View Full Version : Longford Town - the exodus begins....

Pages : 1 [2]

20/12/2006, 12:54 PM
Line-up is going to look so much different next year. Who would be the likely 11 as it stands? Is Michael Dempsey out of contract too?

magpies
20/12/2006, 4:21 PM
Wexler played in the last game of the season against St Pats and put in a good performance that day.

Yea I played with them in America, Two good forwards Eoin Lynch was the better of the two,Wexler works hard,hope they get more of a chance next year

ltfc_2004
28/12/2006, 10:25 AM
any word on us signing anyone ????

christ give me even a rumour !!!! the predictions thread seems to have down for 11th or 12th ? things gone that bad ?

28/12/2006, 11:10 AM

christ give me even a rumour !!!! the predictions thread seems to have down for 11th or 12th ? things gone that bad ?
Fair to say that they are that bad. No money, no one interested in signing...Time will tell as they say

28/12/2006, 11:14 AM
And Clive Delaney signing for Bray. Surely that's the sort of signing we should be after too! This is grim. :(

28/12/2006, 7:36 PM

christ give me even a rumour !!!!Conor O'Grady...watch this space!;)

30/12/2006, 1:20 PM
Conor O'Grady...watch this space!;)

u wot sligoman? it better not turn out the same situation as mctiernan!:o

BohsFans
04/01/2007, 1:36 AM
it's bohs as a team and the supporter's are animals

cheers mate!

Louth4sam
08/01/2007, 9:54 AM
Rumours round Dundalk is that David Freeman is signing for us. How did he play for yous last season?

08/01/2007, 12:14 PM
and eleven-a-side.com finally update that Paul Keegan pic. with Kevin Doherty. Fair play lads. any danger of him moving on though?

09/01/2007, 6:12 PM
www.athlonetownfc.com

confirmed as gone davy byrne -fantastic six gone none in who next

10/01/2007, 3:53 PM
according to the mirror shels are in a big board meeting and apparently could appoint alan matthews as manager tonight.

in the irish daily mail today town are 25000 euros in debt in wages for squad and manager. that is some debt the club has confirmed acc to the paper that capital has being secured to sort out the problem

the players were in contact with the pfai on this the club promised to sort this out but nothing wasx forthcuming.

the situations getting worse im afraid i heard from a trustworthy source that matthews is after five players in poland at the mo and is over there now. a good friend wont come back if thats the case as he reckons it is cheap labour.

what do you think on this

10/01/2007, 3:57 PM
according to the mirror shels are in a big board meeting and apparently could appoint alan matthews as manager tonight.

in the irish daily mail today town are 25000 euros in debt in wages for squad and manager. that is some debt the club has confirmed acc to the paper that capital has being secured to sort out the problem

the players were in contact with the pfai on this the club promised to sort this out but nothing wasx forthcuming.

the situations getting worse im afraid i heard from a trustworthy source that matthews is after five players in poland at the mo and is over there now. a good friend wont come back if thats the case as he reckons it is cheap labour.

what do you think on this

Wouldnt be at alll surprised if he jumped ship. With all the rejections from managers like Roddy and even Keeley, they're only left with Bobby Browne and Mathews. Reckon he'll take it. :(

10/01/2007, 6:42 PM
Dark days indeed. Especially the 25000 part.

10/01/2007, 8:05 PM
Good god is there anything positive happening? a light at the end of the tunnel? thinking of ringing the Samaritans if this keeps up. :(

10/01/2007, 8:06 PM
Well, we should be getting some cash from the Dillon sale..

10/01/2007, 9:02 PM
Mathews is in Dublin, he's nowhere near Poland. I didn't hear anything about any Poles lately. As for cheap labour, they'd be part time, free to earn as much as they like outside football.Plus I'm sure their wages would exceed minimum wage anyway. You wouldn't be kidnapping them ffs. But I think it's unlikely we'll have any anyway. The money was owed to players, it's from pre-season which was deferred by agreement this time last year.Some bonuses for this year too. Should've been paid but I think everyone knew already we're a bit stuck for cash. A good chunk of it was paid today anyway so that wouldn't concern me too much as there's still a bit of sponsorship money outstanding. Shels owe us 3k already plus 15% of whatever they got for Dillon also

11/01/2007, 7:59 AM
Well, we should be getting some cash from the Dillon sale..

any idea how much? thats some positive news. And at least we'll have a few local regulars next year too. Another positive. Any news on Mathews yet?

RockofGibraltar
11/01/2007, 3:34 PM
€2500 id say seeing as shels are rumored to have got 20000 for dillon..pittance if u ask me wouldnt even pay the lad that cleans the jacks

Cabs88
17/01/2007, 11:54 PM
gutted to see the lads go.... end of an era beckons..

the section o sponsorship jinx continues..

2004 season garto gone following pre season
2005 andy myler gone a season and a half later
2006 now deano

whatever next?

may i suggest an investment of a few euros on alan matthews ;)