benny Feilhaber (Hamburger SV), Justin Mapp (Chicago Fire), Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids), Steve Ralston (New England Revolution)
FORWARDS (4) – Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Eddie Johnson (Kansas City Wizards), Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
Head Coach: Bob Bradley
http://www.ussoccer.com/articles/viewArticle.jsp_281956.html
24/05/2007, 7:21 PM
One positive from his sub appearance was that he kept Alan O'Brien benched.
It's possible that Stan was sending a cruel messsage Stan style to the reluctant Ronnie.
I was at the Ecuador match and my impression of Lapira's few minutes on the pitch was that he is a very speedy player who deserves another look..
First touch ok, second touch good, third touch boots it 30 yards ahead of the forward he was aiming for. :D
If he is fast he can take up athletics. How the feck can you think baded on 3 minutes he "worth another look"? :eek:
I suppose Stan achieved his goal of ensuring he can't be snapped up by any other International team now. :o
danonion
24/05/2007, 9:48 PM
I think most of you are ignorant to the level of quality (or lack of perhaps) that College Soccer has in the United States. I don't mean to use the word ignorant pejoratively, but comparing it Leinster senior league is probably a bit megalomaniacal.
A decent number of players go on to have wonderful soccer careers, I watch every St. John's University game and some of the players are dirt, but others certainly have the potential to play in Europe, possibly working their way up the highest level.
Rather than complain about the lad getting a cap, why not view it more philosophically? If he turns into a great/good/useable player, he's ours; if he doesn't, he was just a late substitute in a game that by next year nobody will remember.
Not wanting to take this to EalingG lengths, as an aside, I really enjoyed the game just because the Ecuadorians made it a party (as much as I detest Mexican Waves) I got a bit too drunk in the parking lot and missed the bus, but some Ecuadorians drove me and the fella I was with back to Sunnyside, after about ten coronas or so. Anyone who hasn't seen Doyle live is missing out, as great a goalscorer he is, his movement is really top class off the ball.
Besides his few minutes last night noone has seen him play so we dont have any real idea how good he is. Let's see if he goes to some club in Europe or joins MLS next year before making assumptions.
Fair enough but that is when he should be considered for a call up.
fergalr
24/05/2007, 10:00 PM
What has this college boy ever done to deserve a cap repesenting our country? Its a kick in the teeth to every eL player and every Irish pro footie player who would give anything to play for their country. Its simply shameful.
Qwerty
24/05/2007, 10:15 PM
You guys would find something wrong with paradise! this trip is out of the ordinary, 11 new caps last night, surely the last time that happened was when Ireland first played an international??!!??
The days of caps meaning something are long gone, look at the numbers of players the All Blacks have capped in the last 5 years, must be 50% of the NPC and 90% of the Super 14 players. Brazil and Argentina also cap dozens of players. And remember this is Ireland we are talking about.
So what if he is a one cap wonder, he is obviously a fine player and if nothing more it is a nice gesture to Irish-Americans. It may be the start of something big. I'm actually surprised he was interested in playing for us, Americans are highly patriotic.
24/05/2007, 10:25 PM
It would be a wonder if there were any teeth left in the EL with all the perceived kicks. Toothless but plenty of chips.
24/05/2007, 10:43 PM
BTW Ryan Guy was drafted at 22 out of the US collegiate system (by FC Dallas). He barely makes the Pats bench
25/05/2007, 7:50 AM
Good point - that appears to be why Stan doesn't bother looking at eL players for the most part, and waits until they get a chance to play for a reserve team somewhere else!
Manc Irish Wolf
25/05/2007, 9:26 AM
Have to agree with Qwerty. Can't see the problem with playing Lapira. It doesn't matter what standard he's currently playing at, but how good he is and what potential he has. Irish fans may well have been complaining if we'd picked up Brian McBride 15 years ago in similar circumstances, but wouldn't now. I'm not saying that he will reach this standard, however he obviously has potential, so is worth a punt.
25/05/2007, 9:35 AM
When Stan calls up eLOI players for B internationals it's lip service / token gesture / Devlin pimping. When they're left out it's a disgrace.
I hope Gamble gets a game and plays well.
I'd like to have seen O'Donovan travel, I think he deserves it, but there's plenty of time.
25/05/2007, 11:48 AM
Is this his final year at Notre Dame? Is he going to go for some trials anywhere? I can't imagine any decent enough club signing him without a trial, it could be a tedious task.
Isn't he about the same age as McGeady?
25/05/2007, 12:04 PM
Have to agree with Qwerty. Can't see the problem with playing Lapira. It doesn't matter what standard he's currently playing at, but how good he is and what potential he has.
The thing is though Stan has never seen him play and has no idea how good he is. From that award thing he won no player that won it (going back to 2000) has won a cap for America, bar one fella who only got one.
RogerMilla
25/05/2007, 12:12 PM
yeah well at least the man turned up not like so many of our players who fell over themselves making excuses not to get a cap for ireland. They are the ones who have devalued it ( if indeed it is devalued). Fair play to joey lapira and to all the lads who sweated out on that pitch on wednesday night. Heres to his first goal for Ireland!!