View Full Version : No Licence, No Club, No Future.
thelimerick
13/12/2006, 7:40 AM
was there a supporters club this year?did anyone on this site offer help?I went to matches paid 12 euro that's all_ I didn't offer help .I wished I had now.I realy don't think anyone here can stand up and say the last year has been worse then the last 10 But if you look at it this way lf we did have a supporters club a proper one would the club be this bad.I don't think so.if were lucky enough to have a club next year I for one want to do my bit to help .
Listen theres been no communication between club and supporters whatsoever. If the club wanted the supporters to do something the supporters would have done it, not all maybe, but they wouldn't have been left waiting. On a personal level I've tried to help out where I can, even in the smallest sense like providing free graphic design. I've offered to do more than this, I've heard nothing back.
You talk about the last ten years, well where are we now? You might say its not worse but its still bad, more bad on ten years of bad. We've been promised a lot but not a lot is different is it.
leather
13/12/2006, 8:45 AM
Tell us something we dont know Barry. The present trustee glug glug :rolleyes: also wont sign it over to the FAI so this ends all interest in Hogan park. Theres also a lot of immature and ill informed stuff being printed in local and national papers thats so far off the wall and is hyped by junior meddlers etc Also limerick dont have a board, we have 3 do gooders and hard workers and one financier who has put in a ton of money in the last two years.
all i say is wait for a few days and more light will be shed on all things Limerick FC
Who are the junior meddlers??? Senior football is in the crapper because of senior football.. be man enough not to be blaming other people from junior football.By the way Jackman park is owned by the clubs and it will be the clubs that decide if LFC can play there.. Maybe you dont want to play there but constantly ****ing off junior clubs(and LFC have been doing it for years) is not the brightest thing to be doing when you are homeless at the moment going around with your begging bowl...
greenandwhite
13/12/2006, 9:49 AM
Who are the junior meddlers??? Senior football is in the crapper because of senior football.. be man enough not to be blaming other people from junior football.By the way Jackman park is owned by the clubs and it will be the clubs that decide if LFC can play there.. Maybe you dont want to play there but constantly ****ing off junior clubs(and LFC have been doing it for years) is not the brightest thing to be doing when you are homeless at the moment going around with your begging bowl...
I'd say the meddlers are the chairman he has close ties with the fai with all the tickets he gets for matches. anyway the clubs do own the ground but the gorund is is the rats and could do with a few bob to clean it up
13/12/2006, 10:02 AM
Pinballwizard: As I said earlier, please revert from making this personal. Everyone acknowledges that there is trouble in the club. It is clearly evident that the problems lie in its infrastructure. What is needed now is a statement from either the club or the FAI outlining exactly what happens now. If the current management is staying in situ, then fine, but please please please provide some clarity. Leaving everyone in the dark is helping no-one and is leading to the type of wild speculation that no doubt will be bandied about, and has been bandied about here already.
leather
13/12/2006, 10:11 AM
I'd say the meddlers are the chairman he has close ties with the fai with all the tickets he gets for matches. anyway the clubs do own the ground but the gorund is is the rats and could do with a few bob to clean it up
I am not here to defend the chairman, but as far as i am aware the council recieve an allocation of tickets from the fai dependent on what the local clubs have requested. agree jackman is very poor(pitch better than hogan Park,new light excel) but if there was investmentfrom lim(400000 lotto monies) and the fai maybe you might get a better facility... look at galways ground, it is the home of ALL football in galway and is a fine facility.As it stands any thing is better than nothing???
13/12/2006, 12:18 PM
I think the slagging off by senior football supporters as opposed to Limerick Fc is a given, as is the slagging off of Limerick Fc of junior supporters as can be witnessed on an ongoing basis on this forum. For a start im a fan of junior football and i played minor and junior in the city with a not so footballing club :rolleyes: Im also big enough to have an argument/discussion with anyone face to face if needs be and anyone who has met or come across me would know this. (Meeting this week is out btw as im dying sick at home with the flu) In the past there was a lot of neg vibes going between the junior clubs and senior but im glad to say its comming to an end in the last few years. However there are still people posting old reteric on this board and this is where my main focus of attention would be (even though i shouldnt bother) I ahve always favoured a ground for all but i never favoured it being jackman park, because as i see it its limited dev potential.
but can i stop one thing here and now, this limerick comming to the LDMC "cap in hand" "begging bowl" etc Limerick bring a lot to the table too you know, by way of management expertise, trojon workers, qualified coaches, some of our "workers" are already involved in some junior clubs and the LDMC So i think limerick have a lot to offer and more to come hopefully in Jan ;) The LDMC have goodwill and a pitch that they own. I know nothing about tickets/or chairmen so i wont comment.Thats me
LFC in Exile
13/12/2006, 2:39 PM
Well, I believe the priest has just cause to not co-operate with Drew. As part if the 'buttering up the priest to secure the lease' process, Drew made a promise to the priest, totally un-football related. He promised to fund a trip to Lourdes for sick children and some elderly folk of the priests parish and for no reason, pulled the plug on the whole thing late in the day, leaving a lot of disappointed people and a very disgruntled priest. In my book thats enough cause for the priest not to co-operate with Mr Drew.
Are you serious?! This is even worse that I thought then. So you are saying that Joe is using the ground as a bargaining chip to get DD to pay out of his own pocket for a trip to Lourdes? That's blackmail. Why should DD pay for that? He is chairman of LFC not Joe's private slush fund for Lourdes trips. DD was right to pull out. What was next? A few free flights to Medjugorje or Fatima? Joe Young has no right to use the future of the club as leverage to make himself look good in his own parish. And DD should not be expected to pay what would be a sizeable amount of money from his own pocket for non-club related matters to get the lease signed. Would you consider it okay if he had made the same offer to the FAI? Doubt it. :ball:
PinBallWizard
13/12/2006, 2:58 PM
Are you serious?! This is even worse that I thought then. So you are saying that Joe is using the ground as a bargaining chip to get DD to pay out of his own pocket for a trip to Lourdes? That's blackmail. Why should DD pay for that? He is chairman of LFC not Joe's private slush fund for Lourdes trips. DD was right to pull out. What was next? A few free flights to Medjugorje or Fatima? Joe Young has no right to use the future of the club as leverage to make himself look good in his own parish. And DD should not be expected to pay what would be a sizeable amount of money from his own pocket for non-club related matters to get the lease signed. Would you consider it okay if he had made the same offer to the FAI? Doubt it. :ball:Here we go again...more sanctimony from you know who....:rolleyes:
I never said that Joe is using the ground as a bargaining chip. What I said is that DD reneaged on a promise he made to he priest. This was not something sought by the priest, it was offered up by Drew as a sweetner. When he pulled out, he let an awful lot of the priests sick parishoners down, and left the priest with a lot of explaining to do. Is it any wonder that the priest had issues with him. Why would he want to do anything to benefit an organisation owned by Drew who could personally profit greatly from having a lease signed?
Stop being so dramatic with your 'blackmail' references. As I said, this was a sweetner devised by Drew and nobody else. Th reason he should have paid for it was because he promised to...pure and simple.
He didn't go to the club and say "Right, give me a trip to Lourdes and I'll sign your lease" like you're trying to make out. The FAI wouldn't have made an 'offer' like Drew did, so your point is...???
13/12/2006, 3:03 PM
I have heard about the Lourdes story and have to agree with the wizard on this. Letting down sick elderly people after promising to cover the costs of thie trip was downright wrong. If he had no intention of paying for it, he shouldn't have promised it in the first place. Using this as a lever to gain a lease on the ground was wrong and serously backfired on the club.
13/12/2006, 3:10 PM
Fr Joe had promised the area of southill and everyone in it a slice of Hogan Park many moons ago. When DD arrived on the scene he as part of his deal had to pay compo for all these groups which Fr Joe had org promised. Basically Fr Joe couldnt deliver to his area so he tried to stick DDs money in to save his fall from grace. The oldies (i like the way that was singled out btw would someone think of the children etc etc) southill marching band, hill celtic all were to recieve compo from DD in return for a lease. No lease no compo. IMO he offered too much :mad:
13/12/2006, 3:33 PM
But surely all of this could have been avoided if the whole thing was set up professionally from te start, e.g. Contracts exchanged in writing from day 1 outlining what the terms and conditions were. This is a disgraceful way to run a business. Two greedy characters, both out for the best deal possible, falling out over unfulfilled promises. Unbelieveable. Homer J Simpson and Barney Gumble have just gone two places up the ladder of the worlds smartest man.
Who suffers? The people who genuinely care about football in Limerick...not the priest, not Danny Drew!! Us!! Every day you think things can't get much worse for the club, and then something new pops up.....amazing!!:mad:
LFC in Exile
13/12/2006, 3:59 PM
As I said, this was a sweetner devised by Drew and nobody else.
That isn't what you said. You made no indication where the offer originated. Though I have to say that it really doesn't change anything as far as I'm concerned. I agree with JoeSoap that we are the real losers. If Joe was really interested in helping senior soccer he would have signed over to the FAI - DD would not benefit financially from that. But he didn't, because DD backed out of paying for the sick children and old folks to go to Lourdes. Jesus this is some piece of work alright. I'm sorry Wiz, no matter what way I look at it I can't see any honourable reason or justification for the priest to screw us.
Jesus this thread is enough to make me want to go back to talking to Galway fans about their 'Premier' club, honestly Galway fans lads! :D
LFC in Exile
14/12/2006, 7:46 AM
In any event it's clear to day that we don't really care about the club. Look at what Dundalk fans will do for their club.
As a gesture I would be willing to set LimtilIdie on fire if that helped.
14/12/2006, 8:02 AM
In any event it's clear to day that we don't really care about the club. Look at what Dundalk fans will do for their club.
As a gesture I would be willing to set LimtilIdie on fire if that helped.
:) :D :D excellent...
Is there a date set for when the FAI will announce the result of DD's reapplication for a first division license?
Partizan
14/12/2006, 9:11 AM
Well lads, the ball is in your court. Rather than sit around and argue amongst yourselves, how about demanding a meeting with Drew himself, lobbying local politicians and Limerick based TD's, set up a public meeting on foot of this and if at all, get a fans based consortium and take over the LFC.
Whether LFC lives or dies its up to you all. Even if Limerick are togging out in the MSL.........keep the club going. Dont let the club and tradition die.
14/12/2006, 10:41 AM
Licence appeal denied....Mr Drew has single handedly destroyed Limerick FC. LET THIS BE A LESSON TO ALL WHO WERE TAKEN IN BY HIM.
Unpaid fines-the priests fault? No.
No physio appointed-the priests fault? No.
Improper youth infrastructure-the priests fault? No.
Failure to secure a lease on Hogan Park-the priests fault? 50/50.
3.5 of the 4 criteria failed were the cause of bad management, and bad advice to the management. Father Joe cannot be blamed for this. Why were trivial things like unpaid fines and non-appointment of a physio not sorted before a licence appeal? Total joke!!
Say what ye want about Noel O'Connor now lads, but when he was involved he brought professionalism if nothing else. The lack of professionalism, at the end of the day, went a long way towards the failure of the club to get its licence.:mad:
JohnD
14/12/2006, 11:03 AM
Well said Joe
Failure to meet any of the criteria regarding fines etc has nothing to do with the priest. Simply put LFC has been run into the ground by clowns who know nothing about Football management.
John
see's it
14/12/2006, 11:18 AM
father joe doesnt have a parish so i dont think he let anyone down just missed out on afew pound for himself,
pearse4t3
14/12/2006, 3:35 PM
it was only a matter of time before they folded no schoolboys set up no youth s no proper mangers in the club .if it didnt happen this year it would have happened next year no grounds they can call home its a sad day for senior soccer but its all down to bad mangment of the people running the club the money they wasted in the last couple of years on players would have set up a school boy system ans a youth system and paid for a proper physio .insted thay went for a quick fix yet again... thats my view like it r not
I agree this day was always on the horizon,people can go around and point the finger at this person and that person but its the people who have been involved over the years who should take the blame with continous mis-management and always only thinking about "next season":( :(
Carotheplayer
14/12/2006, 4:12 PM
The rumour mill is in full swing. Report on irishfootballonline.com is alleging that Limerick's appeal was unsuccessful.
If this is true that means that Limerick will be out of the Eircom League for, at the very least, an entire season. If this happens it will be terrible. I can't see them returning to Eircom League football for a long time if this disaster comes to fruition.
http://www.irishfootballonline.com/news_story.php?newsid=5817
14/12/2006, 9:16 PM
It would be a terrible situation if the nation's third largest city had NO representation at Eircom League level. None of the successful Junior Clubs are interested in stepping in from what an outside perspective can gather. Or am I wrong? The EL needs a presence in Limerick, otherwise the city is in danger of being lost to the malaise of Premiershi* shirt wearing dolts; who are just Beer drinkers masquerading as "supporters " being considered normal.
14/12/2006, 9:19 PM
Jesus this thread is enough to make me want to go back to talking to Galway fans about their 'Premier' club, honestly Galway fans lads! :D
Us Galway fans have offered a contribution to aid your club.How about you give it a rest for a while Jebus and do something for your club instead of whining about ours.
Unbeliveable!:rolleyes:
football boy
15/12/2006, 2:10 AM
Licence appeal denied....Mr Drew has single handedly destroyed Limerick FC. LET THIS BE A LESSON TO ALL WHO WERE TAKEN IN BY HIM.
Unpaid fines-the priests fault? No.
No physio appointed-the priests fault? No.
Improper youth infrastructure-the priests fault? No.
Failure to secure a lease on Hogan Park-the priests fault? 50/50.
3.5 of the 4 criteria failed were the cause of bad management, and bad advice to the management. Father Joe cannot be blamed for this. Why were trivial things like unpaid fines and non-appointment of a physio not sorted before a licence appeal? Total joke!!
Say what ye want about Noel O'Connor now lads, but when he was involved he brought professionalism if nothing else. The lack of professionalism, at the end of the day, went a long way towards the failure of the club to get its licence.:mad:
I have to say that is realy a CHEEP shot at dd .
15/12/2006, 9:21 AM
My heart goes out to the Limerick fans. Its awful that the club was so badly run that this day has come. Gutted.
Maybe Shamrock Rovers should move to Limerick as there are too many Dublin teams and you guys love them so much! They are also used to being homeless so they could play in a the field beside the bypass with the designer cows and think that they are in Monaghan.
LFC in Exile
15/12/2006, 12:20 PM
I have to say that is realy a CHEEP shot at dd .
Yes it is. It looks at the symptoms and lays blame for them. Not at the root causes. And at the root cause of our problem is the lack of a home. That could be fixed - and Joe Young got the ground in the first place for Limerick Fc - not for his own ego.:ball:
15/12/2006, 12:29 PM
It may have been a CHEAP shot, but nonetheless one without any inaccuracies.
thomas72
15/12/2006, 2:26 PM
first up i just want to say i really feel form the real limerick fc supporters the 40 or 50 that are at every home and away games. but lads lets call a spade a spade here limerick can not contuine in the manner there in at the moment. i did not know until joesoap posted it the club has no physio lads limerick is an EL club not a 3A junior team that is unbelievable what would happen if a player got seriously injuried.?? as for going back to jackman park i posted about a month back saying the club is better of folding than going back to that s*** hole the ldmc have not looked after it the thing they call a stand is very dangerous it will collapse one day and someone will be killed or very badly hurt and the pitch is a disgrace. i also agree with joesoap that DD has destroyed LIMERICK FC not paying the fine and more so taking charge of the team because he was to mean to appoint a proper manager there was half a season left FFS the man never kicked a ball in his life a bloodly disgrace...
Old keeper
15/12/2006, 10:33 PM
first up i just want to say i really feel form the real limerick fc supporters the 40 or 50 that are at every home and away games. but lads lets call a spade a spade here limerick can not contuine in the manner there in at the moment. i did not know until joesoap posted it the club has no physio lads limerick is an EL club not a 3A junior team that is unbelievable what would happen if a player got seriously injuried.?? as for going back to jackman park i posted about a month back saying the club is better of folding than going back to that s*** hole the ldmc have not looked after it the thing they call a stand is very dangerous it will collapse one day and someone will be killed or very badly hurt and the pitch is a disgrace. i also agree with joesoap that DD has destroyed LIMERICK FC not paying the fine and more so taking charge of the team because he was to mean to appoint a proper manager there was half a season left FFS the man never kicked a ball in his life a bloodly disgrace...
Hi Thomas
I have to take issue with your remarks on the condition of Jackman park, The stand is old but totally safe (As per engineers reports) the pitch is in good condition and has been tended to over the last few months. While the LDL has no commercial income we do own the ground and with limited income are developing. The league have applied for a SCG to remove the existing old stand and build a new modern facility with new dressing rooms and meeting rooms, plannning permission has already been granted for this!
If you wish to discuss the facilities please PM me and I will fill you in on the details. We also have a recent study/report detailing the development of Jackman to an 8000 all seater stadium. I can understand the frustration regarding the LFC issues but please try to have some understanding of the situation before letting fly
15/12/2006, 10:45 PM
Old keeper, are there plans to do away with the old floodlight pylons in the ground and is there still only one entrance to the ground? do u think Limerick FC have a role to play in general soccer devlopment in the limerick area?
geezer
15/12/2006, 11:03 PM
you dont need 400 or 40, 4 will do to get it started. In fact at meetings you get loads of talkers as well and it usually is left to 4 to really do the donkey work, surely you can find that in limerick there is at least 10 posting on these message boards, and get out into the shopping centres and clear them fine arrears. GUST crew will make a contribution to get you going, i know you wont want that but ffs accept things as they are and do something
fc hammer
16/12/2006, 2:35 AM
you dont need 400 or 40, 4 will do to get it started. In fact at meetings you get loads of talkers as well and it usually is left to 4 to really do the donkey work, surely you can find that in limerick there is at least 10 posting on these message boards, and get out into the shopping centres and clear them fine arrears. GUST crew will make a contribution to get you going, i know you wont want that but ffs accept things as they are and do something
Thanks for the advice geezer.. Hopefully we will get off our arses now and try and save our club. FOOTBALL FANS OF LIMERICK WAKE UP!
Keep in mind that when I said nothing could be done it was in reply to someone asking what we could do 48 hours before our appeal was being heard. We could start something now as you say, but my response was directed at an entirely different scenario, so don't try and paint it as something else geezer
geezer
16/12/2006, 5:53 PM
I am not trying to paint anything else. In the meantime the sales for GUST mobile retail unit climbs near the 8000 bracket with still sunday to go. So all i am trying to say to you guys is stop harpin on for protests and meetings and petitions and get out there take a few small steps and people will respect you for it and if it takes 1 or 2 so be it it may take 5 years to get to 40members but so what. why dont a few of yee take a spin tomoro to galway talk to the galway crew and plan for next thur thru to sunday in a lims shopping centre and go to dd and say now we are paying ther fines directly to the fai and get a receipt and clear 1 issue by 31st dec
16/12/2006, 8:05 PM
if limerick are not in the eircom league this year it is a disgrace afterall ye even won some silverware this year. to be fair the hardcore support ye have is always at the away games and are tremendous and have great sence of humour and have always mixed with our fans in the best way.. it will be a shame if we don't play each other this season.. hope ye win your battle to play in the league this, surely ye offer more than other clubs that will be in division one this year.
fc hammer
16/12/2006, 11:58 PM
if limerick are not in the eircom league this year it is a disgrace afterall ye even won some silverware this year. to be fair the hardcore support ye have is always at the away games and are tremendous and have great sence of humour and have always mixed with our fans in the best way.. it will be a shame if we don't play each other this season.. hope ye win your battle to play in the league this, surely ye offer more than other clubs that will be in division one this year.
Nice one bellavistaman, thanks for your support.. hope to be playing ye next season.
Comic Book Guy
17/12/2006, 12:58 AM
Hope ye can get out of this mess, a sound bunch of people as hardcore supporters, it is now up to the genuine supporters to step up and be counted.
You really need to start afresh and this is a great opportunity to do so.
Old keeper
17/12/2006, 1:22 AM
Old keeper, are there plans to do away with the old floodlight pylons in the ground and is there still only one entrance to the ground? do u think Limerick FC have a role to play in general soccer devlopment in the limerick area?
Hi Gael
Yes there are plans to remove the old pylons but these were advertised to interested clubs. Two clubs expressed a view that they would want them and they will be removed when the clubs can receive them (otherwise we would have to store them in the park). The grounds current capacity is restricted to 3500 because of the single entrance but there are plans in city council to demolish the flats facing the peoples park and this is the most likely site for a second entrance. I am a firm advocate of joined up thinking in relation to soccer, the new working group set up in early Nov "Soccer Limerick" has representatives from all bodies representing soccer in Limerick these are, Ladies, Schoolboys/girls, Junior, Senior and FAI, but since the demise of LFC as the senior club in the city this matter will be discussed by the group in the very near future. The ultimate aim is to have a cohesive policy and long-term strategy for ALL soccer grades in the city and district. Hopefully this group will lay the foundations for a strong productive response to the current situation
LFC in Exile
17/12/2006, 8:59 AM
Hi Gael
Yes there are plans to remove the old pylons but these were advertised to interested clubs. Two clubs expressed a view that they would want them and they will be removed when the clubs can receive them (otherwise we would have to store them in the park). The grounds current capacity is restricted to 3500 because of the single entrance but there are plans in city council to demolish the flats facing the peoples park and this is the most likely site for a second entrance. I am a firm advocate of joined up thinking in relation to soccer, the new working group set up in early Nov "Soccer Limerick" has representatives from all bodies representing soccer in Limerick these are, Ladies, Schoolboys/girls, Junior, Senior and FAI, but since the demise of LFC as the senior club in the city this matter will be discussed by the group in the very near future. The ultimate aim is to have a cohesive policy and long-term strategy for ALL soccer grades in the city and district. Hopefully this group will lay the foundations for a strong productive response to the current situation
This is possibly the most hopeful post I have read on foot in years. It sounds positive and reasonable. Just what is needed. I was unaware of Soccer Limerick but it is a positive development by the sounds of it. :ball:
the only 1
17/12/2006, 3:13 PM
if limerick are gone the players must be free agents to choose their own clubs heard talk that kelleher was gone any truth in this?
LFC in Exile
17/12/2006, 4:44 PM
Yes, if LFC go then the players are free agents. So all the junior clubs can cream their pants again and we can go back to the them and us as always. I hope Soccer Limerick can overcome that problem. :rolleyes:
the dazzler
17/12/2006, 6:35 PM
ya heard kelleher+barrett were in talks with a certain club as well but are waiting for a week to see if something can be sorted out dont want to lose any players but it seems that way
18/12/2006, 10:43 AM
Lester has joined GUFC anyway