View Full Version : el Related Books

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

20/04/2007, 8:51 AM
WHERE WERE YOU HIDING THIS THREAD !!!!
In addition to books listed, heres a few more:-
1. "A History of Derry City Football and Athletic Club" 1929-1972 by W.H.W. Platt.
A season by season review throughout their Irish League membership.
2. "A Record of League of Ireland Football" 1921/22-1984/85 by Niall Macsweeney
Season by season record of league games, tables, and all Cups (Including Leinster & Munster Cups)
3. "Football in the Republic of Ireland, a statistical record 1921-2004" by Alex Graham.
Full rcord of games and tables, NB. FAI Cup scores only from Q/finals-FINAL
4. "ASSOCIATION FOOTBALL and society in pre-partition Ireland" by Neal Garnham
A very interesting read re development of the game in Ireland, but best feature is about the establishment of FAI.
5. "Eddie Mahon's Derry City"- A pictorial history of club, with articles
6. "75th Anniversary of Cup Campaigns" a review of Derry City Successful Cup Campaigns.
7. "How the League was won" a review of Derry City's Irish League campaign of 1964/65.
Below Eircom League Level (Non-League),
1. "50 years of the Cork AUL League 1947-1997" by Plunkett Carter
A detailed histoy of the league.
2."Between the Picket Fences- a history of the MSL since 1922" (1999) by Gerry Desmond & Dave Galvin
Detailed history (as you would expect) of league.
3. "Boots Rules & Fantasy Free- a history of Mayo Football" by Tom Kelly
(1996)- A history of soccer in Mayo and Mayo League.
In addition a guy from Dun Laoghaire (name escapes me) did 2 books on the detailed histories of the LFA and LSL, to tie in with their Centenaries (early 90's).

You wouldn't have ISBN numbers for any of these would you?

historynut
20/04/2007, 8:52 AM
In addition, I collect historic books on Irish Soccer(South & North). Very interested in picking up copies of following:-
1. Books by Plunkett Carter "From the Lodge to the Box-miscellany of Cork Soccer, and "Evening Echo"a Century of Cork Soccer Memories"
2. "Strings of my Harps" by Patsy McGowan- History of Finn Harps
3. Guess these will be tall orders- any copies out there re "History of Waterford" by Tom Read 1967, and "Limerick at Markets Field 1937-1984"
4. Memory recall sure books on LSL & LFA by guy of name of DODDS, again any copies out there ?
Will be travelling throughout Ireland as from early May, please contact me by PM, re cost required. Appreciate any help in obtaining above requests.

historynut
20/04/2007, 8:56 AM
A FACE,
Could you PM telephone no, will phone you, with details.

scottish_bohs
20/04/2007, 9:12 AM
Thanks for that link. I ordered the who stole our game one... sounds exactly what I was looking for.

20/04/2007, 9:47 AM
In addition, I collect historic books on Irish Soccer(South & North). Very interested in picking up copies of following:-
1. Books by Plunkett Carter "From the Lodge to the Box-miscellany of Cork Soccer, and "Evening Echo"a Century of Cork Soccer Memories"
2. "Strings of my Harps" by Patsy McGowan- History of Finn Harps
3. Guess these will be tall orders- any copies out there re "History of Waterford" by Tom Read 1967, and "Limerick at Markets Field 1937-1984"
4. Memory recall sure books on LSL & LFA by guy of name of DODDS, again any copies out there ?
Will be travelling throughout Ireland as from early May, please contact me by PM, re cost required. Appreciate any help in obtaining above requests.

The history of Waterford was in the 70's I think and the author was Tony Reid.

Joe Dodds did 2 books if I recall correctly - "Soccer in the Borough" - a history of football in Dun Laoighaire and the 2nd one was a history of the Leinster Football Association.

I should have spare copies of the LFA one and the Limerick one. Plunkett may still have copies ofr sale too of his books. He is a mine of info on Cork's football history.

historynut
20/04/2007, 9:55 AM
Cheers gspain, viewed Dodds books in National Libary in Dublin, forgot about one on "SOCCER IN THE bOROUGH", thats 3 he did, (History of LFA, and history of LSL).
As stated travel through Ireland during summer, will you PM me so contact can be made and details of cost. P. Carter would really love to get copies.

historynut
20/04/2007, 9:57 AM
gspain- sorry pressed wrong key- Do you know contact details for P.Carter ?

20/04/2007, 10:48 AM
3. "Football in the Republic of Ireland, a statistical record 1921-2004" by Alex Graham.
Full rcord of games and tables, NB. FAI Cup scores only from Q/finals-FINAL

You wouldn't have ISBN numbers for any of these would you?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1862231133/qid%3D1119959211/026-8730713-5870812

historynut
20/04/2007, 12:21 PM
Especially for AFACE as requested, and cheers to SCHUMI (not a fellow taff ?)for posting A Graham's book's details. Note he's also done one on Northern Ireland 1881-2005, which contains IFA Cup details, though only from Q/final onwards, list "Republic" clubs that reached that stage pre 1921. Also notes Bohs,Shels & Tritonville IL league records (BTW did not Tritonville play at "Jones Road" which was old name for Croke Park, also Bohs before they settled at Daly. Park.- see where I'm going !).
If interested IL book details are-
isbn no.-1-86223-136-2
Publishers Soccer Books ltd- 72 St. Peter's Ave. Grimsby, NE Lincs, uk, DN35 8HU, (TEL 0472696226).
They arre 1st class soccer book dealers, though got my copy Easons,Derry. Sure both books could be ordered from good Easons store.
History of Derry City by WHW Platt
isbn-0 950 1953 2 4, published by author, printers- Coleraine Printing Co., published 1986 (got my copy antique market, Derry, where others available, also 2nd hand shops)
BOOTS RULES & FANTASY FREE (MAYO Soccer history) by Tom Kelly
Printed and published 1996 by Connaught Telegraph as TK journalist at paper, got my copy at source.
A RECORD OF LEAGUE OF IRELAND FOOTBALL 1921/22-1984/85 by Niall Macsherry
Was a publication by "The Association of Football Statisticians", A Grahams is really an update, though this one contained all additional cups as mentioned prev.(inc Leinster & Munster Cups).
ASSOCIATION FOOTBALL and society in pre-partition Ireland by Neal Garnham
isbn-1-903688-34-5
published 2004 by Ulster Historical Foundation
Know Easons have carried this previously, personally cannot reccomend this one high enough to those of you interested in history and development of soccer in Ireland, during this period, especially re split betwen FAI & IFA.
50 YEARS OF CORK AUL-Plunkett Carter
isbn-0-9531933-0-6
Published by Cork AUL 1997
BETWEN THE PICKET FENCES(History of MSL since 1922)
No isbn, published by MSL 1999, got my copy direct from authors.
The 3 books on Derry dont contain isbn or publishers details, though sure can be obtained from his shop (if still there !), behnd city walls opposite City Hall,2-3 doors down from Tower Museum. Maybe a Derry resident on forum could confirm.
Also overlooked "INISHOWEN SENIOR SOCCER PLAYERS" an A4 size publication, of snapshots of players from area who've made grade at EL.IL & FL, levels. Author Michael McLaughlin, printed by Browne Printers Letterkenny.,Know stocked in Easons, Derry & Ltt/knny, where I got mine.
Trust this of use.

historynut
20/04/2007, 12:24 PM
Re 3 Derry books- his shop being Eddie Mahon's

30/06/2007, 2:17 PM
Would ye recommend reading "Who stole our game?". Thinking of buying it. How old is it?

30/06/2007, 2:22 PM
Would ye recommend reading "Who stole our game?". Thinking of buying it. How old is it?

Steal it!

02/07/2007, 1:06 AM

I'd definitely recommend it. A great read - I read it immediately when I bought it, I literally couldn't put it down. It only came out last year.

02/07/2007, 9:06 PM
I'd definitely recommend it. A great read - I read it immediately when I bought it, I literally couldn't put it down. It only came out last year.

Definitely buy it and read it cover to cover .... it seriously is a must for anyone that supports or is involved in Irish Domestic football at any level. Very well put together.

Lads, i'll try and get round to these updates soon, just a bit up the walls at the moment.

Paddyfield
02/07/2007, 9:33 PM
I bought a book called Athlone Town - the first 101 years in St Mel's in the early 90's. It's probably still in my parents house with about a few hundred match programmes.

02/07/2007, 9:36 PM
I bought a book called Athlone Town - the first 101 years in St Mel's in the early 90's. It's probably still in my parents house with about a few hundred match programmes.

If you get a chance, will you put up some details on it?

Paddyfield
02/07/2007, 9:43 PM
If you get a chance, will you put up some details on it?

I will dig it out unless an Athlone fan can put up the info before me.

Slightly off topic:
In Robbie Fowler's autobiography, he bemoans Alan Gough for injuring him in a pre season friendly that kept Fowler out of football for months. :o

Larry 'da' Wyse
03/07/2007, 8:58 AM
Have a copy of it mesef. Don't think they got it ready for the centenary of the club. Some good photos along with good reports from the games. Recommend it

Author Lynch, Frank
TITLE : A history of Athlone Town F.C. : the first 101 years / by
Frank Lynch.
IMPRINT : Athlone : Frank Lynch, 1991.
COLLATION : 399p. : ill. ; 21cm.
SUBJECT : Athlone Town Football Club -- History

13/08/2007, 12:31 AM
Title : The Garrison Game - The State of Irish Football
Author : Dave Hannigan
ISBN : 1 85158 980 5
Publication Date : 1998
Format : Hardback - 190 pages
Size : A5
Publisher : Mainstream Publishing (UK).

Purchase : Second-hand in London !

Synopsis : Looks primaruily at the international game, from the day Jack Charlton took over up to 1998 - althouhg the Introduction (18 pages long) contains a number of references to EL clubs.

Mod: This has been added now.

jmurphyc
30/11/2007, 5:31 PM
Just recently finished reading Daire Whelan's "Who Stole Our Game?" on the recommendation of this board and it was an excellent read. Thanks a lot lads; one of the best football books I've read.

Also there's a new book coming out next week about Drogheda United by Tom Reilly called Drogheda United - The Story So Far.

30/11/2007, 7:25 PM
Also there's a new book coming out next week about Drogheda United by Tom Reilly called Drogheda United - The Story So Far.

If you are buying it can you scan the cover and give us the details of it?

jmurphyc
30/11/2007, 7:39 PM
No prob. Won't be getting it for a few weeks though.

HarpsinDublin
30/11/2007, 8:33 PM

Any ideas on when this will be out and how to get hold of it?

A history of Finn Harps is to be published in March.

30/11/2007, 10:04 PM
Have a copy of it mesef. Don't think they got it ready for the centenary of the club. Some good photos along with good reports from the games. Recommend it

Author Lynch, Frank
TITLE : A history of Athlone Town F.C. : the first 101 years / by
Frank Lynch.
IMPRINT : Athlone : Frank Lynch, 1991.
COLLATION : 399p. : ill. ; 21cm.
SUBJECT : Athlone Town Football Club -- History

Can someone scan the cover of this?

30/11/2007, 10:08 PM
Any ideas on when this will be out and how to get hold of it?

A history of Finn Harps is to be published in March.

Lads, just one point to note on all of this. There is a huge amount of effort goes into putting a book together (you wouldn't believe) so THE single most important thing is finding out how people can buy the books. Alot of the time it could make of break them, so please try and supply info on that side of things.

Buy the books people

30/11/2007, 10:30 PM
gspain- sorry pressed wrong key- Do you know contact details for P.Carter ?

Sending a PM

historynut
30/11/2007, 11:11 PM
Seen only recently a book on e-bay "The Freestaters". Seems as though it may be a record of Internationals.
Anybody got details

historynut
01/12/2007, 3:50 AM
Is this book on Drogheda a detailed history of the club ? dating back to 1963 ? or 1919 ? or even the first possible teams in the town 1890's/1900's.
I actually noticed a number of threads posted by an "Oliver Cromwell" cancelled.
Surely oc and Drogheda are two names that do not go hand in hand !
To Cosmos and other claret & blues belated congrats on success over last 2 seasons.

01/12/2007, 10:13 AM
Is this book on Drogheda a detailed history of the club ? dating back to 1963 ? or 1919 ? or even the first possible teams in the town 1890's/1900's.
I actually noticed a number of threads posted by an "Oliver Cromwell" cancelled.
Surely oc and Drogheda are two names that do not go hand in hand !
To Cosmos and other claret & blues belated congrats on success over last 2 seasons.

Mod edit: There is a thread in Support, subscribe to it regarding the missing thread. I don't have time to deal with this (unless another mod wants to take it up) so i'll be deleting everything unless its in the Support forum.

I think its every season from 1919

Its launched on tuesday http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts/Article.asp?ArticleID=1289

HarpsinDublin
01/12/2007, 12:11 PM
Lads, just one point to note on all of this. There is a huge amount of effort goes into putting a book together (you wouldn't believe) so THE single most important thing is finding out how people can buy the books. Alot of the time it could make of break them, so please try and supply info on that side of things.

Buy the books people

Finn Harps History Book.

The book can be pre-booked see www.finnharps.com (http://www.finnharps.com) for details. On the right hand side of the opening page there is a link on how to pre-order and subscribe.

The book will not be published until March as the 2007 season went on to long for Harps! and it wasnt possible to have it out in time for the Xmas market. Book will be launched after the first home game in Ballybofey next season.

06/01/2008, 6:25 PM
Does anyone know how much Mud, Sweat and Jeers (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=594997&postcount=15) is to buy?

07/01/2008, 8:00 AM
€10 plus P&P.
Available from Jim himself. (Marty got in contact with him a while back.)
I havent got around to getting it yet but I'll definately get it soon.

Actually, just sent off for it there now cos it was fresh in my mind :)

seand
08/04/2008, 11:39 AM
The Robin Brewett one...

Brendan Menton Home Farm book...

seand
08/04/2008, 11:40 AM
And Rod DeKhors!

seand
02/05/2008, 12:05 PM
not exactly a book, but Dundalk produced an 88-page magazine/programme for last night's game against Kildare to commemorate the 1988 double.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/News/080429_1988.asp

02/05/2008, 3:24 PM
not exactly a book, but Dundalk produced an 88-page magazine/programme for last night's game against Kildare to commemorate the 1988 double.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/News/080429_1988.asp

are dundalk sellin this publication on their website does anyone know?

seand
08/05/2008, 12:48 PM
are dundalk sellin this publication on their website does anyone know?

A complete sell-out on the night, and a lot of disappointed fans. The Trust are looking at doing a reprint, I'll give more details (with the permission of the mods!) if that comes to fruition

11/05/2008, 11:20 PM
A complete sell-out on the night, and a lot of disappointed fans. The Trust are looking at doing a reprint, I'll give more details (with the permission of the mods!) if that comes to fruition

How many was the first run ? I'd like a copy myself.

21/03/2009, 7:20 AM
http://www.libertiespress.com/index.php?option=com_cartage&main_page=product_info&cPath=4&products_id=62

Spotted this in the IT during the week.

Anyone know any bookshops which have it in stock?

21/03/2009, 1:32 PM
http://www.libertiespress.com/index.php?option=com_cartage&main_page=product_info&cPath=4&products_id=62

Spotted this in the IT during the week.

Anyone know any bookshops which have it in stock?

maribor if you are able to find out where you get this book can you let me know please??

GlasnevinRed
21/03/2009, 2:17 PM
They'll be selling the book in the club shop as of this Friday afaik. Not sure where else you may be able to get.

seand
21/03/2009, 3:01 PM
They'll be selling the book in the club shop as of this Friday afaik. Not sure where else you may be able to get.

Click on the link above and you can buy online

21/03/2009, 3:22 PM
And the award for stating the obvious.......

I asked about bookshops with it.

22/03/2009, 7:16 PM

didnt realise this is a new book. I assume they can post it out to me if I post Shels a cheque by post??

GlasnevinRed
22/03/2009, 9:12 PM
You'd probably be best to order online from the above link or else you could ask on Shelsweb if they could post it out.

23/03/2009, 1:21 PM

Even to Limerick fans? :D

GlasnevinRed
24/03/2009, 1:11 PM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=1147

From Bulawayo to Ballybough

Shelbourne Cult Heroes

by Sean Fitzpatrick

will be launched by

Lord Mayor of Dublin,
Councillor Eibhlin Byrne.

tomorrow evening and will be available at the Limerick game on Friday next, price €15

Battery Rover
06/04/2009, 3:00 PM
When We Were Kings

More details http://www.athlonetownfc.ie/?p=628

Battery Rover
20/04/2009, 10:04 AM
Just an update to the post above.

When We Were Kings

ISBN: 978-0-9562111-0-1

Have finished reading the book and it is an excellent publication with plenty of little known facts

Available by emailing whenwewerekings@ireland.com

atfconline
16/10/2013, 5:58 PM
Two new books looking to be out for Christmas.

In Rod We Trust by Kevin O'Neill and A Dundalk FC Miscellany by Jim Murphy (http://www.dundalkfc.com/a-dundalk-miscellany-new-history-book-seeks-support/)

http://since1887.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/InRodWeTrust.jpg