View Full Version : Football in Shannon
Pages :
[
11]
brutus
05/04/2007, 10:21 AM
lads the match was 2 days ago,its over and done with,shannon town got the 3 points,unlucky park for there efforts but theres no point on go on about it anymore its done and dusted.
smellyfeet
05/04/2007, 10:58 AM
lads the match was 2 days ago,its over and done with,shannon town got the 3 points,unlucky park for there efforts but theres no point on go on about it anymore its done and dusted.
How many days do you think people should talk about a football game?
Just the day of the game or would you allow for it to be continued the day after:rolleyes:
brutus
05/04/2007, 11:33 AM
How many days do you think people should talk about a football game?
Just the day of the game or would you allow for it to be continued the day after:rolleyes:
Theres more bithchn go on if anything if you read it;)
Lev Yashin
05/04/2007, 3:46 PM
What about packie d'arcy all he did was kick people all day. Fergal wanted to take home a Park jersey the way he was pulling out of people.There aint nothing better than a physical match but some of the tackles put in mostly on your behalf were terrible. But are you saying you condone the way your side went about playing. What do you mean came down a level?. Your side had 3 shots the whole game thats all surely if your that good ye can win by playing football. If thats the way you like to win football matches thats just sad. The lad in question didnt say he hoped we go down he insulted the whole club and showed his intelligence which is something he obviously lacks.
Will you stop!!! in all honesty kicking one another is one thing ......and i dont think he is about to start...i think you would want to think about what your saying before you say it...as for packie and fergal well look you give as good as you get dont you...there were bad tackles from both teams. As for only three shots..you gotta make them count dont you..and we are lucky enough to have a stiker who will score goals given the chance.
parkfan
05/04/2007, 6:05 PM
want to think about what your saying before you say it...as for packie and fergal well look you give as good as you get dont you...there were bad tackles from both teams. As for only three shots..you gotta make them count dont you..and we are lucky enough to have a stiker who will score goals given the chance.
Ah look don't worry I'm only winding you up. No-body likes losing a local derby especially not one that has been so hotly contested by both sides. At the end of day there was an awful lot at stake for both sides for us it may easily have put the final nail in the coffin of our relegation battle for your side it could mean promotion. I've always said that you get what you deserve we didn’t lose the game because of a few tackles you have to take your chances to win. Park have always recognised good players and I don't see how that could be any different with Ger.
Lev Yashin
05/04/2007, 7:55 PM
Ger could be seen a bit confrontational at times but I think thats because of all the heading he does maybe he done it accidently in Parks favour a player did go down early on after a clash of heads with him if I remember right your manager tended to him. The player in question might have seen that as unfair usually the players shake hands after an such an incident and thats it. I know a few of the lads at Park and I dont think they are like that. They can go on a bit alright. But you have to understand what this result means for the future of Park, Course they are going to be upset and blame everyone but themselves. I think all the players did shake hands at the end all of you should be man enough to accept a bit of banter afterwards.
oh your right we did all shake hands and i know for a fact that a few of us said we hope they dont go down..and i know that losing a derby match hurts beleive me ive been on the end of loses. i have respect for park and the players, but a loss to us isn't was has them in the position they are in.
old git
10/04/2007, 3:07 PM
oh your right we did all shake hands and i know for a fact that a few of us said we hope they dont go down..and i know that losing a derby match hurts beleive me ive been on the end of loses. i have respect for park and the players, but a loss to us isn't was has them in the position they are in.
had ye any match at the weekend :ball:
Lev Yashin
10/04/2007, 3:25 PM
had ye any match at the weekend :ball:
no. supposed to be playing aisling in the lawson, but called off something about not being able to get a ref.
old git
10/04/2007, 4:19 PM
no. supposed to be playing aisling in the lawson, but called off something about not being able to get a ref.
when is your next league game
Lev Yashin
10/04/2007, 4:36 PM
when is your next league game
Wembley away thursday night. big one.
Offside
08/05/2007, 9:13 AM
Well lads I've returned. Sad to see Newtown out of the league but glad to see their in the semi-final of the cup. Park and Olympic are down and Shannon Town didn't get promoted. A poor year for junior football in Shannon this year imo. Anyone any idea when the Tucker tournament starts this year? Is there a way of registering a team or do you have to be invited into it?
brutus
08/05/2007, 12:15 PM
Anyone any idea when the Tucker tournament starts this year? Is there a way of registering a team or do you have to be invited into it?
I think it starts in the middle of june,if you want to register a team,you need to go to tom prendergast,john bryant or micky smith.They are the lads that organise the competition.
Lev Yashin
03/07/2007, 8:10 AM
who is going where??!?!?!:confused:
shelbourne1904
03/07/2007, 11:20 AM
Newtown schoolboys start their new Clare summer football season next Tuesday.(you have to ignore the rainthough):cool:
Offside
03/07/2007, 2:10 PM
Anyone know where the players from Olympic are off to or are they staying after all? I'd say there might be a few new faces at rineanna next year..
brutus
03/07/2007, 3:28 PM
Anyone know where the players from Olympic are off to or are they staying after all? I'd say there might be a few new faces at rineanna next year..
Maybe the rinanna manager might get a few olympic lads,the lads he bought down to olympic himself,besides why would they want to play in the 1st division if there getting asked to play in the premier.imo
old git
09/07/2007, 12:19 PM
who is going where??!?!?!:confused:
park rangers are on the hunt for talent .. dermot finnan ex fairview is new manager & i have heard a few newtown lads are being chased
david egan . the devaney brothers but again it may only be pub rumours .. :ball:
Lev Yashin
10/07/2007, 12:20 PM
is the whole......which is better debate about to start again?
but i take your point i cant imagine anyone wanting to pay 1b in limerick...having played in it myself it is a horrible league...kick and run stuff.
the hoops
10/07/2007, 12:24 PM
jamie cullen+eddie estinov going to park from pike both couldnt get a game last year
old git
10/07/2007, 12:35 PM
why would lads play 1b in limerick instead of premier in clare????
heard they were unhappy with lack of games with newtown !!!:ball:
brutus
10/07/2007, 1:54 PM
I was talking to 2 of the lads and they were unhappy with lack of games,management called up bunch of youths for last 2 or 3 games of the season,4 out of the six started and the 3 of the A team players where left stunned just sitting on the bench with no reason why they werent involved.
Side Cutter
10/07/2007, 2:24 PM
Better referees:D
shelbourne1904
10/07/2007, 4:27 PM
Better referees:D
Better Limerick referees who dont like Shannon teams!!
Check the Wesley Webb!!!!
Lev Yashin
10/07/2007, 6:28 PM
Better Limerick referees who dont like Shannon teams!!Check the Wesley Webb!!!!
too true it is a major problem, the treatment teams from shannon get in limerick is a disgrace...i have also heard from someone who has played with park and shannon town that shannon town get it alot worse...now that is only second hand information so not sure how true it is but i do know how shannon town are treated by SOME referee's and it is deplorable
old git
12/07/2007, 8:03 AM
I was talking to 2 of the lads and they were unhappy with lack of games,management called up bunch of youths for last 2 or 3 games of the season,4 out of the six started and the 3 of the A team players where left stunned just sitting on the bench with no reason why they werent involved.
anybody confirm 3-4 newtown lads trained with park rangers earleir in the week .. :ball::ball: did not hear any names so it may be the usuall rumours
brutus
12/07/2007, 9:22 AM
anybody confirm 3-4 newtown lads trained with park rangers earleir in the week .. :ball::ball: did not hear any names so it may be the usuall rumours
Ya 3 players went down to see what it was like,tom o hare,David Egan,julian woods and bj cantillon,doesnt mean there are joining doh,newtown training on dis evening the lads will still turn up for that.
Dermot finnan rang these lads and asked would they just come down for a look.
old git
12/07/2007, 10:42 AM
Ya 3 players went down to see what it was like,tom o hare,David Egan,julian woods and bj cantillon,doesnt mean there are joining doh,newtown training on dis evening the lads will still turn up for that.
doesnt mean they are also signing for newtown .. doh must be intrested in leaving if they went down to park for a look..
must have liked the look as they stayed & played a full match...
not very fair or newtown or park .. players should know by now who they are signing for .. instead of messing around 2 clubs .:ball:
manalishi
12/07/2007, 11:22 AM
just shows the stupidity of those who thwarted the amalgamation.Some of the guys mentioned couldnt get out of bed for games last year and now they are in a position to pick which club they can let down this year!!!And worse still the clubs have to court them.
Sad situation.Whichever of the clubs looses out inthis battle will be in serious trouble this year as there are not enough players around anymore and it is getting even worse if you judge by the fact that there was only one youths and 17s team in Shannon and surrounds this year.
Somethings gotta give!!!!!
brutus
12/07/2007, 11:45 AM
doesnt mean they are also signing for newtown .. doh must be intrested in leaving if they went down to park for a look..
must have liked the look as they stayed & played a full match...
not very fair or newtown or park .. players should know by now who they are signing for .. instead of messing around 2 clubs .:ball:
old git every player has to look out for his best interest,if a player knows he has the quality to be part of a team and isnt getting a look in,while training twice a week and seen players not be at training at all,but will always start on a sunday morning,its a shambles,has nothing to do with being fair to newtown or park.
Lev Yashin
12/07/2007, 12:21 PM
old git every player has to look out for his best interest,if a player knows he has the quality to be part of a team and isnt getting a look in,while training twice a week and seen players not be at training at all,but will always start on a sunday morning,its a shambles,has nothing to do with being fair to newtown or park.
this happens at all clubs....as some players know they wont be dropped regardless of how little they train or how little work they put in.
as for players going down to see the set up at park...i dont see anything wrong with that but as far as im concerned they are playing in 1b in limerick which is a league of hoofing the ball and running after it...
brutus
12/07/2007, 1:19 PM
this happens at all clubs....as some players know they wont be dropped regardless of how little they train or how little work they put in.
as for players going down to see the set up at park...i dont see anything wrong with that but as far as im concerned they are playing in 1b in limerick which is a league of hoofing the ball and running after it...
That true about hoofing the ball and running after it,but the lads down in park arent going to be looking at it like that,for such a big club,a premier club for years,there after getting in dermot finnan in to get to club where it belongs,so the lads who play this season in 1b,they wont be thinking about anything but playing football on the deck and getting the club back in track.:ball:
Brazil Nut
12/07/2007, 1:29 PM
Dermot finnan rang these lads and asked would they just come down for a look.[/QUOTE]
What do players have on their mind when they say their going down for a look? They all know what the pitches are like, changing facilities etc. They know what league/division they will be playing in depending on WHO THEY CHOOSE:rolleyes: and dont tell me players will be looking at the quality of training because if their not playing they wont be happy no matter how good training is. Therefore players going down for a look is IMO purely scoping out will they get a game week in week out. The thing i dont understand is all these lads go from club to club together. Surely they understand their is only 11 places on any team. I know they might be friends or whatever but if they all cant make it at one club the likelihood is they all wont make it at the other!
Brazil Nut
12/07/2007, 1:37 PM
Fair point but it's a vicous circle. Some players work away from home, are in college, work eve etc. While it's true a manager only plays these lads because their good players if they wern't they definitely wouldn't be playing and lads that are not as good maybe training twice a week and not getting the game on a sunday. But i guarantee you those lads will have got their chance at some stage and didn't impress or were just not good enough. The manager will obviously play his best 11 as long as lads are not taking the mick.
Hacker what is your opinion on the above would you agree??
old git
12/07/2007, 1:38 PM
every club is the same ... only 11 can start... manager deceides
unfortunatly it also means players starting who have not trained this has been going on for years .. and it will be no differnt at park rangers of course dermot finnan will bull**** players about definatly starting every week .. but you know & i know this won't happen :ball:
brutus
12/07/2007, 2:00 PM
What do players have on their mind when they say their going down for a look? They all know what the pitches are like, changing facilities etc. They know what league/division they will be playing in depending on WHO THEY CHOOSE:rolleyes: and dont tell me players will be looking at the quality of training because if their not playing they wont be happy no matter how good training is. Therefore players going down for a look is IMO purely scoping out will they get a game week in week out. The thing i dont understand is all these lads go from club to club together. Surely they understand their is only 11 places on any team. I know they might be friends or whatever but if they all cant make it at one club the likelihood is they all wont make it at the other![/QUOTE]
I have to disagree with your bit at the end,its nothing to do with friends changing clubs together is nonsense,this is junior football now,not schoolboys if a player goes to club he not looking behind to see whos following,thats nonsense a player goes to a club for his own and best interest,
friends dont give a crap about who is playing or not,everyman for himself on the pitch for there club.
old git
12/07/2007, 2:29 PM
What do players have on their mind when they say their going down for a look? They all know what the pitches are like, changing facilities etc. They know what league/division they will be playing in depending on WHO THEY CHOOSE:rolleyes: and dont tell me players will be looking at the quality of training because if their not playing they wont be happy no matter how good training is. Therefore players going down for a look is IMO purely scoping out will they get a game week in week out. The thing i dont understand is all these lads go from club to club together. Surely they understand their is only 11 places on any team. I know they might be friends or whatever but if they all cant make it at one club the likelihood is they all wont make it at the other!
I have to disagree with your bit at the end,its nothing to do with friends changing clubs together is nonsense,this is junior football now,not schoolboys if a player goes to club he not looking behind to see whos following,thats nonsense a player goes to a club for his own and best interest,
friends dont give a crap about who is playing or not,everyman for himself on the pitch for there club.[/QUOTE]
friends do care 2-3 newtown lads who went to look at parks set up are all friends .. so it does happen . would agree with not caring about freinds / family as long as i got a game ..
Lev Yashin
12/07/2007, 2:58 PM
That true about hoofing the ball and running after it,but the lads down in park arent going to be looking at it like that,for such a big club,a premier club for years,there after getting in dermot finnan in to get to club where it belongs,so the lads who play this season in 1b,they wont be thinking about anything but playing football on the deck and getting the club back in track.:ball:
im sure they will try and play ball on the deck which they will be able to do at home no problem....it will be harder for them to do it away from home when they are being kicked and playing on p*ss poor pitch's.(im speaking from experience)
shelbourne1904
13/07/2007, 10:06 AM
"all i'll say is managment is the hardest job in the world..."
Not when you are winning!!!!!
nutmeg
13/07/2007, 11:12 AM
Not really! it wud be easier to keep losein than keep winning!!! :D
shelbourne1904
13/07/2007, 11:21 AM
MMMMM .I'll have to think about that one!!!!
smellyfeet
13/07/2007, 1:06 PM
is still hard when your winning trying to keep lads happy...
Tell them Jokes, buy them nice things:)
Offside
13/07/2007, 2:11 PM
Isn't that what you do to keep women happy?? :D
shelbourne1904
13/07/2007, 2:50 PM
Same thing!!
old git
13/07/2007, 4:59 PM
there is a few women playing on some of teams around clare :D
Lev Yashin
16/07/2007, 11:54 AM
anyone know when the wesley webb is starting??:confused::ball:
Offside
16/07/2007, 2:04 PM
It'll be lucky if it's played at all with the weather we're having.. May have to play it in the Gaa on the astro the way things are.:(
Lev Yashin
16/07/2007, 3:30 PM
It'll be lucky if it's played at all with the weather we're having.. May have to play it in the Gaa on the astro the way things are.:(
good god no...better to just not play it. playing down there is awful.
old git
16/07/2007, 4:58 PM
usually played around end of june / early august ..
smellyfeet
16/07/2007, 9:45 PM
usually played around end of june / early august ..
Take it thats the month of July so:D;)
old git
17/07/2007, 5:25 PM
Take it thats the month of July so:D;)
yeah july ... will have to sack my secetary her typing is terrible :D